Riftswood

4

5 LADYSMITH AVENUE, WHITBY, YO21 3HX

Price From 138.15 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Excellent

All reviews (61)

100% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Ben P

  • May 2015

Great B&B

Brilliant hosts, super breakfast, lovely room

  • Ken F

  • April 2015

Outstanding

Excellent place to stay, highly recommended

  • A Robinson

  • April 2015

Our stay at Riftswood

We loved our stay at Riftswood& would definitely stay here again.

We had a warm & friendly welcome which extended to the whole of our stay. The breakfasts were first class, all our needs were catered for.

  • david p

  • April 2015

A lovely homely B&B very relaxed,owners so friendly & welcoming nothing too much trouble very accommodating.

Great breakfast & tea & cake on arrival was really lovely. Lots of helpful info about the local area. Will definitely be going back .

  • Richard Hargreaves

  • April 2015

Birthday Weekend Getaway.

Just wanted to thank Peter and Paula for their excellent hospitality this weekend.

Arrived at the Riftswood at Noon and was greeted on the door step by the hosts. Free Car parking scratch card sorted and then shown to our lovely room. Was offered wine & cake on arrival, but we just had the Wine of Course !. Breakfast was excellent and nothing was too much trouble. Even received a card and bottle of red wine from Peter, Paula and Denzil the dog. Great Weekend and will most certainly be returning sometime in the future. Thanks. Richard & Jayne x

  • C Ward

  • March 2015

Whitby break

Excellent b&b ideally situated just off the sea front.

Paula, Peter and Denzel the dog, made us feel very welcome as soon as we walked through the door. Although not originally from Whitby, Peter and Paula are very knowledgeable and great ambassadors for the town. The breakfast, which was all locally sourced, (even home made jam and marmalade) was first class and set us up for a busy day siteseeing. Definately recommend it to friends and family and looking forward to our next visit.

  • Niaomi Twiss

  • February 2015

excellent accommodation wonderful people

The Riftswood is a must stay in Whitby.

Very clean and tidy. Everything works efficiently and the location is excellent. You can get some peace and quiet whilst enjoying the beautiful sea view. Most of all Peter and Paula the hosts are the kindest people I've ever met. They couldn't help you more if they tried and will do anything to accommodate your needs. This should be a five star hotel. Food also is top quality and locally sourced, they even make their own home made jam for you at breakfast. They don't just go the extra mile, they go an extra five miles for you!

  • S Fendyke

  • January 2015

Amazing

We were welcomed very well by the owners.

There was parking outside plenty of space. Excellent standard from cleanliness,friendliness to local sourced food. The breakfast was the best we have ever had and my husband travels so he knows a good one when he sees them. The location is great you are close to town but in a nice secluded area with no noice. They couldn't do enough for and made you feel very welcome. This B&B is a gem and when you find them you don't need to go any where else. We will always use this B&B when visiting Whitby and would highly recommend to all.

  • Steven R

  • January 2015

Riftwood at new year

Great place, great location, friendly owners, great food and wish we'd have stayed longer.

Recommended!

  • P Smith

  • November 2014

Excellent room, owners, food and dog.

It is clear that one of the owners of this B&B has a maths degree as it is perfectly priced.

On arrival we were greeted in a very friendly manner and shown to our room. We paid slightly more for the nicer room with the posh fireplace - and nice it is. The only flaw we found was that the soap was running out and once mentioned it was refilled immediately. The cleanliness of the room was exceptional, the bed was medium-firm, but comfy and with a decent quality mattress with no roll-together. The only problem with the room layout is that there is a lack of sockets which could easily be amended with a couple of extension cords - it's hardly a deal breaker but with everyone owning a mobile phone these days having sockets at both sides of the bed is a small, but important detail. The radiators have got thermostatic valves on so you can adjust the temperature to suit. If you don't like dogs, don't worry - they ask you on entry and will keep him in the front room out of your way if you don't like him. He doesn't jump up or anything and quite frankly I wanted to take him home with me. He comes to greet you and show off his bone. If I had a bone like that, I'd be showing it off as well. We went out for food at a fairly posh local restaurant and frankly they need to take lessons from Riftswood on cooking as the breakfast was exceptional. They ask you what you want the day before so as to minimise waste which is really very sensible and allows them to invest in better quality food as a result of the cost savings. As for customer service, it's really superb. If you're thinking of staying in a chain hotel just don't bother when there are lovely people like this around. After our stay we came back to pay (I'd missed the e-mail that says they only take cash or cheque which wasn't a problem for them at all and they said we could come back and pay) and had got soaked. We were let back into our room to get changed and dry off as well as being given cups of tea to warm up - no extra cost, just human kindness. Try getting that from a chain hotel. We would both definitely stay here again if visiting Whitby and without question would recommend it to friends and family. They also sell professional photos at low prices which you can look through whilst stroking the dog. Location wise, it is just a short walk to the beach (2 minutes) and about 8 or 10 minutes to the main restaurants and shops, but I walk slowly. There is allocated parking and you get given a card to put in your car. Sat nav took us straight there with the postcode. Honestly don't bother looking any further - this is the perfect B&B for almost everyone.