The Brace of Pheasants

4

Plush, ,, Dorchester, DT2 7RQ

Price From 159.26 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Excellent

All reviews (41)

100% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Rachel B

  • April 2015

A little bit of heaven under a thatched roof

The Brace of Pheasants was a very fortuitous last minute mini break booking.

Idyllic country pub with a thatched roof,, with friendly and helpful staff, located in a hamlet in the Piddle Valley. We stayed in a room in the annexe, recently converted from an old fashioned skittle alley. Room was lovely: nicely decorated; homely; clean; very comfy beds. Food was AMAZING. We ate in the pub every night. Meat-eater's paradise, not for the vegetarian. Best dish was smoked chicken breast with madiera and stilton sauce...yummy. Proper cooked breakfast every morning. Good quality locally sourced ingredients, cooked by food loving chefs. A delight. Stay there!

  • N Marten

  • April 2015

The Brace of Pheasants

Had a lovely overnight stay.

Was our 18th wedding Anniversary. Great food and atmosphere. Will definitely return.

  • Racheal N

  • April 2015

excellent

Big beds, very good shower, tasty breakfast, reasonable price..what else i cant ask for more?!

  • S Smith

  • April 2015

Weekend on Dorset

We were given a warm welcome by the lovely ladies who run the hotel and shown our room which surpassed expectations - clean and bright with some nice touches, and decorated in a fresh modern style.

Large bathroom - modern suite, and a huge bath. Dinner was a bit of a disappointment - a flashy menu but the duck was expensive for what turned out to be a breast on a pile of overcooked, dry bubble and squeak ( leftovers?). Ice cream for pud was soft. Felt they would have been better sticking to a smaller more traditional menu - pub grub served well. Ditch the fancy stuff. Didn't eat there the second night because of the food. However the breakfast was great - well cooked and simple. Result. Pity about the thatched roof which spoilt the picturesque building.

  • Angela M

  • April 2015

A relaxing country retreat

In the tiny hamlet of Plush, The Brace of Pheasants is a delightful relaxing country retreat, converted into an inn from two old cottages and a forge.

The accommodation is of a high standard, recently re decorated to a high standard with beautiful comfortable bed and furnishings, large bathroom and huge bath. We were in a pretty room with beams and window seats. The weather was cold and wet so we appreciated the nice warm room. The staff were very friendly and helpful and food good. Highly recommended if you want a quiet place to chill out, go for walks and eat well.

  • Alan K

  • March 2015

Hard to find but worth the challenge

Arrived a bit later than anticipated after making a couple of wrong turns in the dark due to sparse road signage en route.

Warm welcome on arrival and room exceeded expectations. Warm and cosy despite the cold weather, also very large bathroom and splendid shower. Supremely comfortable wide bed. Breakfast was well cooked, not greasy,and nicely presented but wider selection would have been appreciated. Beautiful and quiet location. So enjoyable that we stayed a second night.

  • Helen M

  • March 2015

relaxing break

A very relaxing break, staff very friendly.

Food extremely good. We stayed in the annex and the room was lovely, bed very comfortable and the bathroom very spacious. If you are wanting a relaxing break away from it all this is perfect place as no signal for mobiles unless your with vodaphone so you can really relax.

  • Rebecca Tapley

  • March 2015

March 6th -7th 2015

One of the nicest places we have ever stayed, the room was really lovely, clean peaceful and comfortable, the staff were all lovely.

The dinner in the evening was really good as was the breakfast. We would recommend highly and will stay again one day.

  • stephen mills

  • February 2015

The Brace of Pheasants

fantastic accomadtion food and staff great will go again

  • C George

  • October 2014

Lovely hotel.

Beautifully decorated room. Quiet location.