No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Lambton Hounds Inn

3Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
62-64 Front Street, Pity Me, , Durham, DH1 5DE
A warm welcome awaits you from the owners of The Lambton Hounds Inn, Katy Wolsey & her brother James. We invite you to enjoy a relaxing drink in the cosy snug, sample one of the cask ales, or taste our great value steaks and homemade Sunday lunch in our restaurant. The Lambton Hounds Inn provides the ideal location for a weekend break in the heart of the North East. Situated in the village of Pity Me, less than 2 miles from the city of Durham, The Lambton Hounds is a 250-year-old, family run coaching inn on the Great North Road from York to Newcastle. With a congenial atmosphere and inviting fireplace, it is a popular local with a traditional British pub atmosphere. With a wide selection of both keg and cask-conditioned beers on offer, comfortable en-suite accommodation and delicious homemade food in our restaurant, The Lambton Hounds can provide an excellent base to explore the historic city of Durham. We currently have a choice of seven rooms for visitors to choose from and pride ourselves on the high standards maintained throughout this traditional B&B. All rooms have en-suite facilities with a choice of bath or shower. Rooms are equipped with the kind of facilities you would expect of a three star National Tourist Board approved bed and breakfast. In addition to our seven bedrooms we have a cosy snug, traditional bar with pool table, dartboard & jukebox, a relaxing beer garden and a lounge bar. An interesting feature of our lounge bar is that it has the original cocktail bar of the RMS Olympic, sister ship of the Titanic. The Lambton Hounds is conveniently placed with excellent park and ride facilities close by for easy access to the North East's most famous sights and tourist attractions including: The Durham Cathedral heritage site, historic Durham City, the Baltic Art gallery & Millennium Bridge, Beamish museum, the Angel of the North and the Riverside Stadium. We also have ample parking on site in our large car park situated at the rear of the pub.
Picture of The Lambton Hounds Inn, Durham at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 48 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
64% recommended this accommodation to a friend 66% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ideal for a weekend break
The Lambton Hounds is in the village of Pity Me which is about 3 miles north of Durham itself. The pub is old and is a trafitional village pub, serving decent evening meals. Its best to book a table at weekends as the steaks go very quickly! The room was basic, but clean and there were extra pillows and a blanket in the cupboard. There were plenty of clean towels available in the en suite bathroom and constant hot water. All in all a convenient place to stay within easy reach of Durham. There is aldo a retail shopping park within walking distance of the Inn.

Reviewed by
Judith Whitehead

From Cleckheaton, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Damp and basic
Was shown to room at 4.30.. Basic.no frills cold and damp..no heating on and was freezing.toilet seat kept falling off.no food served till 7pm no good as was goin to wedding so. Tried Guinness had 2 then ran out all in all disaster

Reviewed by
William M

From Consett, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Thankfully only booked in for 1 night
On entering the building the smell of cigarette smoke was overwhelming. Room 4, in desperate need of decorating. The bathroom was so grubby that I didn't bother using the shower/bath facilities and made do with a stand up wash. No toiletries on offer. The breakfast was of poor quality with no choice of time to be served - 8 am or nothing ...... as I was desperate to get away from the place it didn't matter that much.

Reviewed by
Elaine P

From Leigh, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Basic, but no compaints.
The rooms were warm, there were plenty of clean towels and hot water. Beds were comfy. It was pretty good value and the breakfast was fine. If the wifi had worked I'd have been delighted, but these things can be fickle.

Reviewed by
Brett A

From Dunstable, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Standard of accomadation and food.
The room was adequate but certainly not luxurious. We found the breakfast OK but the evening meal was not very good at all.

Reviewed by
Liz B

From Clitheroe, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We were put in an annex with a separate locked entrance, when we left to go out for the day, on our return the door to the annex was unlocked and our room was also unlocked. The room had a 3/4 size bed and a single bed in it and there was no where to put our suitcases except on the bed. If there had been 3 of us there would have been nowhere at all for the cases as the floor area left was not big enough The bed was not made for the three nights we were there the duvet was just pulled up and no effort to even straightened the sheets was made. All together a very poor room.
I'm sorry to say it gets worse. For the evening meal I ordered Lasagne, when it arrived it consisted of about 4 sheets of pasta on top of each other with about a teaspoon full of mince on top, this as covered by an orange coloured sauce that I have no idea what it was made from. My wife had the grilled salmon which was burnt and very dry - ruined a nice piece of salmond

Reviewed by
John Campbell-Smith

From Invergordon, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Durham break
Very helpful staff. Budget room good value food and service excellent

Reviewed by
Geoff G

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Look at the keyrings closely
This was a nice play to stay in, good location and pleasant atmosphere. Some of the facilities in the room didn't work, such as the shower, but the breakfast was nice.

Reviewed by
Laura H

From Lewisham, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Needs a makeover
Room was smelly which put me off straight away. Needed a bit of modernisation but was clean. Breakfast was good but I still wouldn't want to stay again.

Reviewed by
John P

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

What a great stay.
We arrived mid week and at first didn't like the decor (Victorian) in the Inn, but please do not judge a book by it's cover. The reception we received was pleasing as was the room. The meal was great both in the evening and at breakfast. What will really get my wife and I back there was the evenings spent in the lounge bar along with other business travellers and locals. The Ale was exceptional as were the laughs and good humour.
We look forward to a return trip soon.

Reviewed by
J Sims

From Abingdon, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next