No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Lambton Hounds Inn

3Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
62-64 Front Street, Pity Me, , Durham, DH1 5DE
A warm welcome awaits you from the owners of The Lambton Hounds Inn, Katy Wolsey & her brother James. We invite you to enjoy a relaxing drink in the cosy snug, sample one of the cask ales, or taste our great value steaks and homemade Sunday lunch in our restaurant. The Lambton Hounds Inn provides the ideal location for a weekend break in the heart of the North East. Situated in the village of Pity Me, less than 2 miles from the city of Durham, The Lambton Hounds is a 250-year-old, family run coaching inn on the Great North Road from York to Newcastle. With a congenial atmosphere and inviting fireplace, it is a popular local with a traditional British pub atmosphere. With a wide selection of both keg and cask-conditioned beers on offer, comfortable en-suite accommodation and delicious homemade food in our restaurant, The Lambton Hounds can provide an excellent base to explore the historic city of Durham. We currently have a choice of seven rooms for visitors to choose from and pride ourselves on the high standards maintained throughout this traditional B&B. All rooms have en-suite facilities with a choice of bath or shower. Rooms are equipped with the kind of facilities you would expect of a three star National Tourist Board approved bed and breakfast. In addition to our seven bedrooms we have a cosy snug, traditional bar with pool table, dartboard & jukebox, a relaxing beer garden and a lounge bar. An interesting feature of our lounge bar is that it has the original cocktail bar of the RMS Olympic, sister ship of the Titanic. The Lambton Hounds is conveniently placed with excellent park and ride facilities close by for easy access to the North East's most famous sights and tourist attractions including: The Durham Cathedral heritage site, historic Durham City, the Baltic Art gallery & Millennium Bridge, Beamish museum, the Angel of the North and the Riverside Stadium. We also have ample parking on site in our large car park situated at the rear of the pub.
Picture of The Lambton Hounds Inn, Durham at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since July 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 50 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
65% recommended this accommodation to a friend 67% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Durham break
Very helpful staff. Budget room good value food and service excellent

Reviewed by
Geoff G

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We were put in an annex with a separate locked entrance, when we left to go out for the day, on our return the door to the annex was unlocked and our room was also unlocked. The room had a 3/4 size bed and a single bed in it and there was no where to put our suitcases except on the bed. If there had been 3 of us there would have been nowhere at all for the cases as the floor area left was not big enough The bed was not made for the three nights we were there the duvet was just pulled up and no effort to even straightened the sheets was made. All together a very poor room.
I'm sorry to say it gets worse. For the evening meal I ordered Lasagne, when it arrived it consisted of about 4 sheets of pasta on top of each other with about a teaspoon full of mince on top, this as covered by an orange coloured sauce that I have no idea what it was made from. My wife had the grilled salmon which was burnt and very dry - ruined a nice piece of salmond

Reviewed by
John Campbell-Smith

From Invergordon, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Look at the keyrings closely
This was a nice play to stay in, good location and pleasant atmosphere. Some of the facilities in the room didn't work, such as the shower, but the breakfast was nice.

Reviewed by
Laura H

From Lewisham, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Needs a makeover
Room was smelly which put me off straight away. Needed a bit of modernisation but was clean. Breakfast was good but I still wouldn't want to stay again.

Reviewed by
John P

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

What a great stay.
We arrived mid week and at first didn't like the decor (Victorian) in the Inn, but please do not judge a book by it's cover. The reception we received was pleasing as was the room. The meal was great both in the evening and at breakfast. What will really get my wife and I back there was the evenings spent in the lounge bar along with other business travellers and locals. The Ale was exceptional as were the laughs and good humour.
We look forward to a return trip soon.

Reviewed by
J Sims

From Abingdon, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Tity Me! (A misprint on key ring)
The pub is a delight for those wishing to stay in a traditional inn. Olde world charm in the cosy bar which is used by visitors and locals alike. It is not pretentious and maintains its character - a local pub in a small ex-mining village of Pity Me. The key-ring to the room however had been misprinted nd read Tity Me which the landlord assured was a genuine mistake by the Printers!.
The pub offered good value food with specials offers on different nights. Our room was clean and had a good bath with plenty of hot water.

Reviewed by
June W

From Swadlincote, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

You get what you pay for
OK so the rooms may need a little bit of updating but where else can you get a room and a decent breakfast for under 40.00 quid.
The staff I encountered were all polite and helpful, especially the young lady who served breakfast. I had two evening meals and bothe were spot on for the price, good selection of proper beer too.

Reviewed by
ian n

From manchester, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The basics done perfectly
The Lambton Hounds Inn was very welcoming and the staff were friendly and approachable. It was clear that this is a family run business. The rooms, whilst basic, had everything to hand and we had a good stay.

Reviewed by
Anna T

From Aldershot, England
Who stayed in August 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Location, near perfect
No disappointments, i just thought my stay was near perfect in all aspects

Reviewed by
Stephen K

From Dewsbury, England
Who stayed in August 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

one night stay
warm welcome on arrival, show to room. Bar staff and locals friendly. Breakfast basic but freshly cooked and friendly staff.

Reviewed by
Dorothy Ellis

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next