No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Half Moon Inn

4Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
The Square , Sheepwash, EX21 5NE
The Half Moon Inn is well known, not just for the fishing but for our superb food, cask conditioned ales, well stocked bar and wine cellar, with wines from around the world to suit most palates.

A magnificent log fire is a focal point in colder weather and the unique village inn atmosphere creates an ideal setting for our guests to meet informally and mix with the local people.
You do not have to fish to enjoy a relaxing time with us, we extend a warm welcome to anyone who wishes to stay, from walkers and cyclists to businessmen and property hunters! The Half Moon has had visitors from all over the world who have experienced the atmosphere of a traditional English inn, and many have returned several times.

All the rooms in the main building at the Half Moon are typical of a building dating back to the 16th century, with exposed beams, low windows and one of the favourites has a sloping floor.

Here at the Half Moon we currently have 11 bedrooms, 7 of which are housed in the main building, with a further four in our purpose built annexe.
We are very ‘pet friendly’ here and our annexe is perfect for those who wish to bring their dogs, as it offers easy access to our courtyard and parking. However dogs are restricted to the guest bedrooms and bar.
All the main building rooms have been recently refurbished with new bathrooms, bedding, drapes and modern flat screen televisions.
Picture of The Half Moon Inn, Sheepwash at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 19 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
100% recommended this accommodation to a friend 100% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent Country Pub
Staying at the Half Moon was a delight. Despite being exceptionally busy , we were well looked after and our two dogs were made welcome. The room was clean and comfortable (perhaps the TV was rather small and self-controlled electric heating might have been a problem had it been cold weather).
We have no criticism about the food but with the longest menu possible it was remarkable that the serving staff managed so well at such a busy time.

Reviewed by
PASCAL RICKETTS

From London, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Short stay
Our stay was only a couple of days , but we would go back when ever we are having a longer break. Found the staff very good , breakfast spread was one of the best we have seen and cooked full English was superb.

Reviewed by
reginald gowler

From grays, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great food & friendly staff.
A lovely old pub full of character. Comfortable accommodation and great food with a large range of choices on the menu.
Staff are great, very friendly and helpful. One small point was that the shower was not very efficient but we never mentioned it to staff so this is not a complaint. We managed ok and enjoyed the rest of what was on offer.

Reviewed by
John J

From Ramsgate, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic find!
Very warm welcome, lovely big room mixing traditional and modern decoration, extremely comfy bed, massive ensuite, really tasty food and plentiful breakfast. Will definitely return.

Reviewed by
Rhia K

From Minehead, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely country pub. Amazing menu.

Reviewed by
N Hufton

From Farnham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A definite return trip
Couldn't fault anything, staff friendly and welcoming, excellent food, with plenty of choices.
We arrived early, not a problem, and taken to our large room overlooking the village square. We had a very good nights sleep, the mattress was so comfortable I had to look at what make it was, so I can look out for one when we need a replacement .
We have since stayed in two other places, where the breakfasts are not a patch on the half moon inns, so 11 out off 10, and we look forward to returning.

Reviewed by
Margaret M

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

sheepwash
The food was excellent

Reviewed by
David Richards

From Caerphilly, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

An unspoilt corner of Devon
Very friendly staff, a good selection of meals made with locally sourced produce, if you are into fishing
the area has lots of places to fish for both course and game anglers including the Hotels own stretch of river.
I have been a regular visitor to this area for twenty years, for me a round trip of eight hundred miles, I hope I will be able to continue to come for another twenty

Reviewed by
Donald Thompson

From Bishop Auckland, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

What a gem of a place.
What a wonderful inn! Building very old and quaint. I booked this inn because I read it was 'very dog friendly' and it was. I had booked a single room but was given a big double with a very spacious en suite. The dogs were eyeing the sofa but I made them sleep in their own dog bed! The room looked like it had been recently refurbed and was really lovely. The lamb curry I had for dinner was far too much for me, delicious as it was. Breakfast was more than anyone could wish for. The fruits selection, which I like to eat with yogurt, was better than I have at home. The blueberries were bigger and fresher looking than I can buy in Bishop's Stortford! Cherries are quite expensive so I was surprised to see a huge bowl of fresh dark coloured cherries. The cooked full English was lovely. All in all this inn offers extremely good value for money. The staff were very friendly, very approachable and nothing too much trouble for them.

Reviewed by
Mairi W

From Bishop's Stortford, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly and comfortable country inn.

Reviewed by
John E

From Alton, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next