No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Stansted Skyline Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Stansted Skyline Hotel, Chelmsford Road, Stansted, CM6 1LP
Stansted Skyline Hotel are situated just 10 minutes from Stansted Airport and offer airport transfers to and from the airport. For our guests convenience, the shuttle service operates from 4:00 am to 11:00, 18:00 till 23:30. It cost only £9.00 per person each way.
Picture of Stansted Skyline Hotel, Stansted at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 26 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
46% recommended this accommodation to a friend 49% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Basic Accommodation. OK for a couple of nights
I just wanted a cheap place to stay over night. It was clean, tea, coffee and milk in room. Nice hot shower. What really lets this place down is the reception....or lack of it. Two people had already been waiting an hour to see someone for keys. I waited another 35 minutes after ringing a number from the desk (no answer) before a lad came to open up the kitchen. Told him I would go and book in the Travel Lodge if nobody came. He spoke in a foreign language to an Asian lad who had been sitting in reception all the time and who I assumed was a guest. This person jumped up and rang somebody from the desk who apparently instructed him which room key to give me! Still don't know who he was. Appalling lack of service and security. Also, no sanitary bin in the bathroom, so good luck to ladies who need that. Didn't eat there as had food with me. Radiator was full on, and windows had been left open, so room full of flying insects. Take some fly spray. No air con, (I took a fan). Couldn't find hairdryer so take your own. Finally saw somebody from reception during the evening, who was very nice, but just not there when he should have been.

Reviewed by
M Ambler

From Coventry, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

What a surprise
We tried to book in at 4.20 [our booking form said after 4pm]. There was no-one to welcome us or give directions or give us our key, just three different notices all suggesting we needed to phone, but all three giving different phone numbers. We eventually managed to talk to someone by phone who told me I was booked for a single room which wasn't true, but that was no problem as all the rooms were double. I was told where to find my key, the room number and where to find it. A face-to-face welcome to me is desirable.
The key card opens the door to the room, and also works the electric light in the room, however, once in the room, it's either all on or all off. There are no switches, to, say, switch off the room lights but leave the bed lights on, or individual bed lights on. The only way to switch the room lights off, is to remove the card, and then stumble back to bed. Similarly, if you want to switch a light on during the night, you need to fumble for the key card in the dark and then try to find where to insert it.
One of the two windows to the room - a velux window - had no blind on it, so daylight was coming in from 5am

Reviewed by
John B

From Aylesbury, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

basic budget accomodation
Just ok, nothing really bad but lacking in all areas. Hardest bed I can ever remember, but lovely soft pillows. Everywhere needs deep cleaning, cobwebs, dirt in corners, small bits of mould. Towels are little more than large hand-towels, but shower was very good. Could not connect to wifi. Attached Indian Restaurant very good. Bar expensive. Breakfast was continental, go for a room including breakfast as buying it as an extra is £4.50.

Reviewed by
Paul C

From Sutton in Ashfield, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

So close yet so far from work.
Hotel does not look much from outside , a typical contractors hotel but what is noticable is the Indian restaurant ajoined to the hotel. Car park spaces at side and rear.The staff are friendly and make polite conversation, Room was basic but did what I needed was clean and had a modern bathroom . Only thing was the air vent when on you could just smell the fat from the Indian below, had to have window open at all times. The room was heated and nice bed , Small bar downstairs did sometimes take time to get served as the staff also ran the Indian restaurant , reasonably priced for London area, The Indian was very popular and did have a offer night on a Weds, I must say the food was very good and was suprised , there were food journalists there on my stay who also enjoyed the food. Definitely the best thing of my stay there even the boss would talk to you about the food and flavours. Not sure who ran the hotel and was in charge , but not important .
Its worth a stay just for the experience of the food .

Reviewed by
s pereira

From Harrogate, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Do not recommend its a dump

Reviewed by
Colin K

From Great Yarmouth, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnight stay
I arrived at reception and the male receptionist could not access my booking ,he had to ask me how much I was paying !! although I thought I had booked an delux room with breakfast , it was only adequate . Where it had been redecorate in the past there was paint on the carpet around the skirting boards. I n the shower tray there was an empty shampoo/shower gel sachet - maybe this was because there was no waste bin in the bathroom ! However the bed linen was clean warm and the bed comfortable . The breakfast was a continental style , which consisted of a choice some slices of processed cheese or,processed ham; toast ,pastries or muffin , fruit or cereal tea,coffee. Not a very appetizing start to the day . Generally I thought the place was run down and shabby .the grounds around the hotel were littered with rubbish and bits of drain pipe and builders trash and on opening my curtains in the morning I could see outside old towels strewn in the weeds as well as other litter. All in all not a pleasant stay.

Reviewed by
Chris M

From England
Who stayed in January 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fairly poor experience
I must preface my remarks with the note that we stayed over the Christmas period, but perhaps it shouldn't make much difference really? We arrived late in the evening, there didn't seem to be anyone on duty in reception but there were some people in the lobby/bar and very loud music playing, making it impossible to hear the advice proffered by one of the revellers regarding contacting the duty manager. We eventually checked in and were shown to our rooms, but almost no time was spent explaining the layout of the room and its facilities. We immediately turned down the heating and opened a window to cool the room but still found it far too hot during the night, and there seemed to be an unnecessarily complicated way of controlling the main light, with the result that we slept with it on all night, only discovering the correct technique the next day. The alarm clock had been set by a previous guest, and because I didn't notice this fact we were woken earlier than necessary, but I realise that I should have checked this. There was a loud knock on the door in the early hours which seemed to be one of the other guests, presumably "tired and emotional" after pre-Christmas celebrations. The tea cups in the room hadn't been washed properly, but it was otherwise reasonably clean and tidy, although the curtains in one of the two rooms only covered two thirds of the window. The plumbing was eccentric, with excessive pressure on the hot supply at the basin leading to some amusement. The shower was actually quite good, lacking only a shelf or somewhere for soap, shampoo etc during use. The extractor fan didn't work. On the first morning (Christmas Day) there wasn't anyone around in the morning to arrange breakfast, so we headed straight to our lunch destination asap, but on the second day we were offered some breakfast, which only my wife sampled, sitting at a table in the bar surrounded by half empty glasses from the previous evening (or the one before that!?) I think we were were all glad to leave, and I regret to say that we won't be rushing back...

Reviewed by
David B

From UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very poor quality
other than the beds this hotel was of very little quality we only seen one member of staff that was when we arrived for about five minutes to take the money. The room was tidy however most of the furniture was broken or very low quality the shower look as though it had not been cleaned and the heating was on full with no way of turning it down. There was a very limited chioce for breakfast and no staff on duty and still no staff when we booked out. Customer service is i believe not on this hotels mind.

Reviewed by
Peter R

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Don't see everyone's problem!
After reading the other reviews before booking we were a bit sceptical, but after arriving we couldn't see the big issue!
When we arrived we had already changed our mind about what rooms we needed, and purchased another double room for 2 nights, this was dealt with perfectly and the rooms were more than adequate, Tea, Coffee, milk, and of course en suites as standard. Apart from a broken shower head which really wasnt a massive problem, the stay was pleasant.
Although in my parents room there were a few dead (splattered) moths around the room, this and the shower head problem were the only issues that were prevalent enough for concern.
Overall a pleasant stay, would recommend to others!

Reviewed by
G Brading

From Gosport, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Chelm sford visit
Very accomodating staff

Reviewed by
RICHARD C

From Bishop Auckland, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next