Reviews - Zanzibar International Hotel


9 Eversfield Place, Hastings, TN37 6BY

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (14)

100% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service

Food quality

Room quality


  • A T

  • October 2015

Zanzibar International Hotel

Excellent views and room.

  • William F

  • May 2015

Excellent, unique room looking straight out over the sea

The owner met us at the door, carried the bags in and could not do enough to help.

Showed us around the room and explained how everything worked and explained about how the hotel functioned regarding the bar, meals etc. A very personal service from a very personable host, he obviously took pride in his work. Having stayed in hotels all over the country and abroad for many years, the breakfast was without doubt the best we've ever experienced, absolutely excellent !. Only one minor complaint, the bins in the room had not been emptied, other than that, perfect.

  • Jane M

  • March 2015

Best place to stay for Hastings and St Leonards

We stayed mid-week in the Africa themed room which is at the top and front of the hotel.

Stunning view of the sea and sunrise and sunset over the sea. There was a very friendly welcome when we arrived, with a complimentary coffee. The hotel is beautifully presented throughout with artifacts from around the world. The room was very comfortable with everything you could wish for, from the towelling bathrobes to fresh milk and a cafetière with a full can of coffee and a large selection of teas. There is also a DVD library to choose from and an iPod dock. Breakfast was amazing - a large choice and so much food - you will not leave hungry.

  • Eric M

  • March 2015

Fabulous hotel in Hastings

We stayed at the Zanzibar for a one night stopover in Hastings, based on online reviews and one personal recommendation.

We are so pleased that we did. From the minute we arrived and were greeted by Max, the proprietor, to the minute we left the next morning, we felt like special guests. The room ('Japan') was nicely decorated, clean, with a super comfy bed and all the facilities you'd expect. Excellent breakfast - although it took us a while to choose from the vast menu - starting with Bucks Fizz ... Altogether a fun and relaxing stay. Strongly recommended!

  • Colin Barnes

  • December 2014

Superb and relaxing accommodation - Best first class hotel in East Sussex.

Fantastic service and first rate rooms.

Bed was massive and very comfortable. The attention to detail and the needs of the guest made this a very special stay. This was the best breakfast I have ever had. We will stay again on our next visit

  • S GREY

  • November 2014

Memorable - A real gem

This is a great small hotel.

Themed rooms; very cool and very comfortable. Excellent service and outstanding food. Worth a detour if you're ever within striking distance. A surprise find!

  • L Hughes

  • September 2014

Just lovely.

My partner and I stayed here for one night in the Morocco room.

It is no secret that Hastings isn't that attractive, but the old town is very nice and so is nearby Battle. The hotel more than makes up for the road it is on. It was spotlessly clean, room was unlike any other I have ever stayed in and had all the facilities you could want from a hotel room. Staff all lovely and professional, garden is lovely to sit in at night and have a drink. Can't comment on restaurant as we didn't eat there but breakfast was also brilliant (our only criticism was that the veggie sausages could have been of a higher quality, we also would've liked the option of some sort of pastries if not having cooked breakfast). Overall a fantastic stay. We also got a sneak peek at many other rooms on our check out thanks to the lady running reception (the guests had checked out of course!) and they were equally, if not more so, stunning.

  • S Ford

  • September 2014

Pleasant stay with a slight hiccup

Our stay here was quite pleasant.

We stayed in the Japan room which was more Oriental feeling than specifically Japanese.

Unfortunately the Jacuzzi was not working, which we were advised about upon checking in. We were told to call down to reception if we were not able to get it to work, but decided against this as we didn't necessarily want our weekend interrupted by someone coming in and fiddling with the Jacuzzi in the corner. This was our only real complaint, as I think that if the hotel was advised by the guests in the morning that the Jacuzzi was not working it should have been rectified at the time rather than delayed until confirmed by the next guests that it was still not working. For the price of the room I found this to be unacceptable. The rest of the stay was quite delightful with drinks offered on arrival, and a rather sumptuous breakfast served in the garden.

The host who met us was incredibly friendly and helpful, and didn't make a big deal about us leaving without paying the outstanding amount on the bill. She was quite understanding when we returned minutes later and advised us that the remainder of the bill had been charged to our initial payment card.

  • Hilary O

  • August 2014

Perfect for our mini-moon

It rained solidly for 3 days and I can honestly say I have never been happier with a weather forecast.

The room, the food and the service was so lovely we didn't need or want to venture outside.

(Maggie's fish and chip shop in Hastings is excellent if you do start to get cabin fever though)

  • Colin P

  • April 2014


Charm exudes from the staff and fabric of this hotel.

I suspect my most lasting memory will be the interior design. I not usually conscious of such things but even this philistine oap could not but be aware of the skill and 'charm' of the interior design. Our bedroom, The Morocco, although a smidgeon small for a largish pair of pensioners was a delight of imaginative use of space, fabric, and fun.

Staff were cheerfully helpful. Food was good. All in all a delight.