Reviews - Alba Lodge

2

232 Renfrew Street, ,, Glasgow, G3 6TX

Price From 72.66 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (27)

85% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Chris C

  • May 2015

Comfortable, cheap, great location

Stayed for one night before a job interview.

I booked a single room with shared bathroom, but was given an en-suite double, which was good. I had an inside room, which was simple and functional, with a skylight window and fresh air provided by an electric fan. Room quality was as expected and suited my needs for a budget place to stay. Reception staff were very friendly and helpful. Location just off Sauchiehall street is fantastic and very close to pubs, bars and restaurants.

  • Shona Morrison

  • May 2015

Good accomodation

Easily accessible.

Friendly staff.

  • C Struthers

  • January 2015

Excellent for stop over on nights out to Glasgow, Cheap and in central postion

Had mixed feeling about booking this hotel having read the reviews after booking, but I needn't have worried.

We were going out for a friend's birthday - meal and clubbing - the hotel is in the ideal location just up for sauchiehall street practically next to the clubs so you wouldn't have far to walk, however it is up a hill and stairs so not ideal for those with disabilities. We were in room 8 with 2 windows not the best of view looking into someone's house. The room was a good size with ensuite, shower head could have done with a clean, but in general cleanliness was good. The receptionist was very chatty and asked if we needed any exttra towel, irons, hair dryers etc, gave directions to our room and asked how our night went. Breakfast was included up to 9am we never took the offer. Good value for money in a good central location. Would stay again.

  • Amanda O

  • July 2014

Good accommodation, does the job, the hill is the main downside

The guesthouse itself was absolutely fine, did the job nicely, especially as it was just for one night.

Main downside is the hill, but that can't really be helped.

  • a javeed

  • June 2014

waste of money

Room even don't ve a window.

Totally looks a close bunker. breakfast was also not good.nearly dead with out fresh air

  • Norman D

  • May 2014

Lots of good features at a very reasonable price!

A very friendly and helpful welcome set the scene: without my having to ask, our bag was carried upstairs and an extra chair brought.

Room clean, neat, plenty of daylight and very good lighting when needed. Comfortable without need to put radiator on. Would have got a 5 if bed hadn't required to be pushed against wall on one side. Adjacent ensuite clean, spacious and efficient. Good choice of breakfast served by kindly lady in bright and cheerful room in Hampton Court - under same management - with internal linking passage. Elderly visitors should have no problem if they are reasonably agile (several steps up from street). We found the location pretty convenient. Guests walking from Central Station can avoid steep hills if they go north along Hope St then west along Renfrew St. From Buchanan Bus Stn it's easy - just turn right on reaching the street outside and make a beeline along Renfrew. Pass School of Art, go under archway and you're there. Map doesn't show it but there's a footbridge over motorway at far end of Renfrew making it easy to get to Kelvingrove Park and the West End.

  • J Strachan

  • May 2014

ALBA LODGE

Good value for money, very friendly and a very good breakfast !!

  • Elizabeth Brown

  • April 2014

Good Value

We have stayed at the Alba lodge a few times.

This time was different as it has been taken over by the guesthouse next door so a lot of work is being done. The new owners are very nice & it's still a family run business . Will go back & stay again.

  • Małgorzata Kulińska

  • April 2014

Polish tourists

Very good location, close to the City Center.

Nice and helpfull service. Our room was very comfortable with big windows, and small but well organized bathrom. Breakfast was tasty, only the space in the daining room is a problem, there is not enough space for all guests staying in the hotel.

  • robert t

  • April 2014

Good Hotel

Good hotel for price.