No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Mary Rose Hotel

2Self Classified Small Hotel Ratings explained
36-50 High Street St. Mary Cray, Orpington, Kent, BR5 3NJ
In the heart of this ancient village, close to the M20 and M25, this charming 16th century property has been recently renovated and now offers comfortable accommodation at great-value rates.

The hotel offers a Full English breakfast available for a small charge.

The building’s original structure has been extended and the hotel now offers comfortable accommodation with modern comforts and facilities, while retaining its original charm. The traditional courtyard has a medieval-style minstrel’s gallery.

There are 44 rooms, including single, double, triple and family rooms. There are also 3 Plaza Suites.

The convenient location and good access to the area’s main roads make the hotel a great base for business travellers and tourists alike. There is a frequent railway service from St Mary Cray’s mainline station, taking just 25 minutes to Victoria in the heart of London.

Picture of Mary Rose Hotel, Kent at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 153 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
26% recommended this accommodation to a friend 33% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not good
Our experience in general was ok because we had each other.
The room on the other hand had no TV only 4 plug sockets.
The room it's self smelt stale, all towels had stain marks on them, no hygiene products where provided, the bathroom was shared and a complete mess it was dusty, mouldy and had a bad smell.

Reviewed by
L Mallett

From Croydon, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Bit of a Letdown
cheap overnight stay but room not up to standard expected - booked for three but only two cups and two coffee sachets, ran out of toilet roll, tap in bathroom did not work -carpet stained and room smelt musty

Reviewed by
ruth t

From UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

a absolute dump...wouldn't even let my dog sleep there! its repulsive dirty & a complete dump!
Never have been to a more disgusting place in my life. the room was dirty. horrible and smelly.! Carpets had stains and sick marks! The bathroom had mould everywhere.! Never again would I stay in this dump.! Repulsive

Reviewed by
Ben H

From Canterbury , UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wouldn't let my dog sleep here
This place is a DHSS hotel, filthy, the rooms are no where like the photos, the heating never worked, the shower was filthy, where can i start, after a long day at work i was disgusted and they had a cheek to call it a superior room.
There is homeless staying there etc. TV is so old etc. Not fit to be on this site, and i advised laterooms of this. Hotel wouldn't even offer a refund!

Reviewed by
Raymond Brand

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

do not stay at this pub
booked non smoking room, the smoke in room was so bad nearly throw up, clothes stank of smoke, dog ends on floor, no hot water in shower, shower and room dirty,dirty,dirty. Asked for money back, staff and LateRooms hopeless. Contacted bank and local health authorities. You would be better sleeping in your car.

Reviewed by
Lee L

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Dreadful - Don't do it!!
I was appalled at the extremely poor hygiene and health and safety of the room, number 26, the room smelt of smoke, despite supposedly being a no smoking room, alcohol and urine.There stains on the duvet which showed through the duvet cover, the walls were filthy as were the curtains, which were stained and mildewed, and the carpet.
I slept on top of the bed, in my clothes, as too concerned about sleeping under the duvet due to the state of the room in general.
The bathroom, shared, was disgusting, with permanently wet carpet on a step up into the shower which I doubt has ever been cleaned. Only one tap was working in the sink, and there were a variety of unknown hairs and other substances in the sink which I didn't want to investigate.
I boiled the kettle to sterlise the inside, couldn't do anything about the outside. Then boiled it again to sterilise the mug, before boiling it once again to make a drink to discover there was no spoon.
I have photos of the room and bathroom. I paid in advance for breakfast which I did not even stay for as I was too worried about food poisoning.
I would have been better off sleeping in my car.

Reviewed by
Lorna L

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Noisy
Stayed in room 5 which is directly above the pub main entrance and smoking area so could hear everything from there mainly due to it being an old building which obviously cannot have double glazing fitted. The other issue was noise through the floor from the bar below depending on where people decided to sit down there. Room was warm, clean and comfortable though, I would have preferred a shower rather than the bath which is in this rooms ensuite.

Reviewed by
David M

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Needs some improvement
The hotel is in a good location but lacks some simple house cleaning and needs some upgrading

Reviewed by
Matthew J

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Horror Story
No central heating or working boiler, which meant no hot water. Room dirty, curtains hanging off rail. Fan heater had one leg broken so was a potential fire hazard. Rats running along path outside.

Reviewed by
L Staples

From London, England
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Filthy, changed rooms 5times
Upon arrival to our first room we were welcomed with a dirty bath, dirty bedsheets and dirty floors, we then requested a different room because although the price was cheap no one should be expected to stay in filthy hotel. Five rooms later we were in a room that at least had clean bedding. Bathroom was falling apart but looked clean and did have to wait about 10 minutes for the hot water in the shower to kick in. The walls are also so thin that you can hear everything and we were kept up by noisy neighbours who continued to shout and argue till 4am. There was tea and coffee facilities but no spoon to even make it, no controller for the tv and the furniture was outdated and falling apart so I guess you can see why the prices are so cheap and overall it was a poor service.

Reviewed by
Sophie B

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next