No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Kenilworth

4AA Assessed Guest Accommodation Ratings explained
44 Osborne Rd, Jesmond, , Newcastle Upon Tyne, NE2 2AL
Situated within walking distance of Newcastle city centre, The Kenilworth is a well established family run hotel, offering comfortable, contemporary rooms with modern en suite bathrooms; good home cooked food and a well stocked bar. Free on site parking is available to all guests to the rear of the hotel and free WiFi is standard throughout the property.

A hearty breakfast is served in our downstairs restaurant with a good choice of cereals, yoghurts, fruit and traditional English breakfast , waitress served to your table. Evening meals are also served nightly upto 9pm with a wide selection of beers, wines and cocktails from the in house bar.

The Kenilworth welcomes both business and leisure travellers and guarantees a warm welcome to all.

Picture of The Kenilworth, Newcastle Upon Tyne at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 58 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
68% recommended this accommodation to a friend 72% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value budget hotel
Just required one night stay , location was good so we walked and used bus to and from city centre.
Staff were very welcoming and friendly.
Coffee, tea and biscuits in room.
Very comfortable bed a good night's sleep with no noise from the surrounding area.
We both had full English breakfast which was well cooked and plenty of it.
For value I would recommend it.

Reviewed by
S Johnson

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely, clean, friendly hotel. Would defo stay again. Good location with lots of bars close by and the city centre a two minute taxi ride away.

Reviewed by
kerry l

From Dundee, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Owner is a really nice guy could not be more accommodating.

Reviewed by
Christian Smith

From Droitwich, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Newcastle two day trip
Very dark on entry !! Friendly staff could not be more helpfully. The room was comfortable but hole in bathroom floor sink had big crack and ceiling mouldy but bed comfortable . Would go back but different room would complain if paid full price .

ManagementResponse

Thank you for your review and we are pleased that you found your room comfortable. We have noted your comments and would like to assure guests that these complaints have been remedied. We have replaced the sink and flooring in the bathroom which unfortunately had been cracked by a previous guest. In relation to the ceiling- this had already been repaired by our roofer externally as we had a couple of slates blown off-and has now been repainted internally: the marks were not mould but water marks caused by the missing slates. We have also had the downstairs areas redecorated in a lighter colour scheme as we also felt that it was too dark and hope that should the Walker family return to the hotel, they will be impressed by recent improvements as part of our ongoing programme to ensure customer comfort and satisfaction.

Reviewed by
A Walker

From Turriff, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quality but not costly
Have stayed here a few times now. Rooms have plenty of space for me, though it is hard to watch tv at night on the edge of a four poster bed. Shower was great, plenty of hot water.
Had a cracking hand made burger at the bar, well recommended.
Breakfast is cooked to order and worth the money.
I will be back.

Reviewed by
N Coneybear

From Peterborough, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

clean and tidy
Slept well and food good

Reviewed by
Graham Kilbey

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not quite the hotel I expected
The hotel was very noisy - there were people walking around in the rooms above me most of the night and the floorboards were very creaky!
I had booked 2 x double rooms for myself and my colleague but his room did not have a double but two twin beds pushed together which meant he had a gap down the middle and at 6'2 this was uncomfortable. He also had blinds rather than curtains which were a few inches away from the window so the light from the car park shone into his room all night meaning he did not get much sleep. In the morning his shower would only provide hot water if it was at a low level on the shower rail ie if he had it at the height he needed for the shower it was cold!

ManagementResponse

We are aware of the problem with the shower in this room and have now rectified it. The room has recently been totally refurbished and we apologise if this guest experienced teething problems with the new plumbing. The bed in this room is a king size zip and link bed, custom made for hotels and not simply 2 beds pushed together. We have these beds in some of our larger rooms to allow flexibility for guests requesting separate beds in family size rooms and they are covered by extra thick mattress protectors which add an extra layer of comfort The roman blinds are blackout blinds and made to measure. In relation to the noise,our building is a Victorian conversion, not a purpose built chain, which we believe gives it character but, we accept that some of the floorboards may be a little creaky. All rooms have very thick carpets to combat this and we do not generally receive negative feedback regarding this.

Reviewed by
G Gray

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good clean room

Reviewed by
P Johnson

From Ashford, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice enough place to stay in Jesmond, easy walk from metro
The hotel is above Ru Bar on Osborne Road, which is nice but has the feel of a local's pub and was very quiet on the night I arrived, so a little daunting. The room itself was nice and quiet and out of the way, and easy to access from the bar or the side door - although up lots of steps so perhaps not suitable for everyone. The bed was super comfy - softer than I'm used to but very cosy, and the shower was great once I got the hang of which way the temperature went (part of the dial cover was missing). The ensuite was actually lovely in general. The worst thing for me was that I was unable to get on to the wifi but as I was only staying one night I didn't chase it up so it may have been fixable. The only other thing I would change is making more time for a cooked breakfast as it sounded great - also with a veggie alternative - but I left in a bit of a rush. The couple who run the place were lovely, and I would stay there again. Jesmond is a nice area with a choice of bars around and easy access to the city centre.

Reviewed by
K Shah

From Leicester, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good clean hotel
Nice basic hotel with free parking, well furnished rooms, polite and welcoming staff, menu is limited but they are very good.

Reviewed by
C Boddy

From Bolton, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next