No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - West Lodge Park

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Cockfosters Road , Hadley Wood, EN4 0PY

Simply the Guest Awards Winner


Based on 100% genuine guest reviews in our 2012 awards.

West Lodge Park is a stunning country house hotel set in 35 acres of tranquil parkland, yet just 12 miles from Central London and a mile from J24 of the M25. Awarded the highest AA rating of any 4 star hotel in the area, the family run West Lodge Park presents itself as the ideal base for those seeking peaceful accommodation without sacrificing easy accessibility to North London and Hertfordshire.
The hotel boasts 59 en suite bedrooms, all of which are individually decorated. Some rooms have four-poster beds, others have their own terrace or overlook the extensive gardens. All rooms offer modern comforts such as wireless internet and satellite tv, combined with traditional furnishings that provide luxurious levels of relaxation. Guests are treated to the beautiful far reaching views on offer in the 35 acres of surrounding land: a treat to begin your day to when you open the curtains in the morning.
The Mary Beale Restaurant and Terrace Bar is named after the stunning art work of Britain's first professional woman painter. The Executive chef and his team offer a memorable dining experience with traditional and brave new gastronomic delights on the menu, as well as delicious lighter meals and snacks for those with smaller appetites. The AA Rosette Restaurant has been extensively refurbished to a high standard, incorporating a contemporary feel alongside the original paintings and splendid views of the beautiful grounds.
During your stay at West Lodge Park you can explore the beautiful parkland which is home to the National Collection of Hornbeams, as well as over 800 different shrubs and trees from around the world. An ideal location for weddings or special occasions, the hotel can also cater for small and large conferences in one of their sunny syndicate rooms.
The 35 acres surrounding the hotel form part of the Enfield Chase, an oasis of open space, wonderful views, and peace and quiet within the M25. The nearby area boasts many towns and cities conveniently close for both business and leisure links, including Barnet, Luton, Watford, Enfield, St Albans and, most notable, London. The major airports of Luton, Stansted and Heathrow are all within a short journey, while nearby venues and places of interest include Hatfield House, Trent Park, Arsenal's Emirates Stadium and the famous Wembley Stadium.

Please Note: Extra beds are only available in the Executive room type.
Picture of West Lodge Park, Hadley Wood at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 37 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
92% recommended this accommodation to a friend 93% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

JP review
Very friendly welcome and pleasant staff. Nice room and facilities but a little dated in places. I didn't have breakfast one of the reasons was the price far too expensive irrespective of how good it might be!

Reviewed by
John P

From Norwich, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room
Unfortunately, the room was decidedly 'pinched' in size and the arc light at the front of the building played right into the room forcing us to keep the curtains closed, not our normal choice. It is the first room at West Lodge that we have not liked. Generally we are always extremely happy to stay at West Lodge, a delightful place which we have known and enjoyed since we were both teenagers, many moons ago!!

Reviewed by
Henry Keen

From Poole, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Outstanding & Exceptional Service
The Hotel is old fashioned but in a nice way, both in it's decour and its service; a Doorman opens and closes the main door for you. However we had free WiFi in the room - nothing old fashioned about that! In an effort to get a strong enough phone signal for an important call and not to disturb guests in the public areas, I sought out some private space - a very helpful employee allowed me to go inside an unused conference facility to make my call. Later when I informed the restaurant of my special dietary requirements, a special off menu meal was made up for me and of excellent quality. Nothing was too much trouble

Reviewed by
Michael Cooke

From Torquay, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely Country House Hotel
We spent a brief night away from young children thanks to grandparental babysitting. Delicious meal in the Mary Beale restaurant, comfortable room and beautiful grounds for a morning walk before heading back to family duties. Loved seeing Mary Beale's paintings dotted about the restaurant, especially in the interesting information about them - in fact we then went to see her self portrait in the National Portrait Gallery later in the week.

Reviewed by
Amanda Robbie

From West Bromwich, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful setting
The hotel is set in beautiful grounds and is a lovely old building. Our room was very nice, but to be fair, not necessarily better than rooms we have had elsewhere. Having said that, we weren't in one of the more expensive rooms. I was unimpressed to find dark hairs in the bathroom though. I didn't expect that in a hotel of this calibre, i thought it would be immaculate!

Reviewed by
C Wrench

From Taunton, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good service, good food in pleasant surroundings.

Reviewed by
J Leonard

From Cheltenham, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful venue fabulous staff
I was on a business trip travelling on my own. I thought the hotel was a stunning oasis in suburbia.
Fabulous grounds but its real gem are its staff - Bruno on reception and Ron the concierge - who couldn't have done anything more for me - they made me feel so welcome and at home. Special mention also goes to the fabulous breakfast chef who does amazing poached eggs and would see me and start to boil one for me with out me even asking!!!
Thank you West Park for an unforgettable two days xx

Reviewed by
N Sage

From Harrogate, England
Who stayed in August 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

AN interesting place
Beautiful hotel in gorgeous grounds, lovely staff and food!

Reviewed by
tim j

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Amazing!
Just when you think your jaw cant drop more on the drive up to the hotel, i then had concierge to walk me back out of the hotel and around to my room as the view and scent of the gardens had me mesmerised. Would definitely recommend and will certainly be visiting again.

Reviewed by
Morad E

From London, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Surprisingly good value
Very spacious room, nice parkland views, friendly staff. Also appreciated the quiet location. After a hot and noisy day in London, this was a wonderfully calm diversion. Had an executive room which provided plenty of space. Breakfast is pricey - was cheaper to have a proper one in a deli in the centre of Mayfair. Overall though, very good.

Reviewed by
Ben L

From Corsham, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 Next