No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Angel Inn

3Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
172 Long Ashton Road Long Ashton, Bristol, BS41 9LT
The Angel is a historic village pub surrounded by farmland, next to a 600 year old church, and yet it is ideally situated two miles from Bristol city centre and its business heartland and fifteen minutes drive from Bristol Airport. Half an hours walk away is the newly developed waterfront. The Angel has a high reputation for its food, and has won many recent awards for its ales. The good news is that it is now able to offer five rooms for bed and breakfast accommodation. Very close are some of Bristol’s finest features, including the Avon Gorge with Brunel’s famous suspension bridge and the SS Great Britain, Ashton Court, Clifton Downs, several golf courses, and many more. The Angel dates from 1495, and has been the village pub in Long Ashton for several hundred years. It is a family run pub, and since Sian took it over in 2003 has earned great popularity with both the locals and the business community. It is often used for business meetings, weddings, dinner parties and other celebrations. For bird lovers it is a listed breeding site for swallows who reside and nest in the adjoining barn between April and October every year.
Picture of The Angel Inn, Bristol at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 77 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
88% recommended this accommodation to a friend 88% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfy clean and cozy, would stay again.

Reviewed by
Z WILLIAMS

From Carmarthen, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Place to Stay
Excellent place to stay, great food, good value for money. Thoroughly recommend.

Reviewed by
David R

From Braintree, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great value-greatly appreciated
I travel alone and I was slightly worried about staying in a pub rather than a hotel. My concerns were unfounded. The staff were very friendly and for the first time in years my bag was carried to my room for me. The room was comfy clean and I slept very well and was greated by another very friendly staff member for breakfast. I felt very much at home and have already booked to stay twice more. Great value for money.

Reviewed by
janice giddy

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice Choice
A lovely old coaching inn, with plenty of character, friendly locals and staff. The room given to us was spotless, large and the bed was very comfortable. We did not eat in the evening but had breakfast the following morning which ranges from £4 to £8 pp which was very nice and value for money.
There is a bus stop just outside and buses run quite frequently into Bristol bus station which is a short stroll to the shopping centre, which is massive and the waterfront area. All in all a nice stay.

Reviewed by
Adrian S

From Oxford, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Brilliant Getaway
The Angel Inn was a perfe t find for us as we didnt know Bristol at all and wanted somewhere very niceto stay. The hotel is located in a perfect spot for bus travel and is incredibly easy to find. Our bed was so amazingly comfy we have spoken about buying one for home. The staff were all very friendly and always greeted us as we entered or left. We ate in the restaurant on our first night and had brilliantly cooked steak and lovely homemade soup. We will definitely come again!

Reviewed by
J Bessant

From Dartmouth, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great food nice pub but avoid rooms 4 and 5 at all costs!!
This is a nice little pub with really really good food. No microwaved crap. I stayed in room 5 which had an interconnecting door to room 4. I could hear every fart, cough and sneeze through this door even though it was obviously locked and closed. You could even see through the keyhole! Avoid these two rooms at all costs the door may as well have been open it felt like sharing a room with a stranger. Usual noise from downstairs you would expect from a pub. It needs a heavier door or a curtain putting up to damp the noise. Ideally just bricking in. Id stay here again if it were a different room.

Reviewed by
J Holmes

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Staying at the Angel
A brief one night stay at this lovely C15 Inn .Wish we could have stayed longer but will next Spring! The room was charming and the bed really comfortable! The staff were friendly and knowledgable.The Angel Inn is very accessible for the City of Bristol and is close to the world famous Clifton Suspension Bridge and the iconic National Trust property Tyntesfield .Both a must see. Also walk down the lane to the lovely medieval village Church -steeped in history all of it !

Reviewed by
A Brown

From Heathfield, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A gem of a place.
My friend and I booked a two night stay at The Angel Inn, Long Ashton to explore the surrounding area, the whole experience proved to be delightful in every way. Set within a village location and just a couple of miles outside of Bristol it proved to be a perfect choice. The Angel Inn has 5 bedrooms, mine was beautiful and furnished very tastefully, with a plentiful hospitality tray, everywhere spotlessly clean and most comfortable indeed.
The meals taken in the pub were delicious, and an open fire roared away adding to the ambience, with hospitable and friendly staff.
Would have no hesitation in recommending and hope to return.
Also very useful to use the bus service conveniently positioned virtually outside, this service proved to be regular and reliable, it took less than 10 minutes to reach the centre, thus avoiding parking charges.

Reviewed by
elizabeth k

From Stourbridge, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very pleased , Thankyou to all
You have got nice welcoming friendly staff there , the room was really good , clean and tidy , the food was good , i would be more than happy to recommend the Angel to anybody looking for somewhere to stay .

Reviewed by
barry n

From Ferndown, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

an economic place to stay for a city break to bath or bristol.
Read the reviews on the net and thought it the perfect place for us to stay, as we were planning trips to both Bristol and Bath. Was a bit disappointed when we got there as thought it would be deeper into the countryside. . Was on a busy road, which went through the village. We chose a room at the side, so traffic did not bother us. On arriving, pub was quite busy, so we had to wait a little while. The barman took us to our room. He was very friendly. Room was very quaint. Just what we needed for our stay. Everything was clean and tidy. Felt homely. Enjoyed our time there.

Reviewed by
David Johnson

From England
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next