No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Angel Inn

3Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
172 Long Ashton Road Long Ashton, Bristol, BS41 9LT
The Angel is a historic village pub surrounded by farmland, next to a 600 year old church, and yet it is ideally situated two miles from Bristol city centre and its business heartland and fifteen minutes drive from Bristol Airport. Half an hours walk away is the newly developed waterfront. The Angel has a high reputation for its food, and has won many recent awards for its ales. The good news is that it is now able to offer five rooms for bed and breakfast accommodation. Very close are some of Bristol’s finest features, including the Avon Gorge with Brunel’s famous suspension bridge and the SS Great Britain, Ashton Court, Clifton Downs, several golf courses, and many more. The Angel dates from 1495, and has been the village pub in Long Ashton for several hundred years. It is a family run pub, and since Sian took it over in 2003 has earned great popularity with both the locals and the business community. It is often used for business meetings, weddings, dinner parties and other celebrations. For bird lovers it is a listed breeding site for swallows who reside and nest in the adjoining barn between April and October every year.
Picture of The Angel Inn, Bristol at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 77 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
88% recommended this accommodation to a friend 88% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Awful
Lovely room and staff but the good comments stop there I'm afraid. No wifi despite being told so. Shower where the temperature couldn't be controlled and then after several minutes trying it lost all pressure. Finally, the food - onion soup to start which was made from a packet. Wouldn't have used it as wallpaper paste! Main that could have been great but with a sauce and microwave involved it was never going to happen. A real shame as it is. Lovely set up

Reviewed by
David Kilsby

From Knottingley, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good place to stay when visiting Bristol.
We had a lovely stay in the Angel inn, the room was verry good and the service is great. The staff is friendly and very helpfull. The only thing we didn't like was the breakfast, it is not included and a bit pricey for what you are getting. 5 pounds for just 3 slices of toast and some scrambeld eggs is in my opinion a bit steep. If they can change the breakfast this will be a even better place to stay.

Reviewed by
Willem S

From Utrecht, Netherlands
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Would reccommend staying at The Angel Inn. Great value for money, frieńly staff, room with character.

Reviewed by
C Price

From Wrexham, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Brillant stay especially for family with young kids
We had a fabulous time at the Angel Inn. A really lovely place to stay and great atmosphere. Especially for a family with a baby it has been fabulous since we had all equipment in the room upstairs whilst be able to enjoy the fine dining and lovely people in the pub downstairs.
The room has been excellent only an en-suite bathroom would have made it even better.
Great place, we are hoping to come and visit the Angel Inn again in the future!

Reviewed by
Christian P

From Germany
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Angel at the Balloon Fiesta
Delightful quaint old pub, with low ceilings, small doors, twisty corridors and unique rooms, but nicely furnished with a lovely plush blue carpet throughout. We stayed for the Bristol International Balloon Fiesta and it was the perfect location, only a 10 min walk to where the balloons were taking off. Very efficient, nice helpful staff. Good simple freshly cooked food, ideal for families, with plenty of seating inside and an outside courtyard.

Reviewed by
Anne S

From Lancaster, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Paper thin walls
The room I was in I could hear the pub noise below very clearly. However, what was really annoying was the person in the next room snoring. The sound travelled through from the next door room as if there were no walls! Take ear plugs if you want to stay here.

Reviewed by
Andrew F

From Huddersfield, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Full of character, but.....
Easy check experience, really friendly staff, but only after getting into the room did I realise there was a party door to the room next door (not in the hotel advert) with a 2cm gap at the bottom. Every sound came through, and as their room did not have an en-suite, when they went out to the toilet, they happily banged their room door closed. That apart the rooms are nicely finished, and the en-suite was excellent. They could do with putting fans in the rooms for the heat we are having, as opening the windows on the main road was not an option.

Reviewed by
Jamie M

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very old pub full of character. Nice sizeable homely room with comfy double bed and z-bed for my teenager. Room had a decent TV and complimentary teas/coffees in room. Although the main road was very noisy when the windows were open, the bus stop was practically opposite the pub and only took just under 15 mins to get into the city with reliable and regular buses which outweighed for us the noise of the road. Take care if coming back late on the bus cos it is difficult to see the bus stop in the dark. We specified to the bus driver 'The Angel Inn' (after this stop the price is £1 more) but he deliberately sped past it, cos he wasn't nice!
We had a lovely pub meal at the Angel Inn and the beer was good too! However, I thought the breakfast provision could have been a little better but an enjoyable stay.

Reviewed by
P Turner

From Bournemouth, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not the best
Value for money was poor breakfast and service was poor and pub was busy with lots of nise

Reviewed by
J Ashby

From Bourne, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

fantastic stay!
Very lovely staff and very good service. Loved our room and will definitely stay again next time!

Reviewed by
Joseph Newman

From Hinckley, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next