No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - White Lodge Hotel

4AA Assessed Guest House Ratings explained
Lake Road , Bowness-on-Windermere, LA23 2JJ
White Lodge Hotel is a 4 star guest house ideally positioned just a short walk away from Bowness Bay and the picturesque shores of Lake Windermere, England's largest and perhaps most beautiful lake.

This traditional family owned Lake District Hotel is set in a Victorian country house Whether preparing for a day out on the Lake District fells, visiting a tourist attraction, or relaxing during the evening. guests will enjoy the warm and friendly atmosphere of one of the regions traditional Lake District Hotels.

All of the spacious rooms are luxuriously decorated and furnished including all modern comforts you would expect of a traditional lake district hotel. Some rooms enjoy lake views, all have en-suite bathrooms, flat screen televisions and complimentary tea and coffee making facilities & free WiFi.

A traditional Full English Breakfast is served in the stylish dining room with its fine antique furniture and relaxed atmosphere or in complete contrast the bistro with its glass tables & 'cool' atmosphere from 08:30 - 09:15 am. Staff are attentive without being obtrusive.

Surrounded by magnificent scenery in the heart of the English Lake District,Bowness-on-Windermere is the ideal centre for touring the whole area and in minutes guests can be sailing, exploring the lakeside footpaths or the nearby fells, or visiting the homes of William Wordsworth, Ruskin, Coleridge and Beatrix Potter. Shoppers and browsers will delight in the speciality
stores and attractions in nearby Windermere and Bowness. Whilst a drive over the Hard Knott pass is for the courageous with its 1 in 3 and 2.5 gradients - but the views are spectacular.

Please note, if you expect to arrive at the hotel after 9pm please call in advance to ensure staff are present to check you in. White Lodge has its own large carparks.
Picture of White Lodge Hotel, Bowness-on-Windermere at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 31 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
77% recommended this accommodation to a friend 80% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fabulous stay
Excellent customer service, friendly staff, beautiful decor, spotless, food excellent, very peaceful. Cant wait til spring.

Reviewed by
Jennifer C

From Wigan, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic
Really enjoyed my stay here, shame it was only 1 night.

ManagementResponse

Thank you for your review. It was much appreciated and please stay longer next time !

Reviewed by
Alex N

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great weekend fab place to stay
Exellent hotel. good accommodation. breakfast very good. people give excellant service. will visit again.

ManagementResponse

Thank you for the lovely review. Hope to see you again & best wishes from all at White lodge.

Reviewed by
Brenda E

From Cramlington, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not Four Star Rating
Very small rooms although well furnished, kept knocking wall picture in between bed and en suite only 12" gap.
Breakfast overly fried crisp bacon, no taste in sausage the only safe bet being an omelette or continental.

ManagementResponse

Thank you for using LateRooms.com. This review contains many inaccuracies. Our rooms are of a good size and am not sure where the 12” comes from. Breakfast consists of many choices: Cereals, Fruit Juices, Porridge, Fresh fruit, Yoghurts and then a Full English breakfast cooked to order which includes Eggs, Bacon & Sausage (all locally sourced) baked beans,hash browns, tomatoes & mushrooms & locally baked wholemeal bread and farmhouse white. Your review is thankfully out of line with our other reviews.

Reviewed by
B Darwent

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good location
Good location, could do with a reburbishment, free parking, OK

Reviewed by
Derek W

From Sutton Coldfield, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

OK stay
The room was clean, the staff pretty friendly and the place had good parking but the breakfast really wasn't great.

ManagementResponse

Thank you for your review. We offer an extensive breakfast fruit juices,porridge, fresh fruit & various flavours of yoghurt made locally. Our cooked breakfast consists of fried, scrambled or poached eggs with locally made cumberland sausage, bacon, hash browns, fresh tomatoes & mushrooms & baked beans. This is accompanied by wholemeal & white toast. We do caffetieres of coffee (also decaffinated available) pots of tea & herbal teas. All in all a very good breakfast as we are told every day.

Reviewed by
A Thomas

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

short break
hotel very clean staff very helpful breakfast excellant

ManagementResponse

Many thanks for your review. So glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again. Best wishes from all at White Lodge.

Reviewed by
kevin r

From Bolton, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Just got back from a lovely stay at the White Lodge. Very welcoming staff and helpful. Good breakfast and clean rooms. Ideal location.

Reviewed by
A Pritchard

From Caernarfon, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We both enjoyed our stay very much the hotel very clean food good and staff excellent
We will definitely go back to this Hotel its very well situated for both Bowness on Windermere and a short walk to Windermere where we found some excellent places to eat

ManagementResponse

It was with pleasure that I read your review. Thank you for staying and for taking the time to write. It made our day. Best wishes from all at White Lodge

Reviewed by
Lynda Armitage

From Wallsend, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfortable and central accomodation
Lovely room, great breakfast, very friendly and accommodating host. A minutes walk from shops and restaurants, 5 minutes from the lake. Would strongly recommend.

Reviewed by
Jill R

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next