No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Pheasant Inn

4Visit England 已评估 小型酒店 Ratings explained
Stannersburn, Kielder Water, Hexham, Northumberland, NE48 1DD
From the moment you step inside The Pheasant Inn you'll be treated to the warmest of welcomes. Found in the heart of the Northumberland National Park near Kielder Water, The Pheasant Inn is a 4 Star, Silver Award, Country Inn with Bed and Breakfast, offering comfortable accommodation, hearty home cooked food, good beers and wines.

All of our guest rooms are en-suite and located around a quiet courtyard garden. Each room is peaceful, light and airy, designed with homely comfort in mind and you'll get a piping hot breakfast the next morning - accompanied maybe by a view of the sheepdogs bringing the herd in for shearing.

The Pheasant Inn combines the character and charm of a traditional Coaching Inn, with oak beams and open fires. Our kitchen is open 7 days a week serving delicious traditional British food. As for sunday lunch, The Observer readers voted it one of the best in the North.

Our homely restaurant is furnished in mellow pine and enjoys views across the Northumberland countryside. We also have two comfortable lounge bars that have been lovingly restored, each with original beams, exposed stone walls and cosy open fires in winter - the perfect place to relax!

With beautiful views over the Northumberland countryside, The Pheasant Inn is ideally placed for visiting all that Northumberland and the Borders have to offer.

Picture of The Pheasant Inn, Northumberland at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since February 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 12 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
100% recommended this accommodation to a friend 100% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Super friendly staff and great food
Staff were lovely, friendly and helpful. Food both on an evening and the breakfasts were great, above average. Only slight negative on the food was that the vegetarian options could have a been more imaginative.
Room was clean but quite small and basic for the price of ninety five pounds, we had room six.

Reviewed by
Jackie B

From Newcastle upon Tyne, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly run hotel . Staff are polite and attentive. Excellent setting in a beautiful part of the country.
Only a one night stay but was excellent !

Reviewed by
M Lockwood

From Wakefield, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very pleasant Phesant

Reviewed by
David C

From Peterborough, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

clean, welcoming, food excellent, very convenient for observatory
Room was very clean and comfortable, staff friendly and welcoming. Meal in the restaurant at night was excellent and we could not fault the breakfast. My only very slight complaint was that breakfast finished at 9.00a.m. on the Sunday. Most other establishments offer a later finish time on week-ends, it would have been nice to have a lie in! However, we would not hesitate to stay here again.

Reviewed by
Sharon H

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A great pub B&B
Stayed three nights for a break, to see the area and visit the observatory. Its a great pub, spotlessly clean, real fires and happy staff providing excellent service. Room was also spotless, but on the small side. The point to remember is that this is a B&B, not a hotel. Liked the bedrooms being attached to the side of the pub, so no noise or disturbance. Visited other pubs in the area, we made the right choice by far!

Reviewed by
I Webb

From Stratford upon Avon, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Gem of an Inn
Our stay at The Pheasant Inn was without doubt a time to savour. The staff, room ( though a little on the snug side! ), food and location were great and we are eager to make another visit. There is a warm, welcoming ambience about the place which is conducive to putting everyday concerns to one side for a day or two. We shall return, though how eager they will be to accept us having managed to lose our room key on the second day I question!! Thanks to all for a super break.

ManagementResponse

Many thanks for taking time to review the Pheasant. I am delighted you enjoyed your break with us. I agree the North Tyne valley is a great place to escape the fast paced world .The key found its way home almost before you did. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Reviewed by
G Carmell

From Sutton Coldfield, England
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great stay, fantastic location
Great place to stay pretty much in the middle of nowhere. Pub is great to be able to relax and have a few drinks in and not have to drive anywhere or walk far afterwards. And to wake up in the heart of the national park is a real treat.

ManagementResponse

Thank you for your review we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.

Reviewed by
Terry B

From London, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant Country Hotel
The room was small but well furnished and with good countryside views.
The bar staff were very friendly and the breakfast of good quality.

Reviewed by
G Sumner

From UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

short break
could not have chosen a nicer place to stay great accomodation good food friendly staff and beautiful surroundings will strongly recommend it to anyone visiting the area.

Reviewed by
ANN BEVERIDGE

From Middlesbrough, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice folk, great stay!
Had a brill time and everyone was very welcoming. Great for a weekend escape in a peaceful setting. Food was simple but very well cooked - we both had lamb with lashings of gravy. Nice real ales on tap and warm fires in the bar. Left with sore but happy heads!

ManagementResponse

Thanks for your review! We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again sometime in the future. Regards, Robin Kershaw, Proprietor

Reviewed by
C Jefferson

From Edinburgh, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next