Reviews - The Big Sleep Hotel Eastbourne By Compass Hospitality



Price From 81.48 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (54)

85% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Wendy L

  • August 2015

friendly.helpful. Basic needs refresh

Staff very helpful.

Rooms clean but could do with a re fresh ..breakfast was good but cheeky that you have to pay extra for cooked...

  • Lee B

  • August 2015

Does the job

For the price and location, the hotel is a no frills but practical choice.

Though not sure about the blue fluffy curtains in the rooms!!

  • V Heymer

  • August 2015

NOT value for money!

We have stayed in quite a range of hotels over the years, but this is the first time we have travelled with our Dog, so we chose this hotel as we were able to bring him with us.

We were charged an extra £10 for the privilege, though I don't see why, as no special provisions were made for him. The room was generally clean, but the 'fluffy curtains' were filthy, as was the same material which covered the base of the bed, not very hygienic at all & was probably the reason for the constant smell of dust. The bathroom floor (edges) could've done with a better clean, as it was obvious the main floor area was just cleaned. The tea/coffee facilities were minimal, but I was given more when requested from reception. That said, when made, the tea & coffee tasted dreadful. We felt it had more to do with the water, as I had brought my own hot chocolate, which still tasted awful. The sheet on the bed was stained, though it was freshly laundered, not a good look for sure. Bed was reasonably comfortable, have slept in far worse. Continental breakfast was standard, but was good enough to start your day. Tea & coffee from machine tasted fine. BUT. There was a very mouldy apple in the bowl, stuck to the side, which was put out on the table. It must've been there for more than 1 day, by it's state. I brought it to the kitchen staffs attention. They got rid of it, sorted others, wiped bowl & put back out. Didn't even wash the other apples, yuk. At the cost of £79 (inc. of £10 for dog), this was far from a bargain. I would not stay here again, unless they addressed all issues mentioned. To me, these are basic things that could & should be easily dealt with.

  • J McLaughlin

  • May 2015

Good, clean, comfortable

Enjoyed our stay

  • m thomson

  • April 2015

Extremely good value for money

Much better than "basic" as I read on some of the reviews.

Very clean and a bathroom like new. The only downside was as we came into the room the heating was on (15th April - exceptionally good weather) and we could not open the window very wide. The "furry" curtains also helped to retain the heat but after turning off the heater it was much better. Loved it and would recommend it. The reception staff were so helpful too. Breakfast was good and there was the option to pay a little extra for a cooked breakfast. Close to the beach and also close to the two theatres, one of which we visited.

  • Lynn F

  • April 2015

The Big Sleep- It Certainly was.

Our stay at The Big Sleep gave us just what we needed.

A chilled atmosphere, v friendly staff, clean& great value for money. Fantastic location. We had the best nights sleep we've had for years. Will definitely stay again.

  • Rachel Taylor

  • February 2015

The Best Budget Hotel we have come across.

Thank you for an excellent four days' stay in sunny, rainy, windy and snowy Eastbourne.

The quality of the hotel was excellent. Staff were very professional - courteous, friendly and helpful at all times. Cleanliness of both public and private areas was outstanding. Rooms were very comfortable with all that was needed, very thoughtfully and tastefully arranged. Ancillary staff cleaned the rooms we were occupying on a daily basis but were unobtrusive. continental breakfasts offered plenty of choice and generous quantities of food. The one cooked breakfast we had was served punctually and was of a high standard. The one night we ate in, food was again enjoyable and quickly and efficiently served. Altogether, very well done all staff - your managers should be very proud both of you and of the hotel.. We really look forward to coming again.

  • Lorraine Jacobs

  • February 2015

The Big Sleep Hotel Eastbourne

The hotel needs a bit of an update, you can see it was upgraded in the last few years but use has made some decor a bit tired.

Very clean linen and room was tidy. Towel rail was rusty, skirting could have a new lick of paint, curtains although quite unique have seen better days. Parking arrangements were well arranged with a pass issued from reception for just £1 a day, would have been useful to know beforehand as we had already put £1 in the pay and display machine. Breakfast room was very open and airy, sun coming through the windows to warm us all up on a very cold January morning. Plenty of choice from the free continental buffet.

  • Edward P

  • January 2015

Fantastic off-season value for a quick stay

I went here a few years ago and due to havng to go to a funeral in the nearby Grand Hotel with tea, thought we would make a night of it - I got a good rate of £45 which was great value and the room was nice, neutrally decorated at the back of the hotel which was fine as we spent most of the time out at dinner or asleep.

Nice bathroom, excellent hot water, good self service buffet breakfast the next day included in the price, though I thought the hot chocolate did not taste very nice nor the coffee either. Still it's free. Hotel in good shape, would stay again for a third time.

  • R Cruddas

  • January 2015


Decent hotel,value for money