No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Hedgefield House

4Visit England Assessed Guest Accommodation Ratings explained
Hedgefield House, Stella Road Ryton, Newcastle Upon Tyne, NE21 4LR
Welcome to Hedgefield House, a stunning Georgian mansion set in four acres of beautiful award- winning gardens, on the edge of the Northumbrian countryside. The house has a colourful history, prior to being converted into guest accommodation. Dating back to 1804, we have documented evidence that Hedgefield House was the first home in Britain to have a telephone installed. In 1877, the inventor of the telephone, Alexander Graham Bell, made the first experimental phone call from the drawing room to the local coal mine. We are ideally situated only 10 minutes from the city centre and Gateshead Metro shopping complex and 10 minutes walk to historic Ryton village, with its numerous cafes and restaurants. We are also only a short distance from the River Tyne and the Hadrian’s Wall walk. Its location makes it perfect for hikers, bikers and city visitors. All en-suite rooms are decorated and furnished in lavish French Louis style and are well equipped, maintaining many original features. A continental breakfast is also included. We have great leisure facilities for our guests to use, including a sauna, gym and relaxation area. Free parking is available for guests.
Picture of Hedgefield House, Newcastle Upon Tyne at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 32 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
91% recommended this accommodation to a friend 91% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Superb
A very clean well presented room, lovely place will be back !

Reviewed by
Elaine A

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quaint and comfortable
Lovely hotel away from the hustle and bustle of the city of Newcastle. The room and shared bathrooms were done to an exceptionally high standard. The only thing I would say (and this is a matter of personal choice!) is that I would have preferred a larger duvet for the bed as my boyfriend hogged the duvet! The continental breakfast was enjoyable and the staff were pleasant and welcoming. I would definitely recommend this hotel and would certainly stay there again.

Reviewed by
Jessica B

From Tarporley, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hedgefield House
Would recommend this hotel to anyone. A real find.
Staff are really helpful and friendly. Great breakfast in the morning
Good pub nearby for the an evening meal and a really nice Italian Restaurant nearby

Reviewed by
Tom K

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Business stay
When arrived to the hotel I was greeted by a lady who immediately asked for payment for the room. I had not even seen the room..
She took me to the room which was very clean and tidy if a little overwhelming with all of the Georgian furniture and massive radiator on the floor.
Hotel did not serve evening meals so had to go to local pub for dinner.
Breakfast was OK nothing special.

Reviewed by
k batham

From Tamworth, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quirky, Clean and well positioned for the airport
This hotel was a welcome haven. I wanted a hotel close (ish) to the airport. It took only 15 minutes to get there albeit early. The room was clean and adequately met my needs even though it wasn't en-suite. Only small downside is that my sleep was interrupted by noise in the room next door (creaking floor boards, banging of doors with the noise carrying through fairly thin walls) and the car park directly outside.

Reviewed by
s palmer

From Guisborough, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hedgefield House
Really friendly staff, showed me to my room and recommended nearby restaurants to eat at. Really nice hotel to stay at with plenty of on site parking and good wi fi access too. Cant wait to stay here again. Fantastic value for money and lovely clean, modern room. Thanks

Reviewed by
Tom K

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A secluded small hotel, yet close to Newcastle, which is very quiet and set in lovely grounds. My room was very spacious with a king size bed, comfortable chairs, TV, wi-fi. Shower room adjoined the bedroom down a short corridor and was entirely private. Only downside to my stay was the shower itself which was modern, clean but lacked water pressure - not really surprising in an older property.
I have rated food as 4 only because the choice is limited to a continental breakfast which was perfectly adequate but for myself I would prefer a cooked breakfast.

Reviewed by
Paul Brooking

From Knutsford, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant Retreat
The setting was lovely and the accommodation good. The dining room service was attentive but not intrusive. The staff were obliging and helpful.

Reviewed by
Janet B

From Halifax, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Outstanding value
I would highly recommend this beautiful hotel nice and quiet location with stunning surroundings.

Reviewed by
Gary M

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Warm welcome
Friendly hosts
Dusty skirting boards
Plugs difficult to use as in close proximity to floor
Hair on floor in bathroom, gathered with dust in the corners
Bed sheets fresh and clean
Good wardrobe space
Good location close enough to city in taxi
Pub and restaurant within 5 mins walk and open from 1200h
Continental Breakfast fresh and varied
Pleasant grounds
Decor of room a little haphazard but that's just personal taste
Hairdryer available to use in room
Seating in grounds of building good for a sunny day

Reviewed by
karen m

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next