Reviews - Channings Hotel



Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (53)

72% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Gareth O

  • June 2014

City stay in Bristol

All satisfactory.

Parking may be difficult on working days.

  • K Smith

  • June 2014

Lovely hotel in perfect location. Bargain!

We stayed here on Friday night and went out in Bristol.

The location is absolutely perfect for Clifton, Park Street and White Ladies Road. The room was small but clean and comfortable. The bathroom was a bit tired but the shower was really highly pressurised which was great. Could have done with a hair dryer in the room but apart from that it was lovely and great value for money. Breakfast was included in the price and was a choice of full English or scrambled eggs on toast etc and was just what we needed after a night out partying. Will definitely be back!

  • R macey

  • May 2014

Basic but great location.

Stayed overnight in a double room.

Room very dated in need of renovation but clean and comfortable. No breakfast menu to choose from just offered tea/coffee and asked if we wanted a cooked breakfast, we didn't so just had egg on toast which was just okay (no cereals,orange juice etc). Check out time was 10.30 am which we were aware of, and as we were about to leave at 10.35 am had a knock on the door by a member of staff reminding us of the time.

Apart from that great location.

  • C Orchard

  • April 2014


It was what could be expected for a busy pub hotel

  • Melissa L

  • April 2014

Pleasant stay, with no big complaints.

Simple room, not too many thrills.

Had to plug the kettle in on the floor, as both plugs were being used by the TV. And had to fiddle with the batteries in the remote for a while to make it work. But really, these are minor complaints. A pleasant stay, enjoyable breakfast, good location, especially for the zoo, and a lovely beer garden in the sun.

  • Amanda J

  • April 2014

Good room, close to centre, great service

Truly enjoyed my stay here.

Accommodation much cheaper than most other places in Bristol. Room itself was better condition than hotels I have stayed in for double the price. Clean, good shower, sheets and ideal for young people travelling to meet friends. Staff were welcoming, but left us to our own devices, they even allowed a friend (who had got a little too drunk) to come home early and borrow a key to access their room. Breakfast was good and overall a friendly, chilled out atmosphere. Very happy :)

  • James R

  • March 2014

Ideal position for exploring the woderful city of Bristol.

Accommodation very clean - fresh bedding - wonderful power shower with plenty of hot water.

Wined we had taken own shower gel as barely enough provided for the 2 of us. Good full English breakfast, unfortunately it was not very hot. Coffee was lovely toast was soggy and no choice of brown or white - seemed white only. Will happily stay here again as in ideal position to explore Bristol - although not sure how it will impact on the hotel if the proposed parking restriction happen as there is no parking provided by hotel as present certainly not a problem as ther e is plenty of free parking in adjacent roads.

  • Carla E

  • March 2014

value for money

We got upgraded to a family room as the hotel desk clerk couldn't find the key to the double room.

Great value for money although asked the hotel guy to book us a taxie and the driver tried to over charge us so not sure if this is a company the hotel should be using. Breakfast was a bit on the small side with no option for white or brown bread, just white available but breakfast was included in the price so can't really moan. The room was clean and comfortable however the shower head was held up bu a cable tie which made showering difficult and the bathroom got soaked as water was going in all directions!

  • Lisa P

  • March 2014

There's no parking at this hotel & the roadside parking gets pretty busy.

The hotel looks grand from the outside, but doesnt quite live up to it on the inside. Although staff were friendly and the food was excellent.

  • N Nanos

  • March 2014

Decent lodging for short period of time

No Comments