No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Mary Rose Hotel

2Self Classified Small Hotel Ratings explained
36-50 High Street St. Mary Cray, Orpington, Kent, BR5 3NJ
In the heart of this ancient village, close to the M20 and M25, this charming 16th century property has been recently renovated and now offers comfortable accommodation at great-value rates.

The hotel offers a Full English breakfast available for a small charge.

The building’s original structure has been extended and the hotel now offers comfortable accommodation with modern comforts and facilities, while retaining its original charm. The traditional courtyard has a medieval-style minstrel’s gallery.

There are 44 rooms, including single, double, triple and family rooms. There are also 3 Plaza Suites.

The convenient location and good access to the area’s main roads make the hotel a great base for business travellers and tourists alike. There is a frequent railway service from St Mary Cray’s mainline station, taking just 25 minutes to Victoria in the heart of London.

Picture of Mary Rose Hotel, Kent at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 143 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
27% recommended this accommodation to a friend 34% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Labyrinth of stairs, narrow corridors and low thresholds leading to Shabby Chic.
The sheets were clean and so were the towels. Very basic accommodation but bang on for the price. Can get breakfast at a local cafe. OK for one night but you may lose the will to live over a longer period. Avoid over Christmas as you could get Marley's ghost appearing or some other phantom.

Reviewed by
William M

From Ashford, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cheap for a reason
Nothing a lick of paint a good clean and some new furniture and friendly staff wouldn't sort out, very hostel basic no running hot water only in the electric shower miss match furniture from the 70's no feel good factor about the place very cringe worthy and entrance to car park more like a rough terrain course for tanks not for the average car
The list could go on, but you get the idea

Reviewed by
M Kentfield

From Bourne, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overall good
You definatley get what you pay for. The room was clean so was the bedding bathroom was clean. Could do with with a freshen up with paint. Some of the bulbs were blown in hallway and some of the doors are tiny due to it being a cottage. Pub downstairs bar attended was pleasant and receptionist. Would go back for a cheap night stay.

Reviewed by
Samantha S

From Erith, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice Hotel
I would stay again. Only problem was shower hose was no good but they changed it the next day so all was fine.
Nice people. Had a good deal on the price as they say what it says on the tin is what you get. That's true with this hotel. My wife and I enjoyed it even better with the bar staying open for residents.

Reviewed by
M Whitelaw

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Worst place ever, I wont be back any time soon

Reviewed by
david c

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Worst hotel ever
We booked a room for one night on the 11th oct and we had to leave the same night.
There was a mauld infestation in the bathroom, damp in the walls, brown slime on the bed, bugs crawling around cracked window, boxes of tablets in the draws, there was a saftey warning on the boiler saying to not use and it was on.

The reason we had to leave is I booked the room with a friend who suffers from a disability called Cystic Fibrosis and its dangerous for him to stay in such conditions.
The holtel refused to give a refund on the desk and told me to email their head office.

Reviewed by
Matthew F

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wouldn't let me dog stay there

Reviewed by
Darren white

From Orpington, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

reasonable
Reasonable accommodation for the price . would not pay more than $ 25 . certainly not worth the full price of $40 .

Reviewed by
chris hennessey

From Bungay, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

was ok shared with homeless people
shower was freezing water pipes banged all the time and the door didn't feel safe for me but I put a chair behind it children from homeless side was running about the hotel in and out of various doors and up and down fire escapes I thought with being a 16th century inn it would of been quiet and relaxing but I keep jumping up because of the banging of doors by the children as I suffer acute panic attacks I felt unsafe

Reviewed by
dawn g

From Deeside, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Would not stay there again unless desperate
Linen was clean, bed was comfortable (here endeth the good bits). Room was scruffy, dirty. Decor very tired. Electrical safety certs out of date on hair dryer and kettle. Bathroom extractor fan didn't work and was full of dust/fluff. Shaver socket/light unsafe to use. There were patches of mould in the bathroom. Breakfast room was cramped, toaster was difficult to use, kettle unsuitable (needs an urn). Breakfast service was slow, with only the one person taking the orders, making breakfast and serving.

Reviewed by
ryan o

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next