No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Kenilworth

4AA Assessed Guest Accommodation Ratings explained
44 Osborne Rd, Jesmond, , Newcastle Upon Tyne, NE2 2AL
Situated within walking distance of Newcastle city centre, The Kenilworth is a well established family run hotel, offering comfortable, contemporary rooms with modern en suite bathrooms; good home cooked food and a well stocked bar. Free on site parking is available to all guests to the rear of the hotel and free WiFi is standard throughout the property.

A hearty breakfast is served in our downstairs restaurant with a good choice of cereals, yoghurts, fruit and traditional English breakfast , waitress served to your table. Evening meals are also served nightly upto 9pm with a wide selection of beers, wines and cocktails from the in house bar.

The Kenilworth welcomes both business and leisure travellers and guarantees a warm welcome to all.

Picture of The Kenilworth, Newcastle Upon Tyne at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 60 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
67% recommended this accommodation to a friend 71% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overall reasonable for the price but with excellent customer service
Reasonable room and cleanliness in a good location but toilet seat needed fixing (they should have spotted that when cleaning the room before we arrived). Overall though happy with our choice of accommodation for the night bearing in mind its fine price with a nice breakfast. The thing to really say though is that the staff were extremely welcoming and helpful.

Reviewed by
David G

From Holmfirth, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Accomodation
Excellent staff & service

Reviewed by
Noel E

From Enniskillen, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A poor experience
My first problem was that, despite bookings through Late Rooms, the hotel had no record of my booking, which they blamed on "Late Room's new system". Second problem was that I had booked and paid for a family room ( for 3) but was allocated a small double with a temporary bed squeezed in, which made parts of the room and its facilities inaccessible. Third, loud music from the bar downstairs was a problem late at night. All in all, a disappointing experience. Left feeling unvalued and ripped off.

ManagementResponse

We are sorry that the guests did not enjoy their stay. There was a problem with the booking as we didn't receive the confirmation fax, a problem that has now been rectified by Laterooms. Under these circumstances we did all we could for the guests- the room is not a small double but a large room with a four poster bed and brand new bathroom. We understand that Newcastle can be lively at weekends and, we do indeed have a bar downstairs which can be busy on a Saturday evening. However, we do advertise this fact and have very quiet rooms on the second floor for guests who request them.

Reviewed by
R Walker

From England
Who stayed in June 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great hotel
Have to say this is the third hotel i have stayed in around this hotel and this one tops the rest without fail.
fantastic staff, rooms, car parking and location
will def use this again

Reviewed by
ray h

From Holmfirth, England
Who stayed in June 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice people, good breakfast, but only really suitable for stags & hens.
Very pleasant staff, but room carpet was damp and room smelt of sick, presumably from previous guests. Not the fault of the staff, but clearly that is the market for this property.

ManagementResponse

We are sorry that this customer felt that the room was not up to standard, especially as we have just refurbished all bathrooms and decorated throughout. Unfortunately, in all hotels, guests are occasionally ill and the carpet had been cleaned. We refute the accusation that we are purely a Stag and Hen hotel, although the market in Newcastle clearly includes this group,the vast majority of whom behave well. At The Kenilworth we enjoy a mixed clientèle; midweek are guests are largely those on business or working in Newcastle, families and couples visiting the city. We endeavour to ensure the comfort of all guests and are disappointed that this guest was not totally happy during their stay.

Reviewed by
scott t

From Warrington, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice hotel in the heart of Jesmond
Nice hotel/bar in the centre of Jesmond. stayed a couple of night whilst on business in the area. friendly staff with good food. I imagine it can get quite noisy when the students are about but uni was finishing so was quite quiet.
Room a little small but ok

Reviewed by
G Brown

From Heysham, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Once again a really good breakfast. Staff are very helpful.
When you stay here ask for directions to Jesmond Dean, only 5 mins walk. It's a beautiful river valley with spectacular views.

Reviewed by
N Coneybear

From Peterborough, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

As a female travelling alone I couldn't of been made to feel more welcome n safe by all the staff, I found everyone to be very friendly and couldn't do enough to ensure that my stay was a pleasant experience. A big thank you to Bernie and his staff.

Reviewed by
Lisa W

From Hemel Hempstead, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room was above the bar, kept awake by very loud music. Was not aware of set up and would have reconsidered if I had known.

ManagementResponse

We appreciate that the guest would have preferred a quiet location but we are a hotel with a bar and advertise this fact. Music is stopped by midnight and we have very quiet guest rooms on the second floor for those wanting to retire early.In common with all of Newcastle, Jesmond is a lively area at weekends and we would urge guests to request a quiet room on booking should this be their preference.

Reviewed by
M Ahmed

From UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I booked this hotel as other available hotels were significantly more expensive. I was somewhat apprehensive before arriving. I couldn't be more wrong place was clean tidy and room was more than adequate with wifi etc. staff were top notch and location was great 10 min walk 5 min cab to city centre. If you pass this hotel up for a more expensive one you will regret it.

Reviewed by
Martin A

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

With colleagues

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next