No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Barbican House

4Visit England Assessed Guest Accommodation Ratings explained
20 Barbican Road , York, YO10 5AA
The Barbican House is a Victorian residence of individual charm & character, overlooking the Medieval city walls. We have a small car park for 6 cars available on a first come first served basis. All the bedrooms have en-suite facilities & are attractively furnished with ceiling fans, tea/coffee making facilities, all rooms have a wide screen LCD television with digital Freeview, superior rooms with DVD players, enjoy the super sized bath sheets and pocket sprung beds. Enjoy a traditional English breakfast & more using local produce in the lovely dining room, breakfast is served from 8am to 9.30am in two sittings. Check in is from 2PM to 7PM, with 8PM the latest ONLY BY PRIOR ARRANGEMENT. Children over 10 years only. A friendly Yorkshire welcome always assured!
Picture of Barbican House, York at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 77 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
97% recommended this accommodation to a friend 96% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect place to stay for York visitors
Couldn't have wished for a better place. Very friendly and welcoming, beautifully clean, excellent food and full of character. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend it and would be more than happy to go back again.

Reviewed by
Sandra Morley

From Northampton, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We stayed one night and had an early book in which was great as we went to look around the town. It's very near the Barbican venue and places to eat. The breakfast was yummy and plenty and the hotel was clean and bed comfy. What more do you need.

Reviewed by
maureen j

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very nice room, good location
We stayed in room 7 on the ground floor. It was a really lovely room, comfortable bed and a decanter of sherry was a lovely touch. Shower was large and powerful. The only problem was the noise of the traffic as we were at the front of the house. We didn't have breakfast as we wanted to be lazy and not be up suited and booted at 9.30, but it smelt very nice!
We would love to stay here again.

Reviewed by
Paul Parr

From Grantham, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnighter!
Excellent B&B with a friendly and courteous service. On arrival we were bumped up from the twin room we'd booked, to a king size double - at no extra cost, which was great! The bed was very comfortable and the décor nicely done. Bathroom was well appointed with good towels.

Reviewed by
S Russell

From Ripon, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Short break
We received a warm welcome when we arrived everyone was very friendly.

Reviewed by
Andy Hannah

From Stranraer, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Feedback
Lovely clean room with everything required for a comfortable stay. En suite was spotless. Nice and quiet through the night although only a short walk into the town centre. Well located to get the best of both.

Reviewed by
M Smith

From Wakefield, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very good hosts, friendly,pleasant and helpful.
Great location for York city centre , no need to drive , 5 min s walk .

Reviewed by
Graham S

From formby, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Grear B&B!
We had a very pleasant stay in the barbican house. Everything was gorgeous, we were not dissappointed with the spacious en suite room. 100% recommended.

Reviewed by
M Castelan

From England
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

York revisited
This was my first visit to my home town in quite a few years and thoroughly enjoyed it, the hotel was close to the center being just outside the city walls so car not required. The visit was made all the better with lovely weather. My partner and I enjoyed the visit very much and would certainly return. Comfortable bed with excellent shower room and first class breakfast.

Reviewed by
J Stockdale

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant, comfortable B&B
Good location, clean and pleasant staff. WiFi signal is almost non-existent in the top floor, but only a minor criticism.

Reviewed by
D Thompson

From Newcastle upon Tyne, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next