No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Castleton Hotel

3Self Classified Small Hotel Ratings explained
164 SUSSEX GARDENS , LONDON, W2 1UD
Ideally located in the heart of London, this convenient hotel is situated adjacent to Hyde Park, and just 3 minutes walk from Paddington station and the Heathrow Express train service. Castleton Hotel offers a great location from where you can enjoy all that the city of London has to offer. Its close proximity to Paddington station means that you can be at Heathrow Airport in just 15 minutes. The famous shopping streets of Oxford Street, Regent Street and Bond Street are all nearby, as are most of London’s major attractions. The hotel’s comfortable rooms all have a TV and an en suite bathroom, while a full English breakfast is served in the restaurant each morning. The hotel is located in a quiet street in London’s Paddington/Lancaster Gate, from where you can go for a walk in nearby Hyde Park, or go shopping in one of the many shopping streets nearby.
the hotel also offers free WI - FI internet throughout the hotel.
the hotel also has a Car park costing £20.00 per day, must be reserved in advance over the telephone.
Picture of Castleton Hotel, LONDON at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 58 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
66% recommended this accommodation to a friend 71% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean and tidy room. Good value for money. Manager of hotel was shouting and swearing at other staff in breakfast room whilst other guests and I were eating breakfast. Highly unprofessional. Food was very dry. Hotel was presented very well.

Reviewed by
Donna S

From London, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

room
the bathroom was extremely tiny it was about the size of an airplane toilet and that included the shower unit and that is being generous. You could literally have a shower and use the toilet at the same time if you wanted to. The room was small but was fit for purpose although it was let down by the size of the toilet which was more of a pod than a room.
On arrival the receptionist made an issue about being paid by Scottish money and said that he wasn't sure we could take it. I pointed out that he couldn't refuse as it was legal tender, he accepted the money and the said that he would speak to the manager regarding this, I again pointed out that he couldn't refuse to take it as it was legal tender.
The breakfast was adequate however it was served on side plates which it made the portions look bigger than they actually were. The breakfast staff were very obliging and happy to help.

Reviewed by
paul hughes

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very close to Paddington Station and the Heathrow Express train connection. Good welcome with no hassle. Small but very functional room and excellent value for money. Will use this hotel again.

Reviewed by
David Jones

From Narberth, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

short stay with car to park
helpful staff made the difference to this stay for a 2-day meeting. The room was small, but as I had no need or wish to do anything other than sleep or shower, it met requirements in full. Breakfast was unusually slick - fresh buffet with tea/coffee and toast brought to the table as you arrived (and it was busy). Car parking was OK - on the service road, so leave the keys as it cars had to be juggled for access. I forgot to get a receipt, and my email request a day later got a reply with copy of receipt within 10 minutes. Overall the level of service here stood out above many hotels, and is unusually good for a budget hotel in London. Keep it up!

Reviewed by
Ian C

From Malpas, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Dec 2013
Room rather small, but probably expected for the cost. Could have done with more than one towel each, and more milk (two small portions of milk for 4 tea bags and 4 coffees do not work), but overall it was good value for money.

Reviewed by
Wendy S

From UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

bolthole in the basement
For 50 quid, I didn't expect the Savoy. The briefness of the stay (ca. 6 hours) gave wide latitude to acceptability. As long as there weren't streams of HGV's and ambulances thundering past or screaming lowlifes, a warm, dry room and (semi-)comfortable bed and were all that was asked, and this was certainly provided. The amenities provided were basic but adequate for 2013, the lighting and light fixtures well placed, the one print on the wall was a nice touch and the standard coat hangers, instead of the theft-discouraging kind that are near universal now was a small but welcome touch of class. The one piece en-suite facility shoe-horned into the space was, aye, useful, but jarring in contrast, The room itself was JUST big enough not to be claustrophobia-inducing, but all I wanted was a good enough kip before the 9 hour flight back home to west coast of the U.S.A. and a late check-in time to allow for the celebration of the conferring of a Ph.D. on daughter form the U.of London., and LOCATION,LOCATION,LOCATION.
earlier that day

Reviewed by
Thomas Felber

From Lopez Island, USA
Who stayed in December 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent Location, but I think the phrase is cheap & cheerful
I only stayed for the one night on business and chose the hotel for its close proximity to Paddington station as I needed to catch a very early train the next morning. The Castleton Hotel was an excellent choice in this regard. A great location, only a couple of minutes from Paddington, with a great choice of bars/restaurants and shops on the doorstep. It was also just about as cheap a price as you are going to get in Central London. However, the rooms are tiny (a double bed practically fills it) and the shower/toilet/wash basin is the plastic capsule type, similar to a toilet on a aeroplane! I'm fairly small and it felt like I was filling the shower. It would be a tight squeeze for a large man. It was hardly what you'd call a power shower. I think I could have blown my own hair dry quicker than the supplied hairdryer (fixed onto the bathroom wall). Despite being told that the reception desk was open 24/7 when I checked in, I was kept waiting out on the street in the rain for approx 7 minutes when I returned to the hotel later in the evening (only 11pm). All this said, you get what you pay for. If a low price and convenience to Paddington is what you are looking for, irrespective of quality, then this hotel is ideal. There are several other hotels on the same road and in those nearby, so if their prices are competitive, you may wish to compare them on value. If you are staying as a couple/family and are wanting a 'special' stay, this may not be a hotel that is going to impress.

Reviewed by
Julia U

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Functionally Ideal for a short overnight business stay
Good location for links to airport, especially for the late arrival I had. Central to the areas of London I was visiting. Good selection of places to eat found near by.
Room was adequate, small as was expected and described in other reviews but clean and functional. Breakfast was also included which was a major bonus. Given the circumstances I would consider staying here again.

Reviewed by
Christopher G

From Edinburgh, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good Value
The rooms are small but clean and comfortable and are value for money.The breakfast was good,quick and served by friendly staff.

Reviewed by
Adrian G

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Compact but Comfy and Quiet
We choose the hotel primarily on price and close proximity to Paddington and Hyde Park. Although the room was small - & the bathroom even smaller! - both were extremely clean, the bed was comfy with crisp linen and towels changed daily. The room looked out to Sussex Gardens, and although the window was open, the road noise was not a problem and no noise heard from adjoining rooms. Although not much choice for breakfast, it was hot & the sausages of good quality! Although small, the room was ideal and good value for the two nights we visited London - we will stay again.

Reviewed by
Gillian P

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next