No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Channings Hotel

3Self Classified Restaurant with Rooms Ratings explained
20 PEMBROKE ROAD Clifton, BRISTOL, BS8 3BB
NEWLY REFURBISHED IN NOVEMBER 2014 - Channings is a Victorian Manor House set in the heart of Clifton, It was gifted to one of Queen Victoria's Ladies in waiting. Situated 10 minutes from the City Centre, Art Galleries, Theatres and Museums, it boasts one of the best beer gardens in Clifton and has a wonderful, friendly, relaxing, atmosphere.
The Hotel has 12 individually decorated ensuite bedrooms all containing showers and bath tubs, all with tea and coffee making facilities, freeview TVs, plasma screens and free unlimited wifi. Our bar food menu is available between 11am - 9pm. We have a superb team of friendly staff who will go out of their way to make your stay one to remember, for all the right reasons! We look forward to welcoming you.
Picture of Channings Hotel, BRISTOL at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 71 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
69% recommended this accommodation to a friend 75% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

'Budget' shouldn't mean 'bodge-it'
First the good points: The hotel is in a handy spot for the town centre, Clifton and many other locations. There is no parking on site, but free parking is easily available in nearby streets.
On the face of it, this hotel offers good value for money, but 'budget' shouldn't mean 'bodge-it'. The room was large enough, but could have benefitted from more storage. The cleanliness of the room left a lot to be desired and the non-slip mat in the bath was very mouldy. A very 'tired' hotel and lack lustre staff. A final thought: your online description mentions an interesting history, so why is there no mention of this in the hotel? A little local research could probably unearth a few early prints, photos and a short history to display in the hallway.

Reviewed by
Alison W

From Alton, England
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel and staff very friendly The only criticism I would say It was really hard to find

Reviewed by
J Haines

From Christchurch, England
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

channings stay
Room was very basic which is understandable but you wouldn't expect peeling paint and a general low quality feel to the room.
Evening meal was ok with a nice pint breakfast wss average with a small portion

Reviewed by
ks m

From Swindon, England
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

No nonsense style inn
We stayed here as we were in Bristol for a friend's party. The room was warm and clean. The bathroom a little rough around the edges in terms of décor but the shower was of good quality. Ideal place to get your head down and have breakfast for a city stay.
Breakfast was included and tasty.

Reviewed by
Andrew K

From England
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Channing hotel
Nice big rooms, Clean comfortable , good food, good location , will visit again.

Reviewed by
Steve w

From Wolverhampton, England
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly staff, willing to help.

Reviewed by
Rosie A

From Southampton, England
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A good place to stay
We stayed at the Channing for just one night as we went to bristol for my sons birthday and my wife was doing a charity bike ride to Weston Super Mare on the sunday. Overall I think that for the money the accomodation was good, yes it is looking a little tired but the room was clean and the bed comfortable if a little creaky, We had an early start on the sunday so didn't get to breakfast so cannot comment on the food. The bar was just right after walking back from a meal out and the staff were very helpful, especially in securely storing my wifes bike overnight.

Reviewed by
garry c

From Leamington Spa, England
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great budget hotel
A great budget hotel - comfortable room, good breakfast, helpful and friendly staff, within easy reach of the city centre.

Reviewed by
C Panting

From Scotland
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good pub
Channings is a good pub with excellent beer. Lads behind the bar are friendly (maybe too friendly, they shouldn't call older customers "mate"), but the young lady behind the bar with the big earrings needs to learn to say please and thank you and smile every now and then. The couple who run the place are very nice and friendly. Excellent breakfast.

Reviewed by
george e

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Basic but ok
Stayed on a very hot night, room too warm and not enough ventilation. Nice beer garden but wouldn't stay on a weekend, too noisy. Food very good and not badly priced. Breakfast (and coffee in particular) excellent

Reviewed by
J C Ellis

From Doncaster, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next