No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Coach & Horses Inn

3AA Assessed Inn Ratings explained
Watlington Road Chiselhampton, Oxford , OX44 7UX
The Coach & Horses Inn is a charming 16th Century Restaurant with Nine 3* AA Highly Commended en-suite double bedrooms situated around our picturesque courtyard , Just 100 meters from the river Thame .

The popular oakbeamed restaurant & Picturesque al fresco dining offers a seasonal ala carte menu , Angus steaks , Game & fresh seafood .

We are proud to be listed in the Good beer guide & stock a selection of Local real ales including Hook Norton & Loddon Brewerys , Lagers & continental beers including Becks , Leffe , & Stella . A selection of fine wines from around the world are also available .

Please Note :
Our Restaurant is Closed Sunday Evenings
Picture of The Coach & Horses Inn, Oxford  at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since June 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 23 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
94% recommended this accommodation to a friend 93% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfortable Stay
A county pub with friendly staff. The room was smaller than I expected but was nice and clean. The decoration was looking a little tired and there was a large hole in the valance cover to the bed (room 7)
The rooms were nice and quiet. The bathroom was a good size but it lacked a shelf to put anything. I ended putting my toiletries in the bath!!! Also the television didn't work (after a short while I discovered the back of the remote was missing and and also the batteries!!.
Although we didn't eat in the restaurant it appeared to be very popular and the menu choices looked lovely. All in all a nice stay with friendly staff but the rooms a little to small and lacked attention to detail.

Reviewed by
C Ford

From Chesterfield, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Relaxing retreat
This was a really good hotel for a weekend stay. Friendly service, accommodation was a very adequate 3* and comfortable beds made for a relaxing at the end of the night. Food was was first class and I would suggest you plan to sample during your stay. Traffic can be heavy during the day so, not an ideal location for walking. We were not disturbed by any traffic noise. We would most definitely use again!

Reviewed by
Frank C

From Spennymoor, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect stay
This was a wonderful place to stay. We were given a big pot of tea next to the wood burner on request and very well looked after. Thanks!

Reviewed by
Emma P

From Truro, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

nice quiet location and peaceful stay.
Very nice stay have been back since with Mum for weekend.

Reviewed by
A Evans

From Cardiff, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lovely hotel , have been previously ,but the service on the night was slow,
A nice overnight break , the only comment I could make against the hotel is that it took 30 mins for the main course to arrive , we booked for 8pm and only sat down at 8.20 , the waitress was nt very efficient and forgot to bring the water , to me thats the only thing that let the place down

Reviewed by
D moulding

From Windermere, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent position for visiting Oxford 20 mins and surrounding area.
Excellent position for visiting Oxford 20 mins/ Headington 13 mins and surrounding area. Old Coaching Inn with modern purpose built ground floor guest rooms set away from the pub across a courtyard. Nice cosy bar area with open log fire good menu available same menu in the bar as restaurant. No microwave food here all cooked with good quality fresh food and excellent value. I had the mussels and the monk fish “perfect”. The room had everything you would expect with good quality hardwood furniture and a comfortable bed the TV was not able to receive all the mainstream channels maybe it’s a problem with the reception in the local area this didn’t bother me. I didn’t give a 6 on cleanliness as there were some cobwebs high up where the walls meet the ceiling other than that the room was very clean. Large car park by the guest rooms so no problem parking.

Reviewed by
s horan

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfortable room, very clean
Excellent restaurant with a good menu
All staff very friendly and helpful
A friendly bar and locals friendly and chatty

Reviewed by
Gill S

From Lichfield, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

NICE COUNTRY PUB
Served very well for a night away with a comfortable room, friendly helpful staff serving good food using local farm sources,where possible, and good fresh seafood from further afield in an attractive authentic Inn with pleasant easy rural walks on the doorstep for some fresh air and exercise.
Only defect identified was shower temperature control which resulted in an oscillation of temperature from very hot to cold whatever the setting (reported to staff).

Reviewed by
MICHAEL E

From England
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very happy customers
We stayed here on a Friday night as we had an activity day booked at The Crazy Bear the next morning. It was ideally located for this, just a couple of minutes by car, and much cheaper to stay in. The inn was lovely, very cosy, and the room was perfect for us. Access is separate to the inn itself, which was ideal as we came back late on the night and didn't have to disturb other guests. We had everything we needed in the room and wished we could stay another night. The staff were welcoming and friendly, and although we didn't dine at the restaurant, the menu appealed. Would definitely recommend The Coach and Horses and would return ourselves.

Reviewed by
K Hickman

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

2night stay
Would reccommend this hotel to any one ,the staff could not do enough to help,one evening meal I looked for a particular item only to find it was on the lunch time menu but the owner said that's not a problem and cooked it anyway also on the same night while sat in the bar a French visitor was having trouble with identifying items on the menu as was the waitress in explaining but she went for help and again the owner explained all in french

Reviewed by
Chris Ellis

From Great Yarmouth, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next