Reviews - The Kenilworth

4

44 Osborne Rd, Jesmond,, Newcastle Upon Tyne, NE2 2AL

Price From 92.04 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (57)

68% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Michael P

  • June 2014

Quite acceptable if you're looking for a bed

First appearances are not encouraging but actually the experience is OK.

The hotel is one of the smaller establishments on Osborne Road and it seems to suffer because of this. Parking is behind the hotel and the way in from the car park is rather depressing. Reception is at the bar and in our case was handled competently and quickly. Our room was on the first floor and the outlook was over the derelict garden next door. However, the room itself was clean and tidy having apparently been recently redecorated. Both room and bathroom were of a good size. The bed proved to be very comfortable. Despite concerns that there might be noise from those watching football downstairs, the hotel was very quiet and a good night's sleep was had. Breakfast offered a good choice of cereals, yoghurt and fruit, with hot drinks to choice brought to the table very quickly. All the variations right up to a full English was available and ours was brought to the table quickly. Poached eggs, ever easy, were perfectly done. We stayed two nights and ate locally, one night at the Indian restaurant and the second at Antico Italian restaurant, both within a five minute walk. The meal at Antico was one of the best we've every had - ambience, service and food were all excellent and the price was very good. The clientele covered all ages and the restaurant was obviously very popular. But back to the hotel - we don't know that we would necessarily choose it again, but it was definitely fit for purpose. Probably groups of younger people out for a fun weekend would think it was just right, and for them it would be.

  • M Gordon

  • June 2014

Conveniently located, friendly and excellent value for money

Good sized room, clean and well-decorated.

Friendly and very helpful proprietor.

  • Iain N

  • June 2014

convenient and good value

Stayed one night when collecting my son and his worldly goods at the end of his first year at the University.

I booked at the last minute, and was able to park in the last of the parking spaces at the back of the hotel. Room was comfortable and clean with good en-suite facilities. Staff very friendly. My room faced onto Osbourne Road, but I was not disturbed by any noise (Tues night)

  • ANDREW C

  • June 2014

2 Nights away

We arrived at the Hotel early parked in their car park and was met by a pleasant young man who gladly let us book in early, we were shown to our room which was over the bar (Even though we asked for a quiet room) The room was large clean and well equipt, the ensuite had a shower basin and toilet, this looked a little tired (cracked hand basin, split flooring) but was functional and had plenty of space (you could shut the door when bending to clean you teeth!!) The Bar down stairs stopped its music at 11.30pm so had no concern about being over the bar after all but the Bar next door was noisy and music continued till much later ( I know the hotel can not do anything about this) The hotel had a number of young single sex parties staying; on the first night there was a lot of noise at approx.

3pm but the secound night after they had checked out it was nice and quiet. The breakfasts were good with plenty of choice and service with a smile. I would be happy to stay here again and have already recomended it to a friend, I would say £5 a night cheaper would be appropriate but I am always looking for the best deal!!!!!

Response from hotel

We are delighted that this guest enjoyed his stay and thank him for the recommendation.

The bathroom issues have been resolved with new flooring and a new washbasin and vanity unit in the ensuite.

The room he stayed in was recently soundproofed to avoid disturbance from the bar which can be lively on Friday and Saturday nights during university term time.

We look forward to welcoming all guests back to The Kenilworth.

  • david w

  • May 2014

Great web site

Review should read; a great location with access to the university and town centre.

Friendly staff, basic accomodation suffering from fatigue, above a bar, busy with students at weekends. Hearty breakfast included.

Excellent web site manages to oversell the accomodation on offer

If you want to avoid the morning city traffic and have work nearby then it could be a good choice on a fixed budget

Response from hotel

Thank you for your review and we have noted your comments.

We are a budget hotel but believe that we offer good value with added extra such as complimentary toiletries and biscuits often not found within our price bracket. Our rooms are constantly maintained and virtually all bathrooms have been replaced this year. Added to this, as a family run hotel, we offer an excellent service to all guests. Our website reflects this, if anything rooms have been upgraded since the last set of photographs!

  • S Johnson

  • May 2014

Good value budget hotel

Just required one night stay , location was good so we walked and used bus to and from city centre.

Staff were very welcoming and friendly. Coffee, tea and biscuits in room. Very comfortable bed a good night's sleep with no noise from the surrounding area. We both had full English breakfast which was well cooked and plenty of it. For value I would recommend it.

  • kerry l

  • May 2014

Lovely, clean, friendly hotel.

Would defo stay again. Good location with lots of bars close by and the city centre a two minute taxi ride away.

  • Christian Smith

  • May 2014

Owner is a really nice guy could not be more accommodating.

  • A Walker

  • May 2014

Newcastle two day trip

Very dark on entry !.

Friendly staff could not be more helpfully. The room was comfortable but hole in bathroom floor sink had big crack and ceiling mouldy but bed comfortable . Would go back but different room would complain if paid full price .

Response from hotel

Thank you for your review and we are pleased that you found your room comfortable.

We have noted your comments and would like to assure guests that these complaints have been remedied. We have replaced the sink and flooring in the bathroom which unfortunately had been cracked by a previous guest. In relation to the ceiling- this had already been repaired by our roofer externally as we had a couple of slates blown off-and has now been repainted internally: the marks were not mould but water marks caused by the missing slates. We have also had the downstairs areas redecorated in a lighter colour scheme as we also felt that it was too dark and hope that should the Walker family return to the hotel, they will be impressed by recent improvements as part of our ongoing programme to ensure customer comfort and satisfaction.

  • N Coneybear

  • May 2014

Quality but not costly

Have stayed here a few times now.

Rooms have plenty of space for me, though it is hard to watch tv at night on the edge of a four poster bed. Shower was great, plenty of hot water.

Had a cracking hand made burger at the bar, well recommended. Breakfast is cooked to order and worth the money. I will be back.