Reviews - Channings Hotel

3

20 PEMBROKE ROAD Clifton, BRISTOL, BS8 3BB

Price From 164.56 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Good

All reviews (64)

72% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • chris g

  • February 2014

Poorly-staffed mediochre hotel

The hotel itself is ok, and it's in a quiet main road in delightful Clifton.

It has a bar and restaurant that seems fine enough as it's not hugely busy. But the hotel seems to be understaffed or at least badly managed. The receptionist has to be found from the bar, and does not respond well to feedback such as "the bed does not seem to have been changed since the last guests used it". They have a shoulder-shrugging attitude. Also the breakfast on day 1 was poor; dry scrambled egg on soggy toast. On day 2, I chose a nice cooked breakfast, but it took 25 mins to come, after complaining that I had to leave for an appointment and would miss it. (They jumped me in the queue after I complained; some other poor folks waited longer!). The bar man on Sat night was a nice fella, and served a drink as he was closing. Also someone sent me a small parcel while I was there, but the staff failed to let me know. I phoned them a day after I left, and they promised to send it out of their own pocket, as the company wouldn't allow petty cash.

  • a t

  • November 2013

Very poor decor

This hotel desperately needs refurbishment/decoration.

  • Karen P

  • November 2013

The hotel was easy to find and is in a great location for visiting the Zoo, Clifton village and of course the Bridge.

The bar had a great atmosphere and a wide selection of drinks. The room although basic was clean and had everything we needed with a very comfy bed and powerful shower. Breakfast was well cooked and the staff were very well organised and helpful. We would definitely use this hotel again as it is very good value for money.

  • Joseph C

  • November 2013

Brilliant service, Brilliant value

The staff were very friendly and helpful.

The room was to a very high standard and very cosy. Couldn't fault anything about the stay.

  • Andy G

  • October 2013

Great location

Ideal location just a few minutes walk away from Clifton village and the Clifton Triangle.

Rooms quite dated and a bit tired but the decent bar and beer garden, food and staff make up for it.

  • a read

  • October 2013

Ideal for what we required, good location & excellent full English breakfast :)

  • Alison W

  • October 2013

'Budget' shouldn't mean 'bodge-it'

First the good points: The hotel is in a handy spot for the town centre, Clifton and many other locations.

There is no parking on site, but free parking is easily available in nearby streets. On the face of it, this hotel offers good value for money, but 'budget' shouldn't mean 'bodge-it'. The room was large enough, but could have benefitted from more storage. The cleanliness of the room left a lot to be desired and the non-slip mat in the bath was very mouldy. A very 'tired' hotel and lack lustre staff. A final thought: your online description mentions an interesting history, so why is there no mention of this in the hotel. A little local research could probably unearth a few early prints, photos and a short history to display in the hallway.

  • David R

  • October 2013

Great for a short cost effective overnight stay in Bristol in a lovelly faded glory hotel!

Really convenient location for Clifton, very spacious room.

Decoration is basic but then you get what you pay for. Customer service is not overly pretentious and we had no need to ask anything other than the usual. The only down side to the location is a dearth of parking which is fine if it is not pouring with rain. Factor in some time to trawl the local streets to find a space. The breakfast was not a cut down full English as experienced in some large hotel chains, nor was it left for you to help yourself at some ambient temperature as a 'hot option'... Choose this venue if you are dropping off your offspring at University and save yourself £40 upwards!

  • J Haines

  • September 2013

Hotel and staff very friendly The only criticism I would say It was really hard to find

  • ks m

  • September 2013

channings stay

Room was very basic which is understandable but you wouldn't expect peeling paint and a general low quality feel to the room.

Evening meal was ok with a nice pint breakfast wss average with a small portion