No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Anchor Inn

4Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
The Anchor Inn Hillfarrance, Taunton, TA4 1AW
The Anchor Inn is a family run, freehold country inn, situated in the village of Hillfarrance between Taunton and Wellington. It prides itself on being a home away from home. All the rooms are grounf floor and tastefully decorated and have hand picked soft furnishings for added comfort. Two of the units have 2 bedrooms and therefore popular for familes and large parties e.g. golf weekends. ( less than 1 mile from Oake Manor Golf course) Situated on National Cycle Route 3

It serves home cooked, traditional pub dishes, such as its range of top and bottom short-crust pastry pies and mash, made using high quality, local produce. It has a good selection of vegetarian and fish dishes and the homemade puddings menu is especially popular.

As well as a traditional public and lounge bars with beams and a feature dual-facing open fire, the Anchor Inn also has a stunning restaurant with a solid oak floor and large skylights. All rooms with free Wifi.

Their renowned Sunday carvery is very popular and booking is essential. Three top quality westcountry meats are provided each week with a selection of local vegetables.

Outdoors there is an orchard beer garden, a large Mediterranean style sun terrace and paddock used for family games that can be borrowed from the pub. The Inn also has five charming letting apartments within the grounds.
Picture of The Anchor Inn, Taunton at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 27 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
88% recommended this accommodation to a friend 89% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

nice place
comfy

Reviewed by
nigel d

From England
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

anchor inn taunton
accommadation was very good ,clean and well maintained there were lovely grounds with a play area for children and chickens rabbits etc .staff were helpfull and i would be happy to go there again when in taunton

Reviewed by
c foyster

From st austell, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

stop over on the way to Cornwall
This is the second time we have used the Anchor as a stopover on the way to Devon and Cornwall. It breaks up the journey and feels like the holiday starts a day sooner.
The Anchor is always clean and warm (we have the family chalet) and the pub itself is cosy with a good selection of ales. The menu is very much better than you average pub, with generous portions.
Very good all round (again)

Reviewed by
phillip H

From Bedford, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect for a family with young children
We stayed for 1 night but would have been happy to stay longer. It has a lovely setting and a great play area for young children. The staff are really friendly and the food was excellent inc the English breakfast. The accommodation needs a bit updating but is spacious and clean and there was a fridge, kettle and plenty of tea coffee biscuits etc. so if you're like us with a young family we would definitely recommend as I do tend to have high expectations and it met our needs.

Reviewed by
David B

From Hull, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely
Very welcoming and in a beautiful spot.

Reviewed by
Paul B

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great food, warm welcome, good beer
all in all great value stay. the food was good, really tasty, the beer was good and the atmosphere good. The room was okay, spacious clean and tidy. The mattress was not the best but it was outweighed by all the positives

Reviewed by
Gordon B

From Farnham, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent gem
We booked late and got great value for money. The friendliness of staff and quality of the food was first class. Will definitely stay again when making the long journey form home to DEvon or Cornwall

Reviewed by
Sandra B

From Bourne, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Dissapointment at a wondeful Inn in a beautiful location
Rooms very sad and tired, in need of updating and painting. Definately need a thorough clean and in particular around the edges of the carpets. Mirrors appear to be clean until the sun catches them and then there is a film of dust covering them. Beds clean, however bedding very creased and towels washed out

Reviewed by
pauline d

From Portland, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Really jolly nice
We booked this very late and got a very good price. We did not eat at The Anchor as we were supporting a rider at the Horse Trials at Pontispool. We got a lovely welcome when we arrived around 6.30 pm. The room was bright and clean. Lots of water bottles, tea and coffee etc. in the room. We enjoyed the TV later. We had a drink in the bar when we returned after supper at the event. Nice glass off wine and a good welcome from another staff member. Electric shower, lovely. Left early for dressage, but would certainly return.

Reviewed by
Catherine K

From Tadworth, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The anchor inn was the first place we had stayed in Somerset and was a very pleasant experience ,friendly staff when we got there ,rooms where perfect ( for the price ) the food was amazing and out little boy loved playing in the playground bit on the side ,not too far from town we are already planning our next stay ,thank u anchor inn

Reviewed by
F Jambwa

From Southampton, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Family with young children

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next