No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Ty Seren Bed & Breakfast

2Visit Wales Assessed Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
Ty Seren Meyrick Street, Dolgellau, LL40 1LN
Ty Seren (in English Star House) is a 209 year old former woolen mill located in the centre of the lovely market town of Dolgellau, Gwynedd. If you like peace and tranquility in an affordable family-run Bed and Breakfast then this is the place for you. The accommodation - all on the first floor - comprises 3 individually decorated en-suite rooms with tea trays and televisions; a family room sleeping up to four, a double room and a single room. We can especially cater for groups of up to 6 Mountain Bikers coming to the nearby Coed y Brenin Mountain Bike Centre, as we have excellent storage in our large cellar and washing facilities for muddy bikes and clothes. The house has many character features, such as slate flagstones, oak staircase, large inglenook fireplace and oak beams, and also has the very unusual feature of an exterior 'stone' staircase winding round the back of the building. Ty Seren lies just off of the main square of Dolgellau, a minutes walk from the nearest pub/restaurant and also 2 minutes walk from Ty Siamas, the new National Folk Music Centre of Wales. The house itself has a checkered history, at one time being a pub called The Star (Seren is Welsh for Star), at another housing three evacuated families on the 'open plan' weaving floor up-stairs, we also have one of the earliest flat roof shop extensions in the area, circa.1860!
Picture of Ty Seren Bed & Breakfast, Dolgellau at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 48 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
95% recommended this accommodation to a friend 95% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A little Gem
My wife and I took our daughter and two Grand children and stayed in the family room
A great short break
Many thanks

Reviewed by
I Stevens

From Newport, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Charming cottage style accomodation
Lovely hosts, enjoyed the charm of the room, delicious breakfast.

Reviewed by
Sue Vanderploeg

From Oswestry, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful Gem
Very friendly and made our short stay very worthwhile. Well done Nick and partner, breakfast really great. too.
Would recommend your place to anyone, thanks.
Dave Fielding

Reviewed by
David Fielding

From Northallerton, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely B&B with lots of character
We enjoyed our 2 nights here in July. The room was perfect for what we wanted-somewhere reasonably priced to be based for a weekend of walking and falconry. Nick was very helpful, and the breakfast was delicious! Would stay here again if we go back to Dolgellau area!

Reviewed by
I Brook

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great day
We stayed for a night. They offered us a room in the neighbors´ house. They were simply brilliant. Thanks

Reviewed by
I Sanchez Zorzo

From Stafford, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One might stay
Very nice b&b. made to feel really welcome. Exceptional service and lovely relaxed owners. I am quite fussy but could not find fault and would stay again

Reviewed by
Rob W

From Llanwrda, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent place to stay. Used it as a base for the PIG ultra duathlon. Owners couldn't have been more helpful. Will be staying again.

Reviewed by
Nigel M

From Swansea, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great little B&B. Really friendly couple. Cenal location with good access to local facilities.

Reviewed by
S Warwick

From Dunmow, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Graet stop off for Snowdonia
Loved the real fire in the breakfast room

Reviewed by
Susan M

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A good place to stay.
Interesting town, good accommodations, helpful host.

Reviewed by
R Des Roches

From Scituate, USA
Who stayed in April 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next