No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Amber House

4Self Classified Guest House Ratings explained
Amber House, 6 Roundham Road, , Paignton, TQ4 6EZ
Amber House is 100% non-smoking (including garden). We are licensed Guest Accommodation, focused on customer comfort and care. We are rated four stars and received a prestigious silver award for quality. The house is situated in a quiet location near Goodrington Sands. There is free on-site car-parking for all. Also excellent transport links if you wish to leave your car behind. Steam trains, main line station, cycle hire, regular Bayline buses, coach trips, boat trips etc. There are many superb fine dining resturants, fish restaurants and a variety of mid-range and family restaurants nearby. We offer Meal Deals at certain times (see website page Meals for dates). Packed lunches at all times (inc GF). We specialise in catering for coeliac and dairy -free diets. This area has numerous restaurants, cafes and shops that provide GF food and we provide all the info you need to make your holiday easy. We are near the superb South West Coast path and numerous other walks. Well-behaved dogs welcome too - but bookings that include dogs cannot be booked on-line. Please ring us to make these bookings . We provide everything you need for dogs and there is a small charge so that we can keep the rooms to a high standard. We also advise on the most appropriate room for your needs. Dog-friendly beach near-by. For leisurely times take a stroll to the beach and hire a beach hut & deckchairs. Or from the harbour take a boat trip along the coast. (Huge amount of boat trips and water activities). Ideal base for touring: Explore Dartmoor, the cities of Exeter and Plymouth and many gardens and heritage properties to enjoy. Bedrooms include: luxury rooms with showerbaths, ground floor rooms, singles. 6 have sea-views, all have DVD players and either Freeview or Satellite TV. All have wi-fi internet access. We do not accept stag or hen groups.
Picture of Amber House, Paignton at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since May 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 18 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
98% recommended this accommodation to a friend 98% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent place to stay
Smart small hotel with Superb breakfast, spotlessly clean with many extra added touches that make your stay very enjoyable. Very pleasant garden with chairs and tables and to the front its own car park. Near to lovely beach and park gardens.
Short walk from bus stop that travels regularly along the coast from Brixham to Newton Abbot.

Reviewed by
K Stinton

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful experience
One of the best guest houses I have stayed at , the owners Christine and Loyd were really helpful and really hands on .

Reviewed by
d postill

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

98% happy stay
we really enjoyed our stay at amber house, the bed was comfy, the room was beautiful and clean close to the beach, the owners were helpful and the breakfast was nice the only thing that annoyed us is we paid for the room and were really happy to spend the last Sunday of our holiday at the amber house but at 1:30pm we had a knock on the door and informed that some one was coming to fix some thing in the room (we were not told this when we checked in) and were told they were coming at 2pm ! this was very frustrating as it ment our LAST sunday of OUR HOLIDAY could not be spent in the way we had planned and im not being funny, it was SUNDAY hardly anything is open in Cornwall and Devon so why would something be fix in the room on that day, when they knew we were leaving at 10 the next morning. i know this makes it look bad but apart form that our stay was amazing!

Reviewed by
A Head

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A lovely place to stay
We received a warm welcome at Amber House. The proprietors wer friendly and helpful, but also remained unobtrusive and professional. Standards of accommodation, furnishings, decor, cleanliness and service were excellent. The food was of a high standard. Surroundings were tasteful and many features in the art deco style. The proprietiors and staff were very customer-focussed. On request, we were given helpful advice on places to see and things to do, and the proprietors shared an enthusiasm for things Agatha Christie, which we liked. As a gay couple, we were treated with respect and warmth, which means a lot to us.

Reviewed by
Julie H

From Frodsham, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Service, Nice Room
Stayed here for one night, service was brilliant, room nice and clean, breakfast v. tasty.

Reviewed by
Thomas M

From UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent!
We stayed here for bank holiday weekend. We were met by the owner who was very welcoming & gave us lots of information. Room was large & very clean. The guest house is in a quiet position & about ten mins walk from the town. Breakfast was fab & had lots of choice. The staff couldnt do enough to make our stay an enjoyable one. Only one problem with amber house was that the bed was far too comfy!! Justine & Nick Phillips

Reviewed by
Justine Phillips

From Stoke on Trent, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very enjoyable stay friendly atmosphere great food
Room was excellent and very clean, well laid out and overall would recommend to anyone to stay at Amber house.

Reviewed by
A Baddeley

From swindon, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great

Reviewed by
S Clifford

From London, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2