No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Tophams Hotel

4Self Classified Town House Hotel Ratings explained
24-32 EBURY STREET , LONDON, SW1W 0LU
Originally a nineteenth century town house located in the heart of Belgravia, the hotel is renowned for its old-world charm and modern luxury.

All 48 guest bedrooms are tastefully decorated and ensure the ultimate in comfort and relaxation. If you are looking for a traditional yet modern English hotel experience, this is the place for you.

The Tophams Hotel enjoys an ideal location close to Buckingham Palace with Knightsbridge, the West End, and numerous shops and restaurants just a short walk away. The underground network, the bus terminal and all major airports are also easily accessible making this refurbished establishment an ideal starting point from which to discover the bustling city.

Picture of Tophams Hotel, LONDON at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 172 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
48% recommended this accommodation to a friend 51% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice staff
For the price paid it was perfectly reasonable and central although there were lots water stains on ceilings. Wifi was tough to detect and the internet cable has had to be held in place to get a connection each time I have stayed. The reason I like going back is that the staff are very nice. I have not yet tried the food but will do so on my next trip.

Reviewed by
Hugo Birch

From Guernsey, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The room was a little dated and was rather small however it was fairly priced for a hotel so close to Victoria Rail Station and Buckingham Palace. It would be an ideal venue for people sight seeing in the centre of London or people on business who need rail access. The hotel has a beautiful reception

Reviewed by
Neil H

From Oldham, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

room rateing for tophams
Hi I stayed in room 403 . The only bad thing I can coment on would be that there was stains on the wall and stains on the chair and carpet that had iver not been cleaned or not washed of . .the window had no proper curtain .this was a problem when getting in and out of the shower people can see u getting changed I had to turn the lights of or block the window with the bathroom door being open .the only thing on the window was a see though ripped net curtain .I later found the proper curtain and the rail that had oveusley fell of the wall hiden in the cubed. The plaster on the wall was messy from wear it had been .and a new one not in its place. The only other thing I can coment on was that my room door did not lock from the inside the twist catch did not work and the chain was to wide that it did not fit inbetween the two bits of mettel there was no loop at the end or hook to catch it on .this was a little unsettleing when I had to have a shower as some one could easly open your door weather meaning to or just simply getting the room mixed up . Of a night it was a little unsettleing as I could here other gests going up and down the corodoor .and ketp wakeing up as I new my door was not locked. the rest of the room was nice and I would stay here again .I just think that these things should of been sorted befor the room was let to a guest. The location of the hotel was very nice not fare from sation and shops .

Reviewed by
H Jones

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Topham Hotel, Victoria, London Review 23.04.14
When I arrived at my room it was like a sauna - I turned the AC on full blast and left it running the whole night - it made no difference what so ever! I went to the toilet - the en suite door didn't lock. When I was in there I heard someone come into my room unannounced. After making myself known (couldn't come out as I was sitting on the throne!) - I received no reply or apology. I heard the door close before I got out of the bathroom. I went to wash my hands to find there was no soap - I had to use the complimentary shower gel. When i went back into the room, I discovered a second hair dryer had been left for me - not sure why (there was already one in there).
I had a sore head so I went to grab a glass to take some pain killers - the glasses were dirty, so I went through to the en suite to clean them and get some water, only to find that both the hot and cold tap in the sink and the bath ran scolding hot. So I had to take my pain killers with hot water and brush my teeth with hot water.
There were no terrestrial channels on the TV at all, only random free view channels, of which there was no logical order. The bed was like a trampoline! Whilst lying there trying not to disappear into the mattress, I noticed a lovely brown damp patch on the roof - obviously never been painted , following whatever leaking issues they had which, which I suppose matched the lovely bleach stain on the carpet!
I was kept awake the whole night by someone in the room next to me or above me, I'm not sure - talking all night long - there is no sound proofing at all. I doubt I would have been able to sleep anyway, as the outside windows were locked by a rickety latch - one shove and you would have been in the room beside me!
After my scolding hot shower in the morning, I went for my continental breakfast which left a lot to be desired!
The only positive thing I can say, is the hotel decor (minus the brown patch and bleach stain) was ok and it was clean enough (minus the glasses!).
Unfortunately I was down in London for business and simply didn't have the time to take these points up with the staff, I appreciate they may have addressed these points had I given them the opportunity.
However, the fact remains that this hotel claims to be 4 star and cost £147 for that one night stay - I can assure you it is NOT a 4 star hotel by anyone's standards and it was definitely not worth the money!
Never again - I would encourage everyone to stay clear!

Reviewed by
D Firmin

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel was at first overbooked.
Hotel was overbooked. The checkin desk was understaffed (only one person) aldough there were 2 trainees doing nothing. Check-in procedure was in effcicient and a lot of paperwork. After an discussion there were 2 room available but not the room we booked.

Reviewed by
R Weeda

From Netherlands
Who stayed in April 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Tophams Hotel
Fantastic location. Included breakfast but the listed "fresh fruit" was canned. Rooms small but clean. May want to have own shampoo & conditioner. TV was finicky. Fairly good internet connection.

Reviewed by
K Clark

From Anchorage, USA
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not what I expected
The photo and the price I paid did not satisfy me at all it was my wedding day and I expected a cozy room but it turned out a bed and cupboard thrown in

Reviewed by
Z Choudhury

From London, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

My stay
the first room (out of four !) flooded - staff not so concerned this was happening
the next room was a single room with a shared bathroom !
third room was in another building with a bathroom inside a cupboard - no working TV
Finally got a double room (after an hour) in another block
Would never stay here again or recommend to anyone - a shame as location is great the stay was complete let down and other too on the night were not happy.

Reviewed by
S Chudha

From London, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A truly awful experience
Booked for one night. Arrived in 'Executive double. There had clearly been a flood at some point - the walls were stained and finish ruined, plaster coming off, paint coming off, carpets ruined, smashed tiles on the bathroom floor, mould in the bathroom, lights in the ceiling not working - the room needed an overhaul. Complained Was offered another, much smaller room, which was split over two levels - not what we wanted. Could not offer another "Executive double", so was moved to another hotel "The Knightsbridge Green Hotel" as the hotel refused to give a refund. This hotel was clearly by the owner or chain - the websites are identical, etc. The second hotel was just as bad - probably worse actually, we were "upgraded" to a suite - this had a toilet stuck to the wall with gaffa tape, sockets in the room hanging off, cords on the blinds that are dangerous to a child, wardrobe doors that wouldn't close, thread bear carpets, broken/missing tiles in the bathroom and again mouldy uncleaned bits, stains on the skirting board and walls, wallpaper peeling off. Don't expect to sleep - the road outside is too noisy with inadequate glazing on the windows. By this point we had to go to the theatre so made sure the only thing that was clean was the bed - came back from theatre, tried to sleep, left as soon as possible in the morning.
Awful.

Reviewed by
Richard H

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

top stay at tophams
absolutely fab stay .. room was fine , upgraded to full English breakfast as room was a double not twin.. everyone was courteous helpful and polite..

Reviewed by
christine a

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next