No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Talbot Inn

3Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
Oxford Road Eynsham, Witney, OX29 4BT

Simply the Guest Awards Winner


Based on 100% genuine guest reviews in our 2012 awards.

Steeped in history, The Talbot is a fascinating place where details are recounted in a plaque in the bar. There was a building on this site as long ago as 1376 and the building was originally used as a wharf where goods to be moved down the river were loaded.
It has been a pub since at least 1774. In those days it was called The Horse and Jockey but was re-named in 1836 (a talbot is an extinct hound). Arkell's bought the pub in 1997.
Today The Talbot is a one-bar pub with a partitioned restaurant area and great care has been taken not to spoil the pub's genuine character whenever it has been modernised. The exposed beams are original, as are many other parts of the building.
This beautiful Oxfordshire pub, which proudly presents a mouth-watering menu of freshly prepared fair, is one you'll find easy to find but hard to leave.
- Modern en-suite accommodation
- Traditional Arkells Ales served straight from the barrel
- Excellent links to Oxford and the A40, A34 and A420
- Traditional freshly prepared home-cooked food
- Serving locals since 1774
- Newly re-furbished bar and restaurant
- Genuine character with exposed beams running throughout
- Dogs welcome
- Plentiful car parking available

Picture of The Talbot Inn, Witney at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 119 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
91% recommended this accommodation to a friend 91% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Whitney David Cameron's constituency
Stayed as a late selection at 6pm and arrived at 9.30 pm after a long drive from up North.
Price of £65 for two persons including breakfast is very reasonable and the room was of a good standard. Stayed at the Travel lodge at Peartree last month and after staying at the Talbot would not go back to the travel lodge brand. For price and quality they are worlds apart and the travelodge had gone up to £85 when I checked. Rush purchase pleasantly surprised nothing was too much trouble from a friendly informative staff.

Reviewed by
G Mcloughlin

From Oldham, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A pleasant experience
Enjoyed the stay and would go again

Reviewed by
N George

From Doncaster, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A country pub in a pleasant situation with easy access to Oxford by bus and car.
The staff were very helpful with our queries regarding visiting Oxford.
The bedroom was clean and comfortable.
I would have felt safer if the outside door , leading to our bedrooms, could be shut and locked

Reviewed by
L Hirst

From Brighouse, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good value
Staff very friendly welcome . Room cold heating could of been put on, beds very creaky, tiles in shower and cubicle needed deep clean and regrouting. Excellent shower good pressure and hot.
Food excellent lovely bar with logburner .Breakfast cooked had plenty of options. We would go back there.

Reviewed by
m thomas

From Pont Y Clun, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Booked a double room but got a twin. Just pushed the by beds together but not the point. Staff were very nice and welcoming and helofull. Apart from getting a twin instead of a double the door knob on the wardrobe and coasters on bedside cabinet were sticky but I thinks they are trivial things. Room and end suite were big. Bed very clean as was bathroom. The best thing about the stay was the staff.

Reviewed by
m saxton

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Talbot Inn
Very good and staff superb.

Reviewed by
Sean Warr

From xx, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very pleasant stay
A very pleasant stay. Staff were very friendly and helpful, room was clean and comfortable. Would definitely stay again.

Reviewed by
Nigel B

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Enjoyable stay, mattresses could have been better, and more hooks in the shower room would have been helpful, but we're given everything we needed and all very clean for an old lovely pub. Food was brilliant.

Reviewed by
Lisa C

From Aldershot, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Do not go there
Before I stayed I read that the hotel had changed hands but I thought I would give it a go anyway. However it was certainly not a good move. The food was appalling, the staff apart from two of them were dressed poorly and not smiling. My room clean but overlooked the car park. It is adjacent to an industrial site. No doubt there are far better places at a decent price

Reviewed by
kate e

From auburn, Australia
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very friendly hotel and clean comfortable room.

Reviewed by
Julian E

From Kendal, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next