No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Channings Hotel

3Self Classified Restaurant with Rooms Ratings explained
20 PEMBROKE ROAD Clifton, BRISTOL, BS8 3BB
NEWLY REFURBISHED IN NOVEMBER 2014 - Channings is a Victorian Manor House set in the heart of Clifton, It was gifted to one of Queen Victoria's Ladies in waiting. Situated 10 minutes from the City Centre, Art Galleries, Theatres and Museums, it boasts one of the best beer gardens in Clifton and has a wonderful, friendly, relaxing, atmosphere.
The Hotel has 12 individually decorated ensuite bedrooms all containing showers and bath tubs, all with tea and coffee making facilities, freeview TVs, plasma screens and free unlimited wifi. Our bar food menu is available between 11am - 9pm. We have a superb team of friendly staff who will go out of their way to make your stay one to remember, for all the right reasons! We look forward to welcoming you.
Picture of Channings Hotel, BRISTOL at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since February 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 77 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
69% recommended this accommodation to a friend 75% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Basic but great location.
Stayed overnight in a double room. Room very dated in need of renovation but clean and comfortable. No breakfast menu to choose from just offered tea/coffee and asked if we wanted a cooked breakfast, we didn't so just had egg on toast which was just okay (no cereals,orange juice etc). Check out time was 10.30 am which we were aware of, and as we were about to leave at 10.35 am had a knock on the door by a member of staff reminding us of the time!
Apart from that great location.

Reviewed by
R macey

From Casnewydd, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant stay, with no big complaints.
Simple room, not too many thrills. Had to plug the kettle in on the floor, as both plugs were being used by the TV. And had to fiddle with the batteries in the remote for a while to make it work. But really, these are minor complaints. A pleasant stay, enjoyable breakfast, good location, especially for the zoo, and a lovely beer garden in the sun.

Reviewed by
Melissa L

From Grays, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good room, close to centre, great service
Truly enjoyed my stay here. Accommodation much cheaper than most other places in Bristol. Room itself was better condition than hotels I have stayed in for double the price. Clean, good shower, sheets and ideal for young people travelling to meet friends. Staff were welcoming, but left us to our own devices, they even allowed a friend (who had got a little too drunk) to come home early and borrow a key to access their room. Breakfast was good and overall a friendly, chilled out atmosphere. Very happy :)

Reviewed by
Amanda J

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ideal position for exploring the woderful city of Bristol.
Accommodation very clean - fresh bedding - wonderful power shower with plenty of hot water. Wined we had taken own shower gel as barely enough provided for the 2 of us.
Good full English breakfast, unfortunately it was not very hot. Coffee was lovely toast was soggy and no choice of brown or white - seemed white only. Will happily stay here again as in ideal position to explore Bristol - although not sure how it will impact on the hotel if the proposed parking restriction happen as there is no parking provided by hotel as present certainly not a problem as ther e is plenty of free parking in adjacent roads.

Reviewed by
James R

From Oxted, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

value for money
We got upgraded to a family room as the hotel desk clerk couldn't find the key to the double room. Great value for money although asked the hotel guy to book us a taxie and the driver tried to over charge us so not sure if this is a company the hotel should be using!
Breakfast was a bit on the small side with no option for white or brown bread, just white available but breakfast was included in the price so can't really moan! The room was clean and comfortable however the shower head was held up bu a cable tie which made showering difficult and the bathroom got soaked as water was going in all directions!

Reviewed by
Carla E

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

There's no parking at this hotel & the roadside parking gets pretty busy. The hotel looks grand from the outside, but doesnt quite live up to it on the inside. Although staff were friendly and the food was excellent.

Reviewed by
Lisa P

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Decent lodging for short period of time
No Comments

Reviewed by
N Nanos

From Southsea, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Review
The accommodation was clean and functional and staff friendly. This was our second visit as it is good value for a city break.

Reviewed by
Emma C

From Loughborough, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Saturday night.
No design awards, but clean comfortable and friendly. Affordable good food. Good atmosphere. Great setting in Clifton.

Reviewed by
Pamela Greeves

From Newcastle, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very good simple stay
Perfect for our night away in Bristol. Good quiet location with parking a short walk to livelier areas. Staff very friendly and helpful. The room was a good standard no frills room. A comfortable bed, excellent shower and gave us everything we needed. Although the decor is a bit worn in parts the hotel is clean, comfortable and welcoming.

Reviewed by
Richard K

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next