No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Mary Rose Hotel

2Self Classified Small Hotel Ratings explained
36-50 High Street St. Mary Cray, Orpington, Kent, BR5 3NJ
In the heart of this ancient village, close to the M20 and M25, this charming 16th century property has been recently renovated and now offers comfortable accommodation at great-value rates.

The hotel offers a Full English breakfast available for a small charge.

The building’s original structure has been extended and the hotel now offers comfortable accommodation with modern comforts and facilities, while retaining its original charm. The traditional courtyard has a medieval-style minstrel’s gallery.

There are 44 rooms, including single, double, triple and family rooms. There are also 3 Plaza Suites.

The convenient location and good access to the area’s main roads make the hotel a great base for business travellers and tourists alike. There is a frequent railway service from St Mary Cray’s mainline station, taking just 25 minutes to Victoria in the heart of London.

Picture of Mary Rose Hotel, Kent at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since February 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 150 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
27% recommended this accommodation to a friend 33% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Needs some improvement
The hotel is in a good location but lacks some simple house cleaning and needs some upgrading

Reviewed by
Matthew J

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Horror Story
No central heating or working boiler, which meant no hot water. Room dirty, curtains hanging off rail. Fan heater had one leg broken so was a potential fire hazard. Rats running along path outside.

Reviewed by
L Staples

From London, England
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Filthy, changed rooms 5times
Upon arrival to our first room we were welcomed with a dirty bath, dirty bedsheets and dirty floors, we then requested a different room because although the price was cheap no one should be expected to stay in filthy hotel. Five rooms later we were in a room that at least had clean bedding. Bathroom was falling apart but looked clean and did have to wait about 10 minutes for the hot water in the shower to kick in. The walls are also so thin that you can hear everything and we were kept up by noisy neighbours who continued to shout and argue till 4am. There was tea and coffee facilities but no spoon to even make it, no controller for the tv and the furniture was outdated and falling apart so I guess you can see why the prices are so cheap and overall it was a poor service.

Reviewed by
Sophie B

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

needs knocking down and rebuilding.
Very dated, large areas of damp lighting barely worked. Cups were dirty and all but stuck to the tray. Room was not cleaned properly as we found used condom wrappers in the cupboard. Gaps around the windows and doors meant it was freezing. I only stayed because there was no staff to help and I had booked the room to avoid driving home as I was tired. I have photos if the site or hotel wishes to see?

Reviewed by
colin b

From Dartford, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

mary rose hotel could be better than what it was, and should only be graded 1 star
hotel clean but very shabby and tired. needs updating and painting, outside landing doors insufficient, locking system(doors banging constantly at night time due to wind). no security on bedroom door had to use piece of timber and back of chair to secure when asleep(unlockable). we had only 1 toilet roll for 3 days and no television working after being told by maintenance man that he had just renewed the signal system. their accounting system needs some attention as they had taken from our bank account the price of the cancelled room as well as the upgraded room. we ordered the room in October for Christmas and should have only paid on arrival or departure as normal procedure in other hotels not to be taken straight away in October when booked.

Reviewed by
alan whale

From Spain
Who stayed in December 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Terrible hotel
Take this hotel off your site today, don't send anyone else there.
Disgusting, dirty, horrible,

Reviewed by
Paul W

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect for cheap stop-over
Everything we needed at a great price.

Reviewed by
Helen C

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Avoid despite the price
Disgusting...revolting. Had to clean the bathroom before use. Screaming and fighting all night and the following morning from fellow guests. Money was 'found' in the room by 'housekeeping' (lol? Really?) and taken down to Reception for safekeeping. This was not mentioned until I asked where the hell it was. Opportunists and want to hear what management say about this. You get what you pay for I suppose but this place was nothing better than a squat/hostel. One good thing was the chaps manning Reception were very polite and helpful. Will be writing to make a formal complaint re the money and will be seeking redress or I will make a Police complaint.

Reviewed by
a stuart

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Absolutely disgusting and filthy room 22
Stayed in room 22 - dirty with filthy windows, shower room and in need of total decorating. It was£30.50 but there is no excuse for dirt.

Reviewed by
Jenny B

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

sorry. not good.
Only clean thing in this place was the bed, thankfully. everything else was dirty and in need of complete repair and redecoration and refurnition. carpets were filthy and stained, holes in the ceiling, pieces of metal cornering hanging off the wall, curtains were filthy, the pipe to the shower head was so short a child of 6 would have had to kneel down in the dirty bath to shower. Looked O K from the outside and quite quaint on entering reception but that was the best part of it.
One more thing in general, why do you get charged for paying with a debit card. charge to cover credit card charges I can understand but for a debit card ? Or is it to cover the tax they will have to pay if they are not paid in cash, and so don't declare to the tax man.

Reviewed by
philip smith

From Littlehampton, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next