No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Kensington Hotel

2Self Classified Small Hotel Ratings explained
17 East Parade , Rhyl, LL18 3AG
A small comfortable family run non smoking hotel, prominently situated on the sea front of Rhyl, A 2 minute walk from the town-centre and walking distance from the train station. The hotel is situated adjacent to the indoor Sea-aquarium and events arena. The Sun-centre, childrens village, Drift park, Apollo Cinema, Theatre, Bowling greens and Sky Tower are all within a 5 minute walk. All bedrooms have en-suite facilities, TV, Iron and iron board, Tea and coffee facilities.
Picture of Kensington Hotel, Rhyl at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 43 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
67% recommended this accommodation to a friend 67% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Mid week visit
The hotel has that unmistakable old house aroma. The chairs in the breakfast room have the odd hole in them - bit like cigarette burns. The cereal containers didn't close well, so they tasted a little stale. The most welcoming host, she couldn't be more accommodating.

Reviewed by
Suzanne S

From Weston Super Mare, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly buy in need of a refurb

Reviewed by
M Jones

From Walsall, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice hotel. I stayed in the family room which was comfortable and suited my family needs as i have 3 children. I got this room at a discount which i found good for what i payed for a family of 5 but i dont think i would pay full price as decor does need up dating and breakfast was ok but had better in other hotel's that i've stayed in. Overall not a bad hotel to stay at.

Reviewed by
Lisa A

From Salford, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lovely surprise
We had read all the reviews and was very unsure whether to stay there, we decided to have a look and was going to walk out if it wasnt very clean. we walked in the room and was very surprised at how clean it was, there were lovely fresh bedding and nice folded towels on the bed. the view was beautiful. we stayed in room 8. There was plenty of room for our children to move to. the lady who was running the hotel was lovely and helped in any way she could. breakfast was lovely and my children thought it was brilliant to be able to have cereal, toast and fruit. we had a lovely stay and wouldreturn in the future.

Reviewed by
anita w

From Leyland, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great value for the money ;)

Reviewed by
Paul Mclachlan

From Telford, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Receptionist very hospitable.
Everything else, dirty, dated and seedy. Food recycled.

Reviewed by
Julie M

From Oswestry, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great service!
Lady at reception was really friendly and service was great had a really nice room at the sea front which was really nice. It's defiantly good value for the price, if I do go back to rhyl would re visit hotel.

Reviewed by
helal b

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Dirty aged decor

Reviewed by
steve howard

From Southport, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

horrifying
Let's start from the begining. The parking situation was two spots down a cramp ally, and if you were not fortunate to get a spot they claimed there was a pay car park five minutes away.
The hotel was run down and in desperate need of an overhaul. Narrow hallways and stairs made the use of a pushchair very difficult.
This is where the hotel goes from dissapointing to down right unacceptable, the room was large but filled with mismatching bedding which I found dirt in and short curley hairs in. The wooden flooring was dirty and after moving a bed to better accommodate our son we found food rappers and dirt and grime.
The room was cold and smelled of damp. The curtains were covered in dust and didn't close properly to keep in what little heat there was.
The bathroom displayed sighns of damp with the showed screen trimmed with mould. The toilet looked like it needed a good clean or simply throwing out. We received a stale towel and a rather beaten bath mat which was unacceptable for a family room.
There staff were never there due to it being a family run hotel which made booking out unnecessarily uncomfortable.

Reviewed by
Samuel B

From Wolverhampton, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very good great value for money
excellent breakfast and lovely staff

Reviewed by
jacqueline h

From Runcorn, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Family with young children

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next