Reviews - The Half Moon Inn


high street ripley, Woking, GU236AN

Price From 151.60 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (23)

70% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service

Food quality

Room quality


  • Ian D

  • November 2015

Great friendly hotel

Basic clean hotel, staff very good nothing to much trouble.

Food very good. Will stay here again.

  • J bedford

  • September 2015


The full english breakfast was a bit on the small side and not what I have been used to.

  • Ann A

  • September 2015

Old pub in relatively quiet village.

We arrived soon after reccomended check in time, only to find 2 phone numbers on the front door to ring to check in neither of them were answered, so left a message.

Returned after an hour , no response to message. So rang again, owner answered and let us in. He was very apologetic. But had we arrived by taxi or train we would have had a wait in very heavy rain during that time. Room adequate, nothing special. Quite small, but clean, with good sized bathroom. We had a meal in the bar on the Saturday which was very nice, no atmosphere in the bar, only 3 other people in. The following day (Sunday) after a long day out, we went down to the bar and the pub and restaurant were closed. We should have been informed of this, then we could have booked a meal elsewhere. The half moon inn has great potential, but it is not being utilised. It's a great location, the owner is very friendly, and its in a lovely village. Don't think we will return.

  • Michael S

  • July 2015

Good stay for a night!

We stayed here on a Saturday night in the very nice village of Ripley.The staff were very friendly and gave us very helpful service.The room was small though with very creaking floor boards,and could do with some updating.Overall reasonable value for money and a decent breakfast in the morning.

  • D Thomas

  • July 2015

room size/ parking

Room was advertised as compact, but was so small that bed was hard against wall one side with no more than 2ft space on the other.

Ok for us as we only wanted somewhere to crash for the night, but imagine it would be difficult for the elderly/ disabled ( or fat). Other problem (more important to me) was the parking which was advertised as on site. It is not, it's round the back and is a public carpark for the village green/ crickets pitch/ childrens play area. Just to warn people who need safe parking for their car.

  • peter e

  • July 2015

Our one night stand, oops stay (twin beds)

Warmly welcomed and all we needed was on site, food drink and a good nights sleep.

Great position for RHS Wisley and local golf courses.

  • MATT C

  • July 2015

Looks can be deceiving

My room was in the cottage next to the pub.

Architecturally (indoors) it was the most beautiful accommodation I've had the pleasure of staying in, during my recent period of "nomad-ness". It also came with a very generous supply of bathroom products and tea/coffee. And a tv that worked, with no channels blocked (how very different from other hotels!) However - I never could get any hot water out of the bath/shower. Not in the mornings, and not at 11.45 pm. But, even if there hadn't been a hot water problem, it would not have been worth £90 per night. In truth such a high price is objectionable in the context of an Inn, much less a village inn.

  • Edmund B

  • June 2015

Very happy with our visit

Staff was very kind and friendly.

We enjoyed a delicious breakfast menu included in the price. Would stay here again and recommend to a friend. Room had a masculine flair.

  • Marianne F

  • January 2015

The Half Moon Inn

Warm and welcoming staff

Charming room bungalow - mine was ok for one person, far too small for a couple though

Internet very temperamental

Cleanness to improve ( expect paper basket to be emptied on a daily basis, for example)

  • John C

  • January 2015

The Half Moon Inn

Good accommodation for price quiet and clean.

Food Pub grub and plenty of it breakfast OK but basic.