Tophams Hotel

4

24-32 EBURY STREET, LONDON, SW1W 0LU

Price From 197.84 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

All reviews (125)

40% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Pat A

  • September 2014

Avoid

I arrived at the Topham Hotel at approx 19:30 tonight to be told that the room booked was not available.

I was shown to a room along the road at 50 Ebury Street which is the Eaton Square Hotel. The room is not as advertised, there is no internet, no climate control and the room is grubby. The shower is grimey and to be honest the room advertised on your website is NOT the room provided. I know the contract is between the hotel and I but I would not be staying here except for your website. I spoke to the manager in the morning who advised he would provide a full refund that afternoon.

  • N Garnham

  • September 2014

Crack Den

I had booked a twin room at Tophams only to arrive and be told my room was a double room and that we had to be moved into another hotel nearby down the road.

We entered this hotel and what can only be described as a crack den it was absolutely appalling. The second night we arrived back at Tophams and again our booked room had be re booked to someone else hence we had no choice but to endure another night at the crack den with no working shower. Never again !!!!!!!!

  • w webb

  • August 2014

very disappointed, poor standards for what we expected for 4*

the hotel we booked 'The Tophams Hotel' was over booked & alternative accommodation - 'The Knightsbridge Green Hotel' was below average - very disappointed.I have emailed the Topham hotel & I will forward you my email to your feedback email.

I would like to add the staff were very friendly.

  • H Smith

  • August 2014

Not as advertised

I booked a room at Topham's hotel, based upon the images and the listed facilities.

Whilst I'm sure that some of these rooms are available, what I was provided was far from what was advertised. It seems that the hotel has purchased another hotel in the same street and now manages both under the Tophams name. A quick google search showed that this hotel was a 2*, not the 4* that Tophams advertised. The room was small, poorly decorated, with low quality furniture. There was litter on top of the cupboard, the light fixture in the bathroom was broken, and there was no wifi or aircon as was advertised. Combined with the fact that the walls were so thin I could hear every movement the neighbour made made this an unplesant stay.

  • Patrick d

  • August 2014

Good small boutique hotel by Victoria Station

Perfect for what I needed

  • Steven B

  • July 2014

If you need somewhere to stay for a visit its fine. Its not the Honeymoon suite though.

The hotel location was good and it was on a quiet area from our experience but then our room was just overlooking the rear yard so it would be quiet.

We had breakfast included in the price but then found the English Breakfast was extra, which was a bit tight.

  • ian a

  • July 2014

tried hard but failed

booked a single room and was upgraded to a double, but in the mews, had a huge bathroom but with flaking plaster and no free toiletries, which when paying £200 a night you would expect.

actual bedroom was ok but again all slightly below par for the cost of the room. breakfast was a laugh 1 slice of white toast, one slice of brown and 2 very small danish pastries with tea/coffee and a glass of orange juice for which they would have charged £15 if it wasnt inclusive. location is fine.

  • R Dukes

  • June 2014

A 'unique' and 'interesting' place to stay

I found Tophams to be extremely well located and on first impressions, extremely high end.

My initial room, whilst cosy had soaking wet carpets on either side of the bed (plus the TV remote didn't work and one of the blinds was damaged on one side). Given that a £30 damage deposit was taken from all guests, I reported what I had found to reception (as I didn't want this to be attributed to me). I was given an alternate room straight away, without any fuss which was kind.

My second room was much higher spec (the TV remote worked) and having a separate bath and shower was a real treat. However, some of the paint needed a touch up generally, there were no coat hangers in the wardrobe which meant I couldn't hang anything up, plus the shower was terrible - lots of limescale and it leaked out of the side and out of the door - so I had to use the spare towell to catch the excess and the air con didn't work. Plus there was no guest information folder in this room, whereas there was in the first one. The restaurant food was priced far too high - £10 for soup and £20 for lasagne is unrealistic. The breakfast, although adequate, wasn't upto the same standard of chains like the Ibis (who charge £7.95) and Tophams between £15-20. Although it was nice to have waitress service, it wasn't necessary and I would have preferred a help-yourself approach. Plus for a continental breakfast at £15 to not have things like cold meats, yoghurts, platters of fresh fruits (instead of a basic pre prepared fruit salad), a wider selection of cereals and good quality jams and preserves was, I felt rather stingy.

If these issues are addressed, then I would stay here again and would recommend the hotel to others - however, if not, I probably wouldn't.

  • j scripps

  • June 2014

Clean but paint flaking off ceiling in shower

In general most of the staff where polite and courteous.However I have never before been asked for a £50 damage deposit when I had already paid in full for the room.

Appreciating that it was the weekend the choice of food for room service lacked luster we had a choice of ham and cheese or salmon and cream cheese but when we got the selection it was not cream cheese and the salmon was brown. to be fair we were not charged for the food but this needs attention.

  • F McKee

  • June 2014

Soap and food.

It was a nice room, but as there was no real wow factor, so you start noticing things such as no soap in the bathroom.

I wanted to wash my hands so I had to use the shower gel. There were two of us staying there, but just one shampoo & one shower gel miniature to share.

Minor complaints - but easily fixed with a little more attention to detail.

The Continental breakfast was OK at best.