Castleton Hotel

3

164 SUSSEX GARDENS, LONDON, W2 1UD

Price From 197.71 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Good

All reviews (57)

70% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Adrian G

  • November 2013

Good Value

The rooms are small but clean and comfortable and are value for money.The breakfast was good,quick and served by friendly staff.

  • Julia U

  • November 2013

Excellent Location, but I think the phrase is cheap & cheerful

I only stayed for the one night on business and chose the hotel for its close proximity to Paddington station as I needed to catch a very early train the next morning.

The Castleton Hotel was an excellent choice in this regard. A great location, only a couple of minutes from Paddington, with a great choice of bars/restaurants and shops on the doorstep. It was also just about as cheap a price as you are going to get in Central London. However, the rooms are tiny (a double bed practically fills it) and the shower/toilet/wash basin is the plastic capsule type, similar to a toilet on a aeroplane. I'm fairly small and it felt like I was filling the shower. It would be a tight squeeze for a large man. It was hardly what you'd call a power shower. I think I could have blown my own hair dry quicker than the supplied hairdryer (fixed onto the bathroom wall). Despite being told that the reception desk was open 24/7 when I checked in, I was kept waiting out on the street in the rain for approx 7 minutes when I returned to the hotel later in the evening (only 11pm). All this said, you get what you pay for. If a low price and convenience to Paddington is what you are looking for, irrespective of quality, then this hotel is ideal. There are several other hotels on the same road and in those nearby, so if their prices are competitive, you may wish to compare them on value. If you are staying as a couple/family and are wanting a 'special' stay, this may not be a hotel that is going to impress.

  • Gillian P

  • November 2013

Compact but Comfy and Quiet

We choose the hotel primarily on price and close proximity to Paddington and Hyde Park.

Although the room was small - & the bathroom even smaller. - both were extremely clean, the bed was comfy with crisp linen and towels changed daily. The room looked out to Sussex Gardens, and although the window was open, the road noise was not a problem and no noise heard from adjoining rooms. Although not much choice for breakfast, it was hot & the sausages of good quality. Although small, the room was ideal and good value for the two nights we visited London - we will stay again.

  • Warren J

  • November 2013

Good for exploring London

Good location & hotel is spotless clean but be aware the room was tiny & i mean tiny - our bathroom (Room 103) was no more than 4foot square & this included the toilet.

Problems encountered with the alarm during our stay constantly going off during the night but no apology from management on departure (chose to blame a guest) Breakfast ok but more canteen rather than restaurant.

  • D Fyffe

  • October 2013

Business Trip

Perfect accomodation for one person, room was small but plenty storage space, was a great base just minutes from Paddington Station.

Spotless, and quiet. The staff were all helpful. Would recommend for business use. Thanks

  • G Williams

  • October 2013

Weekend trip to visit my son who is at college in London .

Excellent hotel location. Rooms clean and tidy. Fourth room nice and quiet Breakfast very tasty and well presented. Great value for money. Allowed me to stay for one more night at reduced rate. Recommend for a weekend stop over.

  • R Jones

  • October 2013

great for the price

Considering you only use your room for sleeping it was great, the room is small and not much to look at but for the price you are in a good location close to Paddington station and car parking helpful and cheap.

Staff are great and the breakfast is a nice start to the day!

  • J Simoes

  • October 2013

Good value for money - Good location

The room is very small but has everthig that is essencial for a couple of nights.

We stayed in a double bed room, with a LCD on the wall and a cabine / bathroom with shower, toilet and lavatory, on the first floor behind the lift , number 103. We don't have problems sleeping with some noise from the street and lift ( if you do, we won't recomend this floor) or location of room. The water from shower has very little pressure so you will take some time to have your bath but we always had hot water. For breakfast you will find beans, fried eggs, gammon, sausages, tomatoes, toasts, butter and jams, tea, coffee, milk, corn flakes. The employees are frendly.

  • Karen R

  • October 2013

Pleasant place to stay very close to Paddington station

Stayed with my teenage daughter as attending University open days.

Chose hotel as was very close to Paddington station. Hotel staff were friendly and helpful

- left luggage before and after stay at no additional charge

- printed an email immediately

Hotel near to several restaurants. We ate in Ask. Very good. Room was compact, twin beds on small side but adequate. En-suite again small, but nice toiletries, powerful shower and fluffy towels. Hairdryer kept cutting out. No replacement available from reception. Generally-good value for money.

  • S Brown

  • August 2013

Will be looking to stay again.

I am regularly travelling to London on business and I will be trying to book here again.

Although the room was small and bathroom small it had everything I needed and the staff were friendly and helpful. I was also able to leave my case at the hotel on my check out day and pick it up after work.