No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Channings Hotel

3Self Classified Restaurant with Rooms Ratings explained
20 PEMBROKE ROAD Clifton, BRISTOL, BS8 3BB
Channings is a Victorian Manor House set in the heart of Clifton, It was gifted to one of Queen Victoria's Ladies in waiting. Situated 10 minutes from the City Centre, Art Galleries, Theatres and Museums. It boasts one of the best beer gardens in Clifton and has a wonderful, friendly, relaxing, atmosphere.
The Hotel has 10 individually decorated ensuite bedrooms all containing showers and bath tubs, all with tea and coffee making facilities, freeview TVs, plasma screens and wifi. The hotel has 1 bar which is currently open until midnight on Friday's and Saturday's), a function room, we also have Sky Sports and we serve traditional pub fayre from our bar menu. Our menu is available between 12 - 3.00 pm and 5 -9pm everyday. We have a superb team of friendly staff who will go out of there way to make your stay one to remember, for all the right reasons! We look forward to welcoming you.
Picture of Channings Hotel, BRISTOL at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 75 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
69% recommended this accommodation to a friend 74% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Channings Hotel... The worst hotel I have ever stayed in.....
We received a less than warm welcome... the plan was to see our son who is at Uni for the weekend. The hotel had us down for one night when we booked for two, the receptionist was monosyllabic and not apologetic.
Full payment on arrival? Not on your life, we paid for one night and were cautious however we were short of time to see some family friends and could not sort another hotel immediately and it was valentine's weekend.
We made our own way to the room, decor en route was tatty and the room was far worse, I took photos! The bed had no valance, and the base had a stain on it, there was a water stain on the ceiling, the wallpaper ripped in places. The bed linen looked clean though and that was the only reason I was prepared to stay. The room was dusty and I could write my name in it on the table.The bathroom had the loo roll holder missing with a 2 inch screw jutting out where it should have been. The fan was covered in dust above the loo. The shower head was disgusting and full of limescale.
The window frame had a coffee sachet wedged in the side where it had been placed presumably to stop the window rattling, and once I pulled up the blind I could see the black rotting frame ,.....damp and condensation running down it, I lifted the window and knocked off a chunk of the frame as it was rotten and falling apart.
The breakfast was on cold plates it was luke warm and the barman was ill prepared to serve as there were minimal jams etc and ketchups and not enough cutlery so we had to fetch our own as he had disappeared, he offered orange juice as an afterthought. There were no menus and a basic offering of cereal and no fruit. We had to ask for toast as none arrived or was offered.
When we checked out we said why we would not be staying another night and the man said he had been telling the owners it needed refurbishment and they wouldn't do anything about it.
I would never stay here again.... if we had had more time we would have found somewhere else. I wish I could attach the photos as you would not believe how bad it was! £60 for a double room is a cheap room but there is no excuse for the state of that hotel, it makes me ashamed to be British!!

Reviewed by
J WALDEN

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The decor was very tatty with a damp patch above the window, a cracked bath and peeling wallpaper. My main gripe however was that there was no heating in the room (I stayed in February) and the was no hot water.when I asked if someone could help I was told "no"! Absolutely terrible night's sleep and have told everyone I know about it. As a company we have many employees who will be needing to come to Bristol numerous times over the coming months and the office we visit is just a short walk down the road so if Channings had been OK then they would have had a significant amount of new business but this is lost now and nobody from our company will ever stay there again, it was appalling and I will be seeking a refund.

Reviewed by
Hayley Beaumont

From Aylesbury, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not bad for a 1 night stay
Not bad for the money.. room was ok needed a bit of work done on it like the light fitting was out of the ceiling and the bathroom extraction fan sounded like it was going to take off it was that loud, the bed was really comfortable and I was having a good night's sleep until some people came back around 4am and then all I could hear was banging doors for the next 30-45min they must of had two rooms and kept going between them, the guy that served the breakfast was really nice and helpful the food was ok, £60 for the room and breakfast you can't really complain

Reviewed by
J Eades

From Worcester, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Basic yet functional. Provided everything we needed; a bed for the night and a nice powerful shower in the morning. Friendly staff. A shame that after a late night breakfast finished so early.

Reviewed by
D Pellett

From Rickmansworth, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent
Really enjoyed staying in this hotel, the location was excellent to visit the shops and nightlife in Clifton. The hotel itself was satisfactory and the staff were friendly. I would recommend this hotel to a friend and would visit again.

Reviewed by
Sophie S

From Clevedon, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

ok
It was what could be expected for a busy pub hotel

Reviewed by
C Orchard

From Plymouth, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A very basic hotel for 1 night stay
Nothing worked in this place.Members of staff were walking arround in tracksuits,giving each other instructions,I wasn't sure whether there was a receptionist or everybody was doing this job as it goes,no uniforms,just casual wear,lack of manners.Very long wait for the breakfast,there were 8 guests in the breakfast room,6 members of staff and a chaos.The milk was behind the bar,the cereal-on the bar,no juice available,we had to ask for it.The food was ok,the minimum.The biggest shock we had was when we decided to go to bed after a long day out-THE SHEETS WHERE NOT CHANGED!We could see the creases formed from the previous guests and a lot of hair all over.It was 21:30 and the manager asked one of the girls from the bar to change them.Next morning on our leaving the girl at the reception didn't even replay to my Goodbye.
Somebody has to do something about this place.It is not fair to the customers.We paid £60-too much for what it offers.The worst hotel I've ever been in.

Reviewed by
S Kirova

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Poorly-staffed mediochre hotel
The hotel itself is ok, and it's in a quiet main road in delightful Clifton. It has a bar and restaurant that seems fine enough as it's not hugely busy. But the hotel seems to be understaffed or at least badly managed. The receptionist has to be found from the bar, and does not respond well to feedback such as "the bed does not seem to have been changed since the last guests used it". They have a shoulder-shrugging attitude. Also the breakfast on day 1 was poor; dry scrambled egg on soggy toast. On day 2, I chose a nice cooked breakfast, but it took 25 mins to come, after complaining that I had to leave for an appointment and would miss it. (They jumped me in the queue after I complained; some other poor folks waited longer!). The bar man on Sat night was a nice fella, and served a drink as he was closing. Also someone sent me a small parcel while I was there, but the staff failed to let me know. I phoned them a day after I left, and they promised to send it out of their own pocket, as the company wouldn't allow petty cash.

Reviewed by
chris g

From UK
Who stayed in January 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very poor decor
This hotel desperately needs refurbishment/decoration.

Reviewed by
a t

From England
Who stayed in November 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Brilliant service, Brilliant value
The staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was to a very high standard and very cosy. Couldn't fault anything about the stay.

Reviewed by
Joseph C

From England
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next