No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Surfside Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
12 Esplanade Road, Fistral Beach, , Newquay, TR7 1QA
The Surfside Hotel in Newquay, Cornwall overlooks Fistral Beach and is close to the town centre. This family run hotel with spectacular, unobstructed views overlooks Fistral Beach,a hotel renowned for its surfing connections, you really couldnt be in a better location! The hotel has its own car park and also has the benefit of a cafe/bar and sun terrace which overlooks the beach. We have 16,well equipped and comfortable bedrooms most with ensuite bathrooms and some enjoy sea views. Guests can come and go as they please, access is available to the hotel at all times, all rooms have tea and coffee making facilities. Games room with table tennis and pool table. Onsite High Five Surf School- Surfboard/ Wetsuit Hire at Discounted Rates For Guests We are a short distance from Newquay town centre and just yards away from Fistral beach with its lovely rock pools. Ideally situated for coastal walks, surfing, fishing and enjoying the beautiful golden sands of the beach. The hotel is only 25 minutes drive from the world famous Eden Project and only a short distance from Newquays Waterparks, Zoo and Golf Course. A warm and friendly welcome awaits you at the Surfside Hotel, with its growing reputation for a friendly, relaxed atmosphere. Come and be our guests and see why people return year after year.
Picture of Surfside Hotel, Newquay at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since June 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 13 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
64% recommended this accommodation to a friend 70% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Newquay holiday at surfside hotel.
Hi me and my boyfriend stayed in surfside for four nights, we were happy with the room and the hotel and the staff were really nice, in fact all the people in Cornwall were very friendly but the showers were not brilliant and we didn't feel they were cleaned regular plus they were small, plus I got locked out of my room as there really heavy doors and close behind you and I did ask for help, but I think the lady I told forgot about me, I was at in the hall way nearly a hour before my partner came back with the key, Good thing I wasn't naked,lol, but over all we had a good time.

Reviewed by
J BUTLER

From OXFORD, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Tiny place
Room was too small for 6 adults, Towels wasn't change for whole time. Shower was not powerful enough. Window and roof was too small so not suitable for tall people , ..but quiet place :P

Reviewed by
Radoslav Jacecko

From Oxford, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location,stunning views, lovely staff and value for money
We booked this as a last minute get away for a few days.The location is perfect overlooking fistral beach and ideal for those wanting to surf/beach activities. It has a lovely deck overlooking the beach and the double room with sea view was great! The owners and staff are really nice and helpful.
I would definitely return to this hotel again as it is ideal base for newquay and fistral beach.
The hotel do breakfast but I would also recommend Bodhi's cafe for food/drinks based acroos the road on the beach!

Reviewed by
R Knight

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A perfect place for an escape
My husband and I were in desperate need of a break away together. With the stunning views of fistral beach and friendly staff we were able to relax and enjoy ourselves. We were able to upgrade to a room with an en-suite. The room was fine with the comforts of home and it was very easy to feel comfortable there. A great night sleep!

Reviewed by
sophie williams

From Rochford, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

location,location.
Surfside is not a hotel it is a rather rundown B and B without the breakfast included.
It's redeeming feature is the.wonderful bayside location.
We had a seaview room and could sit in bed and watch the surfers. I was disappointed with the premises,because I was expecting an hotel,but the view was consoling. The owner should be honest and call a b and b and sell it for what it is, unpretentious accommodation fantastic for surfers and lovers of the sea.

Reviewed by
Eileen C

From Stroud, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

This is a b&b and not a hotel.
Very basic but the view is good of fistral beach. Property requires investment and a good makeover. This property is more suited to a group of lads for a stag weekend. The breakfast was good, albeit £8 and there were no frills. OK to stay here but don't expect luxury as it is clearly not.

Reviewed by
t palarm

From UK
Who stayed in December 2013

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfectly placed
If you're going to Newquay, chances are that surfing or watersports will be somewhere on your agenda. In which case you should consider the Surfside as it is exactly what you expect given its name. It looks out over Fistral Beach and has a nicely laid back atmosphere. The owners are lovely and very keen to help in any way they can. It's not fussy but who needs that when you've got such instant access to such a wondrous beach. I'd pay just to look out of the windows.

Reviewed by
Paul Domenet

From London, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic
I booked this hotel in order to experience surfing down at Fistral beach. The hotel is perfectly located as it is opposite Fistral beach and Newquay town centre is an easy 10 minute walk. I had a sea view room and loved waking up each morning to the stunning views and sounds of the Atlantic waves rolling in. The owners and staff at the hotel were charming, friendly and incredibly helpful. It was my first time in Newquay and they provided me with leaflets, maps, suggestions of places of interest and always made time if I had any queries. I also recommend the hotel for those interested in surfing as the equipment was fab and the instructor Sam was brilliant. The bar has a surf theme which added to the whole experience. Thank you for a lovely stay!! :)

Reviewed by
S Wells

From Basingstoke, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Short stay in the UK

I enjoyed it for the time it was needed, friendly host and lovely area !
Service was good and friendly, I was lucky with the WIFI use in the room too.
Peaceful, great location !
Would book it again for sure.

Reviewed by
Claudine M

From London, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Surfing stay
Owner is nice, room was pleasant, shower was good. Excellent view of the beach. Positive experience.

Reviewed by
brian lavender

From Bury St Edmunds, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next