No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Brace of Pheasants

4Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
Plush, , , Dorchester, DT2 7RQ
Phil and Carol Bennett would like to welcome you to the heart of Plush and the beautiful surrounding countryside of this idyllic Dorset hamlet. Recently awarded Dorset Dining Pub of the Year 2011 by the Good Pub Guide. Please feel free to join us any lunch time or evening to partake of some fine wines, beers and of course our renowned food. You are welcome to bring your family, friends, colleagues or just pop in on your own. We have eight en-suite bedrooms, four in the old skittle alley and the remainder upstairs above the pub. All our rooms have been decorated by interior designer Chrissy Potter and we hope you like them as much as we do. There is some beautiful countryside surrounding our pub with some super walks all around the valley. As you would expect, situated in the heart of Dorset, we have fabulous produce virtually on our doorstep. Below is a list of our suppliers: Meat: George Tucker Butchers in Dorchester, who supplies us with beef from Middlemarsh and Higher Waterstone, lamb from Askerswell and rare breed pork from Godmanstone. Rose Veal from Jurrasic Meat, Winfrith Game: Margret Ralph in Dorchester for all locally sourced venison, pigeon and rabbit Local Shoots for partridge and pheasant in season Fish: Samways of Bridport for locally landed fish Jeff Milner for Portland Crab and diver caught scallops Our menus change daily and range in price from £4 to £8 for starters, £10 to £15 for mains and £5 for a homemade dessert and always keep an eye out for our specials board.
Picture of The Brace of Pheasants, Dorchester at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since July 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 22 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
98% recommended this accommodation to a friend 98% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The accommodation and the hotel bar/eating area were fine just one criticism (well maybe two).
We were there during the World Cup Footlball and the size of the TV was very small so it was not ideal for watching one of the 'all important' England games - it would have been OK at other times.
What must be the air conditioning unit for the Kitchen is incredibly noisy so in this small village that is very quiet it was quite intrusive.

Reviewed by
Sheila J

From Chipping Norton, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

perfect
All I can say is that the Brace of Pheasants is perfect
Great host
Great food
Great room
Beautiful village
We will be back soon

Reviewed by
simon cheshire

From Saffron Walden, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Would love to stay again
Very friendly, lovely comfy room and delicious food

Reviewed by
K Quantrell

From Camberley, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The best little English pub in the country.
We had a wonderful stay in this beautiful little English pub , hidden away in the country, excellent room and the large double bed was fabulous plus the bathroom was just amazing .
We also stayed for the evening meal which was beautifully presented and in a gorgeous setting inside the old fireplace so it was very different, we would love to come back later in the year and have another English breakfast.
Thank you to the staff who were fantastic. Thank you staff for a wonderful stay.

Reviewed by
Anthony A

From Wantage, England
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quite Dorset Village,
Lovely pub accommodation. Stylish and very comfortable room, huge bath and plenty of hot water, friendly staff and good food. Would go again.

Reviewed by
Nina R

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A breath of fresh air !
If you enjoy the Countryside, you will love the Brace of Pheasants. Situated in perhaps the most beautiful little Hamlet I have ever visited in the UK ! The bar area and furnishings could be described as basic and traditional, but he welcome is five star, the food to die for..and great value too. Accommodation is clean, warm and modern. As a stopover on business or for leisure, I guarantee that you won't be disappointed. Wi fi works well here.

Reviewed by
Tim P

From Pershore, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Birthday surprise
Due to work pressure, we could only book a quick getaway, fairly local, and just one night. What an amazing experience! We felt that we had had a top drawer holiday! the room was beautiful, the facilities just right, the staff friendly, and the food... well, the menu choice was fabulous, and it was cooked perfectly. Can't wait to go back.

Reviewed by
Sara Lees-Smith

From Swanage, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very good friendly staff superb dinner breakfast also cannot fault it definitely stay again if in area

Reviewed by
peter laws

From Bridgend, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Enjoyed our stay
Friendly and welcoming staff with good food and service in a relaxed atmosphere. It's not a city break and its remote and very picturesque location is a major feature. We really enjoyed our stay and I'd recommend visiting the Brace of Pheasants.

Reviewed by
Ray Coster

From Witham, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very enjoyable weekend
We stayed in the main building and not the converted skittle alley the room, food, owners, and staff were all lovely, the area is beautiful with some really nice country walks with beautiful views.
We have no complaints and could not have asked for any more.
We looked in the skittle rooms out of interest and they are of the same high standard as our room.

Reviewed by
m cooper

From Southampton, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next