No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Staying Cool at the Rotunda 5*

5Visit England Assessed Serviced Apartments Ratings explained
Rotunda, New Street150 , Birmingham, B2 4PA
Our four and five star serviced apartments in Birmingham blend boutique hotel comfort with the space and freedom of an apartment.
We would like you to think of our serviced apartments as the hip alternative to a hotel – the equivalent of your own suite – kitted out with bespoke pieces from some of the hottest UK designers but with the independence, personality (no two are the same) and value of your own wow apartment.
Picture of Staying Cool at the Rotunda 5*, Birmingham at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 9 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
91% recommended this accommodation to a friend 89% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Got an excellent deal on price but wouldn't have paid the top rates for this apartment. It was well stocked, clean and comfortable and was, I'm sure, 5* when first developed but the carpets were stained and grubby and the apartment just had a bit of a tired feel about it. Kitchen, bathroom and bedroom were however immaculately clean. Lovely views but wouldn't recommend for a family with younger kids as although there were glass safety barriers in front of the floor to ceiling sliding windows, there is a gap between the barrier and the window that would be big enough for a small child to fit through which at 17 floors up with a sheer drop to the pavement below doesn't bear thinking about!

Reviewed by
H Cook

From Faversham, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely surprise
Hadn't seen any pictures of this accommodation prior to staying so the apartment we got was a lovely surprise.
There was a carton of milk and oranges for fresh juice in the fridge, a few espresso pods for the machine and washing up liquid; towels, gowns and soaps were in the bathroom and that was all we needed.
Perfect location for city centre sights, sounds and food.
If coming to Birmingham again we will stay here.

Reviewed by
Matthew L

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stunning apartment for a birthday celebration
Our apartment was clean and well equipped with everything you could possibly need. Really love the way the building has been transformed into such a stunning space.
Also, the concierges, Danny and Simon, were excellent and made us feel really welcome.
Worth the money to stay in such an iconic building and we will definitely go back.

Reviewed by
C O'Connor

From Banbury, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice room awesome view but blood on sheets and appliances not working
The staff were lovely the room nice and warm when we got in the view out the balcony was spectacular. Beds were nice and comfy. However my partner found blood stains on a pillowcase and some taps and one of the showers weren't working considering I paid 269 pounds for the night I wasn't particularly impressed.

Reviewed by
m hussain

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

In the Round
The Rotunda is such a great place to stay, it feels like a very cool home from home, everything is there for you to relax, you cannot help but feel good when you enter the apartments as they ooze a sense of 'I'd like to live here' Everything you would want in you home is there, from the great coffee machine and juicer to the really comfy beds, and from all areas a great view of the Brum skyline.

Reviewed by
R Jones

From London, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

On first arrival room Nd garden area was disappointing due to litter, marked walls and over flowing bucket beneath boiler. However reception very helpful and all issues addressed quickly.
Public areas very minimal in decor and showing wear and tear. Flat very well appointed but doesn't give 5 star feel

Reviewed by
R Hopcroft

From Ripon, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ideal for a city break with a little bit of luxury
We really enjoyed our one-night stay with Staying Cool. Pluses: amazing views over the city; extremely well-equipped apartment (comfy beds, powerful showers, all mod-cons in kitchen including juicer and coffee machine); spacious lounge area; very helpful desk staff; couldn't be more central; good value if you would otherwise book two hotel rooms. Negatives: small bedrooms (don't try swinging a cat); some of the finishes and furnishings need freshening up. We also had a bit of fun trying to find the car park. Stick to signs for 'Bull Ring Central Car Park' and don't try to get clever following parking signs for Debenhams (you'll know what I mean if you've read the directions).

Reviewed by
Elizabeth G

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Birthday escape!
This was planned as a surprise birthday break for a good friend of ours. She was thrilled with the view, balcony, bed, layout and overall ammenities in that order! Cannot wait to find another excuse for a return visit. PS Birmingham itself is well worth the visit as well!!!!!

Reviewed by
Pat Collins

From Mansfield Woodhouse, UK
Who stayed in November 2012

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Was a great central venue and felt welcomed
Booked in and found out we'd been upgraded to the penthouse, view superb, facilities great, beds really comfy. One minor gripe would be the lack of mirrors - next to electric plugs. Only 1 in one wardrobe door. Loved the oranges and juicer idea though and the check out time good. Would use again.

Reviewed by
Anita H

From Bromsgrove, England
Who stayed in November 2012

Group of women

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.