No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Riftswood

4Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
5 LADYSMITH AVENUE , WHITBY, YO21 3HX
Charming Victorian, family run Bed & Breakfast, quietly situated in a secluded part of Whitby, yet within close proximity to both the sea front and the bus & rail stations in the centre of Whitby. Guest facilities include 2 Large and 1 Standard double en-suite bedroom. All rooms are equipped with colour TV/DVD, Tea/Coffee/Chocolate making facilities, hairdryer and radio alarm. A choice of items from our full English breakfast is served, complimented by local award winning 'Bothams' Tea and/or fresh ground coffee. We can offer a pickup/drop off service to and from Whitby Rail and Bus Stations, by prior arrangement. We also offer secure storage for cycles, and a number of walking and cycling routes are available for use during your stay. For keen golfers we can offer 2 rounds for the price of one at the Whitby Golf Club. Please note that Laterooms do not take payment at the time of booking, card details are taken to secure the booking only. We accept cash or cheque on arrival. Sorry we are unable to process debit or credit card payments.
Picture of Riftswood, WHITBY at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 60 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
100% recommended this accommodation to a friend 99% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent room, owners, food and dog.
It is clear that one of the owners of this B&B has a maths degree as it is perfectly priced. On arrival we were greeted in a very friendly manner and shown to our room. We paid slightly more for the nicer room with the posh fireplace - and nice it is. The only flaw we found was that the soap was running out and once mentioned it was refilled immediately. The cleanliness of the room was exceptional, the bed was medium-firm, but comfy and with a decent quality mattress with no roll-together. The only problem with the room layout is that there is a lack of sockets which could easily be amended with a couple of extension cords - it's hardly a deal breaker but with everyone owning a mobile phone these days having sockets at both sides of the bed is a small, but important detail. The radiators have got thermostatic valves on so you can adjust the temperature to suit.
If you don't like dogs, don't worry - they ask you on entry and will keep him in the front room out of your way if you don't like him. He doesn't jump up or anything and quite frankly I wanted to take him home with me. He comes to greet you and show off his bone. If I had a bone like that, I'd be showing it off as well.
We went out for food at a fairly posh local restaurant and frankly they need to take lessons from Riftswood on cooking as the breakfast was exceptional. They ask you what you want the day before so as to minimise waste which is really very sensible and allows them to invest in better quality food as a result of the cost savings.
As for customer service, it's really superb. If you're thinking of staying in a chain hotel just don't bother when there are lovely people like this around. After our stay we came back to pay (I'd missed the e-mail that says they only take cash or cheque which wasn't a problem for them at all and they said we could come back and pay) and had got soaked. We were let back into our room to get changed and dry off as well as being given cups of tea to warm up - no extra cost, just human kindness. Try getting that from a chain hotel.
We would both definitely stay here again if visiting Whitby and without question would recommend it to friends and family. They also sell professional photos at low prices which you can look through whilst stroking the dog.
Location wise, it is just a short walk to the beach (2 minutes) and about 8 or 10 minutes to the main restaurants and shops, but I walk slowly. There is allocated parking and you get given a card to put in your car. Sat nav took us straight there with the postcode.
Honestly don't bother looking any further - this is the perfect B&B for almost everyone.

Reviewed by
P Smith

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

An excellent all round experience. I would highly recommend this Guest House & would without doubt stay there again when in Whitby.

Reviewed by
Fred S

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The best B&B stay I have stayed in
I stayed with my girlfriend at the Riftswood B&B in Whitby for 3 nights in November. Right from the start the owner was a real gem in communicating and going above and beyond in making our stay as enjoyable as possible. She picked us up from the station and offered us a drink and a cake when we arrived. The room was clean and beautiful and there were loads of nice little touches which really added to the experience. A plentiful supply of tea, coffee, biscuits and a tasty chocolate were topped up everyday and breakfast was sensibly arranged with a little personalised menu in the room each night. There are a variety of Breakfast options available, I tried three different things all of which were very nice. Overall the most important thing is that it really felt like we were welcome. Sometimes I find in B&B's that the owner's view their guests as more of a hindrance, it was the complete opposite at Riftswood. At the end of our stay we had half a day left in Whitby and as there was nobody taking our room that night we were allowed to keep our things in the room until later in the day at no extra charge which meant we could wander around the rest of the day without our heavy luggage....when we returned to collect our things we were given a lift to the bus stop....Very highly recommended

Reviewed by
Sharleena R

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent B and B
What a wonderful couple sorry plus denzel very enjoyable stay very comfortable and the breakfast was lovely . It was my birthday and I was given a bottle of wine the couple made us feel really welcome .

Reviewed by
M Purves

From Melton Mowbray, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We were really looked after, like part of the family.
We were really looked after, like part of the family.
Breakfast was fantastic.
DVD / telly in the room, choice of 40 DVDs in the breakfast room.
Large room good period decoration.
Peter, Paula and Denzil the dog were the best hosts anyone could have.
Anything you needed to know about the area Peter and Paula would know.
Location ideal quiet area, near to the beach and the town.
Will look forward to the return

Reviewed by
Robert C

From Solihull, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The best b&b we have ever stayed in
We had a lovely stay at Riftswood. Peter and Paula, the owners were fantastic hosts offering a personalised service to their guests eg. daily breakfast choices, storing guests wine in the fridge! We travelled up by train to Whitby and they even picked us up at the station and dropped us off on the morning of our departure. Attention to detail was excellent, for example a weather forecast for the day is printed each morning and displayed in the breakfast room. They were friendly and professional, the room was very clean and comfortable and breakfast was excellent… it was a pleasure to stay there.

Reviewed by
Joanna B

From Maidstone, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

5* Amazing
Quite far the best hotel I and my partner have ever stayed in! From the moment we got there everything was perfect. We were offered wine or tea and some cake on arrival, the room was huge and very clean. The bathroom was of high quality and extremely clean. Tea and coffee facilities as well as a tv with tons of dvds to chose from if we wish. Breakfast was lovely and even catered for vegetarian! Happily stay there again

Reviewed by
Laura-Ashley H

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

What lovely people - how refreshing.
Nothing's perfect in this world, and I could pick and scratch for some minor imperfections here and there - but that would be churlish. The 'mine hosts' are a wonderful advertisement for the service industry in general, and run a very amiable ship quite beautifully; with the focus of attention at all times the enjoyment and comfort of the customer. What lovely folks they are, and what a thoroughly pleasant stay our little party enjoyed. Expect to be made to feel very welcome indeed - it's their default setting. Other perhaps less enlightened establishments kindly take note ...

Reviewed by
ALAN F

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very welcoming
Excellent stay. Very welcoming hosts nothing was too much trouble. Lovely little touches like wine and fruit cake on arrival. Plus a lift to our evening wedding reception which was great.

Reviewed by
David Bagshaw

From Catterick Garrison, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent Hotel and so friendly
My Husband and myself have just enjoyed 2 days at the Riftswood.Peter and Paula made you so
welcome,nothing was too much trouble for them.We had drinks and cake on arrival ,the rooms were
so clean.and the breakfast was excellent,including home made jams and marmalade.Would not hesitate to go back.

Reviewed by
Kathryn Bassindale

From Doncaster, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next