Reviews - Surfside Hotel


12 Esplanade Road, ,, Newquay, TR7 1QA

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (9)

44% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service

Food quality

Room quality


  • K lavin

  • August 2015

Surfside Hotel

Run down hotel.

  • N OConnell

  • July 2015


This hotel was awful in fact Newquay is awful I hated it so much I only stayed 1 night.

arrived at the hotel the lady was nice enough don't get me wrong, she showed us to our (room) if you could call it that beasties on the bed and towels, the mattress was like sleeping on a rock WOW. We had to ask for an extra duvet and could still feel all the lumps and bump's, I had already paid €126 for 2 nights and had no refund for my second night, will defo not be back down that neck of the woods it's awful.

  • Wayne S

  • February 2015

Excellent low cost stay

Facing the sea, this is an excellent hotel with a lovely lady running it and great customer service.

The room was perfect for what we wanted and we were provided with everything we asked for. Would definitely stay again and definitely recommend.


  • August 2014

Newquay holiday at surfside hotel.

Hi me and my boyfriend stayed in surfside for four nights, we were happy with the room and the hotel and the staff were really nice, in fact all the people in Cornwall were very friendly but the showers were not brilliant and we didn't feel they were cleaned regular plus they were small, plus I got locked out of my room as there really heavy doors and close behind you and I did ask for help, but I think the lady I told forgot about me, I was at in the hall way nearly a hour before my partner came back with the key, Good thing I wasn't naked,lol, but over all we had a good time.

  • Radoslav Jacecko

  • June 2014

Tiny place

Room was too small for 6 adults, Towels wasn't change for whole time.

Shower was not powerful enough. Window and roof was too small so not suitable for tall people , ..but quiet place :P

  • R Knight

  • May 2014

Great location,stunning views, lovely staff and value for money

We booked this as a last minute get away for a few days.The location is perfect overlooking fistral beach and ideal for those wanting to surf/beach activities.

It has a lovely deck overlooking the beach and the double room with sea view was great. The owners and staff are really nice and helpful.

I would definitely return to this hotel again as it is ideal base for newquay and fistral beach. The hotel do breakfast but I would also recommend Bodhi's cafe for food/drinks based acroos the road on the beach.

  • sophie williams

  • April 2014

A perfect place for an escape

My husband and I were in desperate need of a break away together.

With the stunning views of fistral beach and friendly staff we were able to relax and enjoy ourselves. We were able to upgrade to a room with an en-suite. The room was fine with the comforts of home and it was very easy to feel comfortable there. A great night sleep.

  • Eileen C

  • April 2014


Surfside is not a hotel it is a rather rundown B and B without the breakfast included.

It's redeeming feature is the.wonderful bayside location.

We had a seaview room and could sit in bed and watch the surfers. I was disappointed with the premises,because I was expecting an hotel,but the view was consoling. The owner should be honest and call a b and b and sell it for what it is, unpretentious accommodation fantastic for surfers and lovers of the sea.

  • t palarm

  • December 2013

This is a b&b and not a hotel.

Very basic but the view is good of fistral beach.

Property requires investment and a good makeover. This property is more suited to a group of lads for a stag weekend. The breakfast was good, albeit £8 and there were no frills. OK to stay here but don't expect luxury as it is clearly not.