Reviews - The Coach & Horses Inn


Watlington Road Chiselhampton, Oxford , OX44 7UX

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (36)

97% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Hollie W

  • November 2015

Wonderful service, homely place to stay

We stayed for 1 night whilst visiting a local restaurant.

The staff could not have been more helpful or friendly. Breakfast was delicious. Special thanks to Tara for her hospitality.

  • Katrina K

  • November 2015

Would definitely stay again.

Friendly and clean. Only downside. No blind on bathroom window which faced main courtyard.

  • Joanne T

  • October 2015

Top of the range room for bargain price!

Couldn't have asked for more.

The room was spotless, the bed incredibly comfortable. Everything I needed was in the room which was larger than I expected and also very quiet. With a late rooms deal and a double room for a "single" this was incredible value for money.

  • David Y

  • September 2015

A Great Country Pub B&B

The Coach & Horses is a beautiful, old country pub with more modern rooms set around a pretty courtyard.

The room was a good size and the bed had an extremely comfortable mattress. We did have a problem with one of the sliding shower doors not working very properly, but that was a minor issue. Other than that, the staff were all very friendly and polite and the breakfast was really good.

Overall, a lovely place to stay.

  • maggie b

  • July 2015

Very relaxing

Rooms round courtyard very convenient.

Room well furnished ; ensuite with bath was great after 10 mile walk from Oxford. Food was excellent , fabulous evening menu and breakfast set us up well for next days walk on Shakespeare's Way.

  • Shirley R

  • June 2015

Perfectly good bed and breakfast

The room was reasonably priced clean and comfortable.

The staff were friendly and efficient. Breakfast was fine, good quality but the bacon and sausages had been cooked earlier and reheated.

  • bernard m

  • June 2015

accommodation and service excellent and friendly more likely to stay again than complete another bossy review

  • Ann S

  • May 2015

Lovely Meal

Pub is very easy to find and plenty of car parking.

The rooms are converted stables at the rear of the Pub. Quite compact but it have everything that I needed. The quality of the mattress isn't great so I woke up with back ache which is a shame as the rest of the room is of good quality. My evening meal was delicious and I can see why the restaurant was bursting with people on a mid week night.

Breakfast was very well cooked - this chef knows how to cook scrambled eggs, many don't. My only issue was that breakfast is not served until 7.30 which is a little late for a business traveller. I would stay here again if they upgrade the mattresses and start serving breakfast at 7am.

  • Cathy H

  • April 2015

Coach & Horses stay

Excellent food, nice accommodation & friendly service.

  • Peter C

  • February 2015

Great for a short break

Stayed here 7 years ago and good to see that the standards of accommodation, food, drink and welcome have been maintained.

Country location, but with easy access to Oxford and the Cotswolds.