No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Westwood

3Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
Torrs Park, , , Ilfracombe, EX34 8AZ
Located in the coastal town of Ilfracombe on the North Devon Coast is Westwood, a large Victorian house offering luxurious contemporary B&B accommodation. Westwood provides an ideal base for walkers, surfers, golfers, shooters, foodies, business travellers or anyone looking to escape the hustle and bustle of modern life. What ever your reason for staying with us at Westwood, you'll find plenty to keep you occupied during the day and then be able to enjoy the local award winning pubs and fine restaurants such as Damien Hirst's No 11 the Quay in the evening. We have three stylish and luxurious double bedrooms, all with sleek and modern en-suite facilities. Our Master room offers the ultimate in luxury with an en-suite bathroom featuring a roll top bath and separate shower cubicle. Each of our rooms is beautifully decorated and has a unique style. All beds are either King or super King size (this premium room, can be booked with two single beds if required), have pocket sprung mattresses and are covered with luxury feather and down duvets. All bedding is quality Egyptian cotton and anti-allergy pillows are available upon request. Please Note: We are a No-Smoking property. Regrettably, we cannot accept pets. Children welcome. Check-In time: 1600 and Check-Out time: 1100.
Picture of Westwood, Ilfracombe at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 8 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
100% recommended this accommodation to a friend 98% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Outstanding B&B - will never stay anywhere else in Ilfracombe
Westwood is a beautiful late Victorian house with large rooms, high ceilings, big windows, and superb views. It has been beautifully updated and modishly decorated by the proprietor. We stayed in the big room on the second floor, which has recently had a large and beautiful bathroom added. The step beyond that takes this B&B into the level of luxury accommodation is the detail - top quality bedlinen, superbly comfortable beds, exquisitely selected antique furniture (stuff from the 1960s is now antique!) and such pleasing details as real coffee and a mini-caffetiere in the room, delicious hand-baked biscuits, fluffy bathrobes, good quality bath and shower gel. The breakfast was truly wonderful, and included the most delicious pork sausage I have ever tasted, sourced from the local butcher in the High Street. Helen is a wonderfully warm and friendly host, with excellent local knowledge. I have stayed in a number of other B&Bs and hotels in Ilfracombe and this is simply the best - I will never stay anywhere else and if it's full I will wait till they have room free.

Reviewed by
Andrea H

From Oxford, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Highly recommended!
We enjoyed our brief stay. The owner was welcoming and professional. We had a beautiful and quiet room with amazing view. There was also a large breakfast served in the morning. Ticks all the boxes!

Reviewed by
Anna C

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Superb hotel, very welcoming and overall a lovely stay, couple of niggly bits...
The hotel was absolutely near perfect. We stopped for 2 nights and thoroughly enjoyed our visit. We was well greeted and warmly welcomed in. The room itself was large, along with great facilities. Decent sized TV for when we got back in the evening to watch in bed. Kingsize soft bed. Couple of chairs so you can sit by the window and take a lovely view of the town. Also optional blankets for those warmer evenings.
Just a couple of minor issues we have to be honest about though.
The breakfast on morning 1 (2nd morning wasn't an issue), had 2 what looked like dog hairs that I had to seperate from my food.
The bathroom needs mats near shower on the floor.
Also perhaps a small fan for the rooms just so don't have to have both windows open in the heat.
And a pre-warning for a very steep drive, would suggest any cars that are lower than most to park on street.
Very minor points though and would insist people to stop at this hotel as it was lust to say the least. Happy customer here!

ManagementResponse

Thank you for taking the time to right a review for Westwood. I'm delighted that you enjoyed your stay.Im sorry that you didn't bring the points you mention to my attention while you were here. We pride ourselves on our hygiene in the kitchen and can only apologies for a stray hair if it came from this direction. I would have immediately offered you an alternative breakfast. I've noted your other comments and whilst we don't offer fans in the rooms and can't alter our driveway, I will take up the missing mat with housekeeping as all bathrooms should have bath mats.

Reviewed by
A Bolton

From Tewkesbury, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

would definitely stay again
This was a really lovely hotel style b&b, excellent customer service and attention to detail. We are both celiac's which was cater for brilliantly.

Reviewed by
felicity shapter

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

fantastic definitely will return
Lovely accomodation, rooms excellent, breakfast ten out ten!
well situated from the town just a short walk , tip for parking park on the road as quite a steep drive !
host very nice i will be returning !

Reviewed by
nicholas johnson

From Swindon, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

STYLISH BOUTIQUE B & B
This Guest House is tucked away in a quiet street within a short walking distance of Ilfracombe.The Owner made us feel very welcome.
The accommodation was stylish and was exactly as photographed on web page
Wouldnt hesitate to recommend

Reviewed by
Paul M

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful stay
A beautiful house, really comfortable bed, delicious breakfast, fabulous hostess - what more could youask?

Reviewed by
Tim A

From Teddington, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

anniversary stay.
Everythingi was lovely only thing for me was not having a plug near the mirror to dry my hair.

Reviewed by
L Walton

From Hook, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.