No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Talbot Inn

3Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
Oxford Road Eynsham, Witney, OX29 4BT

Simply the Guest Awards Winner


Based on 100% genuine guest reviews in our 2012 awards.

Steeped in history, The Talbot is a fascinating place where details are recounted in a plaque in the bar. There was a building on this site as long ago as 1376 and the building was originally used as a wharf where goods to be moved down the river were loaded.
It has been a pub since at least 1774. In those days it was called The Horse and Jockey but was re-named in 1836 (a talbot is an extinct hound). Arkell's bought the pub in 1997.
Today The Talbot is a one-bar pub with a partitioned restaurant area and great care has been taken not to spoil the pub's genuine character whenever it has been modernised. The exposed beams are original, as are many other parts of the building.
This beautiful Oxfordshire pub, which proudly presents a mouth-watering menu of freshly prepared fair, is one you'll find easy to find but hard to leave.
- Modern en-suite accommodation
- Traditional Arkells Ales served straight from the barrel
- Excellent links to Oxford and the A40, A34 and A420
- Traditional freshly prepared home-cooked food
- Serving locals since 1774
- Newly re-furbished bar and restaurant
- Genuine character with exposed beams running throughout
- Dogs welcome
- Plentiful car parking available

Picture of The Talbot Inn, Witney at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 110 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
91% recommended this accommodation to a friend 92% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good
Recommended

Reviewed by
David B

From Barnstaple, England
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Three nights in The Talbot Inn, Oxfordshire
I arrived here late at night but there were no problems booking in. My first impression was that the annex where my room was situated looked a bit tatty but I was pleased to find that the accommodation was clean and perfectly adequate for my three night stay. The TV worked and the water was hot. It was quiet inspite of being on a busy road (which provided an excellent bus service into Oxford) and each day my room was serviced and the hospitality tray replenished. the staff I met were invariably helpful and pleasant.

Reviewed by
Jonathan M

From Kirriemuir, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice rooms, v helpful staff, and good food, very pleased with stay

Reviewed by
D Pryor

From Kings Langley, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very good...
would stay again..value for money,good location..great staff

Reviewed by
chris doherty

From , UK
Who stayed in October 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good but a couple of small flaws
the room was large and clean but the furtniture and fittings not great quality. the handles on the wardrobe were loose and also around the window. but these are small complaints as it was otherwise perffectly fine for a short stay and the staff were very helpful.

Reviewed by
derek s

From Chippenham, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend stay
Pleasant old inn on the outskirts of Eynsham and within easy walking distance of an excellent indian restaurant. The inn is situated on a major route into Oxford so some road noise is to be expected however, the position makes for easy access by car and bus to the city and to Witney etc. Don't be put off by the toll bridge. This only costs 5pence and delays are minimal.
Welcoming staff (and locals), good sized clean room in the extension and a well cooked English breakfast made for a pleasant stay.

Reviewed by
Janet W

From Kidderminster, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Return visit, handy due to family living nearby
The room etc was fine albeit a little tired looking, good sized room, and quiet. The price had gone up quite a bit since we last stayed and whilst I appreciate that prices only ever go up feel this was a bit of a jump/overpriced at £110. Breakfast was Ok but limited in choice - unable to scramble an egg!

Reviewed by
Alexandra P

From Wimborne, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

It is many years and many hotel rooms throughtout the world since I last stayed in a room that was not ensuite. The deco of the room was poor and worn. It was really a room for commercial travellers who just want a 'cheap' bed for the night. The room was expensive for what it was, other pubs in the area offer much better value for money. It was very disappointing and the staff were not very attentive.

Reviewed by
M BETSON

From Leigh-on-Sea, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent value, staff and location
This place is perfectly situated and a fantastic country pub. The staff were really friendly and really made us welcome. The quality of the breakfast was excellent, no cheap meat, door step fresh bread for toast, real coffee and good old Heinz tommy k! This place is great value and is a really good base to get around the local attractions.

Reviewed by
Andrew Plant

From Cheltenham, England
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly and comfortable and very convenient for Oxford

Reviewed by
Alan H

From Thurnham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next