Reviews - Hedgefield House


Hedgefield House, Stella Road Ryton, Newcastle Upon Tyne, NE21 4LR

Price From 87.22 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (29)

93% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service

Food quality

Room quality


  • Paul Brooking

  • October 2014

A secluded small hotel, yet close to Newcastle, which is very quiet and set in lovely grounds.

My room was very spacious with a king size bed, comfortable chairs, TV, wi-fi. Shower room adjoined the bedroom down a short corridor and was entirely private. Only downside to my stay was the shower itself which was modern, clean but lacked water pressure - not really surprising in an older property. I have rated food as 4 only because the choice is limited to a continental breakfast which was perfectly adequate but for myself I would prefer a cooked breakfast.

  • Tom K

  • October 2014

Hedgefield House

Really friendly staff, showed me to my room and recommended nearby restaurants to eat at.

Really nice hotel to stay at with plenty of on site parking and good wi fi access too. Cant wait to stay here again. Fantastic value for money and lovely clean, modern room. Thanks

  • s palmer

  • October 2014

Quirky, Clean and well positioned for the airport

This hotel was a welcome haven.

I wanted a hotel close (ish) to the airport. It took only 15 minutes to get there albeit early. The room was clean and adequately met my needs even though it wasn't en-suite. Only small downside is that my sleep was interrupted by noise in the room next door (creaking floor boards, banging of doors with the noise carrying through fairly thin walls) and the car park directly outside.

  • Janet B

  • July 2014

Pleasant Retreat

The setting was lovely and the accommodation good.

The dining room service was attentive but not intrusive. The staff were obliging and helpful.

  • Gary M

  • June 2014

Outstanding value

I would highly recommend this beautiful hotel nice and quiet location with stunning surroundings.

  • karen m

  • June 2014

Warm welcome

Friendly hosts

Dusty skirting boards

Plugs difficult to use as in close proximity to floor

Hair on floor in bathroom, gathered with dust in the corners

Bed sheets fresh and clean

Good wardrobe space

Good location close enough to city in taxi

Pub and restaurant within 5 mins walk and open from 1200h

Continental Breakfast fresh and varied

Pleasant grounds

Decor of room a little haphazard but that's just personal taste

Hairdryer available to use in room

Seating in grounds of building good for a sunny day

  • R Welsh

  • May 2014

Not bad for the price

Generally this hotel is in a nice quiet location and is pleasant enough to stay in.

it was clean and comfortable. Set in a pleasant location, amongst woodlands. If I had been able to stay more than one night I may have got to see the wild life that it claims to be roaming around it's grounds. the only problem I had was the breakfast. Only continental, no full English. In saying that though I would like to pay it another visit sometime and maybe stay a little longer

  • D Hughes

  • April 2014

Excellent room - very clean, quiet and well presented

I booked for 2 day night business trip.

I have stayed in some 7 hotel rooms via Laterooms for business purposes over the last few years and this was the best. Very clean and well presented. Also very quiet and an excellent price. I would throughly recommend this place and would very much like to come back and stay here with my wife if I ever come up to the Newcastle area.

  • J Foster

  • January 2014

Quiet, clean and simple.

Lovely B&B situated half way up the hill in Blaydon, just outside of Newcastle-upon-Tyne, with nice gardens and view.

Pub and restaurant easy walking distance. Pleasant, helpful staff. Room small, but adequate and meticulously clean. Bathroom across hall serves several rooms and can be busy, but small sink in room will suffice for ablutions. Would happily stay again.