No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Riftswood

4Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
5 LADYSMITH AVENUE , WHITBY, YO21 3HX
Charming Victorian, family run Bed & Breakfast, quietly situated in a secluded part of Whitby, yet within close proximity to both the sea front and the bus & rail stations in the centre of Whitby. Guest facilities include 2 Large and 1 Standard double en-suite bedroom. All rooms are equipped with colour TV/DVD, Tea/Coffee/Chocolate making facilities, hairdryer and radio alarm. A choice of items from our full English breakfast is served, complimented by local award winning 'Bothams' Tea and/or fresh ground coffee. We can offer a pickup/drop off service to and from Whitby Rail and Bus Stations, by prior arrangement. We also offer secure storage for cycles, and a number of walking and cycling routes are available for use during your stay. For keen golfers we can offer 2 rounds for the price of one at the Whitby Golf Club. Please note that Laterooms do not take payment at the time of booking, card details are taken to secure the booking only. We accept cash or cheque on arrival. Sorry we are unable to process debit or credit card payments.
Picture of Riftswood, WHITBY at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 58 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
100% recommended this accommodation to a friend 99% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent B and B
What a wonderful couple sorry plus denzel very enjoyable stay very comfortable and the breakfast was lovely . It was my birthday and I was given a bottle of wine the couple made us feel really welcome .

Reviewed by
M Purves

From Melton Mowbray, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We were really looked after, like part of the family.
We were really looked after, like part of the family.
Breakfast was fantastic.
DVD / telly in the room, choice of 40 DVDs in the breakfast room.
Large room good period decoration.
Peter, Paula and Denzil the dog were the best hosts anyone could have.
Anything you needed to know about the area Peter and Paula would know.
Location ideal quiet area, near to the beach and the town.
Will look forward to the return

Reviewed by
Robert C

From Solihull, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The best b&b we have ever stayed in
We had a lovely stay at Riftswood. Peter and Paula, the owners were fantastic hosts offering a personalised service to their guests eg. daily breakfast choices, storing guests wine in the fridge! We travelled up by train to Whitby and they even picked us up at the station and dropped us off on the morning of our departure. Attention to detail was excellent, for example a weather forecast for the day is printed each morning and displayed in the breakfast room. They were friendly and professional, the room was very clean and comfortable and breakfast was excellent… it was a pleasure to stay there.

Reviewed by
Joanna B

From Maidstone, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

5* Amazing
Quite far the best hotel I and my partner have ever stayed in! From the moment we got there everything was perfect. We were offered wine or tea and some cake on arrival, the room was huge and very clean. The bathroom was of high quality and extremely clean. Tea and coffee facilities as well as a tv with tons of dvds to chose from if we wish. Breakfast was lovely and even catered for vegetarian! Happily stay there again

Reviewed by
Laura-Ashley H

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

What lovely people - how refreshing.
Nothing's perfect in this world, and I could pick and scratch for some minor imperfections here and there - but that would be churlish. The 'mine hosts' are a wonderful advertisement for the service industry in general, and run a very amiable ship quite beautifully; with the focus of attention at all times the enjoyment and comfort of the customer. What lovely folks they are, and what a thoroughly pleasant stay our little party enjoyed. Expect to be made to feel very welcome indeed - it's their default setting. Other perhaps less enlightened establishments kindly take note ...

Reviewed by
ALAN F

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very welcoming
Excellent stay. Very welcoming hosts nothing was too much trouble. Lovely little touches like wine and fruit cake on arrival. Plus a lift to our evening wedding reception which was great.

Reviewed by
David Bagshaw

From Catterick Garrison, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent Hotel and so friendly
My Husband and myself have just enjoyed 2 days at the Riftswood.Peter and Paula made you so
welcome,nothing was too much trouble for them.We had drinks and cake on arrival ,the rooms were
so clean.and the breakfast was excellent,including home made jams and marmalade.Would not hesitate to go back.

Reviewed by
Kathryn Bassindale

From Doncaster, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

riftswood guest house whitby
I would recommend this guest house. The owners were very welcoming and friendly,it was very clean and the breakfast was excellent. The location was good as it was far enough away from the town to be very quiet but just a short walk into town. All in all a very good experience. Would definatley stay again.

Reviewed by
jan k

From Bradford, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Whitby's little gem
Nothing was too much trouble to make our stay enjoyable.Peter and Paula were fantastic hosts. From the moment we arrived,a welcome drink and piece of fruit cake and when Paula realised my husband drank earl grey tea the specialty tea was left in our room.

Reviewed by
Jane T

From Cleethorpes, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect stay
It is impossible to find fault with Riftswood B&B. Excellent service from the offer of a glass of wine upon arrival, to our wine being chilled (to our pleasant surprise) to excellent breakfasts and friendly chats. Wholeheartedly recommended!

Reviewed by
Andrew P

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next