No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Angel Inn

3Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
172 Long Ashton Road Long Ashton, Bristol, BS41 9LT
The Angel is a historic village pub surrounded by farmland, next to a 600 year old church, and yet it is ideally situated two miles from Bristol city centre and its business heartland and fifteen minutes drive from Bristol Airport. Half an hours walk away is the newly developed waterfront. The Angel has a high reputation for its food, and has won many recent awards for its ales. The good news is that it is now able to offer five rooms for bed and breakfast accommodation. Very close are some of Bristol’s finest features, including the Avon Gorge with Brunel’s famous suspension bridge and the SS Great Britain, Ashton Court, Clifton Downs, several golf courses, and many more. The Angel dates from 1495, and has been the village pub in Long Ashton for several hundred years. It is a family run pub, and since Sian took it over in 2003 has earned great popularity with both the locals and the business community. It is often used for business meetings, weddings, dinner parties and other celebrations. For bird lovers it is a listed breeding site for swallows who reside and nest in the adjoining barn between April and October every year.
Picture of The Angel Inn, Bristol at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since February 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 79 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
88% recommended this accommodation to a friend 88% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very welcoming and friendly. Good service, room was clean and suitable for our needs. Only negative comment was that the mattress was extremely soft/worn.... a firmer one would have much better for those with achy bones

Reviewed by
S Isherwood

From Blackburn, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Angel stay
The room was fine, the pub quaint and the food, good pub food. The room was noisy from the bars below and the walls so thin they might not have been there.

Reviewed by
C Attree

From Fareham, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Alright
nothing much to say. Alright but nothing special

Reviewed by
Gary R

From Chesterfield, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely friendly pub in a pretty village near the church, but only ten minutes to the center of Bristol.
Great selection of Ales and excellent pub style food.We really enjoyed our w/e stay.

Reviewed by
H Duncalfe

From Wisbech, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

the angel inn lives up to its name
we have stayed here before, and never been disappointed. Helpful and friendly staff, beautiful & historic inn, excellent food and great variety of drinks at the bar, rooms are superb, beds very comfortable and the atmosphere is the best!

Reviewed by
J Blishen

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Come Again
Very enjoyable stay. Great ambiance. Value for money. Great location.

Reviewed by
Sue E

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very nice place
very nice hotel, comfortable, quite. great food and lager

Reviewed by
melissa g

From buggiano , Italy
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfort and friendly staff.

Reviewed by
R Barber

From Barnstaple, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

An excellent British inn
Having stayed at The Angel twice now, I can thoroughly recommend the hotel to anyone who likes their pubs to be welcoming, friendly and cosy, their service to be attentive without being intrusive, their bedroom to be homely and not like every other shoe box in a hotel chain and their food to be satisfying, hearty and flavoursome.
When travelling on business, I am not looking for a hotel with a pool, a gym , a sauna, a huge flat screen TV in the room and in reception and with a restaurant and a bar full of similar displaced souls staying for business purposes. I want a bed, somewhere to get washed, some nice food and a feeling of friendliness and acceptance by both the staff and the locals whose pub it is.
The Angel delivers these things admirably. The building is old and the bedrooms are, therefore, of unusual shapes and sizes. However, the two I have stayed in were very comfortable, clean, tidy, and with clean washing facilities. I only wish I could say the same for every hotel chain room I had stayed in over the last twenty five years.
The bar is what I describe as a traditional pub - lowish ceiling, floor on different levels in different seating areas, many different types of beers, ciders and lagers from which to choose. Many of these are from smaller breweries and are guest beers of the highest quality. The staff are attentive and the locals are warm without being over friendly. I prefer to sit and have a drink or eat with a book, to wind down at the end of a day's travelling or working. All areas of the bar, the rooms attached for eating specifically and the outside areas in the yard behind the pub are all great places to do this. If, however, you are the type to stand at a bar and share the craic with whoever is there, it is clear that this is also welcomed.
The food is just lovely. It does not pretend to be anything other than classic dishes, done really well and served in good quantities. Think traditional English food and then think of it done like your mum used to do. Or not, if she wasn't that good a cook. Because the kitchen staff at The Angel know what they are doing and do it very well.
Long Ashton is just far enough out of Bristol - about six miles, I reckon - to be a village. It does not, therefore, have the attractions of a city centre and you should not be expecting clubs, casinos, cinemas and theatres. However, the village is close enough to Bristol centre to make the journey easy, as long as you are aware of the practical jokes that Bristol City Council have built into the road signage. Trying to keep track of road directions using only the signposts does not work; I advise having one of the following: a passenger who can see road signs that require more than a glance to notice and read, clairvoyance or a sat nav.

Reviewed by
Mark Barber

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

fantastic food and service bar staff great and very helpful and friendly great atmosphere

Reviewed by
shane martin

From UK
Who stayed in January 2014

With colleagues

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next