No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Kenilworth

4AA Assessed Guest Accommodation Ratings explained
44 Osborne Rd, Jesmond, , Newcastle Upon Tyne, NE2 2AL
Situated within walking distance of Newcastle city centre, The Kenilworth is a well established family run hotel, offering comfortable, contemporary rooms with modern en suite bathrooms; good home cooked food and a well stocked bar. Free on site parking is available to all guests to the rear of the hotel and free WiFi is standard throughout the property.

A hearty breakfast is served in our downstairs restaurant with a good choice of cereals, yoghurts, fruit and traditional English breakfast , waitress served to your table. Evening meals are also served nightly upto 9pm with a wide selection of beers, wines and cocktails from the in house bar.

The Kenilworth welcomes both business and leisure travellers and guarantees a warm welcome to all.

Picture of The Kenilworth, Newcastle Upon Tyne at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 61 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
67% recommended this accommodation to a friend 70% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bar with rooms
This was a bar with rooms. The rooms require considerable maintenance.

ManagementResponse

Thank you for your review. The Kenilworth is classified as 4 star Guest Accommodation by the AA and was scored highly by during the recent AA inspection. Certain standards have to be met to achieve this and the property surpassed the required minimum in all categories. Constant maintenance is carried out with all rooms having been decorated this year; new bathrooms in all but 2 of the bedrooms with plans for the final 2 imminent and new carpets to most rooms. In addition, the breakfast room has been refurbished this summer. We feel that we are diligent in attending to maintenance issues and are constantly reinvesting in our property.

Reviewed by
A Kirk

From Craigavon, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

a little down at heel but comfortable bed
We found it a little scruffy and down at heel. It looked nothing like the rooms we had seen on the website which had bright bedspreads and cushions. We found the smell of the breakfasts being cooked very early quite overpowering and said breakfasts for us were inedible - we didn't bother on the 2nd day. The staff were friendly and welcoming and the bed was comfortable but we found the lack of a couple of comfortable chairs or a sofa problematic - perching on the bed to watch tv at night was very uncomfortable - the room photos had shown a sofa in the type of room we had chosen.

Reviewed by
Sue G

From Sale, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Medioka
The only reason we booked this place was because it was a last minute reservation and one of the cheapest we could find at the time. Our stay was pleasant however my two major criticisms for the place is 1. The Parking is tiny and it's either a case of once you're in there is no getting out of your spot because other people just leave their cars in any available spot they can find which blocks other cars OR you will have to park elsewhere and the parking around the hotel is chargeable at certain times during the day. It should really state in the description of the hotel that it is limited parking as there is no way there is enough space for all the guests. There is atleast 9 rooms, no way can fit 9 cars properly.
2. Is the smell as you walk in to the hotel, not pleasant a all, I have to say the rooms are quite clean however when you first walk in it's dark and quite worn out and smells a little dirty.
Other than that the place is in a lovely location, plenty of bars, great night life and the breakfast was nice.

ManagementResponse

Thank you for your review and we are so pleased that you had a comfortable stay with us. However, to clarify the parking situation; we have 11 bedrooms and 11 parking spaces making us, pro rata, the hotel with the largest car park in Jesmond. Since your stay we have repainted the car park bays to make it easier for guests to park and to prevent anybody from getting blocked in. We also note your comments about the car park entrance and agree with you that this is perhaps the least attractive area of the hotel We are however working within the constraints imposed by the nature of our building, a Victorian conversion which can make the entrance seem a little dark. The smell referred to was a residual side effect of some essential plumbing work which is now completed. We have recently refurbished the porch leading into the hotel and this is decorated at least every 6 weeks and is well lit at night. We thank you for your feedback and are confident that our rooms and service are far from mediocre. Should you visit us again, we hope that you will note the improvements in relation to the car park.

