No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Talbot Inn

3Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
Oxford Road Eynsham, Witney, OX29 4BT

Simply the Guest Awards Winner


Based on 100% genuine guest reviews in our 2012 awards.

Steeped in history, The Talbot is a fascinating place where details are recounted in a plaque in the bar. There was a building on this site as long ago as 1376 and the building was originally used as a wharf where goods to be moved down the river were loaded.
It has been a pub since at least 1774. In those days it was called The Horse and Jockey but was re-named in 1836 (a talbot is an extinct hound). Arkell's bought the pub in 1997.
Today The Talbot is a one-bar pub with a partitioned restaurant area and great care has been taken not to spoil the pub's genuine character whenever it has been modernised. The exposed beams are original, as are many other parts of the building.
This beautiful Oxfordshire pub, which proudly presents a mouth-watering menu of freshly prepared fair, is one you'll find easy to find but hard to leave.
- Modern en-suite accommodation
- Traditional Arkells Ales served straight from the barrel
- Excellent links to Oxford and the A40, A34 and A420
- Traditional freshly prepared home-cooked food
- Serving locals since 1774
- Newly re-furbished bar and restaurant
- Genuine character with exposed beams running throughout
- Dogs welcome
- Plentiful car parking available

Picture of The Talbot Inn, Witney at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 109 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
91% recommended this accommodation to a friend 92% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A breakfast menu would have been helpful.. The accommodation was fine for an overnight stay.

Reviewed by
Carol L

From Solihull, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Oxford made simple!
Very pleasantly surprised by the Talbot. We were welcomed to a large room with comfy bed and a spacious bathroom all of which were clean, and well-decorated. Tray with tea, coffee and biscuits provided, a wall mounted (but new and effective) hairdryer, free wifi. The rooms are to the side of the pub and have their own entrance. Although close to the road we weren't bothered by traffic noise.
The pub itself was buzzy and we were lucky to have a beautiful afternoon to have a pint from a local brewery alongside the small river beside the pub where they have installed a sun deck. Several people were eating (& clearing their plates) - main meals seemed to be in the region of £12-15.
The bonus for us is that the pub offers free parking and has bus stops immediately outside for the S1 buses which run every twenty minutes or so into the centre of Oxford. Its a little under £5 therefore for an adult return that is virtually door-to-door avoiding all the grief an inconvenience of the park and ride. Buses are less frequent after about 1930 but still operate until the early hours (from Gloucester Green Bus Station in the area where many bars and restaurants are centred) making a dinner/theatre trip very easy.
The Talbot for us was almost perfect and we'll definitely be making a return visit.

Reviewed by
Trudie H

From Burton on Trent, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

July 2014
Nice location, good food, rooms very basic with thin walls (you can hear a fart from two rooms down) but hey, for the price and the scrummy breakfast in the morning, its worth evey penney.

Reviewed by
David J

From Morpeth, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

wonderful stay at the talbot inn!
we really enjoyed the beautiful surroundings and excellent service by all the staff in making our stay wonderful. we were celebrating a family 60th birthday event and i want to thank everyone for the safe delivery of the birthday cake(!) and pleasant, courteous, relaxed way in which they all go about their business.

Reviewed by
steven poulsom

From Bury, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A real find (just eat elsewhere)
Excellent value for money, with a clean, en-suite twin room in a historical pub – far enough away from the bar area to be quiet – with excellent real ale, just a few miles from Oxford city centre. The only downside was the food (burger and chili con carne), which was disappointingly bland.

Reviewed by
Nigel W

From Wakefield, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A great place to stay
I had a very welcoming start to my stay. My room was lovely, clean and comfortable. The pub was friendly for a woman on her own to be in. The breakfast was lovely. And to top it all the setting was beautiful... Even the sun shined!

Reviewed by
Sarah S

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice room, slightly small but no wifi. Good rural location by the river.

Reviewed by
Steve P

From Bognor Regis, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very basic could do with tlc.

Reviewed by
A Hawkins

From Monmouth, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Accommodation
Booked a double & got a twin (two beds pushed together is not a double folks). Room was very dirty, in desperate need of re painting & the bed itself was pretty grubby. Bathroom again needed a good face lift.
Food was OK but not amazing & very poor choice of drinks - beer was awful & the wine choice was cheap & nasty. Way overpriced, cost £95 should of been more like £40. Also there was no mention of the giant indutrial plant behind the pub!!

Reviewed by
D Mallory

From Banbury, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Newly taken over establishment needs some work doing
This pub has just been taken over by a new landlord so there may well be changes that improve the overall standard. The staff try very hard to please and are charming. There are adequate car parking facilities and the place has potential to be a good place to stay in.
The room appeared basically clean but needs decorating and there are lots of scuff marks on the walls.There was no WiFi, although I was assured that it has been requested but was not yet available.
There was not a lot of choice for breakfast - the cooked breakfast was very cheap bacon, sausage etc., the cereals were all sugar coated brands, the fruit was tinned. It is the only time in my life that I have gone to my room and brought my own food down to eat! I commented this to the new manager who informed me that he has ordered a new chiller cabinet and then will be able to offer better choice and fresh fruit.
It might be worth leaving the landlord some time to sort these issues out and then trying it again.

Reviewed by
Heather B

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next