No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Talbot Inn

3Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
Oxford Road Eynsham, Witney, OX29 4BT

Simply the Guest Awards Winner


Based on 100% genuine guest reviews in our 2012 awards.

Steeped in history, The Talbot is a fascinating place where details are recounted in a plaque in the bar. There was a building on this site as long ago as 1376 and the building was originally used as a wharf where goods to be moved down the river were loaded.
It has been a pub since at least 1774. In those days it was called The Horse and Jockey but was re-named in 1836 (a talbot is an extinct hound). Arkell's bought the pub in 1997.
Today The Talbot is a one-bar pub with a partitioned restaurant area and great care has been taken not to spoil the pub's genuine character whenever it has been modernised. The exposed beams are original, as are many other parts of the building.
This beautiful Oxfordshire pub, which proudly presents a mouth-watering menu of freshly prepared fair, is one you'll find easy to find but hard to leave.
- Modern en-suite accommodation
- Traditional Arkells Ales served straight from the barrel
- Excellent links to Oxford and the A40, A34 and A420
- Traditional freshly prepared home-cooked food
- Serving locals since 1774
- Newly re-furbished bar and restaurant
- Genuine character with exposed beams running throughout
- Dogs welcome
- Plentiful car parking available

Picture of The Talbot Inn, Witney at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 116 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
91% recommended this accommodation to a friend 91% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

enjoyable
Can't fault stay, very friendly.

Reviewed by
t daley

From Cambridge , UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly but don't eat here !
Staff and management were really welcoming and friendly. The food, however, was dreadful. My wife marked her rump steak at 1 point out of 10 and I gave 2 points out of 10 for my chicken curry. Whilst I have to say that the food WAS cooked and we had no complaints about hygiene, whoever was the chef was, in our opinion, 'having a go' at cooking ! The rump steak was collectively the smallest we have ever seen and served in two pieces (clearly cut off from larger steak), the accompanying tomato was inedible, the sauce disgusting and the salad laughable. My chicken curry was served courtesy of Captain Ben's supermarket curry sauce, the poppadom just plonked on the plate and so large it covered the entire meal. The chicken was comprised of chunks too large and was slightly tough. We have never been served two meals like this. The chef clearly has different standards from ours and has not got a clue about cooking. If you must stay here you will be warmly welcomed but eat elsewhere !

Reviewed by
Ian Fergusson

From Dorchester, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Last Minute Saviour!
I didn't know I was going to need to find a room for the night until 2 that afternoon, whilst on the road. So I pulled into a roadside diner, ordered something to eat, and switched on my laptop to find somewhere affordable and in a hurry. The Talbot Inn came up as having one room still available and at a great price - £40 for the night, including breakfast. So I booked it there and then and didn't regret it. The service was friendly from the outset, my room comfortable - though I'd have preferred my en suite bathroom to actually be in the room rather than next door (I believe that this is the only room to be like this) - and the full English the next morning fabulous. The landlord was equally friendly when I came to check out, and I was very happy to discover that the Talbot Inn welcomes dogs - so I shall definitely be staying there again - next time with my two mini dachshunds!

Reviewed by
A Woods

From Eastbourne, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good Value
I didnt expect too much as I specifically looked for a value room close to the city. The room was perfectly acceptable, basic but clean bedding and towels. Very friendly staff who asked me how I enjoyed stay and if I had any problems.

Reviewed by
Laurence A

From Kirriemuir, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Accomodating, helpful, polite, courteous...great location for Oxford, too.
100% satisfaction. Pub's on the main Oxord road with a regular - and fast - bus service which runs far later than we do! The village in the other direction's worth a trip for the beautiful old buidlings and atmosphere alone. The staff at The Talbot were helpful, accomodating and very efficient. Room was immaculate and the tea/coffee replenishments were regular. The village of Eynsham has amazing old pubs with welcoming faces and some excellent ales. The curry houses and take-aways close very early by our 'townie' standards so be careful. Looking forward to staying at The Talbot again soon.

Reviewed by
G Bell

From Halifax, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice room but poor food
Good quality room in a quiet block behind the pub.
However quality of pub food was not good. Manager accepted comments and deducted cost of drinks - but evening was spoiled.

Reviewed by
Ken F

From Swindon, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

accommodation very comfortable.
Quality and choice of food not good. We dined on 1st. night and ate elsewhere the other 2 but returned for a drink later. Of the 3nights stayed food was returned on 2nights by different customers.

Reviewed by
Chris H

From Highbridge, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely country pub
We stayed the night at the Talbot Inn the accommodation was modern clean and warm. Lovely rooms in the wharf stream block.our kids had a room in the main pub which was basic but clean and warm. Good value for money. The food was gorgeous at dinner. Breakfast was good but a 9 am finish on a Sunday is a bit early .... Most people like a lie in on a Sunday, so a 10am finish would be more civilised. But would stay again . Very handy for Oxford 10 mins drive to nearest park and ride.

Reviewed by
Gillian T

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely owners and cute accommodation
Very welcoming owners and lovely looking from the outside. Spacious modern room with all required amenities including a great shower. Great quality cooked breakfast in the morning - although was a shame slightly healthier cooked breakfast options weren't available on request. Could hear road traffic from room and bin lorry collected at 6am just outside my window - but nothing a pair of ear-plugs wouldn't sort if you're prepared.

Reviewed by
E Nash

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Character friendly pub
We were house hunting so just needed somewhere to stay which would allow us to bring our dog. The place however had a non-corporate feel, with clean, bright and spacious accommodation in the new wing, with good quality food, which made the experience feel more like a holiday. They welcomed our dog and the service was friendly and efficient. Would recommend it as a homely and relaxed place to stay. Fantastic views of the floods!

Reviewed by
Alison G

From Exeter, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next