No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Channings Hotel

3Self Classified Restaurant with Rooms Ratings explained
20 PEMBROKE ROAD Clifton, BRISTOL, BS8 3BB
Channings is a Victorian Manor House set in the heart of Clifton, It was gifted to one of Queen Victoria's Ladies in waiting. Situated 10 minutes from the City Centre, Art Galleries, Theatres and Museums. It boasts one of the best beer gardens in Clifton and has a wonderful, friendly, relaxing, atmosphere.
The Hotel has 10 individually decorated ensuite bedrooms all containing showers and bath tubs, all with tea and coffee making facilities, freeview TVs, plasma screens and wifi. The hotel has 1 bar which is currently open until midnight on Friday's and Saturday's), a function room, we also have Sky Sports and we serve traditional pub fayre from our bar menu. Our menu is available between 12 - 3.00 pm and 5 -9pm everyday. We have a superb team of friendly staff who will go out of there way to make your stay one to remember, for all the right reasons! We look forward to welcoming you.
Picture of Channings Hotel, BRISTOL at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 75 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
69% recommended this accommodation to a friend 74% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Brilliant service, Brilliant value
The staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was to a very high standard and very cosy. Couldn't fault anything about the stay.

Reviewed by
Joseph C

From England
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location
Ideal location just a few minutes walk away from Clifton village and the Clifton Triangle. Rooms quite dated and a bit tired but the decent bar and beer garden, food and staff make up for it.

Reviewed by
Andy G

From London, England
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The hotel was easy to find and is in a great location for visiting the Zoo, Clifton village and of course the Bridge. The bar had a great atmosphere and a wide selection of drinks.
The room although basic was clean and had everything we needed with a very comfy bed and powerful shower. Breakfast was well cooked and the staff were very well organised and helpful.
We would definitely use this hotel again as it is very good value for money.

Reviewed by
Karen P

From England
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ideal for what we required, good location & excellent full English breakfast :)

Reviewed by
a read

From Lydney, England
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great for a short cost effective overnight stay in Bristol in a lovelly faded glory hotel!
Really convenient location for Clifton, very spacious room. Decoration is basic but then you get what you pay for. Customer service is not overly pretentious and we had no need to ask anything other than the usual. The only down side to the location is a dearth of parking which is fine if it is not pouring with rain. Factor in some time to trawl the local streets to find a space! The breakfast was not a cut down full English as experienced in some large hotel chains, nor was it left for you to help yourself at some ambient temperature as a 'hot option'... Choose this venue if you are dropping off your offspring at University and save yourself £40 upwards!

Reviewed by
David R

From Eastbourne, England
Who stayed in September 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

'Budget' shouldn't mean 'bodge-it'
First the good points: The hotel is in a handy spot for the town centre, Clifton and many other locations. There is no parking on site, but free parking is easily available in nearby streets.
On the face of it, this hotel offers good value for money, but 'budget' shouldn't mean 'bodge-it'. The room was large enough, but could have benefitted from more storage. The cleanliness of the room left a lot to be desired and the non-slip mat in the bath was very mouldy. A very 'tired' hotel and lack lustre staff. A final thought: your online description mentions an interesting history, so why is there no mention of this in the hotel? A little local research could probably unearth a few early prints, photos and a short history to display in the hallway.

Reviewed by
Alison W

From Alton, England
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel and staff very friendly The only criticism I would say It was really hard to find

Reviewed by
J Haines

From Christchurch, England
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

channings stay
Room was very basic which is understandable but you wouldn't expect peeling paint and a general low quality feel to the room.
Evening meal was ok with a nice pint breakfast wss average with a small portion

Reviewed by
ks m

From Swindon, England
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

No nonsense style inn
We stayed here as we were in Bristol for a friend's party. The room was warm and clean. The bathroom a little rough around the edges in terms of décor but the shower was of good quality. Ideal place to get your head down and have breakfast for a city stay.
Breakfast was included and tasty.

Reviewed by
Andrew K

From England
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Channing hotel
Nice big rooms, Clean comfortable , good food, good location , will visit again.

Reviewed by
Steve w

From Wolverhampton, England
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next