No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Mary Rose Hotel

2Self Classified Small Hotel Ratings explained
36-50 High Street St. Mary Cray, Orpington, Kent, BR5 3NJ
In the heart of this ancient village, close to the M20 and M25, this charming 16th century property has been recently renovated and now offers comfortable accommodation at great-value rates.

The hotel offers a Full English breakfast available for a small charge.

The building’s original structure has been extended and the hotel now offers comfortable accommodation with modern comforts and facilities, while retaining its original charm. The traditional courtyard has a medieval-style minstrel’s gallery.

There are 44 rooms, including single, double, triple and family rooms. There are also 3 Plaza Suites.

The convenient location and good access to the area’s main roads make the hotel a great base for business travellers and tourists alike. There is a frequent railway service from St Mary Cray’s mainline station, taking just 25 minutes to Victoria in the heart of London.

Picture of Mary Rose Hotel, Kent at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 151 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
28% recommended this accommodation to a friend 34% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good night stay. Good value for money.
This was my 3rd stay with the hotel over a 3 year period and the 1st time I've had the court yard room. The room wasn't 100% clean. I found a dirty spoon on the table among the Tea stuff, a empty bag of crisp behind the bedside cabinet and a red stain outside the barthroom door. There was a bit of a musty smell to the room but overall a good night stay.

Reviewed by
Martin Mayatt

From Maidstone, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Avoid
I booked this hotel on the basis of the pictures and location. I pulled up into an area best described as a council estate to be meet with a scene out of Little Britain. There was no obvious place to park legally and I was worried leaving my vehicle outside would result in missing property and no wheels. I didn't stop I went down the road to the travel lodge in Sidcup and booked in there. If you are happy sharing a hotel with beer drinking bare chested chavs this is the place for you...

Reviewed by
t tiley

From Redruth, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

rubbish worst hotel
dirty

Reviewed by
CHRIS D

From Wallasey, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Absolutely disgusting, you would'nt put an animal in there, filthy isint the word, i kept my shoes on the whole time, please people do not stay there! It needs to be shut down and demolished, its a health hazard. Don't be fooled ny there pretty pictures on the website, they must be from a magazine, the Staff are unhelpful, they have your money so why would they care, im hoping to get mine back, cant see that happening, but i can only try, i have lots of pictures which im sending to the Enviromental Agency. Please people do not stay there!

Reviewed by
Zoe K

From Ruislip, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

This place needs rebuilding
This place could be wonderful but it needs a complete refurbishment (not easy as much of the building is listed). As it is now, it should really be closed down. Did not even have hot water the first morning.

Reviewed by
Joseph P

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

3 men in 3 beds
tatty hotel, needs a major makeover. However we slept well, the customer service was fine, and for one night is was fine.

Reviewed by
Mark J

From Pevensey, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disgusting and filthy place
My wife and i were were absolutely disgusted with this hovel. Filthy, no hot water, dangerous boiler system, tv not working, broken window and a bin bag over a high window to try to cut out light!!!! I will be reporting to the Trading standards and office covering health and hygiene. We paid for breakfast in advance but would not dare to eat there due to hygiene. I have asked for compensation under seperate cover.

Reviewed by
Victor & Denise Mountstephens

From Woking, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Worse "hotel" we have ever stayed in. Dirty, dilapadated needs knocking down and re-building

Reviewed by
C BUGLER

From Wareham, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Can't believe laterooms promote this place
When we arrived the guy on reception wasn't very welcoming but pleasant enough. On the way to our room we noticed the place was in disrepair and there were some pieces of rubbish/cigarette ash too. The bed sheets and towels were clean but the bathroom. was disgusting, looked like it had never been cleaned!! It looked like mice had been nibbling the bath casing and the shower was mouldy (as was the floor outside it), there was a plaster on the floor in there and tonnes of dust. It was worse than places I've stayed in the poorest parts of Asia! Our kettle was in a big pool of water when we arrived too so we asked for another one as it clearly leaked. I would not recommend anybody to stay here as the level of cleanliness is very low!!

Reviewed by
L Perkins

From Norwich, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The worst place we have ever stayed.
Rather a shock as the hotel seems to be showing serious neglect over many years!
Grime, dirt, grubby table linen, mould, filthy carpets, dirty cutlery/cutlery tray unkept, breakfast orange being topped up in a dirty jug. Very greasy food and dirty table cloths fixed, with hammered in staples, to the tables. The saving grace was that the bedding/towels go to a laundry service and although the shower cubicle was mouldy the shower was efficient. Double mattress in room 21 really old and lumpy.so we slept in the twin beds. What a blessing that we got a family room. Would never stay again.
Find some where else ,

Reviewed by
Gail H

From Saltburn by The Sea, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next