Reviews - The Lambton Hounds Inn


62-64 Front Street, Pity Me,, Durham, DH1 5DE

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (21)

57% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Katie B

  • August 2014

Our room had seen better days, the wallpaper was peeling off in places and the carpet was worn.

On the up side the pub was very quaint and the staff were accommodating.

  • P Kelley

  • July 2014

Great Spot!

Easy access to Durham.

The owners were very accomodating and welcoming. The attached pub was fun.

  • Kath S

  • May 2014

Flying visit to "Pity Me"

We stayed just one night at the Lambton Hounds Inn in Pity Me on our way to the Scottish borders.

Our impression was that it was a traditional, family run pub with attentive staff . We gave a mark of 5/6 for customer service because they didn't tell us that there was no food served on Sunday evening so we found a really nice restaurant locally (The Millennium, really nice Bangladeshi restaurant with excellent food and service).

  • C Wilson

  • April 2014

Pity Me Accommodation

This was a great B & B, food was great & service was great, even did us vegetarian sausages for breakfast!

  • Ian A

  • March 2014

Hotel next to a pub

I picked the hotel because it was near the school where I was working the following day.

I arrived in the afternoon and the only staff - the landlord - was quite busy but I was in no hurry. Rooms are in a building next to the pub/restaurant where breakfast was served. I was on ground floor, but street was fairly quiet by the time I got back after an evening out. Wi-fi was just BT internet, as far as I know, which costs money unless you are a BT customer (which I am, so didn't investigate further). Pub looked cosy, but I didn't use it.

  • Peter Allinson

  • February 2014

Charm and courtesy

Room very comfortable food excellent in quality and quantity.

Staff attentive and helpful. Location easy to find. Convenient car park.

  • Judith Whitehead

  • December 2013

Ideal for a weekend break

The Lambton Hounds is in the village of Pity Me which is about 3 miles north of Durham itself.

The pub is old and is a trafitional village pub, serving decent evening meals. Its best to book a table at weekends as the steaks go very quickly. The room was basic, but clean and there were extra pillows and a blanket in the cupboard. There were plenty of clean towels available in the en suite bathroom and constant hot water. All in all a convenient place to stay within easy reach of Durham. There is aldo a retail shopping park within walking distance of the Inn.

  • William M

  • November 2013

Damp and basic

Was shown to room at 4.30.. frills cold and heating on and was freezing.toilet seat kept falling food served till 7pm no good as was goin to wedding so. Tried Guinness had 2 then ran out all in all disaster

  • Elaine P

  • November 2013

Thankfully only booked in for 1 night

On entering the building the smell of cigarette smoke was overwhelming.

Room 4, in desperate need of decorating. The bathroom was so grubby that I didn't bother using the shower/bath facilities and made do with a stand up wash. No toiletries on offer. The breakfast was of poor quality with no choice of time to be served - 8 am or nothing ...... as I was desperate to get away from the place it didn't matter that much.

  • Brett A

  • November 2013

Basic, but no compaints.

The rooms were warm, there were plenty of clean towels and hot water.

Beds were comfy. It was pretty good value and the breakfast was fine. If the wifi had worked I'd have been delighted, but these things can be fickle.