No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Tophams Hotel

4Self Classified Town House Hotel Ratings explained
24-32 EBURY STREET , LONDON, SW1W 0LU
Originally a nineteenth century town house located in the heart of Belgravia, the hotel is renowned for its old-world charm and modern luxury.

All 48 guest bedrooms are tastefully decorated and ensure the ultimate in comfort and relaxation. If you are looking for a traditional yet modern English hotel experience, this is the place for you.

The Tophams Hotel enjoys an ideal location close to Buckingham Palace with Knightsbridge, the West End, and numerous shops and restaurants just a short walk away. The underground network, the bus terminal and all major airports are also easily accessible making this refurbished establishment an ideal starting point from which to discover the bustling city.

Picture of Tophams Hotel, LONDON at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 170 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
48% recommended this accommodation to a friend 51% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not as advertised
I booked a room at Topham's hotel, based upon the images and the listed facilities. Whilst I'm sure that some of these rooms are available, what I was provided was far from what was advertised.
It seems that the hotel has purchased another hotel in the same street and now manages both under the Tophams name. A quick google search showed that this hotel was a 2*, not the 4* that Tophams advertised. The room was small, poorly decorated, with low quality furniture. There was litter on top of the cupboard, the light fixture in the bathroom was broken, and there was no wifi or aircon as was advertised. Combined with the fact that the walls were so thin I could hear every movement the neighbour made made this an unplesant stay.

Reviewed by
H Smith

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good small boutique hotel by Victoria Station
Perfect for what I needed

Reviewed by
Patrick d

From Leysin, Other
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

If you need somewhere to stay for a visit its fine. Its not the Honeymoon suite though.
The hotel location was good and it was on a quiet area from our experience but then our room was just overlooking the rear yard so it would be quiet.
We had breakfast included in the price but then found the English Breakfast was extra, which was a bit tight.

Reviewed by
Steven B

From Hinckley, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

tried hard but failed
booked a single room and was upgraded to a double, but in the mews, had a huge bathroom but with flaking plaster and no free toiletries, which when paying £200 a night you would expect.
actual bedroom was ok but again all slightly below par for the cost of the room.
breakfast was a laugh 1 slice of white toast, one slice of brown and 2 very small danish pastries with tea/coffee and a glass of orange juice for which they would have charged £15 if it wasnt inclusive.
location is fine.

Reviewed by
ian a

From Melton Mowbray, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A 'unique' and 'interesting' place to stay
I found Tophams to be extremely well located and on first impressions, extremely high end. My initial room, whilst cosy had soaking wet carpets on either side of the bed (plus the TV remote didn't work and one of the blinds was damaged on one side). Given that a £30 damage deposit was taken from all guests, I reported what I had found to reception (as I didn't want this to be attributed to me). I was given an alternate room straight away, without any fuss which was kind.
My second room was much higher spec (the TV remote worked) and having a separate bath and shower was a real treat. However, some of the paint needed a touch up generally, there were no coat hangers in the wardrobe which meant I couldn't hang anything up, plus the shower was terrible - lots of limescale and it leaked out of the side and out of the door - so I had to use the spare towell to catch the excess and the air con didn't work. Plus there was no guest information folder in this room, whereas there was in the first one.
The restaurant food was priced far too high - £10 for soup and £20 for lasagne is unrealistic. The breakfast, although adequate, wasn't upto the same standard of chains like the Ibis (who charge £7.95) and Tophams between £15-20. Although it was nice to have waitress service, it wasn't necessary and I would have preferred a help-yourself approach. Plus for a continental breakfast at £15 to not have things like cold meats, yoghurts, platters of fresh fruits (instead of a basic pre prepared fruit salad), a wider selection of cereals and good quality jams and preserves was, I felt rather stingy.
If these issues are addressed, then I would stay here again and would recommend the hotel to others - however, if not, I probably wouldn't.

Reviewed by
R Dukes

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Soap and food.
It was a nice room, but as there was no real wow factor, so you start noticing things such as no soap in the bathroom. I wanted to wash my hands so I had to use the shower gel. There were two of us staying there, but just one shampoo & one shower gel miniature to share.
Minor complaints - but easily fixed with a little more attention to detail.
The Continental breakfast was OK at best.

Reviewed by
F McKee

From Maidenhead, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

smelly and hot
was just staying for the night, and it seemed like a good location (next to victoria, and green park) so expected good things. but my room stank of mould, was overly hot, my window was looked into by anyone passing on the street, and the bathroom had an open door just leading to a stock entrance. i didnt want to believe the other low star reviews, but do not stay here.

Reviewed by
A Brown

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Just a tad small ..

Reviewed by
Kavita K

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The receptionist was miserable and overworked , no manners of either please or thank you. Very little or no English spoken by staff members. The furniture in bedroom was chipped, the bathroom could do with some paintwork and uplift.
Not value for money stay. For £247 a night it was a very bad experience, no privacy in reception area when checking in or out. Check out was quite hectic, as the receptionist had to deal with phones too plus see to check out

Reviewed by
H Khan

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

the room was on the top floor, very hot and tiny. the curtain was broken so I couldn't open it. I could hear the lift going up and down all night long.

Reviewed by
Lucia Z

From , UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next