You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter a keyword and perform your search again.

Reviews - The Talbot Oxford

3

Oxford Road, ,, Eynsham, OX29 4BT

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (74)

77% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Chris W

  • July 2016

Good budget accommodation

  • steven bick

  • June 2016

Nice pub next to river

This was a welcome stopover.

Comfortable bed and friendly staff

  • M Bania

  • May 2016

Great place

Really cheap and great place to stay.

Only 15 min to Oxford. Clean rooms, great customer service.

  • R Potterton

  • May 2016

A great place to stay for Oxford business

Nice room, everyone very helpful.would definitely stay again.

  • M o'leary

  • April 2016

Comfortable and great pub grub!

Nice spot to stay.

Lovely staff and great food. :) totally recommend !

  • Helen S

  • April 2016

Not Good

Stayed at the Talbot Inn for one night.

We were in a twin room. The beds were very uncomfortable. The room was quite scruffy. There was no remote for the TV which is up high on the wall therefore inaccessible to use manually. The spare Bedding in the cupboard had blood stains on it. The bathroom radiator is covered in rust the shower screen has no seal therefore the bathroom floor gets very wet when showering the bath had not been cleaned and I had to clean it off before you could shower. When we went to breakfast. We had to ask the staff if we could order breakfast as we were not greeted or approached when sitting waiting to be served We asked for a cooked breakfast and some Tea. There was no information forth coming regarding the information on tea and coffee. I presume that the flask on the buffet table held tea/coffee. When the breakfast arrived the deep fried sausages were the icing on the cake. We did not bother with breakfast paid the bill and left. Some of the reviews on this Inn were good therefore we had no concerns when we booked it perhaps we had the worse room they had. As for breakfast I would not recommend that experience. We visit the local area often and stay in hotels and B&B's I would not recommend this Inn.

  • Gordon T

  • March 2016

The Talbot Inn

Friendly staff, good food, room was adequate with shower in the adjacent corridor.

  • Alan Marshall

  • March 2016

Talbot Inn experience

A very enjoyable stay at a small country inn.

The accommodation is set away from the main building and although it is on a busy road we didn't hear any traffic noise at all. The room we stayed in (No.7) which on the whole was nicely decorated would benefit from some attention to the little details, bathroom mirror light not working, rusty radiator. However these minor details didn't detract from what overall was a very pleasant stay.

  • Mike E

  • January 2016

Overnight Eynsham

Enjoyed a good night sleep in comfortable accommodation and had a great evening meal, cow pie, and a good breakfast.

Excellent value and very friendly and helpful staff. I will return.

  • Sara G

  • January 2016

Great breakfast, good room, ok pub, bad organisation

I specifically booked a room with a double bed, but when my husband and I arrived we were shown several rooms with single beds by a member of staff who clearly didn't know which room had which kind of bed.

He did offer to push the beds together, but we weren't keen on that. About half an hour later, while we were having a drink in the pub and trying to decide what to do, a person who I think is the manager came to see us to offer to push the beds together. when we said we were thinking of going elsewhere, she said we would be charged the full price of the night and that in any case most hotels push single beds together to make double beds. That may be true, but it does make a difference and out stay was less enjoyable because of it. At no point did the manager suggest a discount or try to see our pint of view, although she did offer us a free drink when we agreed to stay. Also, the next day, another member of staff came into the room while we were preparing to leave, within the time agreed over breakfast, and said he didn't realise the room was let. In short, a good value room - nice and big with a decent bathroom - in a reasonable, but rather shabby pub with a great English breakfast served with a smile, spoiled by frankly poor organisation/management. Also, the hotel is on a very busy road, which didn't bother us, but could be problem for some.