Reviews - Lord Leycester

3

Jury Street, Warwick, CV34 4EJ

Price From 119.47 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Good

All reviews (76)

37% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • C Winstone

  • August 2015

Perfect location, friendly staff and a cosy room

We were very happy to find out that we were close to everything, however Warwick centre is very small so can walk pretty much anywhere.

The staff were very friendly and helpful. We were also happy with our room; basic and quite cosy, old and so the window for example needed something to hold it up etc. Overall we were satisfied and would stay there again!

  • Pete h

  • August 2015

ok for three star hotel

hotel was fine for a three star hotel, service was good ,breakfast average,room was clean but furnishing old , tied and dated,cleaners good, would use again

  • Suzanne S

  • August 2015

An update on my previous review

I left a review earlier in the week regarding the hotel claiming not to have a record of my booking for two rooms.

The update is that the hotel phoned me yesterday to admit the error was indeed their's and not Late Rooms. Hooray for an establishment to admit when they got it wrong. They offered compensation, which of course I accepted. So I have now changed the rating I gave for customer service

  • Richard T

  • July 2015

Lord Leycester

The hotel is in a great location in the centre of Warwick.

The hotel itself is very tired - we had water marks on the ceiling, paint was coming off the skirting boards the hot water in the bath was only luke warm and the room was on the small side. Overall with breakfast it cost us £100 in fact I think it was only worth £50!!

  • patricia p

  • July 2015

Lord Leycester

Hotel had a damp smell throughout.

Hotel was clean but badly in need of redecoration. Room 216 was cramped, clean but poorly maintained decor wise with huge brown stain on ceiling from past water leak it appeared. Staff friendly and helpful. Continental breakfast was good with a very good choice. Omelette was ok but nothing special. Bed comfy. Car park very small and tight spaces to drive round but staff member did move their car for us to park.

  • Richard Grain

  • July 2015

Town centre hotel

Stopped overnight to attend a dinner at the castle and having a drink or two made this the obvious choice.

less than 5 minutes walk from the main hall of the castle back to the hotel and a couple of whiskeys to finish the occasion. Absolutely brilliant. The room was clean although a bit dated and the bathroom needs a little overhaul they thoughfully provided a fan as it was one of the hottest days and nights of the year. Because it's an old building the floors squeak at every step but when I got into bed that stopped so I easily fell asleep. Great place to stay and definitely would stay there again

  • C sturley

  • July 2015

Lord Leycester Warwick July 2015

Room was adequate although rather dark - it opened out on to a scruffy courtyard.

Bed was very comfortable. Reasonably quiet overnight, although staff and deliveries were noisy at about 5:00am. Bathroom was fine except the shower did not work properly. Staff support was courteous and fair, but I was not asked about my stay or if anything was wrong. Yes, I could have told them about the shower, but I felt it was up to the hotel to initiate this. Breakfast was good - cooked part was pleasant (and hot), but did not feel like value for money compared with, say, Premier Inn. I had a very quick look at the conference facilities which appear to be good. The hotel has an excellent location in the centre of Warwick and I feel it could capitalise on this. Overall it was reasonable value for money.

  • Deborah T

  • July 2015

Poor value for money!

We arrived late afternoon as we were visiting our daughter and going to a cocert that evening.

We were disappointed at the interior of the hotel.It desperately needs a refurbishment. As we climbed the narrow stairs to our room we shocked by the smell that hit us on entering the room, it turned our stomachs!. It appeared to come from the bathroom. I complained to reception but was told it was their last room. She then came up to our room, agreed that it smelt awful and left us with a spray air freshener and we were told to leave our windows open whilst we were out. It smelt better when we got back but the bed was very soft, the ceiling all cracked and old carpet.. No apology was given or refund offered. Will never stay there again, which is a shame as very handy for family visits. We paid £70 it wasn't worth half that amount!.

  • Bjorn E

  • June 2015

Nice locality

Very nice and cosy historic building and close to all the town centre activities

  • David T

  • May 2015

Find somewhere else.

This hotel cannot have been updated in decades.

The bed and towels were clean, but the bedroom condition was atrocious, and there was a pervasive damp smell. The heating was obviously not working, so there was a battered electric heater in the room which could not be adjusted. In the bathroom the basin had odd taps, and there was no hot water in the morning. Very noisy.