Reviews - Stansted Airport Lodge


Dunmow Road, Takeley, CM22 6QR

Price From 135.44 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (30)

77% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • D Wright

  • November 2015

Good breakfast

Breakfast is available from 3am.

Ideal staging post if you have an early flight

  • Mark J

  • March 2015

Stansted Airport Lodge

Helpful staff, good price and comfortable, bathroom was next door to the room which was not ideal as it stated was en-suite.

  • Phill R

  • October 2014

Couldn't face the 2nd night so booked another hotel.

Truly awful.

Place is loaded with air fresheners to such a degree my head was pounding after 15 mins from the combination and intensity of the fumes. Rooms are awful, beds are worse. Didn't even dare try the breakfast. Noisy - could hear many people in different rooms, TVs, snoring, talking etc. Booked two nights, stayed one. Contemplated sleeping in car the first night.

  • Tommy Irvine

  • October 2014


Despite the fact that a double room with en-suite had been pre booked and paid for, I was allocated a room with no bathing facilities.

As I work on aircraft fuel systems, it was imperative that I had my own bathroom. I found the hotels response to my complaints less than helpful and strangely, the following day was accused of smoking in my room, which was not correct. Would never stay here again. You also have my surname incorrect. It is Irving

  • Steven D

  • September 2014

not as convenient as it sounds but very good stay

The hotel is a long journey from the airport but very attractive rooms and a big hot bath made me happy.

Breakfast pretty modest.

  • Vanesa Maja

  • August 2014

Perfect place to stay near Stansted airport

I would stay there again and strongly recommending this place to others.

Nice quiet room, very clean. Staff friendly and helpful

  • George St. Clair

  • July 2014

Dont stay here - Unaccommodating lazy badly organised

Arrived 2:40am after a delayed flight, owner couldn't have cared less.

Tried to phone ahead to ensure that the room was ready on our arrival but no answer on the phone numbers given by the owning agency. Owner eventually got up to let us in not wearing any shoes was only interested in securing payment even at that hour. One member of our party had broken her leg, he didn't show us to the room or help with baggage. Room had single instant coffee sachets, as did the breakfast room. Refused to let us sleep in past 10:30 despite our late arrival and his wasting 40minutes of our time on arrival because the room did not have enough beds and he had to put one in there - surely he knew when we were arriving already so this is unacceptable. Room was fitted with a double & a single bed despite us requesting three singles so had to share. We got up and out of the room on time and made our way into the breakfast room where the owner turned off the electricity so we were unable to have a hot drink. Do not stay here unless the management is replaced, it's not worth the hassle and I was appalled at his lack of help for our mobility restricted friend, god help anyone who stays here who does not have other people around to help them because you will get no help from the owner at all.

  • George St. Clair

  • July 2014

Spend more and go elsewhere

The 3 of us arrived at 10pm after a long day in work and then travelling we wanted nothing more than to be given room keys and allowed to rest.

The reception was empty and the owner took 10minutes to get there despite knowing in advance of our room requirements was unable to satisfy them forcing two of us to share a double bed when our requirements were for three singles. It took the shoe-less owner over 30 minutes to give us the room key. He did not show us to the room and did not carry any baggage. The room was nice but basic, tea and coffee making facilities consist of a single sachet of coffee per personand a few tea's but not enough milk or sugar for two cups. The breakfast was equally budget with again self service instant coffee sachets. If you have any self respect you will not enjoy the level of service or your stay here. The owner is unhelpful and unprofessional, we will certainly not be returning to the Stanstead Airport Lodge.

  • Louise Daniel

  • July 2014

No sleep til Butlin's

Hard to find but the owner was helpful enough.

Plenty of parking. Entrance way was dated and the owner then became less helpfull - didnt offer to show me to the room or help me with my heavy bag even though he could quite clearly see I was struggling and tired after a 6 hour car journey. Yeah thanks for that. The room was a single and did not have an en suite - which I wasn't told about. By the time I had struggled upstairs and I found this out and then made my way back downstairs to question him the owner just strugged it off and then left. Not amused - I'm not a Joan Collins by any means but really. I have to share a shower and toilet. Getting dressed to go to the shower makes no sense. I advise that if you use this place and want an ensuite you make absolutely certain that you have it in writing.

The room was stiflingly hot and I didn't want to leave the window open all night because I was concerned about security being on a main road.

The road that is on the dorstep of this 'hotel' may have been a quiet country road when I turned up the night before but at 5.30am it became a roaring B road complete with lorries, traffic jam and horns. The potential is there and this is obviously meant to be one of those place that you bunk down in before you fly off, which was what I was looking for, but I travel alot and this place just didn't cut it.

Wish I had gone with the B+B I found - was cheaper and I wouldnt have had to go to get dressed every time I went to the bathroom and guess who else was using it. Bleurgh

The breakfast was adequate. Couldn't wait to get to work for a rest.

  • D Backer

  • June 2014

Nice hotel near to the airport

Nice room and very easy and fast to get to the airport, short walk to a nice pub, would recommend to anyone who is flying the next day