No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Lambton Hounds Inn

3Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
62-64 Front Street, Pity Me, , Durham, DH1 5DE
A warm welcome awaits you from the owners of The Lambton Hounds Inn, Katy Wolsey & her brother James. We invite you to enjoy a relaxing drink in the cosy snug, sample one of the cask ales, or taste our great value steaks and homemade Sunday lunch in our restaurant. The Lambton Hounds Inn provides the ideal location for a weekend break in the heart of the North East. Situated in the village of Pity Me, less than 2 miles from the city of Durham, The Lambton Hounds is a 250-year-old, family run coaching inn on the Great North Road from York to Newcastle. With a congenial atmosphere and inviting fireplace, it is a popular local with a traditional British pub atmosphere. With a wide selection of both keg and cask-conditioned beers on offer, comfortable en-suite accommodation and delicious homemade food in our restaurant, The Lambton Hounds can provide an excellent base to explore the historic city of Durham. We currently have a choice of seven rooms for visitors to choose from and pride ourselves on the high standards maintained throughout this traditional B&B. All rooms have en-suite facilities with a choice of bath or shower. Rooms are equipped with the kind of facilities you would expect of a three star National Tourist Board approved bed and breakfast. In addition to our seven bedrooms we have a cosy snug, traditional bar with pool table, dartboard & jukebox, a relaxing beer garden and a lounge bar. An interesting feature of our lounge bar is that it has the original cocktail bar of the RMS Olympic, sister ship of the Titanic. The Lambton Hounds is conveniently placed with excellent park and ride facilities close by for easy access to the North East's most famous sights and tourist attractions including: The Durham Cathedral heritage site, historic Durham City, the Baltic Art gallery & Millennium Bridge, Beamish museum, the Angel of the North and the Riverside Stadium. We also have ample parking on site in our large car park situated at the rear of the pub.
Picture of The Lambton Hounds Inn, Durham at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 48 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
64% recommended this accommodation to a friend 66% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Another visit
Another very pleasant stay in this friendly accommodation. Always enjoy a meal and a quiet drink before retiring to the room.

Reviewed by
Philip W

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pity Me gem!
Cheese Night Tuesday was an added bonus and we were made very welcome.

Reviewed by
Stuart S

From Mackay, Australia
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A nice find close to Durham
The room was a nice size and very comfortable.
There was tea and coffee making facilities and a television.
The Staff were very friendly and helpful.
Breakfast was very good.

Reviewed by
J Carter

From Telford, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

nice and cosy and friendly

Reviewed by
j hepple

From Newcastle upon Tyne, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ok for a bed for the night
Bed was clean, wouldn't stay again though. Kettle dirty. Loads of dust behind table on skirting board.

Reviewed by
L Byrne

From Lincoln, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The lady that checked us in was very helpful and friendly. The room was perfect for the stop-over that we needed- bed was comfy and breakfast was yummy. A nice chillaxed place situated near to Durham. :)

Reviewed by
Bex H

From Cambridge, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cheap and cheerful!
Stayed for one night midweek. Family room was clean, not cramped and functional - it is directly above the bar and I suspect could be noisy on a busy night, but we all slept well. Menu fairly standard but food (evening meal & breakfast) was locally sourced and well cooked. Couple of nice local beers.
The total bill for four people DBB was under £130 - pretty unbeatable value I suspect.

Reviewed by
David R

From UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

cheap and cheerful
We had a family room, it was small but clean. Plenty of choice at breakfast.

Reviewed by
David Y

From UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The room is part of a house built along side the pub very small room but was ok basic for my needs the pub had friendly atmosphere the breakfast was in the pub no complaints

Reviewed by
Gary G

From Aberdeen, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good review
Room was OK although I had to clean the bath first, and no hot water late at night. Quilt came off every time I turned. However, that is really insignificant
Bar staff - brilliant - encouraging, talkative, very helpful and the whisky was excellent
Foot - FANTASTIC - i like rare steaks and they were RARE. 10 out of 10. Breakfast a tad poor, a cheap sausage and cold beans but what the heck, a really nice stay all in all. I will certainly be visiting The Lambton Hounds Inn again, in June, for a steak evening. I recommend despite the odd negative comment, it is good value

Reviewed by
james B

From UK
Who stayed in April 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next