No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Talbot Inn

3Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
Oxford Road Eynsham, Witney, OX29 4BT

Simply the Guest Awards Winner


Based on 100% genuine guest reviews in our 2012 awards.

Steeped in history, The Talbot is a fascinating place where details are recounted in a plaque in the bar. There was a building on this site as long ago as 1376 and the building was originally used as a wharf where goods to be moved down the river were loaded.
It has been a pub since at least 1774. In those days it was called The Horse and Jockey but was re-named in 1836 (a talbot is an extinct hound). Arkell's bought the pub in 1997.
Today The Talbot is a one-bar pub with a partitioned restaurant area and great care has been taken not to spoil the pub's genuine character whenever it has been modernised. The exposed beams are original, as are many other parts of the building.
This beautiful Oxfordshire pub, which proudly presents a mouth-watering menu of freshly prepared fair, is one you'll find easy to find but hard to leave.
- Modern en-suite accommodation
- Traditional Arkells Ales served straight from the barrel
- Excellent links to Oxford and the A40, A34 and A420
- Traditional freshly prepared home-cooked food
- Serving locals since 1774
- Newly re-furbished bar and restaurant
- Genuine character with exposed beams running throughout
- Dogs welcome
- Plentiful car parking available

Picture of The Talbot Inn, Witney at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 119 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
91% recommended this accommodation to a friend 91% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Newly taken over establishment needs some work doing
This pub has just been taken over by a new landlord so there may well be changes that improve the overall standard. The staff try very hard to please and are charming. There are adequate car parking facilities and the place has potential to be a good place to stay in.
The room appeared basically clean but needs decorating and there are lots of scuff marks on the walls.There was no WiFi, although I was assured that it has been requested but was not yet available.
There was not a lot of choice for breakfast - the cooked breakfast was very cheap bacon, sausage etc., the cereals were all sugar coated brands, the fruit was tinned. It is the only time in my life that I have gone to my room and brought my own food down to eat! I commented this to the new manager who informed me that he has ordered a new chiller cabinet and then will be able to offer better choice and fresh fruit.
It might be worth leaving the landlord some time to sort these issues out and then trying it again.

Reviewed by
Heather B

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A disappointing fall in standards
I have stayed here a few times over the last year or two and have always been impressed with the en-suite accommodation in the 'annexe'. (Not so the room above the pub with shared facilities). However, on this occasion I found the lighting on the main staircase/landing was not working properly (maybe a health and safety issue), the room was in need of redecoration and the bathroom extractor fan was very noisy. Breakfast was OK but the evening menu had been hastily put together and the food was not worth the prices paid. 3 meals over 3 evenings and I didn't really enjoy one. To add insult to injury, I was charged for 2 meals on one night, but this was almost offset by two drinks I was not charged for. Nevertheless I was down on the deal but couldn't find anyone to complain to. Being late for a business meeting after breakfast the next morning, I left the issue unresolved. Excuses were made for everything but this place is in need of a revamp and better management. At the higher prices now being charged, there are better places to go to.

Reviewed by
david g

From Blandford Forum, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Frequent Traveler
Good basic hotel with rustic friendly bar and helpful staff.

Reviewed by
Trevor Hough

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

quality of room
The room was very nice and clean with tea/coffee facilities and sachets for a shower which was good.Only reservations though, were the carpet has seen better days and the TV really needs upgrading - old fashioned portable high up on the wall, I could barely make anything out on it. Otherwise I had a nice stay in a great location. ,

Reviewed by
graham davies

From Newquay, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Spot on for a business visitor
Staff very polite & helpful but without crowding me. Room fine warm and private with good bed, excellent shower, all clean and tidy. UHT milk not past its date. WIFI OK. Didn't get the chance to try the breakfast as I had to leave early. I also ate evening meal which was a nicely-presented lasagne. Deduct one mark for slightly slow service, but not a big problem because there was a good vibe generally. This was a Sunday night and there were a fair few customers (mixed crowd) but not noisy. Also: scenic location, enough parking space for my long van, ideally placed for quick commute into west Oxford. As I got this for £40 I thought it was great value.

Reviewed by
A Clayton

From York, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Oxford Weekend Break
Stayed here for a weekend trip to Oxford. Ideally located a short bus ride from the town centre. 20 minutes and £4.90 return fare on the local S1 bus.
The room was well decorated with large en-suite bathroom. The bed was firm but comfortable. Stayed in Room no. 1 in new annex. There was noise from the main road, but not too bad.
Breakfast was included and was very good. Full English was excellent.
Didn't have dinner there, but pub was very busy in the evening with a lively atmosphere.
Overall stay was good value. Would stay there again.

Reviewed by
Philip M

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely old pub, nice room
Although in one of the old rooms, it was comfortable for the price. Friendly staff, clean room, lovely food and a fantastic location and building. Only downside is the jam caused by the toll bridge, but the establishment can't be blamed for that. That's landed gentry for you!

Reviewed by
W Lane

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

enjoyable
Can't fault stay, very friendly.

Reviewed by
t daley

From Cambridge , UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly but don't eat here !
Staff and management were really welcoming and friendly. The food, however, was dreadful. My wife marked her rump steak at 1 point out of 10 and I gave 2 points out of 10 for my chicken curry. Whilst I have to say that the food WAS cooked and we had no complaints about hygiene, whoever was the chef was, in our opinion, 'having a go' at cooking ! The rump steak was collectively the smallest we have ever seen and served in two pieces (clearly cut off from larger steak), the accompanying tomato was inedible, the sauce disgusting and the salad laughable. My chicken curry was served courtesy of Captain Ben's supermarket curry sauce, the poppadom just plonked on the plate and so large it covered the entire meal. The chicken was comprised of chunks too large and was slightly tough. We have never been served two meals like this. The chef clearly has different standards from ours and has not got a clue about cooking. If you must stay here you will be warmly welcomed but eat elsewhere !

Reviewed by
Ian Fergusson

From Dorchester, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Last Minute Saviour!
I didn't know I was going to need to find a room for the night until 2 that afternoon, whilst on the road. So I pulled into a roadside diner, ordered something to eat, and switched on my laptop to find somewhere affordable and in a hurry. The Talbot Inn came up as having one room still available and at a great price - £40 for the night, including breakfast. So I booked it there and then and didn't regret it. The service was friendly from the outset, my room comfortable - though I'd have preferred my en suite bathroom to actually be in the room rather than next door (I believe that this is the only room to be like this) - and the full English the next morning fabulous. The landlord was equally friendly when I came to check out, and I was very happy to discover that the Talbot Inn welcomes dogs - so I shall definitely be staying there again - next time with my two mini dachshunds!

Reviewed by
A Woods

From Eastbourne, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next