No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Alba Lodge

2Self Classified Guest House Ratings explained
232 Renfrew Street, , , Glasgow, G3 6TX
The Alba Lodge family run guest house offering excellent value accomodation for travellers looking for a central Glasgow location with a friendly, cosy surrounding. The Alba Lodge is located within a traditional terraced town house, just yards from the Charles Rennie Macintosh inspired Glasgow School of Art, offering an excellent base for shopping, sight-seeing, going to the theatre, eating out or visiting some of Glasgow's many night spots not to mention the many other attractions offered by the City. The Alba Lodge also offers excellent transport links to the SECC, Glasgow Airport, the West End and other parts of the city making it the perfect for the business traveller. Wireless Internet available throughout the hotel. On street car parking and car parking permits are on sale at reception . 24 hour check-in / security desk...
Picture of Alba Lodge, Glasgow at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 33 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
75% recommended this accommodation to a friend 78% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

waste of money
Room even don't ve a window. Totally looks a close bunker. breakfast was also not good.nearly dead with out fresh air

Reviewed by
a javeed

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lots of good features at a very reasonable price!
A very friendly and helpful welcome set the scene: without my having to ask, our bag was carried upstairs and an extra chair brought. Room clean, neat, plenty of daylight and very good lighting when needed. Comfortable without need to put radiator on. Would have got a 5 if bed hadn't required to be pushed against wall on one side! Adjacent ensuite clean, spacious and efficient. Good choice of breakfast served by kindly lady in bright and cheerful room in Hampton Court - under same management - with internal linking passage. Elderly visitors should have no problem if they are reasonably agile (several steps up from street). We found the location pretty convenient. Guests walking from Central Station can avoid steep hills if they go north along Hope St then west along Renfrew St. From Buchanan Bus Stn it's easy - just turn right on reaching the street outside and make a beeline along Renfrew. Pass School of Art, go under archway and you're there. Map doesn't show it but there's a footbridge over motorway at far end of Renfrew making it easy to get to Kelvingrove Park and the West End.

Reviewed by
Norman D

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

ALBA LODGE
Good value for money, very friendly and a very good breakfast !!

Reviewed by
J Strachan

From Montrose, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good Value
We have stayed at the Alba lodge a few times. This time was different as it has been taken over by the guesthouse next door so a lot of work is being done. The new owners are very nice & it's still a family run business . Will go back & stay again.

Reviewed by
Elizabeth Brown

From Irvine, Scotland
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Polish tourists
Very good location, close to the City Center. Nice and helpfull service. Our room was very comfortable with big windows, and small but well organized bathrom. Breakfast was tasty, only the space in the daining room is a problem, there is not enough space for all guests staying in the hotel.

Reviewed by
Małgorzata Kulińska

From Poland
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cheap and cheerful
Good location for shops and the Hydro ,room very clean although very dated but excellent value for money
not any good for anyone with mobility issues as stairs to climb to get to hotel and large sweeping staircase leading to rooms
breakfast was cooked well but couldve done with a bit more toast (only one slice each)

Reviewed by
angela s

From Cowdenbeath, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

n/a

Reviewed by
T Harris

From Rickmansworth, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Simple and Friendly
I had understood that there would be wifi in my room, and it turned out not to be which was a problem for me, which, although I worked around it, was a shame. The people were super friendly, although the lady who greeted me told me she didn't normally do this and didn't seem to know where the room was! The room and shower room were dated but clean and functional. I'd probably stay again if I could be guaranteed a room with wifi...

Reviewed by
D Sutcliffe

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good Enough
Room and bathroom were nice and clean and the staff were very helpful when needed. The breakfast was good enough but there wasn't a huge range of choice. There was one negative part of my stay; when my brother came to the hotel to meet me he was not allowed to come up to my room as he wasn't a guest at the hotel! It was a case of rules are rules and we can't let you do that.

Reviewed by
D Price

From , UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great value for money
The hotel is basic but clean and for the price we paid it was much better than expected. The staff we spoke to were friendly and always offering to give any extra help we might need.

Reviewed by
Alison

From Dunfermline, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next