Reviewed by
S Uddin

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quite acceptable if you're looking for a bed
First appearances are not encouraging but actually the experience is OK. The hotel is one of the smaller establishments on Osborne Road and it seems to suffer because of this. Parking is behind the hotel and the way in from the car park is rather depressing. Reception is at the bar and in our case was handled competently and quickly. Our room was on the first floor and the outlook was over the derelict garden next door! However, the room itself was clean and tidy having apparently been recently redecorated. Both room and bathroom were of a good size. The bed proved to be very comfortable. Despite concerns that there might be noise from those watching football downstairs, the hotel was very quiet and a good night's sleep was had. Breakfast offered a good choice of cereals, yoghurt and fruit, with hot drinks to choice brought to the table very quickly. All the variations right up to a full English was available and ours was brought to the table quickly. Poached eggs, ever easy, were perfectly done. We stayed two nights and ate locally, one night at the Indian restaurant and the second at Antico Italian restaurant, both within a five minute walk. The meal at Antico was one of the best we've every had - ambience, service and food were all excellent and the price was very good. The clientele covered all ages and the restaurant was obviously very popular. But back to the hotel - we don't know that we would necessarily choose it again, but it was definitely fit for purpose. Probably groups of younger people out for a fun weekend would think it was just right, and for them it would be.

Reviewed by
Michael P

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

June 2014
Excellent bed!

Reviewed by
Laurence L

From , UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Conveniently located, friendly and excellent value for money
Good sized room, clean and well-decorated. Friendly and very helpful proprietor.

Reviewed by
M Gordon

From Battle, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

convenient and good value
Stayed one night when collecting my son and his worldly goods at the end of his first year at the University. I booked at the last minute, and was able to park in the last of the parking spaces at the back of the hotel. Room was comfortable and clean with good en-suite facilities. Staff very friendly. My room faced onto Osbourne Road, but I was not disturbed by any noise (Tues night)

Reviewed by
Iain N

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

2 Nights away
We arrived at the Hotel early parked in their car park and was met by a pleasant young man who gladly let us book in early, we were shown to our room which was over the bar (Even though we asked for a quiet room)
The room was large clean and well equipt, the ensuite had a shower basin and toilet, this looked a little tired (cracked hand basin, split flooring) but was functional and had plenty of space (you could shut the door when bending to clean you teeth!!)
The Bar down stairs stopped its music at 11.30pm so had no concern about being over the bar after all but the Bar next door was noisy and music continued till much later ( I know the hotel can not do anything about this)
The hotel had a number of young single sex parties staying; on the first night there was a lot of noise at approx. 3pm but the secound night after they had checked out it was nice and quiet.
The breakfasts were good with plenty of choice and service with a smile.
I would be happy to stay here again and have already recomended it to a friend, I would say £5 a night cheaper would be appropriate but I am always looking for the best deal!!!!!

ManagementResponse

We are delighted that this guest enjoyed his stay and thank him for the recommendation. The bathroom issues have been resolved with new flooring and a new washbasin and vanity unit in the ensuite. The room he stayed in was recently soundproofed to avoid disturbance from the bar which can be lively on Friday and Saturday nights during university term time. We look forward to welcoming all guests back to The Kenilworth.

Reviewed by
ANDREW C

From Belper, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great web site
Review should read; a great location with access to the university and town centre. Friendly staff, basic accomodation suffering from fatigue, above a bar, busy with students at weekends. Hearty breakfast included.
Excellent web site manages to oversell the accomodation on offer
If you want to avoid the morning city traffic and have work nearby then it could be a good choice on a fixed budget

ManagementResponse

Thank you for your review and we have noted your comments. We are a budget hotel but believe that we offer good value with added extra such as complimentary toiletries and biscuits often not found within our price bracket. Our rooms are constantly maintained and virtually all bathrooms have been replaced this year. Added to this, as a family run hotel, we offer an excellent service to all guests. Our website reflects this, if anything rooms have been upgraded since the last set of photographs!

Reviewed by
david w

From ecouen, France
Who stayed in May 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value budget hotel
Just required one night stay , location was good so we walked and used bus to and from city centre.
Staff were very welcoming and friendly.
Coffee, tea and biscuits in room.
Very comfortable bed a good night's sleep with no noise from the surrounding area.
We both had full English breakfast which was well cooked and plenty of it.
For value I would recommend it.

Reviewed by
S Johnson

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next