No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Channings Hotel

3Self Classified Restaurant with Rooms Ratings explained
20 PEMBROKE ROAD Clifton, BRISTOL, BS8 3BB
Channings is a Victorian Manor House set in the heart of Clifton, It was gifted to one of Queen Victoria's Ladies in waiting. Situated 10 minutes from the City Centre, Art Galleries, Theatres and Museums. It boasts one of the best beer gardens in Clifton and has a wonderful, friendly, relaxing, atmosphere.
The Hotel has 10 individually decorated ensuite bedrooms all containing showers and bath tubs, all with tea and coffee making facilities, freeview TVs, plasma screens and wifi. The hotel has 1 bar which is currently open until midnight on Friday's and Saturday's), a function room, we also have Sky Sports and we serve traditional pub fayre from our bar menu. Our menu is available between 12 - 3.00 pm and 5 -9pm everyday. We have a superb team of friendly staff who will go out of there way to make your stay one to remember, for all the right reasons! We look forward to welcoming you.
Picture of Channings Hotel, BRISTOL at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 74 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
69% recommended this accommodation to a friend 74% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly staff, willing to help.

Reviewed by
Rosie A

From Southampton, England
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A good place to stay
We stayed at the Channing for just one night as we went to bristol for my sons birthday and my wife was doing a charity bike ride to Weston Super Mare on the sunday. Overall I think that for the money the accomodation was good, yes it is looking a little tired but the room was clean and the bed comfortable if a little creaky, We had an early start on the sunday so didn't get to breakfast so cannot comment on the food. The bar was just right after walking back from a meal out and the staff were very helpful, especially in securely storing my wifes bike overnight.

Reviewed by
garry c

From Leamington Spa, England
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great budget hotel
A great budget hotel - comfortable room, good breakfast, helpful and friendly staff, within easy reach of the city centre.

Reviewed by
C Panting

From Scotland
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good pub
Channings is a good pub with excellent beer. Lads behind the bar are friendly (maybe too friendly, they shouldn't call older customers "mate"), but the young lady behind the bar with the big earrings needs to learn to say please and thank you and smile every now and then. The couple who run the place are very nice and friendly. Excellent breakfast.

Reviewed by
george e

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Basic but ok
Stayed on a very hot night, room too warm and not enough ventilation. Nice beer garden but wouldn't stay on a weekend, too noisy. Food very good and not badly priced. Breakfast (and coffee in particular) excellent

Reviewed by
J C Ellis

From Doncaster, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Truly average
This was an overnight for a dinner in Bristol. Chosen as nearby but wish I'd gone further.
Seedy and disreputable the rooms are upstairs (mine was 4 flights) and poorly configured 0 saving grace was a reasonable bathroom.
On a fairly busy road so noisy - killer was breakfast finishing at 8.30am - I chose veggie and they produced a chilli concoction which I could not eat.
Staff friendly & willing to help but poorly trained, Not for me.

Reviewed by
TERRY L

From Gloucester, England
Who stayed in June 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Busy Bristol
Don't bother arriving before 6:30 p.m. there is nowhere to park.

Reviewed by
I Hooper

From Wilmslow, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

My booking couldn't be found on arrival so got moved to a family room instead for the same cost - which was very nice. The room was clean and spacious. Had everything I needed in it, and was very comfortable. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Considering hotel prices in Bristol, I would say it was good value for money. Luckily I could find road parking and it is in a good location as well, quick walk into town without being too noisy.

Reviewed by
Amy B

From Guildford, England
Who stayed in June 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disappointing
Hotel in desperate need of refurbishment.Peeling paint etc. everywhere. Scruffy.
Room very small. Noisy outside.
Breakfast 7.30 to 8.30 too early for leisure visit.

Reviewed by
Richard Davies

From England
Who stayed in June 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Tired looking but friendly - a bit like me!
I enjoyed my stay. I think the hotel has a friendly, pub-like atmosphere. I know that if my wife was with me she would have refused to stay as the room was very tired-looking, with wood-chip wallpaper and a poor quality mattress.
Basically - it's fine for blokes!

Reviewed by
Warren C

From Sheffield, England
Who stayed in May 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next