No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Polebarn Hotel

Not Classified  Guest Accommodation Ratings explained
Polebarn Road , Trowbridge nr Bradford on Avon, BA14 7EG
The Polebarn Hotel dates back to 1789 and is located in the town centre of Trowbridge, the county town of Wiltshire.
We provide clean, comfortable, guest house style accommodation in a Grade ll listed building. Independently owned and run by our friendly family who are knowledgeable on the local area. A great location in Wiltshire if you want a cheaper, well furnished hotel while visiting Bath, Bradford on Avon, Westbury or Longleat. We now provide free Wifi to all our customers. We don't serve evening meals so our town centre location means a wide choice of restaurants are only a short walk away and we are happy to recommend our favourites.
Winner 2013-2014 Service Provider of the Year. Winner of TripAdvisor 2013 Certificate of Excellence Award. See website for more details.
Picture of The Polebarn Hotel, Trowbridge nr Bradford on Avon at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 72 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
89% recommended this accommodation to a friend 90% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A very clean and attractive hotel, the only downside being the kebab shop located across the road with lots of late night business!

Reviewed by
Hannah S

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel with an old school English charm
The hotel has very friendly and welcoming owners and has an eccentric charm about it which we thoroughly enjoyed. We had a large (family?) room which was comfortable, clean and tidy - but felt as though it was in the middle of a style change. Bathroom was clean, no bath, just a shower - but adequate for our needs. Breakfast was of a really high standard, and the addition of watermelon on a hot day was a real highlight.

Reviewed by
Jon W

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Polebarn Hotel
The Polebarn Hotel is an old building undergoing refurbishment in the centre of Trowbridge on a main road. The room I stayed in was small, very small and the view out of the window was looking out over an old moss covered roof of a forgotten one storey building. There was a kitchen chair to sit on, a single bed, a lovely side table, a butler for your clothes and knick knacks and a bedside cabinet with lamp. For entertainment there was a small TV far too high, hung on the wall and a kettle, which on inspection was black inside and very unusual nowadays, a telephone. The bathroom was very small with the hand wash basin behind the bathroom door. which you could only use once you were inside and had closed the door. The shower looked lovely, modern however, had I been a larger lady I would have had problems getting through the shower door. The nights sleep was disturbed by creaking banging doors of other residents. The breakfast was continental and cooked. There was a choice of cereal with milk, and whole fresh fruit. Coffee was nice and strong and the cooked breakfast was lovely. Downside, there was no fresh plain yoghurt or fresh fruit salad. Would I stay there again.......I have stayed in other hotels and B&Bs in Trowbridge, West Ashton and know there are many, with more value for money. The people working in The Polebarn Hotel could not have been more helpful and I did enjoy their company.

Reviewed by
M Scott

From , UK
Who stayed in July 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Relaxing trip
We needed a hotel within walking distance of the railway and The Polebarn fitted the bill. Our room was lovely with a view of the White Horse, unless you are 5 foot tall like me and needed a chair to see over the parapet. Although it was full there was no noise at night and the room was large and the bed exceedingly comfortable.

Reviewed by
H Cole

From Huntingdon, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very Enjoyable Stay
Staying for 5 nights on a business trip in a single room. Arrived Sunday evening at 5pm to be checked in by a fellow guest, which was a little strange. Though I suspect arriving on a Sunday night is a little strange. Room was very cleen, with a very modern and up to date Shower room. I can honestly say that this is the first time that I have stayed in a Hotel and slept well every night. The temperature was just right, and it was very quiet. Breakfast and evening meals were excellent and served by very welcoming staff. Plenty of good quality pubs and restaurants near by, but be aware that if you are looking for somewhere to eat on a Sunday night, both the restaurant in the hotel and nearby ones are closed. I would recommend this hotel as good value for money.

Reviewed by
B Crowe

From Littlehampton, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very good stay
This hotel is very good, and definatly recomended.
The host was absolutley fantastic and very friendly. We were allowed to check in early, which was soooooooooooo much appreciated,
The hotel is the centre, and was a very good hub to explore the local area.
Would definatly stay again.

Reviewed by
richard r

From UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ever seen the film 'hostel'?
Spent the whole night awake because of someone snoring very loudly in an adjacent room. Tiny room. Not 3 star at all

Reviewed by
D W

From England
Who stayed in June 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent place
fantastic hotel the people that run the hotel were fantastic and really helpful. my room was absolutly spotless and it had really nice decor. but what made it better they gave you hot chocolate in your room aswell fantastic idea :).

Reviewed by
ben p

From UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Hotel with friendly staff.
Lovely old house, efficient and friendly staff. A real "home from home" and we will definitely be returning in the future.

Reviewed by
G Dickson

From Hull, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good for the price
For the price the accommodation was as expected. The room i stayed in had been refurbished to a high standard although the hotel was a little tired in general. Overall a good stay in the centre of Trowbridge.

Reviewed by
Simon B

From UK
Who stayed in April 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next