No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Coach & Horses Inn

3AA Assessed Inn Ratings explained
Watlington Road Chiselhampton, Oxford , OX44 7UX
The Coach & Horses Inn is a charming 16th Century Restaurant with Nine 3* AA Highly Commended en-suite double bedrooms situated around our picturesque courtyard , Just 100 meters from the river Thame .

The popular oakbeamed restaurant & Picturesque al fresco dining offers a seasonal ala carte menu , Angus steaks , Game & fresh seafood .

We are proud to be listed in the Good beer guide & stock a selection of Local real ales including Hook Norton & Loddon Brewerys , Lagers & continental beers including Becks , Leffe , & Stella . A selection of fine wines from around the world are also available .

Please Note :
Our Restaurant is Closed Sunday Evenings
Picture of The Coach & Horses Inn, Oxford  at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 28 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
95% recommended this accommodation to a friend 94% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant Accommodation
Overall, very good. Just one thing I failed to notice when I made my reservation for a Sunday evening through Laterooms - the restaurant closes after Sunday lunch! My fault for not checking, but the owner did offer to come and prepare food for me.
Overall, nice beers, lovely pub, well furbished rooms.

Reviewed by
Chris P

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room for Improvement by a member of staff
The guy behind the bar needs to be more pleasant and well coming. The girl at the time of my arrival was very pleasant and helpful.

Reviewed by
B Pathak

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good for a one night stay
very close to La Manoir, also serves good food in the pub.

Reviewed by
a lewis

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice place, helpful staff. It will be my first choice next time I'm in the area.

Reviewed by
Anthony Dewhurst

From Preston, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Coach and Horses
Only stayed one night for B & B. The staff were extremely pleasant and very helpful. Quality of food cooked for breakfast was very good. Would definitely stay again.
Only down side was the dressing table in room a little tired.
Ideally situated to explore Oxford and the surrounds even by public transport.

Reviewed by
Patricia I

From Tewkesbury, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Accomodation for a visit to Le Manoir
We stayed at the accomodation to enable a trip to Le Manoir - £15 taxi ride each way - the accomodation was basic but adequate for purpose. Staff were pleasant and assisted with booking taxis etc - all fine - no complaints

Reviewed by
r cleeves

From wraxall, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great place to stay
Me and my partner were attending a wedding so I requested we have our room at 12pm, This was done with no problems at all so it was very helpful, we didnt get much time to spend in the hotel but the time we had there was lovely,
In a beautiful peaceful location.

Reviewed by
Katie H

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Trip to Harwell
Very nice hosts. I arrived late, after 10 pm but it was no problem. Nice pub/bar area, friendly people. Breakfast was included free although I had only booked Room Only. Food was excellent. All in all a very pleasant stay. Although it was a business trip I would return there for a leisure break. I imagine it would be pleasant on a summer's evening given the courtyard area.

Reviewed by
Chris B

From Bolton, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfortable Stay
A county pub with friendly staff. The room was smaller than I expected but was nice and clean. The decoration was looking a little tired and there was a large hole in the valance cover to the bed (room 7)
The rooms were nice and quiet. The bathroom was a good size but it lacked a shelf to put anything. I ended putting my toiletries in the bath!!! Also the television didn't work (after a short while I discovered the back of the remote was missing and and also the batteries!!.
Although we didn't eat in the restaurant it appeared to be very popular and the menu choices looked lovely. All in all a nice stay with friendly staff but the rooms a little to small and lacked attention to detail.

Reviewed by
C Ford

From Chesterfield, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Relaxing retreat
This was a really good hotel for a weekend stay. Friendly service, accommodation was a very adequate 3* and comfortable beds made for a relaxing at the end of the night. Food was was first class and I would suggest you plan to sample during your stay. Traffic can be heavy during the day so, not an ideal location for walking. We were not disturbed by any traffic noise. We would most definitely use again!

Reviewed by
Frank C

From Spennymoor, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Mixed group

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next