Reviews - Hedgefield House


Hedgefield House, Stella Road Ryton, Newcastle Upon Tyne, NE21 4LR

Price From 87.22 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (29)

93% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service

Food quality

Room quality


  • Barry H

  • January 2015

A hidden treasure in newcastle

An absolutely beautiful tranquil place, the owner David was very accommodating and obliging, some very unusual furniture, fixtures and fittings, a really unusual and quirky place.

The grounds are beautifully manicured and kitted out with some unusual but fabulous wind sculptures, we didn't get up in time for breakfast because of our late arrival back at the house (we stayed New Year's Eve!!!') however the breakfast room looked splendid full of period fittings, will definitely be back and would highly recommend. Fabulous place.

  • Aaron T

  • December 2014

1 night stay

The room was a touch small for £69 a night but was very clean and quiet.

The shared bathrooms were very nicely decorated but the shower was as weak as a kitten and getting the temperature right was a bit of an art form. The host was very nice when we saw him and gave clear instructions on what key was for what etc. I would stay again but I do like a good power shower in the morning to blow off the cobwebs


  • December 2014

Beats staying at bland hotel chains nearby

Ever since we ditched staying at chains, our nights have got better.

This hotel was lovely, festive and offered a great sized room with a brilliant continental breakfast at around 30% less than nearby hotels. The service was personable, free parking was on offer and it was less than a mile from where I needed to be. This place will surprise you - it is lovely. Even perfect for leisure and dare I say it, ... romantic weekends away. :)

  • Joe Murphy

  • December 2014

What A Find...!

Brilliant breakfast.

Ultra clean bed linen. Lovely House. Recommend to anyone.

  • Ian Deumayne-Jones

  • December 2014

Very interesting place to stay

Lovely old house, close to all the amenities.

Didn't have time to sample the breakfast, but if it was anything like the quality of the room, it must be special.

  • Emily B

  • November 2014

quaint and comfortable

It was clean and tidy and decorated nicely.

However the walls are quite thin between the rooms;the neighbours were fairly chatty.

  • Elaine A

  • November 2014


A very clean well presented room, lovely place will be back !

  • Jessica B

  • November 2014

Quaint and comfortable

Lovely hotel away from the hustle and bustle of the city of Newcastle.

The room and shared bathrooms were done to an exceptionally high standard. The only thing I would say (and this is a matter of personal choice!) is that I would have preferred a larger duvet for the bed as my boyfriend hogged the duvet. The continental breakfast was enjoyable and the staff were pleasant and welcoming. I would definitely recommend this hotel and would certainly stay there again.

  • Tom K

  • November 2014

Hedgefield House

Would recommend this hotel to anyone.

A real find.

Staff are really helpful and friendly. Great breakfast in the morning

Good pub nearby for the an evening meal and a really nice Italian Restaurant nearby

  • k batham

  • October 2014

Business stay

When arrived to the hotel I was greeted by a lady who immediately asked for payment for the room.

I had not even seen the room.. She took me to the room which was very clean and tidy if a little overwhelming with all of the Georgian furniture and massive radiator on the floor. Hotel did not serve evening meals so had to go to local pub for dinner. Breakfast was OK nothing special.