No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Channings Hotel

3Self Classified Restaurant with Rooms Ratings explained
20 PEMBROKE ROAD Clifton, BRISTOL, BS8 3BB
NEWLY REFURBISHED IN NOVEMBER 2014 - Channings is a Victorian Manor House set in the heart of Clifton, It was gifted to one of Queen Victoria's Ladies in waiting. Situated 10 minutes from the City Centre, Art Galleries, Theatres and Museums, it boasts one of the best beer gardens in Clifton and has a wonderful, friendly, relaxing, atmosphere.
The Hotel has 12 individually decorated ensuite bedrooms all containing showers and bath tubs, all with tea and coffee making facilities, freeview TVs, plasma screens and free unlimited wifi. Our bar food menu is available between 11am - 9pm. We have a superb team of friendly staff who will go out of their way to make your stay one to remember, for all the right reasons! We look forward to welcoming you.
Picture of Channings Hotel, BRISTOL at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 71 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
69% recommended this accommodation to a friend 75% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Saturday night.
No design awards, but clean comfortable and friendly. Affordable good food. Good atmosphere. Great setting in Clifton.

Reviewed by
Pamela Greeves

From Newcastle, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Review
The accommodation was clean and functional and staff friendly. This was our second visit as it is good value for a city break.

Reviewed by
Emma C

From Loughborough, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very good simple stay
Perfect for our night away in Bristol. Good quiet location with parking a short walk to livelier areas. Staff very friendly and helpful. The room was a good standard no frills room. A comfortable bed, excellent shower and gave us everything we needed. Although the decor is a bit worn in parts the hotel is clean, comfortable and welcoming.

Reviewed by
Richard K

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean and comfy with terrible decor
Lovely shabby grand building with comfy clean beds and a lovely strong hot shower. Lots of well cooked food at breakfast. More than made up for the terrible wood chip wallpaper and the painting of Liam Gallagher on the bedroom wall. We had lots of fun here and a really good sleep.

Reviewed by
V Martin

From Bath, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

nice pleasant experience
the room decor is dated, as is the hotel, but for value and location, you really can't beat it. the bed was comfortable, and the bathroom was nice. the staff were friendly and accommodating, and allowed us to leave our things during the day when we went galavanting around town. one main issue about this place, if you get a room on the top floor, you're literally walking up 48 stairs. you'll be getting serious exercise!

Reviewed by
melissa collins

From Southampton, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Channings
Thought it would be nice to stay in Clifton and be able to walk to pub and have a drink. When we arrived we were told that someone was fixing the radiator as the last person to stay in that room had tried to pull it off the wall (didn't bode well). Waited for about 10 minutes and then got into room. Room was OK although couldn't get the TV to work - always have trouble with TVs but have always got to work in the end but not this one. Bathroom was large and shower was OK. Even though no smoking room it smelt of smoke. A reasonable night's sleep. Breakfast was good and served by very pleasant person.

Reviewed by
Jill W

From Newport, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Channings Hotel... The worst hotel I have ever stayed in.....
We received a less than warm welcome... the plan was to see our son who is at Uni for the weekend. The hotel had us down for one night when we booked for two, the receptionist was monosyllabic and not apologetic.
Full payment on arrival? Not on your life, we paid for one night and were cautious however we were short of time to see some family friends and could not sort another hotel immediately and it was valentine's weekend.
We made our own way to the room, decor en route was tatty and the room was far worse, I took photos! The bed had no valance, and the base had a stain on it, there was a water stain on the ceiling, the wallpaper ripped in places. The bed linen looked clean though and that was the only reason I was prepared to stay. The room was dusty and I could write my name in it on the table.The bathroom had the loo roll holder missing with a 2 inch screw jutting out where it should have been. The fan was covered in dust above the loo. The shower head was disgusting and full of limescale.
The window frame had a coffee sachet wedged in the side where it had been placed presumably to stop the window rattling, and once I pulled up the blind I could see the black rotting frame ,.....damp and condensation running down it, I lifted the window and knocked off a chunk of the frame as it was rotten and falling apart.
The breakfast was on cold plates it was luke warm and the barman was ill prepared to serve as there were minimal jams etc and ketchups and not enough cutlery so we had to fetch our own as he had disappeared, he offered orange juice as an afterthought. There were no menus and a basic offering of cereal and no fruit. We had to ask for toast as none arrived or was offered.
When we checked out we said why we would not be staying another night and the man said he had been telling the owners it needed refurbishment and they wouldn't do anything about it.
I would never stay here again.... if we had had more time we would have found somewhere else. I wish I could attach the photos as you would not believe how bad it was! £60 for a double room is a cheap room but there is no excuse for the state of that hotel, it makes me ashamed to be British!!

Reviewed by
J WALDEN

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The decor was very tatty with a damp patch above the window, a cracked bath and peeling wallpaper. My main gripe however was that there was no heating in the room (I stayed in February) and the was no hot water.when I asked if someone could help I was told "no"! Absolutely terrible night's sleep and have told everyone I know about it. As a company we have many employees who will be needing to come to Bristol numerous times over the coming months and the office we visit is just a short walk down the road so if Channings had been OK then they would have had a significant amount of new business but this is lost now and nobody from our company will ever stay there again, it was appalling and I will be seeking a refund.

Reviewed by
Hayley Beaumont

From Aylesbury, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Basic yet functional. Provided everything we needed; a bed for the night and a nice powerful shower in the morning. Friendly staff. A shame that after a late night breakfast finished so early.

Reviewed by
D Pellett

From Rickmansworth, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not bad for a 1 night stay
Not bad for the money.. room was ok needed a bit of work done on it like the light fitting was out of the ceiling and the bathroom extraction fan sounded like it was going to take off it was that loud, the bed was really comfortable and I was having a good night's sleep until some people came back around 4am and then all I could hear was banging doors for the next 30-45min they must of had two rooms and kept going between them, the guy that served the breakfast was really nice and helpful the food was ok, £60 for the room and breakfast you can't really complain

Reviewed by
J Eades

From Worcester, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next