Reviews - The Kenilworth

4

44 Osborne Rd, Jesmond,, Newcastle Upon Tyne, NE2 2AL

Price From 92.04 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (57)

68% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • john h

  • September 2014

place generally tired, good shower and room furnature, comfortable bed.

staff very pleasant. restaurant menu poor, ok if you like burgers, but good breakfast.

Response from hotel

We are pleased that this guest found the room, bed and shower room to be good as we have recently upgraded all bedrooms and bathrooms and are currently updating all communal areas. We have also recently employed a new chef and are in the process of changing the menu to provide a greater choice for our customers.

  • m bradley

  • September 2014

nice clean room, friendly staff, really good value for money.

Tasty full english breakfast, only could have been hotter.

  • Y Taylor

  • September 2014

nice hotel very good value

would have been helpful to have a phone in the room to contact reception, I needed the password for the wifi and had to go down 2 flights of stairs and back again which was pain

breakfast was ok but the orange juice was orange squash rather than fresh juice but everything else good

it was a good stay, room very nice & clean and a lovely bathroom

  • Tom W

  • August 2014

Welcome was good an friendly but no so good after that.

  • angela b

  • August 2014

unimpressed

the room itself was spacious and bed very comfortable but there were cobwebs hanging off walls and black mould round bath and shower screen, taps and plug hole.

Didnt sleep a wink, went bank holiday sat. Girls banging doors and letting boys in, all through the night, laughing and shouting. Full breakfast microwaved, bit rubbery but staff pleasant. Went to toilet to wash my hands after it, no paper towels and hand drier not working.

More attention to detail and cleanliness, required.

  • R Harris

  • August 2014

We spent 3 nights here.The staff were very friendly and helpful the breakfast was lovely just what you you needed after a night out on the town.

The rooms were basic but clean and good value for money on a short weekend break away.

  • Sue G

  • August 2014

a little down at heel but comfortable bed

We found it a little scruffy and down at heel.

It looked nothing like the rooms we had seen on the website which had bright bedspreads and cushions. We found the smell of the breakfasts being cooked very early quite overpowering and said breakfasts for us were inedible - we didn't bother on the 2nd day. The staff were friendly and welcoming and the bed was comfortable but we found the lack of a couple of comfortable chairs or a sofa problematic - perching on the bed to watch tv at night was very uncomfortable - the room photos had shown a sofa in the type of room we had chosen.

  • A Kirk

  • July 2014

Bar with rooms

This was a bar with rooms.

The rooms require considerable maintenance.

Response from hotel

Thank you for your review.

The Kenilworth is classified as 4 star Guest Accommodation by the AA and was scored highly by during the recent AA inspection. Certain standards have to be met to achieve this and the property surpassed the required minimum in all categories.

Constant maintenance is carried out with all rooms having been decorated this year; new bathrooms in all but 2 of the bedrooms with plans for the final 2 imminent and new carpets to most rooms. In addition, the breakfast room has been refurbished this summer.

We feel that we are diligent in attending to maintenance issues and are constantly reinvesting in our property.

  • Laurence L

  • June 2014

June 2014

Excellent bed!

  • S Uddin

  • June 2014

Medioka

The only reason we booked this place was because it was a last minute reservation and one of the cheapest we could find at the time.

Our stay was pleasant however my two major criticisms for the place is 1. The Parking is tiny and it's either a case of once you're in there is no getting out of your spot because other people just leave their cars in any available spot they can find which blocks other cars OR you will have to park elsewhere and the parking around the hotel is chargeable at certain times during the day. It should really state in the description of the hotel that it is limited parking as there is no way there is enough space for all the guests. There is atleast 9 rooms, no way can fit 9 cars properly. 2. Is the smell as you walk in to the hotel, not pleasant a all, I have to say the rooms are quite clean however when you first walk in it's dark and quite worn out and smells a little dirty.

Other than that the place is in a lovely location, plenty of bars, great night life and the breakfast was nice.

Response from hotel

Thank you for your review and we are so pleased that you had a comfortable stay with us. However, to clarify the parking situation; we have 11 bedrooms and 11 parking spaces making us, pro rata, the hotel with the largest car park in Jesmond. Since your stay we have repainted the car park bays to make it easier for guests to park and to prevent anybody from getting blocked in.

We also note your comments about the car park entrance and agree with you that this is perhaps the least attractive area of the hotel We are however working within the constraints imposed by the nature of our building, a Victorian conversion which can make the entrance seem a little dark. The smell referred to was a residual side effect of some essential plumbing work which is now completed. We have recently refurbished the porch leading into the hotel and this is decorated at least every 6 weeks and is well lit

at night.

We thank you for your feedback and are confident that our rooms and service are far from mediocre. Should you visit us again, we hope that you will note the improvements in relation to the car park.