No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Channings Hotel

3Self Classified Restaurant with Rooms Ratings explained
20 PEMBROKE ROAD Clifton, BRISTOL, BS8 3BB
NEWLY REFURBISHED IN NOVEMBER 2014 - Channings is a Victorian Manor House set in the heart of Clifton, It was gifted to one of Queen Victoria's Ladies in waiting. Situated 10 minutes from the City Centre, Art Galleries, Theatres and Museums, it boasts one of the best beer gardens in Clifton and has a wonderful, friendly, relaxing, atmosphere.
The Hotel has 12 individually decorated ensuite bedrooms all containing showers and bath tubs, all with tea and coffee making facilities, freeview TVs, plasma screens and free unlimited wifi. Our bar food menu is available between 11am - 9pm. We have a superb team of friendly staff who will go out of their way to make your stay one to remember, for all the right reasons! We look forward to welcoming you.
Picture of Channings Hotel, BRISTOL at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 81 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
70% recommended this accommodation to a friend 75% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great stay in a great plae
Stayed for a night and service was excellent and staff were very friendly and helpful . Food was really nice and it was a great place to stay. Clean, good bar and right in the middle of popular Clifton area. I found the staff were so helpful and friendly and would stay there again.

Reviewed by
MARK R

From Smethwick, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value for money

Reviewed by
A Harris

From East Molesey, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room over all good,
staff very good
Hot water not good from shower,

Reviewed by
hazel fulker

From Tenterden, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very pleasurable stay
Beautiful hotel! Staff very welcoming and friendly. Facilities as expected. Wifi very good. Great value for money. All positives. Would definitely stay again.

Reviewed by
J Lynch

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Channings Hotel
The hotel offered a good place to stay whilst visiting Bristol. The pricing was good through late rooms. The only drawback was the steepness of the second floor stairs.

Reviewed by
William G

From Templecombe, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Save your money, go somewhere else
This is a very bad value for money hotel. We stopped on New Years Eve. Having not been to Bristol previously
and having read some reviews on trip advisor we thought it would be a safe bet, we were very wrong. Upon check in the staff were friendly enough, but it went downhill from there. The hotel advertises 'food served all day', we appreciate it was NYE but the staff weren't helpful. Not only didn't they serve food but also as we weren't locals they wouldn't tell us where else we could buy food from. So we had to go out and search on our own accord. Secondly, the rooms are pokey and definitely not worth the advertised prices - they would have been fine for our needs - however the radiators didn't turn on until 3 hours after putting them on, the window was permanently open and all the doors constantly slammed. As well as being able to hear people outside. We actually left in the early hours of the morning as this hotel didn't provide hospitality but instead hostility. This hotel actually gives a bad representation of Bristol. Save your money and look elsewhere as this is a waste of time, money and stress.

Reviewed by
M Harvey

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great value for the money
Very clean and tidy. New bathroom with excellent shower.
Nice to have tea/coffee tray in room.
Comfortable bed and overall room.
Did not stay here for food, however a good bar downstairs if needed.

Reviewed by
Pieter W

From Kingston upon Thames, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant Stay.
A comfortable stay. Good atmosphere and excellent value. Staff were friendly and efficient. The only negative point was the 'on toast' option for breakfast which was not good!

Reviewed by
Peter Greeves

From Newcastle, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Night on My Old Stomping Ground
This is basically a glorified pub with some hotel accommodation. My room was tiny with no wardrobe or chest of drawers but clean, warm and comfortable but there was no hot water in the morning. There is no lift. There is no parking and the adjacent streets are chocabloc with parked cars. I ended up parked over a quarter of a mile away. There was no food available after 10:00 p.m. The continental breakfast was of below average quality and the coffee was like dishwater.

Reviewed by
John J

From Cambridge, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

No heating or hot water....
I stayed at the Channing Hotel while working in Bristol. Unfortunately things went wrong from when I arrived:
First the computer wasn't working so it took ages to check in. Then I found the heating wasn't working in my room and while an engineer had been called, there was no sign of a fix. I then had dinner in the pub downstairs and the food was average with the chips being a bit raw.
The person on duty did kindly find me an electric heater when I asked, but I was worried about leaving it on while I slept so I woke up t a cold room. Furthermore when I tried to have a shower to warm up, there was no hot water!!
I may have just picked a bad day, but while the room was cheap, the lack of heating and hot water was a real issue

Reviewed by
Gemma M

From London, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next