No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Anchor Inn

4Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
The Anchor Inn Hillfarrance, Taunton, TA4 1AW
The Anchor Inn is a family run, freehold country inn, situated in the village of Hillfarrance between Taunton and Wellington. It prides itself on being a home away from home. All the rooms are grounf floor and tastefully decorated and have hand picked soft furnishings for added comfort. Two of the units have 2 bedrooms and therefore popular for familes and large parties e.g. golf weekends. ( less than 1 mile from Oake Manor Golf course) Situated on National Cycle Route 3

It serves home cooked, traditional pub dishes, such as its range of top and bottom short-crust pastry pies and mash, made using high quality, local produce. It has a good selection of vegetarian and fish dishes and the homemade puddings menu is especially popular.

As well as a traditional public and lounge bars with beams and a feature dual-facing open fire, the Anchor Inn also has a stunning restaurant with a solid oak floor and large skylights. All rooms with free Wifi.

Their renowned Sunday carvery is very popular and booking is essential. Three top quality westcountry meats are provided each week with a selection of local vegetables.

Outdoors there is an orchard beer garden, a large Mediterranean style sun terrace and paddock used for family games that can be borrowed from the pub. The Inn also has five charming letting apartments within the grounds.
Picture of The Anchor Inn, Taunton at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 26 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
88% recommended this accommodation to a friend 89% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely
Very welcoming and in a beautiful spot.

Reviewed by
Paul B

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great food, warm welcome, good beer
all in all great value stay. the food was good, really tasty, the beer was good and the atmosphere good. The room was okay, spacious clean and tidy. The mattress was not the best but it was outweighed by all the positives

Reviewed by
Gordon B

From Farnham, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent gem
We booked late and got great value for money. The friendliness of staff and quality of the food was first class. Will definitely stay again when making the long journey form home to DEvon or Cornwall

Reviewed by
Sandra B

From Bourne, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Dissapointment at a wondeful Inn in a beautiful location
Rooms very sad and tired, in need of updating and painting. Definately need a thorough clean and in particular around the edges of the carpets. Mirrors appear to be clean until the sun catches them and then there is a film of dust covering them. Beds clean, however bedding very creased and towels washed out

Reviewed by
pauline d

From Portland, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Really jolly nice
We booked this very late and got a very good price. We did not eat at The Anchor as we were supporting a rider at the Horse Trials at Pontispool. We got a lovely welcome when we arrived around 6.30 pm. The room was bright and clean. Lots of water bottles, tea and coffee etc. in the room. We enjoyed the TV later. We had a drink in the bar when we returned after supper at the event. Nice glass off wine and a good welcome from another staff member. Electric shower, lovely. Left early for dressage, but would certainly return.

Reviewed by
Catherine K

From Tadworth, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The anchor inn was the first place we had stayed in Somerset and was a very pleasant experience ,friendly staff when we got there ,rooms where perfect ( for the price ) the food was amazing and out little boy loved playing in the playground bit on the side ,not too far from town we are already planning our next stay ,thank u anchor inn

Reviewed by
F Jambwa

From Southampton, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Happy to return...
Good food and friendly place to stay....Quiet and relaxing .Would stay again

Reviewed by
Julie W

From Talybont, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Had a wonderful two night stay, every member of staff made us feel welcome. The room was a little dated but on the whole very good value for the money. The food was beautifully presented, good quality and could not have tasted any better.

Reviewed by
L Fox

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely pub with an excellent room
Stayed here for one night was made to feel very welcome by the barman who even kept the bar open just for me (as I hadn't realised everyone had gone) The room was spacious and very clean as was the bathroom. I would recommend to anyone and hopefully shall be back myself.

Reviewed by
S Gadd

From Swanage, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The inn was ran by very nice people and the staff were excellent. We stayed in the room which slept 5 people and it was just what we needed. I could not give a higher recommendation for the food as it was well up there with some of the nicest meals I've had. Many thanks to the Anchor inn.

Reviewed by
James Murray

From Brigg, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Group of men

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next