You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter your destination and perform your search again.

Reviews - The Talbot Oxford


Oxford Road, ,, Eynsham, OX29 4BT

Price From 103.59 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (58)

76% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • David Lewis

  • February 2015

Sad Experience

Nice pub, decent staff.

Rooms very much an afterthought and really grotty. Radiator thermostat dysfuntion in my tiny single room, with tiny window (Room10), meant sauna-like temperatures until heating went off at midnight. Then wakened at 0530 as heat rose steadily again. I left at about 0615 as temperature unbearable Numerous emails exchanged with a manager who was competely unsympathetic. His best offer was £10 off the £45 charge, but then burgled my debit card for the full £45. Such a false economy too; if he had been sympathetic and refunded all or a significant portion of the fee, I'd have been genuinely tempted to visit the pub with friends in the future. I won't be going back.

  • Jonathan E

  • February 2015

The Talbot Inn

Excellent value will be back.

Wonderful included breakfast with beautifully cooked poached eggs. Only two small criticisms, very creaky beds, and shower had black mold.

  • G Jones

  • February 2015


Room was comfortable and generally clean (few cobwebs in the corners of the bathroom).

Staff were very friendly and welcoming. We booked an evening meal for the night that we stayed, which I would highly recommend, as it was reasonably priced, substantial, and very delicious.

  • David B

  • February 2015

The Talbot Inn

Excellent Service, friendly staff, room (7) is very pleasant.

Clean and comfortable, Food is excellent. The address suggest it's near Witney, this is a 6 miles away. It is nearer Eynsham which is only a 5-10 mins walk.

  • William R

  • December 2014


We used to stay at The Talbot fairly regularly and were always impressed with the service, the food and the cleanliness of the rooms but have not done so over the past 3 years or so until 27th December this year.

I booked on-line through Late and had an immediate confirmation of our booking on December 6th. Unfortunately, when we arrived on December 27th, the Talbot had no record of our booking. Fortunately, the staff were able to juggle the bookings to give us a Twin Room (I had booked a Double Room). However, the en-suite bathroom floor was not very clean (a muddy footprint near the wash basin and grubby marks on the floor round the toilet and in the corners of the bathroom). None of these marks was cleaned during our two-day stay (sadly, not impressed!) On checking out, I found that two burgers and two soft drinks had been added to our bill which we definitely did not order. However, the staff accepted my word that we had not ordered these and the items were deducted from our bill.

  • G Mcloughlin

  • December 2014

Whitney David Cameron's constituency

Stayed as a late selection at 6pm and arrived at 9.30 pm after a long drive from up North.

Price of £65 for two persons including breakfast is very reasonable and the room was of a good standard. Stayed at the Travel lodge at Peartree last month and after staying at the Talbot would not go back to the travel lodge brand. For price and quality they are worlds apart and the travelodge had gone up to £85 when I checked. Rush purchase pleasantly surprised nothing was too much trouble from a friendly informative staff.

  • N George

  • December 2014

A pleasant experience

Enjoyed the stay and would go again

  • L Hirst

  • December 2014

A country pub in a pleasant situation with easy access to Oxford by bus and car.

The staff were very helpful with our queries regarding visiting Oxford.

The bedroom was clean and comfortable. I would have felt safer if the outside door , leading to our bedrooms, could be shut and locked

  • m thomas

  • December 2014

good value

Staff very friendly welcome .

Room cold heating could of been put on, beds very creaky, tiles in shower and cubicle needed deep clean and regrouting. Excellent shower good pressure and hot. Food excellent lovely bar with logburner .Breakfast cooked had plenty of options. We would go back there.

  • m saxton

  • December 2014

Booked a double room but got a twin.

Just pushed the by beds together but not the point. Staff were very nice and welcoming and helofull. Apart from getting a twin instead of a double the door knob on the wardrobe and coasters on bedside cabinet were sticky but I thinks they are trivial things. Room and end suite were big. Bed very clean as was bathroom. The best thing about the stay was the staff.