No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Angel Inn

3Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
172 Long Ashton Road Long Ashton, Bristol, BS41 9LT
The Angel is a historic village pub surrounded by farmland, next to a 600 year old church, and yet it is ideally situated two miles from Bristol city centre and its business heartland and fifteen minutes drive from Bristol Airport. Half an hours walk away is the newly developed waterfront. The Angel has a high reputation for its food, and has won many recent awards for its ales. The good news is that it is now able to offer five rooms for bed and breakfast accommodation. Very close are some of Bristol’s finest features, including the Avon Gorge with Brunel’s famous suspension bridge and the SS Great Britain, Ashton Court, Clifton Downs, several golf courses, and many more. The Angel dates from 1495, and has been the village pub in Long Ashton for several hundred years. It is a family run pub, and since Sian took it over in 2003 has earned great popularity with both the locals and the business community. It is often used for business meetings, weddings, dinner parties and other celebrations. For bird lovers it is a listed breeding site for swallows who reside and nest in the adjoining barn between April and October every year.
Picture of The Angel Inn, Bristol at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 79 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
88% recommended this accommodation to a friend 88% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good local pub.
The Angel is a busy local pub with really good food. The room we had was quirky due to the age of the place. No flat floors anywhere! We could have done with two chairs to watch tv. The staff were faultless.

Reviewed by
Maureen B

From Gillingham, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Angel Inn 25/09/2014
Nice stay and convenient for the airport. This is a busy local and evryone was very friendly.

Reviewed by
D Holdsworth

From Okehampton, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely Place to stay
A beautiful old English pub, very welcoming staff, excellent food.Very close to centre of Bristol. Single en suite room no.5 very good but could hear everything from the room next door through the adjoining door !!

Reviewed by
G Smith

From Mansfield, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One Night in Long Ashton, Bristol
Very interesting historic old inn, full of character

Reviewed by
David Peirce

From Basingstoke, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Awful
Lovely room and staff but the good comments stop there I'm afraid. No wifi despite being told so. Shower where the temperature couldn't be controlled and then after several minutes trying it lost all pressure. Finally, the food - onion soup to start which was made from a packet. Wouldn't have used it as wallpaper paste! Main that could have been great but with a sauce and microwave involved it was never going to happen. A real shame as it is. Lovely set up

Reviewed by
David Kilsby

From Knottingley, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good place to stay when visiting Bristol.
We had a lovely stay in the Angel inn, the room was verry good and the service is great. The staff is friendly and very helpfull. The only thing we didn't like was the breakfast, it is not included and a bit pricey for what you are getting. 5 pounds for just 3 slices of toast and some scrambeld eggs is in my opinion a bit steep. If they can change the breakfast this will be a even better place to stay.

Reviewed by
Willem S

From Utrecht, Netherlands
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Would reccommend staying at The Angel Inn. Great value for money, frieńly staff, room with character.

Reviewed by
C Price

From Wrexham, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Brillant stay especially for family with young kids
We had a fabulous time at the Angel Inn. A really lovely place to stay and great atmosphere. Especially for a family with a baby it has been fabulous since we had all equipment in the room upstairs whilst be able to enjoy the fine dining and lovely people in the pub downstairs.
The room has been excellent only an en-suite bathroom would have made it even better.
Great place, we are hoping to come and visit the Angel Inn again in the future!

Reviewed by
Christian P

From Germany
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Angel at the Balloon Fiesta
Delightful quaint old pub, with low ceilings, small doors, twisty corridors and unique rooms, but nicely furnished with a lovely plush blue carpet throughout. We stayed for the Bristol International Balloon Fiesta and it was the perfect location, only a 10 min walk to where the balloons were taking off. Very efficient, nice helpful staff. Good simple freshly cooked food, ideal for families, with plenty of seating inside and an outside courtyard.

Reviewed by
Anne S

From Lancaster, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Paper thin walls
The room I was in I could hear the pub noise below very clearly. However, what was really annoying was the person in the next room snoring. The sound travelled through from the next door room as if there were no walls! Take ear plugs if you want to stay here.

Reviewed by
Andrew F

From Huddersfield, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next