No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Talbot Inn

3Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
Oxford Road Eynsham, Witney, OX29 4BT

Simply the Guest Awards Winner


Based on 100% genuine guest reviews in our 2012 awards.

Steeped in history, The Talbot is a fascinating place where details are recounted in a plaque in the bar. There was a building on this site as long ago as 1376 and the building was originally used as a wharf where goods to be moved down the river were loaded.
It has been a pub since at least 1774. In those days it was called The Horse and Jockey but was re-named in 1836 (a talbot is an extinct hound). Arkell's bought the pub in 1997.
Today The Talbot is a one-bar pub with a partitioned restaurant area and great care has been taken not to spoil the pub's genuine character whenever it has been modernised. The exposed beams are original, as are many other parts of the building.
This beautiful Oxfordshire pub, which proudly presents a mouth-watering menu of freshly prepared fair, is one you'll find easy to find but hard to leave.
- Modern en-suite accommodation
- Traditional Arkells Ales served straight from the barrel
- Excellent links to Oxford and the A40, A34 and A420
- Traditional freshly prepared home-cooked food
- Serving locals since 1774
- Newly re-furbished bar and restaurant
- Genuine character with exposed beams running throughout
- Dogs welcome
- Plentiful car parking available

Picture of The Talbot Inn, Witney at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 116 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
91% recommended this accommodation to a friend 91% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very pleasant stay
A very pleasant stay. Staff were very friendly and helpful, room was clean and comfortable. Would definitely stay again.

Reviewed by
Nigel B

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Enjoyable stay, mattresses could have been better, and more hooks in the shower room would have been helpful, but we're given everything we needed and all very clean for an old lovely pub. Food was brilliant.

Reviewed by
Lisa C

From Aldershot, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very friendly hotel and clean comfortable room.

Reviewed by
Julian E

From Kendal, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Value for money accomodation
great place to stay near Oxford , a lot cheaper than city centre but need transport to get there, the S1 bus from Oxford goes past door or about 15 mins by car

Reviewed by
Richard F

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfortable pub, handy for central Oxford - with Arkell's ales!!
Comfortable pub, handy for central Oxford - with Arkell's ales!! I can't add anything more.

Reviewed by
John C

From Wilmslow, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent breakfast, poor accomodation
Good treatment from the staff, and the breakfast was one of the best I have had. But the room was very tired, in bad need of an update. I doubt it has had any money spent on it in the last 30 years. Shared bathroom was very clean and acceptable, but shower pressure quite low, made rinsing the shampoo off quite difficult. At £50 B&B it just scraped in as acceptable value for money, mainly because of the quality breakfast.

Reviewed by
A W

From Stroud, England
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely setting
Very comfortable. Decent breakfast. Just what was required for a one night visit to the area,

Reviewed by
Anthony N

From Brighton, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfortable
Room was comfortable and warm, although a little tired. Took for ever to get the key to the room to work. Staff were friendly and service was fine, although they seemed to keep running our of beers! Food was fine.

Reviewed by
Andrew J

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good
Recommended

Reviewed by
David B

From Barnstaple, England
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Three nights in The Talbot Inn, Oxfordshire
I arrived here late at night but there were no problems booking in. My first impression was that the annex where my room was situated looked a bit tatty but I was pleased to find that the accommodation was clean and perfectly adequate for my three night stay. The TV worked and the water was hot. It was quiet inspite of being on a busy road (which provided an excellent bus service into Oxford) and each day my room was serviced and the hospitality tray replenished. the staff I met were invariably helpful and pleasant.

Reviewed by
Jonathan M

From Kirriemuir, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next