Reviews - Channings Hotel



Price From 190.45 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (57)

72% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • wendy c

  • October 2014

hotel stay

The room was comfortable but very shabby looking .

The bathroom was particularly shabby the bath panel was off and dirty tiles.. obvious disadvantage I.s no lifts and is a two storey building. They were good enough to let me know beforehand

  • Caroline H

  • September 2014

Excellent, comfortable accommodation at a good price.

Stayed for 2 nights to go to a family wedding.

Lovely staff, very friendly and helpful. Big old Victorian place that is a bit tired round the edges but provides clean, comfortable accommodation at sensible prices. We had everything we needed with comfortable bed, large bathroom, big wardrobe and tea, coffee and biscuits in the room and in a quiet location just 5 mins walk from restaurants and shops. Iron and board were available. Didn't try evening meals as had other commitments but good full English breakfast. If you want impersonal, glam or boutique style then this is not for you but otherwise you can't do better in Bristol. Best of all they found a single room (which didn't appear on booking sites) at short notice for our daughter who had spent the 1st night at the Full Moon hostel in really disgusting conditions. Many thanks for a great stay.

  • Anne J

  • September 2014

Good value for money, family friendly and good food.

  • Georges D

  • September 2014


The staff is very kind, and the service is excellent.

  • Thomas W

  • August 2014


First impressions of the hotel from the outside, it looked nice, but when we entered it was dated and old - it looked like it needed upgrading some years ago.

The food, breakfast(2) looked like it was cooked some time earlier and the evening meal we had was sufficient (just about). The room did not receive any service while we were their, it was in the same condition as we had left it after our first night,s sleep, no bed made and no fresh towels, tea cups that had been used were not changed.

The advertisement of the hotel looked very good but I'm afraid it did not live up it

  • Helle T

  • July 2014

We mainly chose the hotel because of the location which is great, near the university and Clifton.

Clean but could do with a face-lift. TV didn't work, no plug near the mirror.

  • F Meakin

  • July 2014

Nice friendly staff and good food

  • Jennifer F

  • July 2014

Wedding party accommodation in Bristol

Some members of the family stayed here for two nights whilst attending a wedding party in Bristol.

The location, close to the amenities and Clifton was ideal. The helpfullness and friendliness of the staff was outstanding. The only disadvantage was that all the rooms were on the second floor. This proved a feat too far for the very aged in the party. However, we would all stay there again in the future.

  • Janet M

  • June 2014

No evening meal was available as they had a function on, which was a bit frustrating as it mean I had to go further afield when the hotel has such a lovely beer garden and I would have liked to sit in it.

Otherwise it was a good experience.

  • Petra T

  • June 2014

Lovely staff

We arrived a little late so we let the staff know.

They waited for us and were very friendly and funny, we had a great time.