No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Riftswood

4Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
5 LADYSMITH AVENUE , WHITBY, YO21 3HX
Charming Victorian, family run Bed & Breakfast, quietly situated in a secluded part of Whitby, yet within close proximity to both the sea front and the bus & rail stations in the centre of Whitby. Guest facilities include 2 Large and 1 Standard double en-suite bedroom. All rooms are equipped with colour TV/DVD, Tea/Coffee/Chocolate making facilities, hairdryer and radio alarm. A choice of items from our full English breakfast is served, complimented by local award winning 'Bothams' Tea and/or fresh ground coffee. We can offer a pickup/drop off service to and from Whitby Rail and Bus Stations, by prior arrangement. We also offer secure storage for cycles, and a number of walking and cycling routes are available for use during your stay. For keen golfers we can offer 2 rounds for the price of one at the Whitby Golf Club. Please note that Laterooms do not take payment at the time of booking, card details are taken to secure the booking only. We accept cash or cheque on arrival. Sorry we are unable to process debit or credit card payments.
Picture of Riftswood, WHITBY at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 57 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
100% recommended this accommodation to a friend 99% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

5* Amazing
Quite far the best hotel I and my partner have ever stayed in! From the moment we got there everything was perfect. We were offered wine or tea and some cake on arrival, the room was huge and very clean. The bathroom was of high quality and extremely clean. Tea and coffee facilities as well as a tv with tons of dvds to chose from if we wish. Breakfast was lovely and even catered for vegetarian! Happily stay there again

Reviewed by
Laura-Ashley H

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

What lovely people - how refreshing.
Nothing's perfect in this world, and I could pick and scratch for some minor imperfections here and there - but that would be churlish. The 'mine hosts' are a wonderful advertisement for the service industry in general, and run a very amiable ship quite beautifully; with the focus of attention at all times the enjoyment and comfort of the customer. What lovely folks they are, and what a thoroughly pleasant stay our little party enjoyed. Expect to be made to feel very welcome indeed - it's their default setting. Other perhaps less enlightened establishments kindly take note ...

Reviewed by
ALAN F

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very welcoming
Excellent stay. Very welcoming hosts nothing was too much trouble. Lovely little touches like wine and fruit cake on arrival. Plus a lift to our evening wedding reception which was great.

Reviewed by
David Bagshaw

From Catterick Garrison, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent Hotel and so friendly
My Husband and myself have just enjoyed 2 days at the Riftswood.Peter and Paula made you so
welcome,nothing was too much trouble for them.We had drinks and cake on arrival ,the rooms were
so clean.and the breakfast was excellent,including home made jams and marmalade.Would not hesitate to go back.

Reviewed by
Kathryn Bassindale

From Doncaster, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

riftswood guest house whitby
I would recommend this guest house. The owners were very welcoming and friendly,it was very clean and the breakfast was excellent. The location was good as it was far enough away from the town to be very quiet but just a short walk into town. All in all a very good experience. Would definatley stay again.

Reviewed by
jan k

From Bradford, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Whitby's little gem
Nothing was too much trouble to make our stay enjoyable.Peter and Paula were fantastic hosts. From the moment we arrived,a welcome drink and piece of fruit cake and when Paula realised my husband drank earl grey tea the specialty tea was left in our room.

Reviewed by
Jane T

From Cleethorpes, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect stay
It is impossible to find fault with Riftswood B&B. Excellent service from the offer of a glass of wine upon arrival, to our wine being chilled (to our pleasant surprise) to excellent breakfasts and friendly chats. Wholeheartedly recommended!

Reviewed by
Andrew P

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic stay at The Riftswood B&B
Never been to Whitby before and I loved the place and the Peter & Paula who run the Riftswood B&B were fantastic hosts with great knowledge of the local areas and had lots of tips on places to visit and transport etc. Our stay was very pleasant and the room was clean, tidy with plenty of space in our room, couldn't have asked for more. Lots of small touches to our stay :o) Would most defiantly stop their again. Big thank you Peter & Paula

Reviewed by
tony thomson

From Alfreton, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic couple peter and Paula loved them they couldn't have done any more for us nothing was too much trouble we will defiantly be going back food was lovely and plenty of it really enjoyed it lived the dog denzil such a pleasant disposition he always came for a fuss would recommend to go here 20 out of 10 lol fantastic love u both

Reviewed by
Sharon Bateman

From Leicester, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Extremely friendly owners that go out of their way to make your stay welcome, even offering lifts to town. The rooms are nice and the place feels very warm. Their breakfasts are really good and can cooked to different likings.

Reviewed by
R Sanderson

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next