Reviews - Westwood


Torrs Park, ,, Ilfracombe, EX34 8AZ

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (14)

100% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service

Food quality

Room quality


  • Paul Spencer

  • October 2015

Excellent Hotel

We were met by a very pleasant lady/owner who upgraded our room with out us asking due to a cancelation.

The quality of this room was fantastic. The mattress was second to none. We had a brilliant 2 nights sleep. The shower was very modern and again very good. Normally there is always something to moan about in any hotel but for once this was very good

  • Charles golby

  • September 2015

Post retirement break

Excellent experience from arrival to departure.

Helen could not have been more welcoming. Breakfast excellent local produce. Felt looked after from booking restaurants and taxis to local knowledge. Would not hesitate to go again.

  • Rob G

  • March 2015

Birthday surprise

I booked this guest house as a surprise for my wife's birthday.

We were meeting some friends there although my wife was unaware of this. The owner is a lovely lady, called Helen, and she was there to greet us on our arrival. She was very helpful and obliging, and went out of her way to make our stay as pleasant as she possibly could. The room was absolutely wonderful (room 1), beautifully decorated, with a large en suite and the bed was very comfortable. Breakfast was to a very high standard with plenty of choice. I would highly recommend this guest house to anyone staying in Ilfracombe.

  • Simon W

  • February 2015

Cosy stay

Nice owner, good location and cosy place to stay.

Could do with room being updated (bathroom/shower). Owner recommended fantastic local pubs and restaurants.

  • C Alexander

  • November 2014


Well deserved 6/6 - not just clean, professional, lovely room, excellent food - but most important of all friendly service and made to feel right at home.

Well done on such a lovely Bed and Breakfast

  • James C

  • October 2014

Excellent customer service, great food and breathtaking views of the town.

What a great place with a real welcome you need after a long journey.

Breakfast was superb, wish evening meals were available. Only issue was the steep drive and parking in the drive although plenty of room on the road. Night lights would be great. Definitely can recommend to anyone.

  • D Hine

  • September 2014

Top Notch

Westwood is lovely in all aspects.

Breakfast is great, room is great and our host, Helen, couldn't be more helpful. Ilfracombe has eateries for all tastes and budgets and there's good local walks. The driveway is a bit steep but you could park on the street.

  • Andrea H

  • September 2014

Outstanding B&B - will never stay anywhere else in Ilfracombe

Westwood is a beautiful late Victorian house with large rooms, high ceilings, big windows, and superb views.

It has been beautifully updated and modishly decorated by the proprietor. We stayed in the big room on the second floor, which has recently had a large and beautiful bathroom added. The step beyond that takes this B&B into the level of luxury accommodation is the detail - top quality bedlinen, superbly comfortable beds, exquisitely selected antique furniture (stuff from the 1960s is now antique!) and such pleasing details as real coffee and a mini-caffetiere in the room, delicious hand-baked biscuits, fluffy bathrobes, good quality bath and shower gel. The breakfast was truly wonderful, and included the most delicious pork sausage I have ever tasted, sourced from the local butcher in the High Street. Helen is a wonderfully warm and friendly host, with excellent local knowledge. I have stayed in a number of other B&Bs and hotels in Ilfracombe and this is simply the best - I will never stay anywhere else and if it's full I will wait till they have room free.

  • Anna C

  • August 2014

Highly recommended!

We enjoyed our brief stay.

The owner was welcoming and professional. We had a beautiful and quiet room with amazing view. There was also a large breakfast served in the morning. Ticks all the boxes!

  • A Bolton

  • July 2014

Superb hotel, very welcoming and overall a lovely stay, couple of niggly bits...

The hotel was absolutely near perfect.

We stopped for 2 nights and thoroughly enjoyed our visit. We was well greeted and warmly welcomed in. The room itself was large, along with great facilities. Decent sized TV for when we got back in the evening to watch in bed. Kingsize soft bed. Couple of chairs so you can sit by the window and take a lovely view of the town. Also optional blankets for those warmer evenings. Just a couple of minor issues we have to be honest about though. The breakfast on morning 1 (2nd morning wasn't an issue), had 2 what looked like dog hairs that I had to seperate from my food. The bathroom needs mats near shower on the floor. Also perhaps a small fan for the rooms just so don't have to have both windows open in the heat. And a pre-warning for a very steep drive, would suggest any cars that are lower than most to park on street. Very minor points though and would insist people to stop at this hotel as it was lust to say the least. Happy customer here!