The Half Moon Inn

4

The Square, Sheepwash, EX21 5NE

Price From 115.52 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (20)

100% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Chris W

  • February 2015

I needn't have worried about the plastic ducks.........

Booked at (very) short notice on a whim, I was really pleased I visited.

The hosts were welcoming; my room was simple but generous in size, with a very comfy bed and antique furniture (I mean, real antique furniture, not chipboard wardrobes and chests with their best days well past). The bar downstairs has a welcoming atmosphere, good beer, roaring fire and tempting menu ~ there's an extensive dining room, but I ate by the fire on a quieter winter evening. Breakfast was impressive ~ a big choice of fruit and cereals. The visit felt like just a foretaste for a longer stay. The Inn is dog-friendly ~ so I'd like to visit again with dog & companion and maybe try the fishing too. When I want to recommend an English Country Pub stay to friends seeking rural peace and quiet I'll have no hesitation in pointing them in this direction. The Half Moon Inn is on the old market square of a quiet Devon village with a convenient community shop and Post Office. The Inn has WiFi available, which isn't mentioned in the details.

  • Peter T

  • December 2014

December business trip

Greta beer, great atmosphere, first class breakfast, idyllic setting.

  • PASCAL RICKETTS

  • November 2014

Excellent Country Pub

Staying at the Half Moon was a delight.

Despite being exceptionally busy , we were well looked after and our two dogs were made welcome. The room was clean and comfortable (perhaps the TV was rather small and self-controlled electric heating might have been a problem had it been cold weather). We have no criticism about the food but with the longest menu possible it was remarkable that the serving staff managed so well at such a busy time.

  • reginald gowler

  • September 2014

Short stay

Our stay was only a couple of days , but we would go back when ever we are having a longer break.

Found the staff very good , breakfast spread was one of the best we have seen and cooked full English was superb.

  • John J

  • September 2014

Great food & friendly staff.

A lovely old pub full of character.

Comfortable accommodation and great food with a large range of choices on the menu. Staff are great, very friendly and helpful. One small point was that the shower was not very efficient but we never mentioned it to staff so this is not a complaint. We managed ok and enjoyed the rest of what was on offer.

  • Rhia K

  • September 2014

Fantastic find!

Very warm welcome, lovely big room mixing traditional and modern decoration, extremely comfy bed, massive ensuite, really tasty food and plentiful breakfast.

Will definitely return.

  • N Hufton

  • August 2014

Lovely country pub.

Amazing menu.

  • Margaret M

  • August 2014

A definite return trip

Couldn't fault anything, staff friendly and welcoming, excellent food, with plenty of choices.

We arrived early, not a problem, and taken to our large room overlooking the village square. We had a very good nights sleep, the mattress was so comfortable I had to look at what make it was, so I can look out for one when we need a replacement . We have since stayed in two other places, where the breakfasts are not a patch on the half moon inns, so 11 out off 10, and we look forward to returning.

  • David Richards

  • August 2014

sheepwash

The food was excellent

  • Donald Thompson

  • July 2014

An unspoilt corner of Devon

Very friendly staff, a good selection of meals made with locally sourced produce, if you are into fishing the area has lots of places to fish for both course and game anglers including the Hotels own stretch of river.

I have been a regular visitor to this area for twenty years, for me a round trip of eight hundred miles, I hope I will be able to continue to come for another twenty