Reviews - Castleton Hotel



Price From 180.85 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (53)

68% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Ian C

  • January 2014

short stay with car to park

helpful staff made the difference to this stay for a 2-day meeting.

The room was small, but as I had no need or wish to do anything other than sleep or shower, it met requirements in full. Breakfast was unusually slick - fresh buffet with tea/coffee and toast brought to the table as you arrived (and it was busy). Car parking was OK - on the service road, so leave the keys as it cars had to be juggled for access. I forgot to get a receipt, and my email request a day later got a reply with copy of receipt within 10 minutes. Overall the level of service here stood out above many hotels, and is unusually good for a budget hotel in London. Keep it up!

  • Wendy S

  • December 2013

Dec 2013

Room rather small, but probably expected for the cost.

Could have done with more than one towel each, and more milk (two small portions of milk for 4 tea bags and 4 coffees do not work), but overall it was good value for money.

  • Thomas Felber

  • December 2013

bolthole in the basement

For 50 quid, I didn't expect the Savoy.

The briefness of the stay (ca. 6 hours) gave wide latitude to acceptability. As long as there weren't streams of HGV's and ambulances thundering past or screaming lowlifes, a warm, dry room and (semi-)comfortable bed and were all that was asked, and this was certainly provided. The amenities provided were basic but adequate for 2013, the lighting and light fixtures well placed, the one print on the wall was a nice touch and the standard coat hangers, instead of the theft-discouraging kind that are near universal now was a small but welcome touch of class. The one piece en-suite facility shoe-horned into the space was, aye, useful, but jarring in contrast, The room itself was JUST big enough not to be claustrophobia-inducing, but all I wanted was a good enough kip before the 9 hour flight back home to west coast of the U.S.A. and a late check-in time to allow for the celebration of the conferring of a Ph.D. on daughter form the U.of London., and LOCATION,LOCATION,LOCATION. earlier that day

  • Christopher G

  • November 2013

Functionally Ideal for a short overnight business stay

Good location for links to airport, especially for the late arrival I had.

Central to the areas of London I was visiting. Good selection of places to eat found near by. Room was adequate, small as was expected and described in other reviews but clean and functional. Breakfast was also included which was a major bonus. Given the circumstances I would consider staying here again.

  • Adrian G

  • November 2013

Good Value

The rooms are small but clean and comfortable and are value for money.The breakfast was good,quick and served by friendly staff.

  • Julia U

  • November 2013

Excellent Location, but I think the phrase is cheap & cheerful

I only stayed for the one night on business and chose the hotel for its close proximity to Paddington station as I needed to catch a very early train the next morning.

The Castleton Hotel was an excellent choice in this regard. A great location, only a couple of minutes from Paddington, with a great choice of bars/restaurants and shops on the doorstep. It was also just about as cheap a price as you are going to get in Central London. However, the rooms are tiny (a double bed practically fills it) and the shower/toilet/wash basin is the plastic capsule type, similar to a toilet on a aeroplane. I'm fairly small and it felt like I was filling the shower. It would be a tight squeeze for a large man. It was hardly what you'd call a power shower. I think I could have blown my own hair dry quicker than the supplied hairdryer (fixed onto the bathroom wall). Despite being told that the reception desk was open 24/7 when I checked in, I was kept waiting out on the street in the rain for approx 7 minutes when I returned to the hotel later in the evening (only 11pm). All this said, you get what you pay for. If a low price and convenience to Paddington is what you are looking for, irrespective of quality, then this hotel is ideal. There are several other hotels on the same road and in those nearby, so if their prices are competitive, you may wish to compare them on value. If you are staying as a couple/family and are wanting a 'special' stay, this may not be a hotel that is going to impress.

  • Gillian P

  • November 2013

Compact but Comfy and Quiet

We choose the hotel primarily on price and close proximity to Paddington and Hyde Park.

Although the room was small - & the bathroom even smaller. - both were extremely clean, the bed was comfy with crisp linen and towels changed daily. The room looked out to Sussex Gardens, and although the window was open, the road noise was not a problem and no noise heard from adjoining rooms. Although not much choice for breakfast, it was hot & the sausages of good quality. Although small, the room was ideal and good value for the two nights we visited London - we will stay again.

  • Warren J

  • November 2013

Good for exploring London

Good location & hotel is spotless clean but be aware the room was tiny & i mean tiny - our bathroom (Room 103) was no more than 4foot square & this included the toilet.

Problems encountered with the alarm during our stay constantly going off during the night but no apology from management on departure (chose to blame a guest) Breakfast ok but more canteen rather than restaurant.

  • D Fyffe

  • October 2013

Business Trip

Perfect accomodation for one person, room was small but plenty storage space, was a great base just minutes from Paddington Station.

Spotless, and quiet. The staff were all helpful. Would recommend for business use. Thanks

  • G Williams

  • October 2013

Weekend trip to visit my son who is at college in London .

Excellent hotel location. Rooms clean and tidy. Fourth room nice and quiet Breakfast very tasty and well presented. Great value for money. Allowed me to stay for one more night at reduced rate. Recommend for a weekend stop over.