Reviews - The Anchor Inn


The Anchor InnHillfarrance, Taunton, TA4 1AW

Price From 94 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (30)

87% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • c waller

  • August 2015

family outing

the anchor inn is in a very quiet place about 6 miles from bishops Lydiard train station where we caught the steam train to Minehead, the rooms were very clean and comfortable and were motel style with heating as required.

The food at the inn was a very good standard and owners very friendly, all in all it was good value for the money. C.W. South Wales.

  • R Kulkarni

  • August 2015

No frills Pleasent accomodation

Simple basic and all essentials in place.

No frills type of place. Food very good. Very friendly and helpful. very quiet and tranquil surroundings ideal for a chill out.

  • m tranter

  • July 2015

Our stay at Anchor Inn

Very nice accommodation, but we thought the breakfast was very expensive.

  • Leigh H

  • July 2015

Needs some work

The anchor inn is so close to being a nice place to stay, but it's let down by lack of care for the rooms and for the guests.

The rooms are nice enough, clean, if a little dated, but I imagine the owners are performing maintenance themselves and either have lack of interest, lack of knowledge, or lack of time to manage the accommodation, when they should be employing a specific handy man to keep on top of the issues. My wardrobe door knobs were coming off, it takes 2 mins to put thicker screws in to hold them on. One bedside lamp had a physically broken bulb which was dangerous so I removed and binned. The other had a broken shade, which was poorly glued back on. Just buy a new lamp shade and stop skimping. There was a patch on the wall which had been nicely repaired, but not repainted. The painted radiator in the bathroom was starting to rust - This is why people use chrome radiators in bathrooms. The coat hook by the door was broken, but left on the side, I imagine so it could be glued back on at a later date... I could go on... My room was cleaned once during my stay - This is a B&B, which should be akin to a hotel, not a self catering apartment, it should be cleaned every day. Check in also is not until 6pm. Not really acceptable in this day and age - If you can't be there to welcome guests, then at least put the room key in a lock box and give the guests a code so they can let themselves in. All of these little things are EASILY fixed, and the owners run the pub next door which is actually quite nice, and the food, if a little over-priced was good pub grub. If they spent as much time caring for the accommodation as they do the pub I would heartily recommend the Anchor Inn, but at best, right now, it's average.

  • Sue Camb

  • June 2015

Lovely Stay The Anchor

We found the accommodation perfectly acceptable and the manager and staff helpful, professional and friendly.

We couldn't fault the food and had a wonderful experience so much so that we will be staying at The Anchor in the future. We were made to feel extremely welcome by Alan and would not hesitate in recommending The Anchor to friends, family and business associates.

  • Barbara W

  • June 2015

Well worth staying.

Very comfortable, and we were dealt with efficiently and pleasantly.

The food was very good and would recommend the lemon cheesecake, it was the best we have ever had. The room was a little tired, but nevertheless clean.

  • James D

  • June 2015

Not particularly cheap, nor cheerful

It was unclear on the booking that the place doesn't open until 6pm so if you arrive earlier you will have to wait.

At 5.45 I was harangued by the member of staff who arrived and shouted 'six o'clock' through my car window. There is no real breakfast option, although you can order overpriced tea, toast or cereal, which is described as 'continental'. The room was generally clean but run-down and I'm not sure when last occupied as there were ants on the floor and in the bathroom. This put me off eating in the pub and so I went elsewhere for food in the evening and the following morning.

  • C Jacob

  • May 2015

Fantastic service, a Gem of a place - great value for money

We were very pleased with our room.

It had a double room with a single bed and a twin room with kitchenette. Quiet location, ample parking, very friendly locals and staff.

  • K Poularakis

  • April 2015

small, friendly, quiet excellent for walkers or cyclists

Stayed here for 3 nights.

In the middle of no where needed a car to travel to shop. Excellent for country breaks, walkers or cyclists. Has play area for small children very family friendly. Excellent staff. Was offered fresh bed linen and tea coffee top up on second day. Room was very average leaking dripping tap but excellent powerful shower. Food was good but not much of it for the price. Heating on constantly that we could control by thermostat. Overall nice country pub.

  • m rees

  • March 2015


Food was of a very high standard.