No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Lambton Hounds Inn

3Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
62-64 Front Street, Pity Me, , Durham, DH1 5DE
Brother and sister, James and Katy, have run this family business since 2006 and have overseen many changes and improvements to the old inn making the Lambton Hounds a perfect base to explore the riches of Durham and its surroundings. We provide the ideal location for a weekend break in the heart of the North East with many famous sights and tourist attractions on our doorstep. In addition, with a variety of great transport links very close by, we enable you with easy access to the North East's most famous tourist attractions: Durham Cathedral and Castle, Crook Hall and Gardens, Beamish Museum, National Railway Museum, Auckland and Bamburgh Castles, Diggerland, Adventure Valley and much more. We have a choice of eight rooms for visitors to choose from our traditional, cosy and comfortable coaching inn of over 250 years old. Rooms offer period characteristics and have en-suite facilities with a choice of bath or shower. Our Bed & Breakfast has a three star National Tourist Board rating and the rooms are equipped with LCD TV, Freeview, radio alarm clocks, tea making facilities and toiletries. We also offer free WIFI area. Breakfast is served everyday from 8:00 - 9:00. At the counter you will find a wide selection of cereals, yoghurts and fruit juice for you to help yourselves to. You will be served tea or coffee and toast, then a full English breakfast (or any variation). Check in time is from 4pm and check out time is 10:30am. Our friendly country style Pub comprises of 3 different sections: the lounge, snug and bar. The lounge features an open fire place and our star attraction, "the lounge bar" which is the ORIGINAL cocktail bar from the RMS Olympic, sister ship of the TITANIC. Our homemade traditional Tapas Restaurant is very different to the ones you would find elsewhere. We pride ourselves on fresh and simple ingredients to produce the type of Tapa found in little Spanish bars across different Regions of Spain. Please visit www.lambtonhounds.co.uk for more info.
Picture of The Lambton Hounds Inn, Durham at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 44 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
64% recommended this accommodation to a friend 66% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Country Pub
difficult to access from train station

Reviewed by
Gayle O

From jackson, USA
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The hotel is good but not value for money. The room was very cold
The heating wasn't working properly so the room was very cold.
The room did not have a hair dryer.
In the toilet there was no shampoo. There was just a half used bottle of body wash
The hot kettle was very dirty, seemed it has not been washed in years.

Reviewed by
Akshay G

From Glasgow, England
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good place to stay
Perfect for going into durham by bus and visiting other places by car.
Public rooms could do with a make-over as they still smell of stale cigarettes. good chat in public bar which is very much the local pub.

Reviewed by
shelagh smith

From brampton, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Poor
Room was in a terraced house next to the pub, and generally inadequate. Nice beer in the pub raised my spirits a little.

Reviewed by
Adrian O

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Our room had seen better days, the wallpaper was peeling off in places and the carpet was worn. On the up side the pub was very quaint and the staff were accommodating.

Reviewed by
Katie B

From Hull, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Spot!
Easy access to Durham. The owners were very accomodating and welcoming. The attached pub was fun.

Reviewed by
P Kelley

From Peachtree City , USA
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Flying visit to "Pity Me"
We stayed just one night at the Lambton Hounds Inn in Pity Me on our way to the Scottish borders. Our impression was that it was a traditional, family run pub with attentive staff . We gave a mark of 5/6 for customer service because they didn't tell us that there was no food served on Sunday evening so we found a really nice restaurant locally (The Millennium, really nice Bangladeshi restaurant with excellent food and service).

Reviewed by
Kath S

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pity Me Accommodation
This was a great B & B, food was great & service was great, even did us vegetarian sausages for breakfast!

Reviewed by
C Wilson

From Wirral, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel next to a pub
I picked the hotel because it was near the school where I was working the following day. I arrived in the afternoon and the only staff - the landlord - was quite busy but I was in no hurry. Rooms are in a building next to the pub/restaurant where breakfast was served. I was on ground floor, but street was fairly quiet by the time I got back after an evening out. Wi-fi was just BT internet, as far as I know, which costs money unless you are a BT customer (which I am, so didn't investigate further). Pub looked cosy, but I didn't use it.

Reviewed by
Ian A

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Charm and courtesy
Room very comfortable food excellent in quality and quantity. Staff attentive and helpful. Location easy to find. Convenient car park.

Reviewed by
Peter Allinson

From Beverley, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next