No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Talbot Inn

3Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
Oxford Road Eynsham, Witney, OX29 4BT
Steeped in history, The Talbot is a fascinating place where details are recounted in a plaque in the bar. There was a building on this site as long ago as 1376 and the building was originally used as a wharf where goods to be moved down the river were loaded.
It has been a pub since at least 1774. In those days it was called The Horse and Jockey but was re-named in 1836 (a talbot is an extinct hound). Arkell's bought the pub in 1997.
Today The Talbot is a one-bar pub with a partitioned restaurant area and great care has been taken not to spoil the pub's genuine character whenever it has been modernised. The exposed beams are original, as are many other parts of the building.
This beautiful Oxfordshire pub, which proudly presents a mouth-watering menu of freshly prepared fair, is one you'll find easy to find but hard to leave.
- Modern en-suite accommodation
- Traditional Arkells Ales served straight from the barrel
- Excellent links to Oxford and the A40, A34 and A420
- Traditional freshly prepared home-cooked food
- Serving locals since 1774
- Newly re-furbished bar and restaurant
- Genuine character with exposed beams running throughout
- Dogs welcome
- Plentiful car parking available

Picture of The Talbot Inn, Witney at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 116 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
90% recommended this accommodation to a friend 91% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Talbot Inn Feb 2015
Last minute booking 2 days before, just across roundabout in Eynsham Oxford shire. Friendly welcome by bar staff in the pub, sent us to our rooms which were outside (all rooms were( and upstairs in the old part of the Inn. The room was freezing cold, tried to adjust radiator but was set on a timer system, Put the fan heater on in the bathroom which was really hot! All mod cons were not here, but advertised as basic room. The fact the outer brick wall was part of the room made it colder and the wonkiness of it was a great old twist. Beds comfy and clean, bathroom couldn't move in as shower cubicle took up most of it and you couldn't dry yourself without whacking your hip against the sink!! The heating did come on later though. Road outside noisy as toll road and busy in rush hour. No double or triple glazing *probably listing restrictions. The breakfast for 8.50 was part of the bill and was very nice indeed. I expect the later meals were good too. Had to walk into the village which took 10 mins to go to other pubs, but the Talbot was more than sufficient to do everything in.

Reviewed by
d nosworthy

From essex, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Needs a lick of paint. Food wasn't very nice & we were not told about the specials (couldn't see it

Reviewed by
C Henderson

From Uxbridge, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Sad Experience
Nice pub, decent staff. Rooms very much an afterthought and really grotty. Radiator thermostat dysfuntion in my tiny single room, with tiny window (Room10), meant sauna-like temperatures until heating went off at midnight. Then wakened at 0530 as heat rose steadily again. I left at about 0615 as temperature unbearable Numerous emails exchanged with a manager who was competely unsympathetic. His best offer was £10 off the £45 charge, but then burgled my debit card for the full £45. Such a false economy too; if he had been sympathetic and refunded all or a significant portion of the fee, I'd have been genuinely tempted to visit the pub with friends in the future. I won't be going back.

Reviewed by
David Lewis

From UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Talbot Inn
Excellent value will be back. Wonderful included breakfast with beautifully cooked poached eggs. Only two small criticisms, very creaky beds, and shower had black mold.

Reviewed by
Jonathan E

From Whitley Bay, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good place, not great room but still good value for money.
debris under the bed, uncomfortable bed and singles bed found in room when asked for a double

Reviewed by
Andrea T

From Bournemouth, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Satisfied
Room was comfortable and generally clean (few cobwebs in the corners of the bathroom). Staff were very friendly and welcoming. We booked an evening meal for the night that we stayed, which I would highly recommend, as it was reasonably priced, substantial, and very delicious.

Reviewed by
G Jones

From Basingstoke, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Talbot Inn
Excellent Service, friendly staff, room (7) is very pleasant. Clean and comfortable, Food is excellent. The address suggest it's near Witney, this is a 6 miles away. It is nearer Eynsham which is only a 5-10 mins walk.

Reviewed by
David B

From Leicester, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Talbot review
Have stayed at The Talbot on many occasions and have always found it an excellent place to stay. I've stayed in every room now and can't fault them, even the two rooms that are not En suite. Its also in a very good location.

Reviewed by
John Weaver

From Witney, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disappointed
We used to stay at The Talbot fairly regularly and were always impressed with the service, the food and the cleanliness of the rooms but have not done so over the past 3 years or so until 27th December this year. I booked on-line through Late Rooms.com and had an immediate confirmation of our booking on December 6th. Unfortunately, when we arrived on December 27th, the Talbot had no record of our booking. Fortunately, the staff were able to juggle the bookings to give us a Twin Room (I had booked a Double Room). However, the en-suite bathroom floor was not very clean (a muddy footprint near the wash basin and grubby marks on the floor round the toilet and in the corners of the bathroom). None of these marks was cleaned during our two-day stay (sadly, not impressed!) On checking out, I found that two burgers and two soft drinks had been added to our bill which we definitely did not order. However, the staff accepted my word that we had not ordered these and the items were deducted from our bill.

Reviewed by
William R

From Harrogate, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Whitney David Cameron's constituency
Stayed as a late selection at 6pm and arrived at 9.30 pm after a long drive from up North.
Price of £65 for two persons including breakfast is very reasonable and the room was of a good standard. Stayed at the Travel lodge at Peartree last month and after staying at the Talbot would not go back to the travel lodge brand. For price and quality they are worlds apart and the travelodge had gone up to £85 when I checked. Rush purchase pleasantly surprised nothing was too much trouble from a friendly informative staff.

Reviewed by
G Mcloughlin

From Oldham, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next