No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Castleton Hotel

3Self Classified Small Hotel Ratings explained
164 SUSSEX GARDENS , LONDON, W2 1UD
Ideally located in the heart of London, this convenient hotel is situated adjacent to Hyde Park, and just 3 minutes walk from Paddington station and the Heathrow Express train service. Castleton Hotel offers a great location from where you can enjoy all that the city of London has to offer. Its close proximity to Paddington station means that you can be at Heathrow Airport in just 15 minutes. The famous shopping streets of Oxford Street, Regent Street and Bond Street are all nearby, as are most of London’s major attractions. The hotel’s comfortable rooms all have a TV and an en suite bathroom, while a full English breakfast is served in the restaurant each morning. The hotel is located in a quiet street in London’s Paddington/Lancaster Gate, from where you can go for a walk in nearby Hyde Park, or go shopping in one of the many shopping streets nearby.
the hotel also offers free WI - FI internet throughout the hotel.
the hotel also has a Car park costing £20.00 per day, must be reserved in advance over the telephone.
Picture of Castleton Hotel, LONDON at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 58 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
67% recommended this accommodation to a friend 72% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not a Restful Experience
The bedroom seemed fine on arrival but it overlooked some extractor fans (I think this is what they were) and the sash windows were not sound proof. These fans woke me up at 4am both nights of my stay meaning that I hardly slept. On the second night I tried to get a very early night however the thin ceilings and walls meant that was impossible. Buffet Breakfast was served without a smile in the basement. After looking to spend 2 nights in London to get some rest and avoid a commute I ended up more tired than had I travelled 4 hours a day. There may well be far quieter rooms than the one I stayed in but I wont be taking the risk.

Reviewed by
Rob F

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The twin room was tiny with very slim single beds, though this central, I suspect it is not unique in this. The lighting was dreadful, with not a chance of reading a book in there - an overhead light by the door and a wall light at the foot of the bed! The bathroom was OK though I had to ask reception for towels. Breakfast was basic, cheap and tasteless cereal, sausage, egg, beans and no veggie option, though endless tea. The tea/coffee/ milk in the room were not replaced for my 2nd night. Parking was safe and they let me leave the car there all day on the day I checked out, so that I coud sight-see without it.

Reviewed by
caroline w

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

room size.
the hotel in general was fine .My only complaint was that the "ensuite"bathroom was so small.You barely had room to turn around.On the plus side the room was clean the staff friendly and courteous and breakfast was good.Location was good.

Reviewed by
m knight

From Norwich, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfortable and very convenient - accessible yo station and Hyde Park

Reviewed by
Pamela R

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Prison cell, but everything you need
They put me in the smallest room in the hotel.
It measured about 9ft x 6ft with a single bed, toilet, shower and hand basin.
It had everything you need but not recommended for anyone who claustrophobic.

Reviewed by
P Hunter

From Fareham, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value for money. Staff very helpful.

Reviewed by
C Forrest

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Convenient and safe location
This hotel is situated very close to Paddington Station and therefore is in an excellent location to explore London. Reception staff are excellent.

Reviewed by
W Raven

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

An AWESOME weekend!
So, myself and a mate of mine wanted a few beers in the City, and I therefore booked us a twin room via Laterooms.com so that we can enjoy our weekend without having to rush for the train back. Firstly, the Castleton hotel is bang on near Paddington Underground which is mint in its own right, it was so easy to find. The entrance/lobby was clean and bright and I was met by a very pleasant man at the reception who took my payment (which I was a little bit surprised about as I had made payment online for the room, but was informed that the payment is only blocked or held and not actually taken, in case of the event of a no-show.. Which makes sense I guess) and gave me the key to the room. The room was immaculate, and although a bit small, you can't argue for the price of the room. The bed was comfy, and the shower was fairly powerful and hot. Service throughout was brilliant, and the breakfast the next day was lush. I will definitely stay here again on the next weekender in London. Well recommended.

Reviewed by
Carl B

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Convenient
This hotel is well situated, clean and friendly. The rooms are small but have all the facilities you would need for a shirt stay.

Reviewed by
Hazel H

From Wales
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

recommended
Very central, very clean, great power shower and hairdryer, good breakfast, cheery staff. Would stay again.

Reviewed by
Gillian W

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next