Reviews - Castleton Hotel

3

164 SUSSEX GARDENS, LONDON, W2 1UD

Price From 168.02 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Good

All reviews (53)

72% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Richard F

  • March 2014

ok hotel

It was ok for one night to get your head down cheap for london

  • E Foster

  • March 2014

Overnight stay

No comments to make it was only an overnight stay and I would use the hotel again

  • s coulson

  • March 2014

Good value for money but miss on Breakfast which finishs far too early!

The room was definitely good value for money on weekday not at weekend.

The Staff at reception were very friendly & helpful. The only thing the breakfast is served from 7pm to 9pm far too early if you want to relax.I came at 9pm as the hand out said the breakfast had two setting 7pm & 9pm .It turned out it was 7pm to 9pm (confusing english mistake. I came at 9 pm & had 5 minutes for quick toast & one coffee.. However as I had a very cheap deal it was still good value. especially we left our luggage all day in a safe room

  • D Jones

  • February 2014

great location, great value

Such a good location if travelling through Paddington and to/from Heathrow via the Heathrow Express.

A much better option than staying in a hotel at Heathrow and then taking the tedious bus shuttles, which can takes ages according to the hotels they collect from and which terminals they go to first.. My stays cost me around £60 including a decent breakfast. Rooms are rather small but perfectly functional and comfortable. Staff were helpful with requests and printing out boarding passes etc. Best of all its just a few minutes walk in a straight line to Paddington station.....even I could not get lost!!!

  • Donna S

  • February 2014

Clean and tidy room.

Good value for money. Manager of hotel was shouting and swearing at other staff in breakfast room whilst other guests and I were eating breakfast. Highly unprofessional. Food was very dry. Hotel was presented very well.

  • paul hughes

  • February 2014

room

the bathroom was extremely tiny it was about the size of an airplane toilet and that included the shower unit and that is being generous.

You could literally have a shower and use the toilet at the same time if you wanted to. The room was small but was fit for purpose although it was let down by the size of the toilet which was more of a pod than a room.

On arrival the receptionist made an issue about being paid by Scottish money and said that he wasn't sure we could take it. I pointed out that he couldn't refuse as it was legal tender, he accepted the money and the said that he would speak to the manager regarding this, I again pointed out that he couldn't refuse to take it as it was legal tender. The breakfast was adequate however it was served on side plates which it made the portions look bigger than they actually were. The breakfast staff were very obliging and happy to help.

  • David Jones

  • February 2014

Very close to Paddington Station and the Heathrow Express train connection.

Good welcome with no hassle. Small but very functional room and excellent value for money. Will use this hotel again.

  • Ian C

  • January 2014

short stay with car to park

helpful staff made the difference to this stay for a 2-day meeting.

The room was small, but as I had no need or wish to do anything other than sleep or shower, it met requirements in full. Breakfast was unusually slick - fresh buffet with tea/coffee and toast brought to the table as you arrived (and it was busy). Car parking was OK - on the service road, so leave the keys as it cars had to be juggled for access. I forgot to get a receipt, and my email request a day later got a reply with copy of receipt within 10 minutes. Overall the level of service here stood out above many hotels, and is unusually good for a budget hotel in London. Keep it up!

  • Wendy S

  • December 2013

Dec 2013

Room rather small, but probably expected for the cost.

Could have done with more than one towel each, and more milk (two small portions of milk for 4 tea bags and 4 coffees do not work), but overall it was good value for money.

  • Thomas Felber

  • December 2013

bolthole in the basement

For 50 quid, I didn't expect the Savoy.

The briefness of the stay (ca. 6 hours) gave wide latitude to acceptability. As long as there weren't streams of HGV's and ambulances thundering past or screaming lowlifes, a warm, dry room and (semi-)comfortable bed and were all that was asked, and this was certainly provided. The amenities provided were basic but adequate for 2013, the lighting and light fixtures well placed, the one print on the wall was a nice touch and the standard coat hangers, instead of the theft-discouraging kind that are near universal now was a small but welcome touch of class. The one piece en-suite facility shoe-horned into the space was, aye, useful, but jarring in contrast, The room itself was JUST big enough not to be claustrophobia-inducing, but all I wanted was a good enough kip before the 9 hour flight back home to west coast of the U.S.A. and a late check-in time to allow for the celebration of the conferring of a Ph.D. on daughter form the U.of London., and LOCATION,LOCATION,LOCATION. earlier that day