Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.
68% would recommend it to a friend
place generally tired, good shower and room furnature, comfortable bed.
staff very pleasant. restaurant menu poor, ok if you like burgers, but good breakfast.
Response from hotel
We are pleased that this guest found the room, bed and shower room to be good as we have recently upgraded all bedrooms and bathrooms and are currently updating all communal areas. We have also recently employed a new chef and are in the process of changing the menu to provide a greater choice for our customers.
nice clean room, friendly staff, really good value for money.
Tasty full english breakfast, only could have been hotter.
nice hotel very good value
would have been helpful to have a phone in the room to contact reception, I needed the password for the wifi and had to go down 2 flights of stairs and back again which was pain
breakfast was ok but the orange juice was orange squash rather than fresh juice but everything else good
it was a good stay, room very nice & clean and a lovely bathroom
Welcome was good an friendly but no so good after that.
the room itself was spacious and bed very comfortable but there were cobwebs hanging off walls and black mould round bath and shower screen, taps and plug hole.
Didnt sleep a wink, went bank holiday sat. Girls banging doors and letting boys in, all through the night, laughing and shouting. Full breakfast microwaved, bit rubbery but staff pleasant. Went to toilet to wash my hands after it, no paper towels and hand drier not working.
More attention to detail and cleanliness, required.
We spent 3 nights here.The staff were very friendly and helpful the breakfast was lovely just what you you needed after a night out on the town.
The rooms were basic but clean and good value for money on a short weekend break away.
a little down at heel but comfortable bed
We found it a little scruffy and down at heel.
It looked nothing like the rooms we had seen on the website which had bright bedspreads and cushions. We found the smell of the breakfasts being cooked very early quite overpowering and said breakfasts for us were inedible - we didn't bother on the 2nd day. The staff were friendly and welcoming and the bed was comfortable but we found the lack of a couple of comfortable chairs or a sofa problematic - perching on the bed to watch tv at night was very uncomfortable - the room photos had shown a sofa in the type of room we had chosen.
Bar with rooms
This was a bar with rooms.
The rooms require considerable maintenance.
Response from hotel
Thank you for your review.
The Kenilworth is classified as 4 star Guest Accommodation by the AA and was scored highly by during the recent AA inspection. Certain standards have to be met to achieve this and the property surpassed the required minimum in all categories.
Constant maintenance is carried out with all rooms having been decorated this year; new bathrooms in all but 2 of the bedrooms with plans for the final 2 imminent and new carpets to most rooms. In addition, the breakfast room has been refurbished this summer.
We feel that we are diligent in attending to maintenance issues and are constantly reinvesting in our property.
The only reason we booked this place was because it was a last minute reservation and one of the cheapest we could find at the time.
Our stay was pleasant however my two major criticisms for the place is 1. The Parking is tiny and it's either a case of once you're in there is no getting out of your spot because other people just leave their cars in any available spot they can find which blocks other cars OR you will have to park elsewhere and the parking around the hotel is chargeable at certain times during the day. It should really state in the description of the hotel that it is limited parking as there is no way there is enough space for all the guests. There is atleast 9 rooms, no way can fit 9 cars properly. 2. Is the smell as you walk in to the hotel, not pleasant a all, I have to say the rooms are quite clean however when you first walk in it's dark and quite worn out and smells a little dirty.
Other than that the place is in a lovely location, plenty of bars, great night life and the breakfast was nice.
Response from hotel
Thank you for your review and we are so pleased that you had a comfortable stay with us. However, to clarify the parking situation; we have 11 bedrooms and 11 parking spaces making us, pro rata, the hotel with the largest car park in Jesmond. Since your stay we have repainted the car park bays to make it easier for guests to park and to prevent anybody from getting blocked in.
We also note your comments about the car park entrance and agree with you that this is perhaps the least attractive area of the hotel We are however working within the constraints imposed by the nature of our building, a Victorian conversion which can make the entrance seem a little dark. The smell referred to was a residual side effect of some essential plumbing work which is now completed. We have recently refurbished the porch leading into the hotel and this is decorated at least every 6 weeks and is well lit
We thank you for your feedback and are confident that our rooms and service are far from mediocre. Should you visit us again, we hope that you will note the improvements in relation to the car park.