No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Talbot Inn

3Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
Oxford Road Eynsham, Witney, OX29 4BT

Simply the Guest Awards Winner


Based on 100% genuine guest reviews in our 2012 awards.

Steeped in history, The Talbot is a fascinating place where details are recounted in a plaque in the bar. There was a building on this site as long ago as 1376 and the building was originally used as a wharf where goods to be moved down the river were loaded.
It has been a pub since at least 1774. In those days it was called The Horse and Jockey but was re-named in 1836 (a talbot is an extinct hound). Arkell's bought the pub in 1997.
Today The Talbot is a one-bar pub with a partitioned restaurant area and great care has been taken not to spoil the pub's genuine character whenever it has been modernised. The exposed beams are original, as are many other parts of the building.
This beautiful Oxfordshire pub, which proudly presents a mouth-watering menu of freshly prepared fair, is one you'll find easy to find but hard to leave.
- Modern en-suite accommodation
- Traditional Arkells Ales served straight from the barrel
- Excellent links to Oxford and the A40, A34 and A420
- Traditional freshly prepared home-cooked food
- Serving locals since 1774
- Newly re-furbished bar and restaurant
- Genuine character with exposed beams running throughout
- Dogs welcome
- Plentiful car parking available

Picture of The Talbot Inn, Witney at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 108 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
91% recommended this accommodation to a friend 91% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Superloo
Amongst the good features of the Talbot is the best "en suite" element I have had.

Reviewed by
L Peat

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Talbot Inn review.
Comfortable room, friendly staff. Ideal location location. Would not hesitate to stay at the Talbot again.

Reviewed by
J Weaver

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent rooms and great food
We stayed at the Talbot for a short break in oxford it was very comfortable and the food was very good. The staff were friendly and helpful

Reviewed by
Gary Mead

From Huntingdon, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant Inn Accommodation with equally Pleasant Staff.
We had visited the Talbot in August, when we had a pretty good evening meal with some friends who were staying there. On this visit to Oxford, we decided to stay there and found it provided very acceptable accommodation. We had two minor niggles. There was not enough space/shelving in the en suite to put ones personal toiletries and when we went for breakfast circa 8.30 in the morning, the only tables available were quite near the entrance and it was decidedly draughty. I was cold and the food went cold quickly. Obviously, this depends on the seasonal weather.

Reviewed by
Joyce Evans

From Maidstone, England
Who stayed in November 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value
Excellent clean room with good facilities and a very friendly landlord

Reviewed by
G Miller

From Cardiff, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good place to break your journey
I was travelling from North Manchester to Worthing, and used this Inn as a stopover. It was warm and comfortable, particularly as I was travelling alone. The staff were helpful and friendly, and the evening meal was good and reasonably priced. Unfortunately due to partial closure of the M6 on my journey down, I didn't have time to visit Oxford, as planned, but spent a pleasant hour in nearby Whitney. I would stay here again, with the specific purpose of achieving my aim to experience Oxford and visit the Ashmolean museum and art gallery.

Reviewed by
Mavis D

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Basic but clean
The room was vey basic and I had to share a bathroom which wasn't clear when I booked it. Also very noisy as it faced onto a busy road.

Reviewed by
pam l

From Sandy, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice traditional pub. Rooms are not massive but ok for one night and has everything you need and most importantly clean. Good choice of food on menu and specials board. Ok for an overnight stay to break up a journey home.

Reviewed by
Fiona P

From Bourne, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great local inn
delighted with the Talbot Inn. very attractive pub. Staff friendly & helpful & accommodation at the rear of the pub was clean, comfortable & quiet. Sadly I didn't have time to sample the breakfast or the evening meal but the pub was busy and obviously very popular. I'd definitely go there again.

Reviewed by
Cathy D

From Hove, England
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A pleasant stay,friendly staff
The room was basic,but clean and comfortable.It was a pub,and the staff were helpful and friendly,making me sandwiches when I arrived back late after the kitchen had closed.

Reviewed by
John P

From Helston, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next