No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Ambassador Spa Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Centre of the Esplanade , Scarborough, YO11 2AY
Undergone a major refurbishment program in 2011/12. This stunning AA 3* Victorian hip, chic, luxury boutique SPA hotel. Boasting 58 contemporary en-suite bedrooms, most with unrivalled sea views of the beautiful South Bay. Open February 2012 Our brand new Zen Garden rooftop retreat & infra red sauna, overlooking Olivers Mount! Indulge your senses in our superb dual Mud Rasul, with complimentary use of a snuggly robe, towel & slippers. Choose from the Ambassador Spa Beauty & Massage treatment rooms for a day of pampering! From mid march 2012 we shall be open for complimentary use of our fantastic brand new aqua & heat retreat suite, with foot spas, Swedish sauna, spa bubbles & rainforest showers, to indulge and enjoy. The Ambassador Spa conference and event suites, hold from the intimate to the large delegation. FREE wi-fi, FREE parking, tasteful music. Boutique sea view bars & restaurant, a lift to all floors, minutes to the town, beach and 100 metres to the cliff lift that takes you to the Spa conference centre & beaches. This hip and happening SPA hotel, has just about everything to offer the discerning guest!

Picture of Ambassador Spa Hotel, Scarborough at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 58 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
71% recommended this accommodation to a friend 73% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Could have been so much better!
The hotel itself is in a great location, and although the rooms and spa / pool area are on the small side, it is a reasonably good 3 star hotel.
Sadly, the staff let it down, there was not nearly enough staff about. The lady on reception was pleasant, but rushed off her feet, meaning we had a 10 minute wait for towels for the pool.
The breakfast was a disaster, dirty tables, no staff were anywhere to be seen and after a 15 minute wait we just helped ourselves to what was left of the Continental breakfast, although others were seen eating a cooked breakfast, in the 25 minutes we waited, we were never approached or offered any. Again we only saw 1 lady and no sooner had she delivered a tables breakfast, she disappeared into the kitchen again....was she cooking and serving??
As I said the location is fantastic, especially if you are seeing a show or similar at "The Spa".

Reviewed by
angela b

From York, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful room with an amazing seafront view. Staff all helpful. Pool area an added bonus.

Reviewed by
Joanne P

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

slightly unloved
Our stay was in the end lovely after a free upgrade as our first room smelt of urine but without quibble we were promptly moved to a very clean nice room,the spa is sadly unloved and washing lotions etc are not replenishised and when we requested a towel we were given only a had towel,

Reviewed by
Gillian W

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ambassador Spa Hotel
I felt like I had been placed in a shoe box for the night. The photos really are way better than the reality. It needed cleaning and a fresh lick of paint. The bathroom was a joke. I walked in and the door wouldn't open fully for the toilet being behind it and it sprung back in my face. Even coming into the hotel we stood a while waiting for someone to see to us and we were never offered assistance with luggage despite having a climb quite a few flights of stairs. Breakfast was continental and really lacked a lot of things. We paid quite a bit extra for breakfast and we were really quite upset with what we were given.

Reviewed by
M Miller

From Bradford, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very good deal
Excellent room for the price.

Reviewed by
Kay H

From Pontefract, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not worth the money
Paid £90 a night for a deluxe sea view room. We did have a view of the sea but the rest of the room left a lot to be desired. There was a leak in the ceiling when it rained, which left a stain on the curtains so did not look great. The bathroom was quite dated and the whole room in general could have done with a spruce up. It was NOT worth the money we spent! The staff we nice and courteous , however, due to an obvious lack of staff, they were rushed off their feet and struggled to keep up with demand, especially at breakfast. We were offered a hot breakfast, as well as the continental, which was great. But it was not made clear at any point that there was an extra charge for this (even though we had pre booked breakfast). This was an added £15 on to what was already a costly trip. This hotel does not represent value for money.

Reviewed by
Scott H

From Blackburn, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good
Was great for use of spa. Bathroom was old and cupboard in room cello taped together. But overall a good placentre to stay for pool.

Reviewed by
Victoria C

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay of an extended week-end.Didn't manage to avail ourselves of the Spa facilities this time around,hope to next time.The menu was fairly basic but was cooked superbly
and alway's hot at service.

Reviewed by
BRIAN HODGKINSON

From NOTTINGHAM, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Enjoyable stay at Spa Hotel
I have a very nice stay at the Spa Hotel. The room rate offered by this website represented good value for money. The Hotel was clean and the team friendly and polite. The dining menu was a little uninspiring but there were plenty of restaurants close by. The Hotel is in a nice location overlooking the bay and close to the Cliff lift and bus services.

Reviewed by
Dean Robert Thompson

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

short seaside break
Hotel easy to book into, staff polite.Enjoyed using the pool.Room as expected with lovely views, breakfast very nice.Found drinks in the bar expensive,Hotel used to have entertainment in the evening, seemed to have stopped this.Fire alarm went off at 2-30 am during our stay, no supervision from staff noticed.

Reviewed by
c slaughter

From Hull, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next