No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Mary Rose Hotel

2Self Classified Small Hotel Ratings explained
36-50 High Street St. Mary Cray, Orpington, Kent, BR5 3NJ
In the heart of this ancient village, close to the M20 and M25, this charming 16th century property has been recently renovated and now offers comfortable accommodation at great-value rates.

The hotel offers a Full English breakfast available for a small charge.

The building’s original structure has been extended and the hotel now offers comfortable accommodation with modern comforts and facilities, while retaining its original charm. The traditional courtyard has a medieval-style minstrel’s gallery.

There are 44 rooms, including single, double, triple and family rooms. There are also 3 Plaza Suites.

The convenient location and good access to the area’s main roads make the hotel a great base for business travellers and tourists alike. There is a frequent railway service from St Mary Cray’s mainline station, taking just 25 minutes to Victoria in the heart of London.

Picture of Mary Rose Hotel, Kent at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 152 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
28% recommended this accommodation to a friend 34% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disgusting and filthy place
My wife and i were were absolutely disgusted with this hovel. Filthy, no hot water, dangerous boiler system, tv not working, broken window and a bin bag over a high window to try to cut out light!!!! I will be reporting to the Trading standards and office covering health and hygiene. We paid for breakfast in advance but would not dare to eat there due to hygiene. I have asked for compensation under seperate cover.

Reviewed by
Victor & Denise Mountstephens

From Woking, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Worse "hotel" we have ever stayed in. Dirty, dilapadated needs knocking down and re-building

Reviewed by
C BUGLER

From Wareham, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Can't believe laterooms promote this place
When we arrived the guy on reception wasn't very welcoming but pleasant enough. On the way to our room we noticed the place was in disrepair and there were some pieces of rubbish/cigarette ash too. The bed sheets and towels were clean but the bathroom. was disgusting, looked like it had never been cleaned!! It looked like mice had been nibbling the bath casing and the shower was mouldy (as was the floor outside it), there was a plaster on the floor in there and tonnes of dust. It was worse than places I've stayed in the poorest parts of Asia! Our kettle was in a big pool of water when we arrived too so we asked for another one as it clearly leaked. I would not recommend anybody to stay here as the level of cleanliness is very low!!

Reviewed by
L Perkins

From Norwich, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The worst place we have ever stayed.
Rather a shock as the hotel seems to be showing serious neglect over many years!
Grime, dirt, grubby table linen, mould, filthy carpets, dirty cutlery/cutlery tray unkept, breakfast orange being topped up in a dirty jug. Very greasy food and dirty table cloths fixed, with hammered in staples, to the tables. The saving grace was that the bedding/towels go to a laundry service and although the shower cubicle was mouldy the shower was efficient. Double mattress in room 21 really old and lumpy.so we slept in the twin beds. What a blessing that we got a family room. Would never stay again.
Find some where else ,

Reviewed by
Gail H

From Saltburn by The Sea, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cheap!
Sure the place is a bit grotty but I had an excellent nights sleep in a quiet room. If you want luxury pay more and go elsewhere. Wifi is good. I will be back.

Reviewed by
glenn S

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Dirty Hotel
I will never stay here again & should of been paid to stay here. The bathroom needs to be replace and made me feel sick with the smell.

Reviewed by
alex B

From Walsall, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Dreadful Disgusting Experience
I arrived late on a Thursday evening after travelling for over 12 hours. I was not offered anything in. term's of a cup of tea/coffee. I found hotel ( if you can call it that) to be filthy dirty and disgusting. I was so tired I just went to my room. I had hoped to make a cup of coffee ( as ad said tea/coffee facilities in room). There were only cups and tea/coffee sachets in room . The kettle was in a filthy Kitchen shared by others. The toilet and shower facilities were so disgusting I peed in a bottle ( which was also disgusting however only option. The shower was filthy and the shower curtain was black mould on it so did the walls. The room itself was very dirty and net curtains were black with the dirt. The main curtains were disgusting with stains all over them. I stayed 3 nights as I had no choice. I went to reception on a Saturday morning Assistant Manager was only after comming on duty. I asked for some sugar sachets, She was on the internet and didn't like been disturbed She asked had the cleaning staff not left some. I said the room wasn't cleaned in a long time. She left the reception for 30 seconds and got me some sugar. Service dreadful. In my opinion this is the worst Hotel I have ever had the unfortunate experience to stay in. I have visited squat's during my working career and they were in much better condition than the Mary Rose. It would serve you best to take it off your site as I will never use your site again because of this Dreadful Dreadful Disgusting experience.

Reviewed by
Joe Mc Gran

From Enniscorthy, Republic of Ireland
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very cheap, fairly cheerful
It's cheap, the staff are friendly and the wifi is good, beyond that, don't expect too much.

Reviewed by
Warren S

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I knew it would be poor but it was appaling. It was the worst place I have ever stayed.
The light fitting was hanging off the ceiling, the fire notice had been burned, the tv wires on the socket was open, the coffee cups smelt of lemon bleach, the shower had no temperature guage, the hot tap ran constantly, the toilet bubbled.
One off the guests in the room above us paced back and forth from 6.45 on sunday morning, at 8.00 a panio started playing, at 9.00 the cleaning girls stacked all the 'clean' towels & duvets outside our room, shouting at each other about their antics the night before.

Reviewed by
D Harlow

From Woking, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Mary Rose Sinking Fast
The "Hotel" is being left to run down holes in ceilings and filthy threadbare carpets with no care from the Indian owners. How sad that a place that used to be so good has fallen into their hands!

Reviewed by
Alan R

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next