No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Angel Inn

3Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
172 Long Ashton Road Long Ashton, Bristol, BS41 9LT
The Angel is a historic village pub surrounded by farmland, next to a 600 year old church, and yet it is ideally situated two miles from Bristol city centre and its business heartland and fifteen minutes drive from Bristol Airport. Half an hours walk away is the newly developed waterfront. The Angel has a high reputation for its food, and has won many recent awards for its ales. The good news is that it is now able to offer five rooms for bed and breakfast accommodation. Very close are some of Bristol’s finest features, including the Avon Gorge with Brunel’s famous suspension bridge and the SS Great Britain, Ashton Court, Clifton Downs, several golf courses, and many more. The Angel dates from 1495, and has been the village pub in Long Ashton for several hundred years. It is a family run pub, and since Sian took it over in 2003 has earned great popularity with both the locals and the business community. It is often used for business meetings, weddings, dinner parties and other celebrations. For bird lovers it is a listed breeding site for swallows who reside and nest in the adjoining barn between April and October every year.
Picture of The Angel Inn, Bristol at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 79 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
88% recommended this accommodation to a friend 88% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Local overnight stay
We stayed in room 3 and on arrival (in the bar) we were met and greeting very warmly. We were immediatley shown to our room and ordered a taxi as we had a function to attend (the reason for staying over). Although we didnt spend much time in the room it was very comfortable and a very good size. The bathroom was clean and modern and there was tea, coffee and a nice touch some bottled water. We were given clear instructions for our return to get back in after midnight. We had a fantastic night at our function (40's fancy dress in case your interested) and in the morning had a really tasty breakfast. The pub is really good value and is close by for Bristol. One small but interesting point, if you are visiting Bristol on a Sunday, try park down on the streets near the harbour, the parking is free on a Sunday, a point we discovered by chance, you dont need to pay for the car parks!

Reviewed by
C Tirel

From Gloucester, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

a pleasant surprise
Although the room didn't have any en suite facilities, these were provided nearby, I was very pleased with this large comfortable pleasant room. Very comfortable king size bed.

Reviewed by
philip

From Worcester, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lovely room
The room room being in an old pub and with no en suite was still a lovely surprise in that it was so comfortable and inviting. I enjoyed my stay thankyou

Reviewed by
philip

From Worcester, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely place
We found this room at the last minute (thanks to me being completely disorganised) and fortunately for me it was absolutely perfect being far enough out of Bristol City centre to feel nice and rural but still close enough to be convenient. The Angel Inn is a lovely old building run by friendly and helpful staff and the room was spacious, clean and very comfortable. The only issue was just how easy it was to hear people in the room next door coughing and snoring. Apart from that it was perfect and the bed was so comfortable it didn't prevent us from getting a good night's sleep.

Reviewed by
C Pooley

From Swansea, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfy clean and cozy, would stay again.

Reviewed by
Z WILLIAMS

From Carmarthen, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Place to Stay
Excellent place to stay, great food, good value for money. Thoroughly recommend.

Reviewed by
David R

From Braintree, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great value-greatly appreciated
I travel alone and I was slightly worried about staying in a pub rather than a hotel. My concerns were unfounded. The staff were very friendly and for the first time in years my bag was carried to my room for me. The room was comfy clean and I slept very well and was greated by another very friendly staff member for breakfast. I felt very much at home and have already booked to stay twice more. Great value for money.

Reviewed by
janice giddy

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice Choice
A lovely old coaching inn, with plenty of character, friendly locals and staff. The room given to us was spotless, large and the bed was very comfortable. We did not eat in the evening but had breakfast the following morning which ranges from £4 to £8 pp which was very nice and value for money.
There is a bus stop just outside and buses run quite frequently into Bristol bus station which is a short stroll to the shopping centre, which is massive and the waterfront area. All in all a nice stay.

Reviewed by
Adrian S

From Oxford, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Brilliant Getaway
The Angel Inn was a perfe t find for us as we didnt know Bristol at all and wanted somewhere very niceto stay. The hotel is located in a perfect spot for bus travel and is incredibly easy to find. Our bed was so amazingly comfy we have spoken about buying one for home. The staff were all very friendly and always greeted us as we entered or left. We ate in the restaurant on our first night and had brilliantly cooked steak and lovely homemade soup. We will definitely come again!

Reviewed by
J Bessant

From Dartmouth, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great food nice pub but avoid rooms 4 and 5 at all costs!!
This is a nice little pub with really really good food. No microwaved crap. I stayed in room 5 which had an interconnecting door to room 4. I could hear every fart, cough and sneeze through this door even though it was obviously locked and closed. You could even see through the keyhole! Avoid these two rooms at all costs the door may as well have been open it felt like sharing a room with a stranger. Usual noise from downstairs you would expect from a pub. It needs a heavier door or a curtain putting up to damp the noise. Ideally just bricking in. Id stay here again if it were a different room.

Reviewed by
J Holmes

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next