No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Lambton Hounds Inn

3Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
62-64 Front Street, Pity Me, , Durham, DH1 5DE
Brother and sister, James and Katy, have run this family business since 2006 and have overseen many changes and improvements to the old inn making the Lambton Hounds a perfect base to explore the riches of Durham and its surroundings. We provide the ideal location for a weekend break in the heart of the North East with many famous sights and tourist attractions on our doorstep. In addition, with a variety of great transport links very close by, we enable you with easy access to the North East's most famous tourist attractions: Durham Cathedral and Castle, Crook Hall and Gardens, Beamish Museum, National Railway Museum, Auckland and Bamburgh Castles, Diggerland, Adventure Valley and much more. We have a choice of eight rooms for visitors to choose from our traditional, cosy and comfortable coaching inn of over 250 years old. Rooms offer period characteristics and have en-suite facilities with a choice of bath or shower. Our Bed & Breakfast has a three star National Tourist Board rating and the rooms are equipped with LCD TV, Freeview, radio alarm clocks, tea making facilities and toiletries. We also offer free WIFI area. Breakfast is served everyday from 8:00 - 9:00. At the counter you will find a wide selection of cereals, yoghurts and fruit juice for you to help yourselves to. You will be served tea or coffee and toast, then a full English breakfast (or any variation). Check in time is from 4pm and check out time is 10:30am. Our friendly country style Pub comprises of 3 different sections: the lounge, snug and bar. The lounge features an open fire place and our star attraction, "the lounge bar" which is the ORIGINAL cocktail bar from the RMS Olympic, sister ship of the TITANIC. Our homemade traditional Tapas Restaurant is very different to the ones you would find elsewhere. We pride ourselves on fresh and simple ingredients to produce the type of Tapa found in little Spanish bars across different Regions of Spain. Please visit www.lambtonhounds.co.uk for more info.
Picture of The Lambton Hounds Inn, Durham at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since February 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 47 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
64% recommended this accommodation to a friend 66% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ideal for a weekend break
The Lambton Hounds is in the village of Pity Me which is about 3 miles north of Durham itself. The pub is old and is a trafitional village pub, serving decent evening meals. Its best to book a table at weekends as the steaks go very quickly! The room was basic, but clean and there were extra pillows and a blanket in the cupboard. There were plenty of clean towels available in the en suite bathroom and constant hot water. All in all a convenient place to stay within easy reach of Durham. There is aldo a retail shopping park within walking distance of the Inn.

Reviewed by
Judith Whitehead

From Cleckheaton, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Damp and basic
Was shown to room at 4.30.. Basic.no frills cold and damp..no heating on and was freezing.toilet seat kept falling off.no food served till 7pm no good as was goin to wedding so. Tried Guinness had 2 then ran out all in all disaster

Reviewed by
William M

From Consett, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Thankfully only booked in for 1 night
On entering the building the smell of cigarette smoke was overwhelming. Room 4, in desperate need of decorating. The bathroom was so grubby that I didn't bother using the shower/bath facilities and made do with a stand up wash. No toiletries on offer. The breakfast was of poor quality with no choice of time to be served - 8 am or nothing ...... as I was desperate to get away from the place it didn't matter that much.

Reviewed by
Elaine P

From Leigh, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Basic, but no compaints.
The rooms were warm, there were plenty of clean towels and hot water. Beds were comfy. It was pretty good value and the breakfast was fine. If the wifi had worked I'd have been delighted, but these things can be fickle.

Reviewed by
Brett A

From Dunstable, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Standard of accomadation and food.
The room was adequate but certainly not luxurious. We found the breakfast OK but the evening meal was not very good at all.

Reviewed by
Liz B

From Clitheroe, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We were put in an annex with a separate locked entrance, when we left to go out for the day, on our return the door to the annex was unlocked and our room was also unlocked. The room had a 3/4 size bed and a single bed in it and there was no where to put our suitcases except on the bed. If there had been 3 of us there would have been nowhere at all for the cases as the floor area left was not big enough The bed was not made for the three nights we were there the duvet was just pulled up and no effort to even straightened the sheets was made. All together a very poor room.
I'm sorry to say it gets worse. For the evening meal I ordered Lasagne, when it arrived it consisted of about 4 sheets of pasta on top of each other with about a teaspoon full of mince on top, this as covered by an orange coloured sauce that I have no idea what it was made from. My wife had the grilled salmon which was burnt and very dry - ruined a nice piece of salmond

Reviewed by
John Campbell-Smith

From Invergordon, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Durham break
Very helpful staff. Budget room good value food and service excellent

Reviewed by
Geoff G

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Look at the keyrings closely
This was a nice play to stay in, good location and pleasant atmosphere. Some of the facilities in the room didn't work, such as the shower, but the breakfast was nice.

Reviewed by
Laura H

From Lewisham, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Needs a makeover
Room was smelly which put me off straight away. Needed a bit of modernisation but was clean. Breakfast was good but I still wouldn't want to stay again.

Reviewed by
John P

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

What a great stay.
We arrived mid week and at first didn't like the decor (Victorian) in the Inn, but please do not judge a book by it's cover. The reception we received was pleasing as was the room. The meal was great both in the evening and at breakfast. What will really get my wife and I back there was the evenings spent in the lounge bar along with other business travellers and locals. The Ale was exceptional as were the laughs and good humour.
We look forward to a return trip soon.

Reviewed by
J Sims

From Abingdon, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next