No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Castleton Hotel

3Self Classified Small Hotel Ratings explained
164 SUSSEX GARDENS , LONDON, W2 1UD
Ideally located in the heart of London, this convenient hotel is situated adjacent to Hyde Park, and just 3 minutes walk from Paddington station and the Heathrow Express train service. Castleton Hotel offers a great location from where you can enjoy all that the city of London has to offer. Its close proximity to Paddington station means that you can be at Heathrow Airport in just 15 minutes. The famous shopping streets of Oxford Street, Regent Street and Bond Street are all nearby, as are most of London’s major attractions. The hotel’s comfortable rooms all have a TV and an en suite bathroom, while a full English breakfast is served in the restaurant each morning. The hotel is located in a quiet street in London’s Paddington/Lancaster Gate, from where you can go for a walk in nearby Hyde Park, or go shopping in one of the many shopping streets nearby.
the hotel also offers free WI - FI internet throughout the hotel.
the hotel also has a Car park costing £20.00 per day, must be reserved in advance over the telephone.
Picture of Castleton Hotel, LONDON at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 59 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
66% recommended this accommodation to a friend 71% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lovely london hotel
Staff both on reception and restaurant very well mannered room was good had working aircon , tv, and lovely shower 5mins from marble arch and hyde park and oxford street had plenty of eating places on same street from indian, fish and chips , pub, kebabs and greek food too ..close to paddington station and big bus tour stops too.lovely lovely hotel ..keep up the good work .

Reviewed by
john avill

From Rotherham, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Will be looking to stay again.
I am regularly travelling to London on business and I will be trying to book here again. Although the room was small and bathroom small it had everything I needed and the staff were friendly and helpful. I was also able to leave my case at the hotel on my check out day and pick it up after work.

Reviewed by
S Brown

From Barry, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pre-Moon
After spending a weekend in Leeds for family nuptials we called in for help as the rooms and price kept changing by the second for our own Pre-wedding Honeymoon. The helpful staff at Laterooms was able to help us grab up this room before the price increased any further. Great location for us, as we needed Paddington Station often and being in the north west of Zone 1, tap in and out with your Oyster Card and save on the tube/bus and more! It was a busy week in London with the Royals (jubilee and the expecting Kate) thanks to Laterooms and Castleton we had a place to stay for our week. Breakfast in the basement was helpful and even sneaking in at 8:55am before the 9am end, you where not rushed out or made to feel unwelcome. Friendly staff, one front desk mate helped us book a trip to Paris without any issue and kept our bag our last day while we explored after checkout.

Reviewed by
Brad G

From New York, USA
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Try a caravan
To say the room was small does not even begin to describe it !! The room was so small you could not walk around the bed. No wardrobe, no cupboards and the toilet - I have had larger bathrooms in some caravans I have stayed in!! The staff however were so friendly and helpful that they should be praised most highly !!!

Reviewed by
Geoff Davison

From Totnes, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Budget hotel next to Paddington station
After a friendly welcome, got to the room. The bathroom was tiny but clean and the beds were small too which you can live with. What made the stay a pain was 1/ noise from the street outside, 2/ the matress was poor and 3/ no desk or side table to work at.

Reviewed by
R Smith

From UK
Who stayed in June 2013

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

castleton Paddington
Very convenient for Paddington Station and the fact that we could leave our bags at reception both days was a godsend. Our twin room was small but very clean and had everything we needed cleverly fitted in. Inclusive breakfast also very good and staff all polite and helpful.

Reviewed by
caroline shaw

From exeter, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Tiny room but perfectly ok for 1 night, even had aircon
I was a bit worried about the room not having a lock on the inside, as a lone female this would have made me sleep better

Reviewed by
A Ball

From Denton, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Had a good nights sleep
I was a little aprehensive having booked a single room at an untried hotel at short notice, having had some bad experiences.
When I arrived late and tired and was told my room (112) was in the lower group floor I feared the worst.
My two main issues in London are room temeperature and noise. As if you can open a window it is usually very noisy. If you can't you either have a hot room or a noisy air con (that invariably doesn't work).
The was quite small and very compact as it was ensuite. But it had been cleverly designed and the quality was good.
It ws noticeable cooler and fresher on the lower ground floor and the same in my room.
The wondow overlooked the fire escape up to the ground floor, so opening the window was not an option. Thankfully it wasn't required.
Despite being on the outside it was also surprisingly quiet.
Consequantly I had a very good nights sleep. So even though I thought the room was expensive at £94, I have no complaints and would stay again.
I didn't have time to have any breakfast.

Reviewed by
martyn c

From Belper, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

London Baby
We were in London on an overnight female family trip. The Castleton is really close to Paddington station and was in an ideal place for all the touring we managed to fit into two days. The hotel is spotlessly clean, and the staff very friendly and helpful. The rooms are a bit small, but were fine for what we wanted. The breakfast was lovely and staff were attentive to what we wanted. The Hotel is close to all ammenities and a great place to stay.

Reviewed by
n fleming

From UK
Who stayed in April 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Furniture
The only negative was the state of furniture, in need of new chairs and bedside cabinets

Reviewed by
P Roberts

From Amlwch, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next