Reviews - Tophams Hotel



Price From 802.21 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

All reviews (97)

45% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Caroline B

  • September 2014

Perfect for weekend break!

Stayed the weekend for a break away and was very happy with the accommodation.

Hotel was clean, friendly and welcoming. Would highly recommend and would definitely stay here again.

  • E Blair

  • September 2014

A short stay in London

Excellent location.

Friendly and helpful staff. Had booked twin bedded room - got room with double and single bed, so floor space very limited. Good value continental breakfast. Would have liked pot of coffee.

  • D Rosey

  • September 2014

Stylish small room in great location.

I stayed in room 4 on the ground floor & although it faced the road, it was very quiet.

The hotel has been refurbished fairly recently in a stylish modern fashion but the woodwork has become very scuffed and there are several stains on the carpet; the lampshade in my room needed replacing as had a huge watermark. The owners need to lift their game and maintain this otherwise charming little hotel properly and sack the present cleaners who obviously can't/won't see marks on walls etc. The bed was comfortable and the stone bathroom was lovely. This is a no-frills hotel so no bathrobe, shower cap, toothbrush. The staff were pleasant especially in the dining room. Strongly recommend guests have breakfast elsewhere as it is dire.

  • Pat A

  • September 2014


I arrived at the Topham Hotel at approx 19:30 tonight to be told that the room booked was not available.

I was shown to a room along the road at 50 Ebury Street which is the Eaton Square Hotel. The room is not as advertised, there is no internet, no climate control and the room is grubby. The shower is grimey and to be honest the room advertised on your website is NOT the room provided. I know the contract is between the hotel and I but I would not be staying here except for your website. I spoke to the manager in the morning who advised he would provide a full refund that afternoon.

  • N Garnham

  • September 2014

Crack Den

I had booked a twin room at Tophams only to arrive and be told my room was a double room and that we had to be moved into another hotel nearby down the road.

We entered this hotel and what can only be described as a crack den it was absolutely appalling. The second night we arrived back at Tophams and again our booked room had be re booked to someone else hence we had no choice but to endure another night at the crack den with no working shower. Never again !!!!!!!!

  • w webb

  • August 2014

very disappointed, poor standards for what we expected for 4*

the hotel we booked 'The Tophams Hotel' was over booked & alternative accommodation - 'The Knightsbridge Green Hotel' was below average - very disappointed.I have emailed the Topham hotel & I will forward you my email to your feedback email.

I would like to add the staff were very friendly.

  • H Smith

  • August 2014

Not as advertised

I booked a room at Topham's hotel, based upon the images and the listed facilities.

Whilst I'm sure that some of these rooms are available, what I was provided was far from what was advertised. It seems that the hotel has purchased another hotel in the same street and now manages both under the Tophams name. A quick google search showed that this hotel was a 2*, not the 4* that Tophams advertised. The room was small, poorly decorated, with low quality furniture. There was litter on top of the cupboard, the light fixture in the bathroom was broken, and there was no wifi or aircon as was advertised. Combined with the fact that the walls were so thin I could hear every movement the neighbour made made this an unplesant stay.

  • Patrick d

  • August 2014

Good small boutique hotel by Victoria Station

Perfect for what I needed

  • Steven B

  • July 2014

If you need somewhere to stay for a visit its fine. Its not the Honeymoon suite though.

The hotel location was good and it was on a quiet area from our experience but then our room was just overlooking the rear yard so it would be quiet.

We had breakfast included in the price but then found the English Breakfast was extra, which was a bit tight.

  • ian a

  • July 2014

tried hard but failed

booked a single room and was upgraded to a double, but in the mews, had a huge bathroom but with flaking plaster and no free toiletries, which when paying £200 a night you would expect.

actual bedroom was ok but again all slightly below par for the cost of the room. breakfast was a laugh 1 slice of white toast, one slice of brown and 2 very small danish pastries with tea/coffee and a glass of orange juice for which they would have charged £15 if it wasnt inclusive. location is fine.