No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Kenilworth

4AA Assessed Guest Accommodation Ratings explained
44 Osborne Rd, Jesmond, , Newcastle Upon Tyne, NE2 2AL
Situated within walking distance of Newcastle city centre, The Kenilworth is a well established family run hotel, offering comfortable, contemporary rooms with modern en suite bathrooms; good home cooked food and a well stocked bar. Free on site parking is available to all guests to the rear of the hotel and free WiFi is standard throughout the property.

A hearty breakfast is served in our downstairs restaurant with a good choice of cereals, yoghurts, fruit and traditional English breakfast , waitress served to your table. Evening meals are also served nightly upto 9pm with a wide selection of beers, wines and cocktails from the in house bar.

The Kenilworth welcomes both business and leisure travellers and guarantees a warm welcome to all.

Picture of The Kenilworth, Newcastle Upon Tyne at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 57 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
68% recommended this accommodation to a friend 72% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice hotel in the heart of Jesmond
Nice hotel/bar in the centre of Jesmond. stayed a couple of night whilst on business in the area. friendly staff with good food. I imagine it can get quite noisy when the students are about but uni was finishing so was quite quiet.
Room a little small but ok

Reviewed by
G Brown

From Heysham, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

As a female travelling alone I couldn't of been made to feel more welcome n safe by all the staff, I found everyone to be very friendly and couldn't do enough to ensure that my stay was a pleasant experience. A big thank you to Bernie and his staff.

Reviewed by
Lisa W

From Hemel Hempstead, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Once again a really good breakfast. Staff are very helpful.
When you stay here ask for directions to Jesmond Dean, only 5 mins walk. It's a beautiful river valley with spectacular views.

Reviewed by
N Coneybear

From Peterborough, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room was above the bar, kept awake by very loud music. Was not aware of set up and would have reconsidered if I had known.

ManagementResponse

We appreciate that the guest would have preferred a quiet location but we are a hotel with a bar and advertise this fact. Music is stopped by midnight and we have very quiet guest rooms on the second floor for those wanting to retire early.In common with all of Newcastle, Jesmond is a lively area at weekends and we would urge guests to request a quiet room on booking should this be their preference.

Reviewed by
M Ahmed

From UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I booked this hotel as other available hotels were significantly more expensive. I was somewhat apprehensive before arriving. I couldn't be more wrong place was clean tidy and room was more than adequate with wifi etc. staff were top notch and location was great 10 min walk 5 min cab to city centre. If you pass this hotel up for a more expensive one you will regret it.

Reviewed by
Martin A

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly welcome and staff quick to be attentive times with help. Room was a good size, unfortunately main lights in room did not come on and light over mirror in bathroom only wirked furst time. Dining area quirky decor but not enough tables for everyone on Sunday morning. Staff did set people up in lounge area but using coffee tables But of noise for rooms at front but not a problem as we were in late. It does stop outside at 11 as it is also a residential area but bar noise filters up. When this closed down it was very quiet. Nice to have car parking.

Reviewed by
I D

From Oakham, England
Who stayed in May 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not Bad. You get what you pay for.
Was surprised to see so many poor reviews on Trip Advisor. If you are looking for a comfy bed in a warm room on a quick stop over , there is nothing wrong with this place. It offered me a good room with a modern and clean bathroom and a good cooked breakfast for £50 which these days represents good value for money.
Some people seem to expect 5 star standards when they are only prepared to pay two star prices.
Be mindful that there is a public bar downstairs which looks like it could be pretty noisy on a weekend so if you are looking for peace and quiet, this maybe isn't a good choice for you. I stayed midweek and it was quiet.

Reviewed by
Don Hewitt

From Shipley, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cold!
Radiators working, but not big enough for the room - Cold!.
No desk, table or area to work either.
Nice Breakfast though and handy parking considering its location.

Reviewed by
Antony W

From UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Engineer / Trainer
Comfortable, warm & good breakfast. Good value, which is a rarity these days.
Staff were friendly & helpful.

Reviewed by
Kim P

From Stockbridge, UK
Who stayed in January 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The kitchen staff came in early to do breakfast as they were on winter hours and with hand on my heart it was the best full English I have ever had anywhere!

Reviewed by
N Coneybear

From Peterborough, UK
Who stayed in December 2012

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next