You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter a keyword and perform your search again.

Reviews - Channings Hotel

3

20 PEMBROKE ROAD Clifton, BRISTOL, BS8 3BB

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (37)

78% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Tim B

  • December 2014

Characterful urban hotel

What matters is not that there are some things not quite as they should be - but how the staff respond.

I had a couple of issues which the staff did everything reasonable to address. All staff are very welcoming. The public areas are stunning; my bedroom less so - but represented value for money.

  • A Bonchol

  • December 2014

Short Stay

The place felt very safe, the shower and bath was new and the room spacious, the only setback was that there was no wardrobe.

However a restful night in a quiet area, within walking distance of Clifton Bridge. Bar staff were very friendly and certainly overall value for money.

  • Oliver H

  • November 2014

Great weekend romantic getaway

I needed a room close to the centre to spend the evening in with my girlfriend.

Channings is perfect for that. Great price for a nice room in a perfect location - definitely will stay there again!

  • michele k

  • November 2014

lovely old building

we went to stay there for 1 night for our anniversary as we were going to watch a show , its approx 20 mins from city centre nice walk but uphill on way back, we stayed there on the last night of it being the old channings as on saturday it was closing for refurbishment , it is a beautiful old building & on some reviews that people have left i think they may have confused old with dirty , the hotel was not dirty at all but in need of some serious TLC but understandable due to the age , i think people need to look at the bones of the building not the decor.

The staff were amazing friendly and helpful very welcoming, nothing was too much bother. Im glad that the hotel is getting a well deserved facelift , i just hope they can save the character of the building when they do it as it would be a shame to lose such a beautiful old building. There was also a pub underneath but that was already closed for refurbishment, and there was a small bar in the hotel which with some tlc will be beautiful, thanks for making our stay a happy one .

  • wendy c

  • October 2014

hotel stay

The room was comfortable but very shabby looking .

The bathroom was particularly shabby the bath panel was off and dirty tiles.. obvious disadvantage I.s no lifts and is a two storey building. They were good enough to let me know beforehand

  • Caroline H

  • September 2014

Excellent, comfortable accommodation at a good price.

Stayed for 2 nights to go to a family wedding.

Lovely staff, very friendly and helpful. Big old Victorian place that is a bit tired round the edges but provides clean, comfortable accommodation at sensible prices. We had everything we needed with comfortable bed, large bathroom, big wardrobe and tea, coffee and biscuits in the room and in a quiet location just 5 mins walk from restaurants and shops. Iron and board were available. Didn't try evening meals as had other commitments but good full English breakfast. If you want impersonal, glam or boutique style then this is not for you but otherwise you can't do better in Bristol. Best of all they found a single room (which didn't appear on booking sites) at short notice for our daughter who had spent the 1st night at the Full Moon hostel in really disgusting conditions. Many thanks for a great stay.

  • Anne J

  • September 2014

Good value for money, family friendly and good food.

  • Georges D

  • September 2014

Excellent

The staff is very kind, and the service is excellent.

  • Thomas W

  • August 2014

unimpressed

First impressions of the hotel from the outside, it looked nice, but when we entered it was dated and old - it looked like it needed upgrading some years ago.

The food, breakfast(2) looked like it was cooked some time earlier and the evening meal we had was sufficient (just about). The room did not receive any service while we were their, it was in the same condition as we had left it after our first night,s sleep, no bed made and no fresh towels, tea cups that had been used were not changed.

The advertisement of the hotel looked very good but I'm afraid it did not live up it

  • Helle T

  • July 2014

We mainly chose the hotel because of the location which is great, near the university and Clifton.

Clean but could do with a face-lift. TV didn't work, no plug near the mirror.