No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Talbot Inn

3Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
Oxford Road Eynsham, Witney, OX29 4BT

Simply the Guest Awards Winner


Based on 100% genuine guest reviews in our 2012 awards.

Steeped in history, The Talbot is a fascinating place where details are recounted in a plaque in the bar. There was a building on this site as long ago as 1376 and the building was originally used as a wharf where goods to be moved down the river were loaded.
It has been a pub since at least 1774. In those days it was called The Horse and Jockey but was re-named in 1836 (a talbot is an extinct hound). Arkell's bought the pub in 1997.
Today The Talbot is a one-bar pub with a partitioned restaurant area and great care has been taken not to spoil the pub's genuine character whenever it has been modernised. The exposed beams are original, as are many other parts of the building.
This beautiful Oxfordshire pub, which proudly presents a mouth-watering menu of freshly prepared fair, is one you'll find easy to find but hard to leave.
- Modern en-suite accommodation
- Traditional Arkells Ales served straight from the barrel
- Excellent links to Oxford and the A40, A34 and A420
- Traditional freshly prepared home-cooked food
- Serving locals since 1774
- Newly re-furbished bar and restaurant
- Genuine character with exposed beams running throughout
- Dogs welcome
- Plentiful car parking available

Picture of The Talbot Inn, Witney at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 107 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
91% recommended this accommodation to a friend 92% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

It is many years and many hotel rooms throughtout the world since I last stayed in a room that was not ensuite. The deco of the room was poor and worn. It was really a room for commercial travellers who just want a 'cheap' bed for the night. The room was expensive for what it was, other pubs in the area offer much better value for money. It was very disappointing and the staff were not very attentive.

Reviewed by
M BETSON

From Leigh-on-Sea, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent value, staff and location
This place is perfectly situated and a fantastic country pub. The staff were really friendly and really made us welcome. The quality of the breakfast was excellent, no cheap meat, door step fresh bread for toast, real coffee and good old Heinz tommy k! This place is great value and is a really good base to get around the local attractions.

Reviewed by
Andrew Plant

From Cheltenham, England
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly and comfortable and very convenient for Oxford

Reviewed by
Alan H

From Thurnham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Blenheim Palace Visit
We (2 adults and 1 child) stayed at this accommodation for one night while visiting Blenheim Palace. The staff were brilliant, very helpful and couldn't do enough for us. The accommodation was ideal for what we needed with good sized comfortable double bed and separate single bed. Although we only stayed one night, we would happily stay for longer next time. Breakfast was a good choice of cereals, fruit juices, yoghurts, full cooked breakfast or lighter choices, such as poached eggs on toast. We also had meals in the evening and were not disappointed, the menu was very good and the quality of the meals was excellent.
The location was perfect for our needs as it is only 15 minutes from Blenheim Palace.

Reviewed by
Helen F

From Neath, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice friendly staff, had a good nights sleep & the breakfast was really good.

Reviewed by
Brian Mackean

From London, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Expected more for my money
Would rather stay in the new en-suite rooms, for these are seperate from the old rooms in a more modern building with fresh facilities. The Twin room i booked was in the original building and nothing i quite expected considering we paid £60 for 1 night. We didnt enjoy the stay but i have to say the breakfast was good. My Girlfriend was very pleased after we left.
If you book dont go for rooms 9 - 11. Would recommend the newer fresher build.

Reviewed by
M Bacon

From Colchester, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

will stay again
Lovely old building with lots of character, staff very friendly and helpful. Food excellent.

Reviewed by
Susan M

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A breakfast menu would have been helpful.. The accommodation was fine for an overnight stay.

Reviewed by
Carol L

From Solihull, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Oxford made simple!
Very pleasantly surprised by the Talbot. We were welcomed to a large room with comfy bed and a spacious bathroom all of which were clean, and well-decorated. Tray with tea, coffee and biscuits provided, a wall mounted (but new and effective) hairdryer, free wifi. The rooms are to the side of the pub and have their own entrance. Although close to the road we weren't bothered by traffic noise.
The pub itself was buzzy and we were lucky to have a beautiful afternoon to have a pint from a local brewery alongside the small river beside the pub where they have installed a sun deck. Several people were eating (& clearing their plates) - main meals seemed to be in the region of £12-15.
The bonus for us is that the pub offers free parking and has bus stops immediately outside for the S1 buses which run every twenty minutes or so into the centre of Oxford. Its a little under £5 therefore for an adult return that is virtually door-to-door avoiding all the grief an inconvenience of the park and ride. Buses are less frequent after about 1930 but still operate until the early hours (from Gloucester Green Bus Station in the area where many bars and restaurants are centred) making a dinner/theatre trip very easy.
The Talbot for us was almost perfect and we'll definitely be making a return visit.

Reviewed by
Trudie H

From Burton on Trent, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

July 2014
Nice location, good food, rooms very basic with thin walls (you can hear a fart from two rooms down) but hey, for the price and the scrummy breakfast in the morning, its worth evey penney.

Reviewed by
David J

From Morpeth, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next