No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Channings Hotel

3Self Classified Restaurant with Rooms Ratings explained
20 PEMBROKE ROAD Clifton, BRISTOL, BS8 3BB
NEWLY REFURBISHED IN NOVEMBER 2014 - Channings is a Victorian Manor House set in the heart of Clifton, It was gifted to one of Queen Victoria's Ladies in waiting. Situated 10 minutes from the City Centre, Art Galleries, Theatres and Museums, it boasts one of the best beer gardens in Clifton and has a wonderful, friendly, relaxing, atmosphere.
The Hotel has 12 individually decorated ensuite bedrooms all containing showers and bath tubs, all with tea and coffee making facilities, freeview TVs, plasma screens and free unlimited wifi. Our bar food menu is available between 11am - 9pm. We have a superb team of friendly staff who will go out of their way to make your stay one to remember, for all the right reasons! We look forward to welcoming you.
Picture of Channings Hotel, BRISTOL at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since February 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 81 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
69% recommended this accommodation to a friend 75% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Basic but ok
Stayed on a very hot night, room too warm and not enough ventilation. Nice beer garden but wouldn't stay on a weekend, too noisy. Food very good and not badly priced. Breakfast (and coffee in particular) excellent

Reviewed by
J C Ellis

From Doncaster, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Truly average
This was an overnight for a dinner in Bristol. Chosen as nearby but wish I'd gone further.
Seedy and disreputable the rooms are upstairs (mine was 4 flights) and poorly configured 0 saving grace was a reasonable bathroom.
On a fairly busy road so noisy - killer was breakfast finishing at 8.30am - I chose veggie and they produced a chilli concoction which I could not eat.
Staff friendly & willing to help but poorly trained, Not for me.

Reviewed by
TERRY L

From Gloucester, England
Who stayed in June 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Busy Bristol
Don't bother arriving before 6:30 p.m. there is nowhere to park.

Reviewed by
I Hooper

From Wilmslow, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

My booking couldn't be found on arrival so got moved to a family room instead for the same cost - which was very nice. The room was clean and spacious. Had everything I needed in it, and was very comfortable. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Considering hotel prices in Bristol, I would say it was good value for money. Luckily I could find road parking and it is in a good location as well, quick walk into town without being too noisy.

Reviewed by
Amy B

From Guildford, England
Who stayed in June 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disappointing
Hotel in desperate need of refurbishment.Peeling paint etc. everywhere. Scruffy.
Room very small. Noisy outside.
Breakfast 7.30 to 8.30 too early for leisure visit.

Reviewed by
Richard Davies

From England
Who stayed in June 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Tired looking but friendly - a bit like me!
I enjoyed my stay. I think the hotel has a friendly, pub-like atmosphere. I know that if my wife was with me she would have refused to stay as the room was very tired-looking, with wood-chip wallpaper and a poor quality mattress.
Basically - it's fine for blokes!

Reviewed by
Warren C

From Sheffield, England
Who stayed in May 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely people but room let them down
We were only here for one night but the room we stayed in was not as clean as I would have hoped - hair in the bath and dirty toilet. The toilet roll holder and towel rail were broken and there was a grotty wallpaper patch job in the bathroom to. The bedding was clean but old and frayed and there were stains on the ceiling of the room (possibly caused by damp?). Overall it was fine for one night. O.K. so it's not that pricey (£60 for a double per night) but even so it would have been great to have a fully functioning and clean bathroom.

Reviewed by
Sarah C

From England
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Really good value in excellent location.
We found the couple managing this old established hotel most friendly and helpful.The 2 rooms and bathrooms we had were clean and comfortable.
The breakfast was excellent and the meals served until 21.00 varied, generous and reasonably priced compared to other establishments.
It has a good sized well furnished beer garden. The location is pleasant and quiet and convenient for Clifton village,attractions and Bristol centre.(5 minutes bus)

Reviewed by
Owen W

From Wirral, England
Who stayed in May 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

basic but clean and friendly

Reviewed by
Nigel N

From England
Who stayed in May 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The hotel was convenient, the staff were very welcoming and the room was clean and tidy with everything we needed for our stay.

Reviewed by
Sarah C

From Nottingham, England
Who stayed in May 2013

Mixed group

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next